Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2014
Wonderful staff....Allowed us to check in early and directed us to the rec room where I could watch the World Cup Semifinal w/o having to drive into town.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed for 9 days and lived every minute. Every one was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2014
What a great camping experience! The hosts were quite friendly, accommodations were plentiful and our cabin was clean and cozy. The sites were close together so it wasn't quiet or secluded in our area but other spaces were. Lots of wildlife could be heard at night, such a nice change from a hotel! We'll visit again!
Jul 07, 2014
One night trip was to get oriented with my new motorhome (and pug puppy camping). Nearly at capacity, Karen set me up in a perfect spot and husband even came up to make sure I parked and set up safely.
Jul 04, 2014
The teenage staff were not helpful. My wife and I would ask questions about the area and where to go and what types of activities. No one knew anything or was at least willing to share. They couldn't even tell us what movie would be playing for the kids movie night hours before the movie began. (It was a kids movie from the 90's with Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen? Really, nothing more updated?)
Jul 03, 2014
Great place to camp near the lake.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
We had a good time at the camp, but did not realize how far away it was from civilization. Traveling more than an hour to get to the beach was no picnic. Other than that, it was doable.
Jul 01, 2014
Good: The yurt was great and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was very nice. My kids loved the jumping pillow. Bad: The bathrooms are cleaned 8am-10am, which in my book is prime bathroom time. The pool was pretty gross and needed to be cleaned. I wouldn't consider fishing one of the activities because I don't think there are any fish in the lake.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We were really surprised at how friendly the staff is and all the activities they have. The whole campground is set-up in a very friendly matter. Even the other campers would take the time to stop and talk to us. One other thing, I read the reviews about the dirt and dust and we DID NOT find any problem with it. Keep it up!
Jun 30, 2014
The facility was well maintained overall, my only requests would be 1) water near my campsite (#90) 2) trash at/near campsite 3) bathroom facilities that didn't require a car drive 4) get rid of the "watch dog" who barked long into the night right at the fence a stone's throw from my tent.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
We loved the yurt! We are locals but decided to do a one night slumber party for my daughters birthday. It was the perfect set up for a slumber party with teenage girls. The only negative was the distance to the bathrooms.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facilities, sites are too close together. If you can get a good site it is a nice place.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
I stayed here a total of 8 nights and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The campground was always clean and the restrooms were clean as well. Can't wait to come back. Keep up the great job.
Jun 26, 2014
We only stayed one night, but the person who checked us in was very nice and worked with our points toward our stay. The only problem was there is no pull threws and we where put in next to people living there and the sites seemed small, but would stay again if need to for an over night stop even though it was a long way off the highway.
Jun 25, 2014
GREAT FUN
Jun 24, 2014
The staffs and the facility were wonderful. They went above and beyond to make sure we were welcome.
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
We were rather disappointed with this campsite. The pitch had cigarette ends everywhere and there were only 4 toilets on the site, the locks didn't function on the doors, there were cobwebs everywhere and the drain in the shower was clogged with hair.
Jun 24, 2014
The staff were great. Very helpful. The campground is laid out well and there were many events offered over the weekend. The negative was that there were so many dogs off leash as well as a number of unsupervised children of very young age roaming around. We had a group right next to us overly drunk and openly smoking weed behind their yurt which meant right next to my cabin.
Jun 24, 2014
Everyone was extremely nice. The pool wasn't crowded and the area was clean. I highly recommend tis location. My kids had a blast!
Jun 24, 2014
Very clean bathrooms and cabin. Arrived after hours and left early so didn't see much of camp. There are 24 steps up to the bathroom so it would not be a good location for those with some types of medical issues. Nice staff.
Jun 24, 2014
Great crew. Nice shady tent site. Quiet out of the way location was appealing. Still close to towns along the coast. Toilets and showers were clean but could use a makeover. Enjoyed my stay.
Jun 23, 2014
Very clean campground and also the people there were very friendly and helpful. Our campsite 88 is awesome, its so private feels like your secluded from every one else with beautiful views..will definitely go back there again. .
Jun 23, 2014
The KOA people were all very nice. We had a nice time but some of the amenities that drew us to this KOA were not good. The basketball hoop was broken and in a parking lot. The disc golf course was in a hilly field of dead, knee high grass. The 3 teenage girls in our group enjoyed the party yurt and pool but my older teen son and I were a bit disappointed.
Jun 19, 2014
LOVED this KOA. We stayed in a Yurt (our first) and it was exceptional. The grounds at this location are amazing and it is also close to a beautiful beach. We can't wait to go back!
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Dusty and dirty. Very dry as usual for California KOA,s. Nice camp hosts
Jun 18, 2014
Beautiful location, pet friendly and good sized sites.
Jun 18, 2014
Arrived late ( 10pm) tired and road weary, Scott appeared out of the darkness, asked if we needed help. He made sure we were all good then guided us to our Kabin doorstep. What a God send.. Bathrooms clean, pool clean, hosts and employees awesome. We will be back. Thanks KOA! Love. E
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
We called at the last minute because we were disappointed with the KOA that we had reservations with. Not only did they fit us in but they gave us a deluxe cabin. We have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed it. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome.
Jun 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and loved the view from our cabin.
Jun 17, 2014
We rented two cabins. (#10 & #11) Both were extrememely clean and comfortable. The entire staff was friendly, welcoming and always helpful. We all felt like family. Couldnt have asked for a better group of people, better accomodations or a better time.
Jun 17, 2014
Our stay would have been a lot better had we been in a different spot. With little kids & bring right next to the road it was stressful. People were flying by also in the middle of the night. I did see kabins in spots that would have been so much better for us.
Jun 17, 2014
Loved it! Best KOA with beautiful grounds, lovely people and gorgeous surroundings!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Messed us about on arrival despite having pre booked and then the electric at our pitch didn't work. No offer of a refund/discount .just not good enough.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Very relaxing stay. Very well managed, clean and well looked after. Many thanks.
Jun 09, 2014
The staff was so friendly 100% of the time. I was constantly needing to ask questions and adjust my reservations. They were so accommodating. The restrooms smelled good and the activities for the kiddos were top notch. Over all the facilities were clean and the hot water was hot! I only wish that the maps showed that everything was hilly ie the bathrooms were no where near our site. But now I know
Jun 09, 2014
Nice, clean KOA. Staff was friendly & my overall experience was good. Only complaint is they need more restrooms or potties throughout the campground. An outhouse by the playground would have been great. I think there's only two shower/potty buildings so if you're on a walk or at the plygrnd w/ your kids there's noplace to go without walking a mile. Otherwise I would give 5 stars :o(
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time! We are from SLO and it was the perfect way to start summer. Staff was great, fun activities, and the grounds were well kept. We will be back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.