Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2016
Thank you so much to all the personnel that was very hepful and very nice we appreciated our stay, But Hot Hot 😎
Jul 02, 2016
There is an Emu in a 6' round pen. When we arrived late at night the Emu had no water and little food. There is no way for this bird to get out to run. It had to be over 90 degrees outside at 8:30 that evening. This is just such a shame, boardering on animal abuse.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our emu was found wandering at the lake and no one claimed him so we adopted him & named him Big Bird. We give him food and water regularly. Someone removed his fence a few weeks ago and he headed to the trailer of the lady who cares for him. After the summer we may put him in a larger area.
Jul 01, 2016
Very helpful manager. Clean up and maintenance crew fantastic
Jul 01, 2016
While the weather was unusually hot, the friendly service and lovely campground more than made up for it. I love the central location to so many things - lake, mountains, & ocean all within easy driving distance.
Jun 30, 2016
Nice quiet place but needs More shady places and the restrooms and bathrooms should be better and cleanier for the high price.
Jun 29, 2016
fine amenities. helpful staff. everything I needed and expected.
Jun 28, 2016
Thx for the camp site and stay. You guys have a really great place there and the staff runs it like a well oiled machine. We'll be back for sure.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
This place is amazing, the staff is very friendly, the castellanos family reunion would no be the same if we didn't have it here!
Jun 27, 2016
lady who checked my husband in was rude, and the site had a heavy 'sewer smell' that made it unpleasant to sit outside...never coming back. too bad as this was one of our favorite koa sites.
Jun 27, 2016
Beautiful, clean campground! Friendly staff!
Jun 27, 2016
I am beyond impressed with this little hidden gem. Everyone from the owner to grounds staff impressed me beyond expectation. I foolishly FD ailed to make reservations anywhere last weekend and after hours and miles of searching for a place to stop word of mouth and a little luck found us at Santa Margaritas KOA. Management went above and beyond after hours to see us settled. Awesome experience
Jun 26, 2016
Our first KOA experience. The kids had a great time. Our originally reserved site was extremely small with a steepdrop and not suitable for small children. Upon arriving, we were looking up nearby hotels but we were switched to a great site by a very helpful and accommodating worker. we look forward to coming back and trying a cabin or yurt next time!
Jun 23, 2016
Lover every min. The kids were busy and enjoyed the jumping pillow/pool and the best thing was the customer service...
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
The people here are great (super helpful) and it was beautiful. Very family oriented. We stayed in the deluxe cabin and they were worth every penny. Only downfall, was my cell service wasn't great, but that is probably my carrier.
Jun 21, 2016
The cabin was set up with surround sound, DVD player, and a receiver but there was no TV. The pool area gets very croweded on weekends from the community using it and leaves little room for campers
Jun 20, 2016
As always kids had a great time and staff friendly and helpful. Give 4 out 5 due tight for some RV/trailers and steep dirt hill to maneuver. Great tent spots and friends rented cabin and loved it. Yes did hear roster and dog parking early morning other than that very secluded spot. Will be back.
Jun 20, 2016
Great place. We loved it !
Jun 20, 2016
Nobody monitors campers at all at night - we were in a campground across from a huge party. They partied loud into the wee hours - driving drunk up and down the dangerous slope and skidding around. Kids were allowed to scream all night all over the campground. Trails to and from restrooms were rough dirt and dangerous even the roads were crazy dangerous without 4-wheel drive. We will never go back
Jun 20, 2016
THE STAFF was FANTASTIC. Everyone we dealt with was a delight. Every one seemed to be on the same page and very helpful. This was out first KOA stay, and we are excited to visit more in the future. The who place was CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED. Thank you!
Jun 20, 2016
Michelle was helpful and nice, as long as the others who worked there! Thank you!!!
Jun 20, 2016
The cabins are great.....but, the advertisement for this KOA makes it sound like you are near a lake..not only are you not anywhere near a lake, you have to pay to get in to it....it's only 10 dollars, but still, we were a little disappointed...th camp hosts were very friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You're right. We are NOT on the lake. We are 1/2 mile away. You can walk or bike into the lake for FREE or pay $10/car. I will edit our site to de-emphasize the lake since most of our guests do not come for the lake now that it is below 12% capacity. Renting boats & fishing are still FUN IN THE SUN!
Jun 19, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
Lovely campground with friendly and helpful staff. Will be back. My only suggestion is there wasn't a place to wash dishes for tent campers. They (not us) were using bathroom sinks, probably resulting in food clogging up plumbing. Might want to consider putting in a camping kitchen like the San Diego area KOA.
Jun 18, 2016
Stay was great weather was perfect campground was good wish we had more time there. Thank you.
Jun 17, 2016
Is a great place to stay, especially for kids. Very clean and I really like the toys and games on the premise. I will be back!
Jun 16, 2016
My family and I loved it
Jun 15, 2016
Very friendly and clean.
Jun 14, 2016
- Very comfortable stay - Well maintain cabins and bathrooms - Good activities - Too must dust because of the loose sand
Jun 14, 2016
Jun 14, 2016
The hosts were great! First time staying in a cabin (usually have our 5th wheel) and it was better than expected. Thank you!
Jun 14, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. It was great to have large tree covered site near the bathroom. Close to the lake and surrounding coastal sights
Jun 13, 2016
We rented a 2 BR cabin; it was clean and in very good repair. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restroom was very clean.
Jun 13, 2016
The staff are amazing! The campground is very well kept. The hay ride was really fun. The jumping pillow was a huge hit with the kids! The restrooms/showers are very clean, but people with mobility issues could find it hard to walk up the stairs.
Jun 13, 2016
Camp site was great but we were next to really loud people and we wanted to be more secluded so next time we'll ask for 89 or 90
Jun 13, 2016
Fun experience..excellent, friendly helpful staff..awesome accomodations..
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time! Great ammenities and friendly staff. Only thing we had a problem with was laundry. Had to dry things 2 cycles and they were still soaking wet.
Jun 07, 2016
Campground was very nice. Loud roosters next door waking me up at 4:30 a.m. wasn't appreciated. Don't forget your earplugs.
Jun 06, 2016
Nice place! Good wifi and 24hr laundry, plus a nice store as well.
Jun 06, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
The people in the office made our stay great. They treated us like old friends, even though this was our first stay.The campground was just what we wanted - rural yet comfortable. We'll be back.
Jun 05, 2016
Jun 03, 2016
WiFi very spotty!
Jun 02, 2016
. Kampsites were well maintained.
Jun 02, 2016
Pool...not clean.. Bathrooms poorly maintained.. Trash cans over flowing... Sites were maintained well... Attendant personable and efficient..
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 01, 2016
employees are very rude place was not clean especially the restrooms didn't want to shower there been going for years don't think ill be back talk to other campers and they feel the same way, good luck
Jun 01, 2016
as always a great time
Jun 01, 2016
nice pool, cool campspots on a hill, lots of trees and shadeand wildlife.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals