Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Stayed in a kabin. Price was high, thought it would be top notch. Bathrooms were poorly maintained, filthy, and smelly. Not up to KOA standards. Disappointed.
Jul 26, 2014
Me and my grandkids really enjoyed staying there. Love to be not to close to other campers. Would return in the future. Thank you
Jul 25, 2014
Huge disappointment! Unsafe roads, talcum type dirt 2" deep, disgusting ports potty, etc. I'm shocked you're allowed to rent those spots!! We camp a lot-have never seen anything as atrocious. Got they're late & office was closed, which is fine....campers shouldn't drive those roads in the dark. Unbelievable..... Pros:good water pressure, wildlife
Jul 24, 2014
Mostly dirt or gravel roads, hard on the vehicles. Off the beaten path - if you want to access 101 easily, this campground is not for you. Good general store. Saw several deer and wild turkey.
Jul 24, 2014
Top kamping
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
My family had a great time. No reception the whole time but was for the best.;) the only obstacle we ran into was keeping track of when the store was open. Seemed closed most of the time . While we brought most of our items, we ran out of lighter fluid at some point and my kids wanted a little treat in mid day. Would have been helpful for store to be open during hours listed.
Jul 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality--from the very beginning of making the reservations for our family reunion, to simply helping us bake our pasta dish, the staff, particularly Scott, and owners Karen and Marty, cold not have been more welcoming, efficent, and accommdating. It made our family reunion as heavenly as is the Santa Margarita Lake area itself! Everyone was thrilled!
Jul 23, 2014
loved the jumping pillow and large campsites. swimming pool was very clean but the disc golf course needs attention. we look forward to returning next summer.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Fairly nice. Office staff very friendly and helpful, especially Scott. I think it would be safer if there were some railings around some of the embankments. Some had bad drops and no lighting around those areas to see the edges.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Stayed 5 nights in mid July 2014. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our corner of the campground was very quiet. The restrooms were reasonably clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The pool was nice 4 out of 5 days, but Tuesday was free swim day and it was mobbed with small children. The campground is on a steep hillside giving campsite privacy, but makes getting around tough
Jul 21, 2014
Both bathrooms smelled really bad, it seemed like they both needed a really deep cleaning.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Nice campgrounds and staff. Thank your for the breakfast recommendation at the Southern Station!
Jul 20, 2014
Sooo disappointed!HUGE misunderstanding about the final costs upon arrival. Went to 2 different employees to seek an answer and got no where. The bathrooms were not cleaned the 3 days we were there, and supplies not stocked. Always have enjoyed simple visits there, but its obvious the cut backs are also effecting them too. We came during the week, don't know if that was the issue? Hope for better.
Jul 20, 2014
Our stay at KOA was awesome!! The staff has done an awesome job to make us feel at home. We will continue to stay for the duration of our project at BlackMountain. Thanks BMY Crew!!!!!
Jul 19, 2014
Hot showers, not right next to a freeway, bounce pillow and disc golf, helpful employees. What's not to love? Would recommend.
Jul 19, 2014
Wonderful visit. Kids love the bouncy pillow and the pool. A great alternative to high-priced hotels in SLO.
Jul 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere of this KOA was nice. Only shortcomings: Not possible to call here and talk live same day (in mid July). TP & paper towels in bathrooms ran out in the morning. This was our first time at this beautiful location. We enjoyed going to the lake (free if you walk there). Our 1 room Kabin was in great shape (it even had an unexpected refrigerator
Jul 18, 2014
We always enjoy staying at the Santa Margarita KOA. It is well kept, the bathrooms are clean, the staff is amazing and the activities for the kids are great. With our local discount, its a nice little getaway without a bunch of fuss and travel. We will definitely be back soon :)
Jul 17, 2014
Office closed early, paths and directions to bathrooms not labelled, pool closed at 8, seems early. Site was nice and flat for a tent.
Jul 17, 2014
My name is Jim Paul and we stayed 4 nites with the Rochin/ Paul reunion group in a motor home. Owner and employees were very accomadating and helpfull. Wish our phones and computers worked a little better and the young ones would have liked cable for the tv. We stayed in #46 and the sewer odor while sitting outside in tne morning was a bit much with coffee. We had a great time and I thank you. Jim
Jul 17, 2014
It was totally great I loved it.. :~}
Jul 17, 2014
Lots of fun for the family. The pool was nice and the jumping pillow was fun for the kids!
Jul 17, 2014
The campsite was beautiful! The showers were cleaner than other campsite bathrooms I've used. Don't really have any complaints. Hope the new bath house is completed soon!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Was told we'd have a large covered deck and the cover wasn't built so it felt like we paid for something we didn't get. Needed the space for our family reunion., but instead the cabin fried in the hot sun. It needed some more stocking of items. But it was new and the beds were very comfortable and the AC was great. Also, the women's bathroom at the pool was disgusting. It's smelled terrible!
Jul 16, 2014
Loved everything about it. Great site. Great family activities. Friendly staff.
Jul 16, 2014
Filthy bathrooms the entire stay! After busy W/E we talked to front desk& all they did was replace empty TP. Tuesday a "camper" had a visit from his parole officer, terrible sight in a family campground! Our previous campground was so nice that it was a huge let down for us& the kids at this one! It was not worth the $ paid to stay there.I have pictures if youd like.Paving some roads would help to
Jul 16, 2014
Very dusty and not enough rest rooms
Jul 15, 2014
Good location. Restroom and showers are outdated.
Jul 15, 2014
Park was very clean. Stff was very helpful and friendly. Beautiful location.
Jul 15, 2014
The staff was very welcoming and friendly. This was my first stay at a KOA and I can definitely say it will not be my last.
Jul 14, 2014
Clean site. Friendly staff.Clean bathrooms although far from our site. Cons- lots of wasps.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it here; great layout of camping spots, fun for the kids, great movie night, very kind staff! Super easy drive to the beaches, drive-in movie, grocery/shopping. We look forward to coming back!
Jul 14, 2014
Before our stay I had 3 phone calls that were never returned, told by the owner that if our group wanted to party (while 5 of us were sitting around the fire), that we have houses for that and we needed to stop sitting around the fire and go into our individual tents and be quiet at 11:30, when a polite "hey guys, please keep it down for our other campers" would have been nicer. Will not be back.
Jul 14, 2014
We love staying at the Santa Margarita Lake KOA. It's close enough to home for a quick get away weekend that feels special. The kids love the giant jumping pillow and pool. They just go back and forth between the two all day! Couldn't be happier. Scott and Karen are amazing, and their entire team is eager to help...with smiles, all of them. That is rare in customer service today. What a gem.
Jul 14, 2014
Campground clean, staff welcome excellent, facilities well tended. A wide variety of camp spots enabled me to find a quiet corner to sleep well.
Jul 14, 2014
Awsome fun for everyone from one year old to two fat fourty year old guys.Camp was well kept. The bouncer pillow wore all of us out. Kellyand Scott were wonderful to work with and even with a last minute addition of my daughters family on a fully booked weekend they still made it happen and made us feel like we were their number one client. Looking forward to staying there again and again.
Jul 13, 2014
Thanks for you good services
Jul 13, 2014
Beautiful park with friendly people and spacious sites. Very quiet at night. We'd definitely return.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Grandkids loved the bounce pillow, as did grandma. Very clean bathroom andshowers. Only wish when you check in they tell you where things are, and tell you how to conect to wi fi.
Jul 10, 2014
Wonderful staff....Allowed us to check in early and directed us to the rec room where I could watch the World Cup Semifinal w/o having to drive into town.
Jul 10, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.