Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Great! Thx!
Aug 01, 2014
This was the worst KOA we visited. Wouldn't return. Things we didn't like: restroom out-dated and really dirty, hardly any short stay visitors and a lot of long stay/ permanent RV's. Drunk guys sitting around the rest rooms. We left a day early cause our daughters simply did not feel at ease/ safe. Our suggestion: ask them to really improve or get the KOA sign down. Way below the KOA standard.
Aug 01, 2014
I enjoyed the rural feel of the campground. We had the very top sight and the view was awesome! I have a feeling that campground has been around for awhile, and they are making some upgrades. The staff was friendly and very helpful.the only complaint complaint I have is the portable toilet at the top needs to be cleaned daily like the rest of the bathrooms. In all, we had a great time.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Overall fair experience. A lot of activities were advertised but done only on weekends. Space we stayed in was very small and within 8 feet of another camper. Busy campground but seemed to be managed well.
Jul 30, 2014
We just came up for one night this time since we were bringing a friends family and none of them had ever been camping before. They are converts. We'll be back soon for a longer stay!
Jul 29, 2014
We had cabins 84 and 85 - perfect for us and family. We enjoyed the space between the two cabins for games and camp fires.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. The campground is very spread out so you really feel like you are on your own. It was really peaceful and quiet. We stayed in a cabin and it was very clean and cute. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars was because the "play area" for kids was not like other KOA's we stay at; it was rundown and dirty.
Jul 29, 2014
Ok the bad bit first; this is not the most beautiful site, it's a bit dusty and appears to have a fair number of long termers their. On the plus side good facilities, nice staff, quiet, locals helpful, SLO is a lovely town to visit and close by
Jul 29, 2014
We have been coming here for years now and we love it..we got to stay in one of the new cabins and loved every bit of it...the water balloon volleyball was fun and the pool is always a hit....I would like to see a drain put in where the water collects so many people slip in that one area it's really scary to watch....
Jul 29, 2014
Had a last minute birthday trip that was made possible by Dylan, our camp host. We got the last RV site in the county for the weekend complete with a cupcake, candle & happy birthday song upon check-in. We couldn't have been happier with the staff & their exceptional customer service!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great visit. Owners super friendly. Would love it if electricity could be added to some tent sites. Also a large sink at restrooms for washing pots and pans would be super helpful. My kids loved the huge jumping pillow!!! Thanks!
Jul 28, 2014
very nice campground, nice cabins too. Pool could have been a bit cleaner.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Camp grounds are gorgeous & staff is extremely helpful/professional. We enjoyed the family-type feel atmosphere. After staying in a cabin-we are spoiled- all the perks of time saving accommodations that freed us up to enjoy the outdoors. Lovely, lovely place! Also, one of the most affordable KOA's around.
Jul 28, 2014
From check in to check out . Greeted nicely , asked about somewhere to grab dinner. We were recommended to a hole in the wall bar that was awesome. Nice, clean, cool pool. We will be back. A little dusty driving thru the park but we just drove slow. Thanks, Matt
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
We stayed at your KOA campgrounds and have had good experiences until we visited Santa Margarita. You have too many employees/full timers living and using the sites in your campground. When we arrived someone had not left our site which was reserved for us. we had to be shifted around. Then the maintenance crew hit a wire and wiped out our electric for 2 1/2 hours in 95 degree weather.
Jul 27, 2014
We enjoyed the cabin, pool and seeing the stars at night!
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Stayed in a kabin. Price was high, thought it would be top notch. Bathrooms were poorly maintained, filthy, and smelly. Not up to KOA standards. Disappointed.
Jul 26, 2014
Me and my grandkids really enjoyed staying there. Love to be not to close to other campers. Would return in the future. Thank you
Jul 25, 2014
Huge disappointment! Unsafe roads, talcum type dirt 2" deep, disgusting ports potty, etc. I'm shocked you're allowed to rent those spots!! We camp a lot-have never seen anything as atrocious. Got they're late & office was closed, which is fine....campers shouldn't drive those roads in the dark. Unbelievable..... Pros:good water pressure, wildlife
Jul 24, 2014
Mostly dirt or gravel roads, hard on the vehicles. Off the beaten path - if you want to access 101 easily, this campground is not for you. Good general store. Saw several deer and wild turkey.
Jul 24, 2014
Top kamping
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
My family had a great time. No reception the whole time but was for the best.;) the only obstacle we ran into was keeping track of when the store was open. Seemed closed most of the time . While we brought most of our items, we ran out of lighter fluid at some point and my kids wanted a little treat in mid day. Would have been helpful for store to be open during hours listed.
Jul 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality--from the very beginning of making the reservations for our family reunion, to simply helping us bake our pasta dish, the staff, particularly Scott, and owners Karen and Marty, cold not have been more welcoming, efficent, and accommdating. It made our family reunion as heavenly as is the Santa Margarita Lake area itself! Everyone was thrilled!
Jul 23, 2014
loved the jumping pillow and large campsites. swimming pool was very clean but the disc golf course needs attention. we look forward to returning next summer.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Fairly nice. Office staff very friendly and helpful, especially Scott. I think it would be safer if there were some railings around some of the embankments. Some had bad drops and no lighting around those areas to see the edges.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Stayed 5 nights in mid July 2014. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our corner of the campground was very quiet. The restrooms were reasonably clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The pool was nice 4 out of 5 days, but Tuesday was free swim day and it was mobbed with small children. The campground is on a steep hillside giving campsite privacy, but makes getting around tough
Jul 21, 2014
Both bathrooms smelled really bad, it seemed like they both needed a really deep cleaning.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Nice campgrounds and staff. Thank your for the breakfast recommendation at the Southern Station!
Jul 20, 2014
Sooo disappointed!HUGE misunderstanding about the final costs upon arrival. Went to 2 different employees to seek an answer and got no where. The bathrooms were not cleaned the 3 days we were there, and supplies not stocked. Always have enjoyed simple visits there, but its obvious the cut backs are also effecting them too. We came during the week, don't know if that was the issue? Hope for better.
Jul 20, 2014
Our stay at KOA was awesome!! The staff has done an awesome job to make us feel at home. We will continue to stay for the duration of our project at BlackMountain. Thanks BMY Crew!!!!!
Jul 19, 2014
Hot showers, not right next to a freeway, bounce pillow and disc golf, helpful employees. What's not to love? Would recommend.
Jul 19, 2014
Wonderful visit. Kids love the bouncy pillow and the pool. A great alternative to high-priced hotels in SLO.
Jul 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere of this KOA was nice. Only shortcomings: Not possible to call here and talk live same day (in mid July). TP & paper towels in bathrooms ran out in the morning. This was our first time at this beautiful location. We enjoyed going to the lake (free if you walk there). Our 1 room Kabin was in great shape (it even had an unexpected refrigerator
Jul 18, 2014
We always enjoy staying at the Santa Margarita KOA. It is well kept, the bathrooms are clean, the staff is amazing and the activities for the kids are great. With our local discount, its a nice little getaway without a bunch of fuss and travel. We will definitely be back soon :)
Jul 17, 2014
Office closed early, paths and directions to bathrooms not labelled, pool closed at 8, seems early. Site was nice and flat for a tent.
Jul 17, 2014
My name is Jim Paul and we stayed 4 nites with the Rochin/ Paul reunion group in a motor home. Owner and employees were very accomadating and helpfull. Wish our phones and computers worked a little better and the young ones would have liked cable for the tv. We stayed in #46 and the sewer odor while sitting outside in tne morning was a bit much with coffee. We had a great time and I thank you. Jim
Jul 17, 2014
It was totally great I loved it.. :~}

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.