Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 20, 2014
Jan 19, 2014
Jan 14, 2014
Everything was wonderful! The only reason I could not give 4 stars was the area around the picnic table had a lot of dog poo around it. someone was not cleaning up after their pet. The day we left a bag of dog poo was left on a rock by our car. Very disappointing that people are so inconsiderate. Camp site should have been checked before we arrived so at least we did not arrive to dog poo.
Jan 14, 2014
It was a great bday weekend for my husbands 70th. Love the lay out of the place. We will definitely be back. Thanks. The beattie's in cabin 16
Jan 14, 2014
Great place for lake, Moto, bicycles & other fun stuff! The people who seem to live on the grounds are a little sketchey. Overall it was a great place!!!
Jan 14, 2014
beautiful scenery, warm, clean cabin
Jan 09, 2014
I absolutely loved it. The cabins are great. So much wildlife! One star missing only because the whole lot is hills and hard with small child and walks/bikes. Definitely going again
Jan 07, 2014
This unique location is an experience for those seeking a true camping environment among hillsides, vistas, tree canopy and close to many destinations. The staff was very attentive and polite, the facilities are well cared for and each campsite offers a unique view and experience. A great secret getaway close to the beach communities if you want to day trip and avoid the beach crowded RV camps.
Jan 06, 2014
Cabin was clean with heater (better bed). It was very quiet as a campground is 8 miles away from 101. We slept & eat well at this place. Restroom & Play area needs upgrade and cleaning. It is very dusty and need proper landscaping. Bring your drinking water. Pool was very clean, but you can't use in winter time.
Jan 05, 2014
Santa Margarita KOA has been our family vacation spot for over 25 years. I instantly relax and feel at home each and every visit.
Jan 05, 2014
The cabin was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the fire ring and the meteor shower at 4 am was worth getting up in the cold. Thanks
Jan 03, 2014
Love the surroundings. Lots of hiking available. All the camp people were great..
Jan 02, 2014
We stayed in the little cabins. Theyre cute and perfect for sleeping. My kids spent most of the time on the jumping pillow and had a blast. We will definetely be coming back in the summer to use the pool and to watch movies on the cool hay bale theatre. Great place!!
Jan 01, 2014
Dec 30, 2013
Staff was very welcoming and attentive to any/every need. Staff were pleasant and the grounds were very well kept. I will be returning very soon!
Dec 17, 2013
Very friendly staff. The Cabin was great!
Dec 15, 2013
Rented a deluxe cabin with kitchenette and shower. There was no heat and it was freezing cold. After some wait, they upgraded me to a bigger deluxe cabin with heatat no extra cost. This is my home away from home, but I'm becoming a bit disillusioned with management. The store should have been open until 5 pm for check in. It was closed when I got there at 4:50. Granted, this was not peak season.
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Staff was great and facility was exactly as expected. Only negative was our reserved site was given to another camper in a 5th Wheel. Still had full hookups but lost fire pit & table area.
Dec 07, 2013
Dec 06, 2013
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 04, 2013
This is the second time we have stayed at Santa Margarita KOA and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. We especially appreciate that they have a number of sites that have a much more rustic feel where you have some separation between you and the next camper. Perfect when you want to 'get away' and relax. The staff is always pleasant and helpful and the campground is always well maintained.
Dec 03, 2013
We have been spending Thanksgiving weekend in the Santa Margarita KOA for at least 6 years! We LOVE it! Our numbers go up and down each year, this year we had 20 family and friends! Looking forward to many more years camping here :-)
Dec 03, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
I found the site was very roomy. It was quiet even on a holiday weekend.
Dec 03, 2013
Service was great. Camp sites were dirt and dusty. Didn't like the terraced landscape. Loved the lake.
Dec 03, 2013
very nice staff working at the campground. Everything was extremely clean. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Nov 30, 2013
We had a very good time. Kabin was comfortable. Kampgrounds and bathrooms clean. We will most likely return there.
Nov 26, 2013
Our family had a wonderful time. We wanted to extend our time but unfortunately we couldn't. We look forward to staying at the KOA again!
Nov 24, 2013
Good management,nice people,nice cabin with beautiful view.nice play area for kids
Nov 20, 2013
Definitely loved it! Went during November it was cold but we love camping during any season!!! Would recommend this KOA to my friends & family!
Nov 15, 2013
Nov 15, 2013
We visited in the first month of November and the camp was quiet and very clean. All the amenities were available (except the pool) and the staff was friendly. our cabin was clean, well kept and all the furnishings were immaculate. Will certainly visit this camp again in the near future.
Nov 14, 2013
very clean, and the kids loved the giant air pillow!
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Super nice people. Been there many times and they are making things even better.
Nov 13, 2013
Very relaxing and enjoyable we will be staying there again
Nov 13, 2013
shower area could be cleaner,cobwebs & bugs in evening. During the weekend people were not keeping dogs on leashes. we appreciate the tree trim in order to hook up to utilities.
Nov 10, 2013
Private, well-spaced campsites. Beautiful views. My car battery died and the campground manager came by within 3 minutes and charged it up so I could get on my way.
Nov 07, 2013
Two friends and I stayed three days in one of the deluxe cabins. After working out a few kinks, everything went smoothly and we had a great time. The people who run this KOA were accommodating to our needs. The location is ideal for central coast wine tasting, hot springs, and restaurants from Avila Beach to Paso Robles.
Nov 06, 2013
Nice, quiet, nice people, clean, dust but that's because of the weather. We have been staying at Santa Margarita KOA for 4 years and will keep staying as long as we can.
Nov 04, 2013
Last night before returning the RV. Nice clean restrooms.
Nov 03, 2013
A wonderful,quiet,and inspiring spot at the lake. The best 3 days of our vacation.
Nov 01, 2013
It was peaceful, clean, and the staff was quite helpful. Loved the way the property is developed. Unfortunately, we will be selling our travel trailer soon. Helen
Oct 31, 2013
too expensive,no value for what we paid
Oct 29, 2013
Very friendly staff, clean cabins and bathrooms. Provided us with a BBQ grill that helped us eat like kings . I'll definitely be returning!
Oct 23, 2013
Love everything about your place except the dusty dry dirt. Our camper gets filled with it and our white dogs go home filthy.
Oct 22, 2013
It's the time of year when there are fewer campers. We felt we had the campground pretty much to ourselves. The staff here are wonderful! A great stay in our favorite tent site!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.