Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 25, 2013
The campground was impecably well taken care of. The bathrooms we visited were older but very well kept and smelled fresh. Lot of fun stuff for familys to do. A varienty of choices for the types of camping one chose, ex: trailer, tent, cabin. Lots of wildlife and very close to a lake with very good walking trails that we took advantage of.
Feb 20, 2013
Feb 19, 2013
We camped with three of our grandchildren ages 8years, 10yrs & 11 years. Everyone had a great time! A local rancher even invited the kids to go to their ranch and pet goats, which we did! The jumping pillow was a big hit. We live in Paso and already co-workers of mine in SLO plan to visit you due to pics I showed them today.
Feb 19, 2013
Great staff, nice campground and close enough to the lake, we had a great time.
Feb 11, 2013
Feb 09, 2013
It was our 24yr wedding anniversary and it rained a lot which made it that much better. We had a great time at Morro Bay. Santa Margarita antique shopping was fun. Having wifi and being able to use our netflix was a huge bonus. We watched the SF 49ers game in the community yurt which was very cool as we had it all to ourselves. One of thee best times my wife and I had in a long time.
Feb 08, 2013
Cabin was clean, warm and well kept. The bath house/rest rooms are the same. Both Kim and Scott were great.
Feb 06, 2013
Very nice camp ground, I stayed in a camping cabin and it was perfect. Nice employees. Improvements could be made as far as lighting along roads and walkways, especially leading to bathrooms, felt a little unsafe. But everything else was great.
Feb 06, 2013
Jan 28, 2013
cabin was nice ,clean and we enjoyed the stay. Heater did not work well but got it fixed.Over all we were pleased with the stay.
Jan 24, 2013
Staff are very helpful, kampground is very well-kept, and the setting is perfect. We will be back!
Jan 23, 2013
I loved how accommodating the folks were for our group! Thank you!
Jan 23, 2013
Absolutely wonderful family who ran the campground, very knowledgeable and efficient.
Jan 23, 2013
We have stayed in a few of the cabins, the yert and tent camped at the Santa Margarita KOA and we love it. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are maintained and we can head out to the Pozo / La Panza OHV areas from there very easily. Also the Lake is near by or the kids can play on the blob for hours. We really like this KOA at Santa Margarita.
Jan 18, 2013
Aside from the fact that, while checking in, I mentioned that good Wi-Fi was very important, no one mentioned that you had to be on top of the office in order to get online since apparently there were no repeaters, so I didn't have any Wi-Fi. The electrical system had a measly 114 volts which caused my circuit breakers to trip. Couldn't even have coffee in the morning.
Jan 08, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Next time we like be able to enjoy cable TV.
Jan 01, 2013
The park was great and so were the people. Would return
Jan 01, 2013
Jan 01, 2013
Dec 31, 2012
We had a good time during our stay. We feel the restroom / showers need to be upgraded and heated.
Dec 27, 2012
It was Just good!!!!!
Dec 16, 2012
We love you guys! Thanks for everything.
Dec 11, 2012
This campground provides many great options for camping; the Lodge we stayed in was very comfortable and roomy. The sites are spread throughout the beautiful rolling hills with lots of trees and great views! The staff was very friendly and helpful. My girls loved the jumping pillow!
Dec 04, 2012
Just the scenery alone is worth staying here! It is a beautiful hidden gem that although is a hop skip and a jump from the beach, feel like it's miles from civilization. It is peaceful and relaxing.
Nov 30, 2012
Nov 27, 2012
Friendly, wonderfully accommodating and easy to navigate.
Nov 26, 2012
Nov 25, 2012
This is our 5th year celebrating Thanksgiving at this campground.We LOVE it!Wouldn't go anywhere else!
Nov 25, 2012
Great campground. Very clean. Very nice office staff. Friendly and helpful. Thank you!
Nov 25, 2012
Only major inconvenience was the shower. We cid not have enough hot water to shower even one person, we had 7 in our cabin. We had to use the public shower, which had much better showers with plenty of hot water. Cabin bathroom door extremely hard to open and close. Great view, very peaceful place, close to lake. Had a good experience.
Nov 25, 2012
The friendly service and great people (especially Karen) were very helpful. We were helped after hours and shown to the yurt we had rented. The stay was plesant and everything from the bathrooms to the grounds to our yurt were clean.
Nov 15, 2012
Stayed in a yurt it was very cool would recomend to others. Family or a group. It was roomy Slept 8 and we had 6. Had a nice camp fire.restrooms very clean. Thank you KoA of Santa Margirita will stay again
Nov 12, 2012
The cabins with baths are SO cute and with everything you could possibly want. Was beautiful, quiet and peaceful. Everyone was super friendly. We'll certainly go back.
Oct 30, 2012
We had a wonderful time! The kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. It was fun to watch for wildlife like deer, turkeys, and birds of all kinds. Bathrooms and showers were always clean and well stocked. The fall decorations were a nice touch. The only downsides were the stray cats who got into our food and the wasps that flew around while we ate. Otherwise, highly recommended!
Oct 30, 2012
Oct 29, 2012
Great stay! peaceful
Oct 24, 2012
The biggest disappointment was seeing how much tree cutting there were. To me the beauty of going camping is seeing as much natural beauty as possible. It was therefore sad to see the big oak trees that were cut recently.
Oct 23, 2012
User promised, under delivered. Will not come back.
Oct 22, 2012
Oct 22, 2012
Oct 21, 2012
We hosted a KOA wedding campout; everything from the location to the facilities to the staff contributed to an outstanding weekend!
Oct 21, 2012
Oct 20, 2012
Nice people. Hilly. Playground is very small. RV area is crowded.
Oct 17, 2012
Clean quiet stayed three nights had some low voltage alerts.
Oct 16, 2012
We were in the tent site located right across from the jumping pillow. The light right there lit up our tent all night. Also there were young men partying all night the entire weekend. We were told they were going to be moved for Saturday night & that never happened. Again they were loud Saturday night. KOA is supposed to be a family environment.
Oct 15, 2012
Had a fantastic time, what could be better than waking up to deer at your campsite one morning, and wild turkey's the next! Staff were awesome and were very helpfull at pointing out some local fun.
Oct 15, 2012
Our kabin smelled horrible and was over 100 degrees inside because the heater was left on inside on the hottest setting. The kabin gas cob webs and wasn't as clean as others we've stayed in at other KOAs. The location was beautiful and our kids loved the play area.
Oct 14, 2012
Beautiful place. Great owners.
Oct 12, 2012
The campground is old but it was clean and the people who ran it were very friendly and helpful and appear to be trying their best to make it a good place to camp. We enjoyed our stay and would come back.
Oct 09, 2012
The staff was very helpful & friendly.This facility was a little more primitive than we expected & in need of some TLC. The women's shower near the pool was, as my 9 year old daughter put it, DISGUSTING! The water barely flowed & there was a funky smell. The pool was freezing, best described as what it must have felt like to fall into the water off the Titanic.The children's play was excellent!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.