Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Wonderful facility! The owners and staff are fantastic.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Super clean friendly staff activities well suited to wide range of kids big ones too.Can't wait too go back.
Sep 02, 2014
neat and clean cabin, very comfortable
Sep 02, 2014
We made a late reservation on a holiday weekend, and the staff was EXCELLENT, very friendly and helpful. The campsite was ok, not a lot of shade, but because it was a last minute reservation on a busy weekend, we were happy to have it. Unfortunately our table/cooking spot was right next to the stinky sewer pipe of a "long-term" trailer guest. Pool and activities, though, were great for the kids.
Aug 30, 2014
Wonderful location, friendly people beautiful sites. A place to be and stay
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
Bathrooms were gross, clogged toilets and big spider webs everywhere.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
would be nice to have wifi available throughout the campground - not just by the office
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Clean restrooms, some of the staff were friendly, decent camp area. Cons: I reserved a site with "lots of trees and shade". I got a site with not much shade (site 44). Having a site directly across from the jumping pillow also wasn't very nice as we heard a constant stream of yelps and hollers starting at 8AM until sunset. Some staff seemed tired and not very friendly. Restrooms wer
Aug 24, 2014
We first got there and had to wait to get into our cabin. When we arrived we went to use bathroom and there was throw up all over the toilet which was apparently not cleaned at all. We needed to use the restroom so badly that we cleaned the toilet our selves. We than went to make the beds in the bedroom by bathroom and there was blood all underneath the bedspread. We flagged someone removed it.
Aug 24, 2014
It was A wonderful place to stay, but the showerrooms was disgusting. They has not been cleaned for A long time.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Your camp ground was nothing but dirt. The portapotty was over flowing and was very dirty the campers next to us we were in space 7 they were in 8 they started to set up there tent then changed there mind cause of all the dirt and rocks and they left when we got up the next morning and there was a different camper in site 8 over all your camp ground was the worst that we stayed at on our trip.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
Cute cabin, met other nice guests, and the staff was so helpful and friendly. Thanks for the fun time. Mike and Monica Iacovazzi from San Jose, California
Aug 19, 2014
We arrived late, but still within the office hours. However, the office was already closed. Our family of four (including a 4 and a 6-year-old) were placed in the yurt at the farthest reaches of the campground, close to nothing. Taking our children to the bathroom was downright dangerous on the provided trail. And when we arrived at the bathrooms they were completely filthy and vile. Never again.
Aug 16, 2014
A nice KOA, very rural compared to others I have stayed at. Probably one of the best for tent & cabin camping. Our RV site was very nice - shady and spacious, with a picnic table and fire pit. It's very hilly, be ready for some hiking! I would highly consider returning to this site to camp with my horses. I wish the dog walk was enclosed, and I prefer slightly nicer restrooms. Overall, nice.
Aug 16, 2014
The camp grounds were clean, the other campers were friendly and the staff were great. Oh, the pool, playgrounds and stargazing my kid loved it! Thank you KOA!
Aug 16, 2014
Great, wonderful, relaxing, superclean cabin #35, friendly helpful staff, & love your KOA videos. Girls can camp w/o guys. You do need to fix the water drainage system in the bathrooms. The shower runoff floods the bathroom #3 stalls, so you're wading through water.
Aug 16, 2014
bathrooms too far from our cabin, not a lot to do close by
Aug 16, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We enjoyed the quiet, the large bouncy pillow, and horseshoes. We had a fun stay.
Aug 15, 2014
Sadly, the drought has taken it's toll on this location. With Santa Marharita lake down 70% you can tell it's impacted the economy if this area. The campground feels bleak, dirty and depressing. Seemed to also have some unseemly permanent residents. My family and I vacated after one hour.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time very friendly staff. They even took time to show our site and help back us into the spot.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
What a great campground. Some of the poor reviews you read are ridiculous. You are camping, what more do you want. The staff was great, the Saturday activities are awesome. We will be back. LOVE THIS KOA!!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
The staff is great with personality to match.Camp ground is well taken care of and the bath houses are clean, and smell clean. The camp store is small but has every thing you might need if you forget it like I did. I didn't pack a wash cloth but was able to buy one for $1. I have no complaints from staff too store prices. An 8lb bag of ice is $3.25
Aug 11, 2014
Owners and staff of Santa Margarita are model hosts. They were professional yet enjoyable to interact with while they took care of our questions and interests about the surrounding area. The campground is well-laid out and presents very well in a hilly region that adds visual interest as well as more privacy in many of the sites. Be sure to turn rt onto CA 58 about 1 mile after exit 211 off US 101
Aug 11, 2014
Very friendly and lots of fun. The town nearby is very nice too.
Aug 10, 2014
Cabin was clean, and beds comfortable.
Aug 10, 2014
A map with my registration was waiting for me on arrival, but the sites themselves were not well marked. The bathrooms were nice.
Aug 08, 2014
this koa has everything you need and looked like it had plenty of activities for a longer stay. We were in a tent site at the top of the hill which was quiet with a fantastic view but a tricky drive in the dark!!
Aug 07, 2014
Had a good time~! The vent tubes for your underground holding tanks were terribly smelly and the location of them in the middle of RV spaces was not a good thing!
Aug 07, 2014
Set back in the forest off the main highway which was nice and peaceful. Be prepared for dirt sites!!
Aug 07, 2014
Enjoyed my stay. Just did not have time to fully enjoy your camp. Thanks
Aug 06, 2014
I did not get the site that I chose online. In fact we were given the one site I did not want due to it being right on the road. Too much dirt & dust from the vehicles! Additionally, the playground, if you want to call it that, was not suitable for young children and very worn down. Disappointed in the overall appearance. Positive note, the staff was professional & friendly & the pool was clean.
Aug 05, 2014
Excellent customer service. Cabin was ready and clean.
Aug 05, 2014
I loved it. Beautiful campground. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Great place to get away. There are so many things to do in the area. The only thing I'd reconsider is the time of year I visit, it was very hot. Also, check out Shangri La ranch during your stay.
Aug 03, 2014
Stayed in 17 KOA's over 12 states during the course of the trip. The terrain is tough with sites often being cliff-side. There is not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of folks this site holds and this was evident. Drought area needs a sanitary alternative.
Aug 03, 2014
Bathrooms and showers need work
Aug 02, 2014
Not up to KOA standards. Too dusty and dry. Also no recreation room at all. The empty Yurt was just that, empty. Too hilly for my 9 yr old to ride her bike.
Aug 02, 2014
The overall stay was great. The cabin was amazing as well as the views. The playground and and jump pillow need to be cleaned and updated. I would stay there again.
Aug 02, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.