Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2013
All the staff were extremely friendly and there were lots of activities. Thank you to Shari Scott Rex Karen and all the others for a wonderful stay. Best KOA ever!
May 29, 2013
Overall the stay was good, except on the last day. There was a group of people who were not camping who came to use the jump pillow and they were driving very fast and drinking while driving.
May 28, 2013
Great activities for kids. Didn't like that some local rif raft was allowed to come into the park to play. Sites are OK but for a long 5th wheel or motorhome it's hard to back in.
May 28, 2013
Loved the jumping pillow, cabins were great, very friendly staff, we would love to come back for our next vacation. Thanks a lot! Vidya and Ganesh Swaminathan
May 28, 2013
Lots of activities and very friendly staff. The kids loved the jumping pillow!
May 28, 2013
I really enjoyed my stay. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I will be coming back
May 28, 2013
Great spot for visiting the coast,a beautiful area, the playground and the pool are great and management put some effort into activities for the family. But- the restrooms were filthy and run-down, and there were not enough facilities. Plus, with 3-4 families camping on each site, the campground was totally crowded and loud. Not my expectation for a KOA, at all.
May 28, 2013
Great place, great staff, and great activities. A little dusty, but nice.
May 28, 2013
We had a great memorable get away with my family. The cabin was a great in between for my family between a tent and house. We loved it ! Thanks
May 27, 2013
Great pull through site (only one)Laundry machines need to be replaced. Family friendly. We saw wild deer and many Woodpeckers and the KOA Goat Herd! Close (walking distance) to a great boating and fishing lake.
May 25, 2013
It was great all the staff was absolutely wonderful.
May 23, 2013
We enjoyed our stay with all you guys....just like our other family...Thank You for that....BUT have only 1 complain...it would be really nice to have the roads re-graded, they are really bad (pot holes are really deep)...please see what you can do about that!! Other than that, we really love you guys, your great...thanks for being a friend
May 21, 2013
The site, store and staff were good. There were barking dogs and dirt bike noise. Perfect for campers who don't mind noise. Also, this was during the week...
May 20, 2013
To the KOA Staff, Thank you for another successful event. You and your staff were VERY professional and accommodating making our stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to KOA hosting our events for years to come. Thank you, Pacific Savagez Empire
May 20, 2013
Great place, friendly and helpful staff. Mid week the best, no one on the lake. Can't wait to go back.
May 19, 2013
perfectly happy
May 14, 2013
Good place but very windy.
May 13, 2013
wife was working half of the time
May 13, 2013
I've stayed at this KOA several times. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Lots of amenities at the campground. Bathrooms are clean and well-stocked.
May 13, 2013
May 12, 2013
We enjoy our stay very much, everyone was very helpful and friendly.
May 12, 2013
May 10, 2013
This was definitely one of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed at. I love the quiet of the mountains, the cool air, and the easy proximity to both the lake and the village as well as to the ocean.
May 09, 2013
Although the staff were very friendly,the bathrooms/showers were very small and it took way to long to get hot water. We were not told that it was all but impossible to get cell/wifi service. Although we were allowed to use the office phone, a pay phone would have been nice. KOA directory states the pool is open as of 4/1...it was not.
May 09, 2013
The campground was beautiful and clean. The camp host took care of us and showed us right where our cabin was. We would love to stay there again.The campground was easy to find with the directions given on the web site. All in all it was a wonderful stay.
May 06, 2013
I have stayed here many times never any problems
May 06, 2013
Great customer service, clean campsites, close to the lake, awesome weekend!
May 06, 2013
A little dusty but that's kamping. Great customer service.
May 05, 2013
This is the 3rd year we've been back over my birthday & have every intention of coming back each year at this time. Everything was perfect!
May 05, 2013
May 05, 2013
May 04, 2013
I liked everything.
May 03, 2013
Loved that this was a real, outdoors-type campground with trees, hills and everyone having a great time!
May 02, 2013
Had the best time. The people that work there are great thank you :))
Apr 30, 2013
Awesome staff,campground,restrooms nothing bad too say
Apr 30, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
We found everyone to be very kind, friendly, and willing to help in any way they could. Karen was especially helpful..she went the extra mile to resolve our reservation dilemma. Thanks to all!. Brian
Apr 30, 2013
Camp site was up in the hill, secluded and good views. We saw LOTS of wild life. Only complaint was lousy laundry machines. But you don't go camping to do your laundry anyway. Would definitely come back if in the area. The best KOA we've stayed at thus far.
Apr 29, 2013
The staff was very courteous, friendly, helpful and came around multiple times to check to see if we needed anything. Was a FANTASTIC trip and looking forward to many more to Santa Margarita KOA. Thank you Shari, Joshua, Scott and Tamaria(SP?) for your great service, friendly attitude, teamwork and enjoyable personalities. You all went above and beyond in service. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!loved it!!!!
Apr 29, 2013
This is our second stay at the santa margarita koa. We loved it here. The staff is so kind and courteous. They really go out of the way to make you feel welcome, and answer any questions about the area you might have. The campground is clean, and has all the amenities you need. My 5 year old twins love the playground. We loved the extra large Rv site, with plenty of room. Thank you!
Apr 29, 2013
What A Great Getaway!
Apr 29, 2013
Such a great staff, the sites are huge, and the amenities are wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better spot! I highly recommend it to all.
Apr 29, 2013
We stayed for a local concert. The staff was GREAT, friendly and very informateive! We will be staying more often!!
Apr 29, 2013
Great area and facilities. The staff really cares about their guests and do everything they can to make your stay awesome. The campgrounds are well kept. Definitely will recommend this area to friends and will be back soon!!!
Apr 29, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Excellent customer service. I was disappointed that the pool was under construction because it was so hot,however the staff made sure we had a great time and they went above and beyond.. Would definitely come back.
Apr 29, 2013
The map was very confusing and many of the streets did not have signs and/or were not accurate according to the map. We had to use campsite numbers to find our way around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, we don't have road signs to match our site maps yet. We try to escort campers to the remote sites, like the one you had. Road signs are being carved as I type. We are working hard to improve everything from the ground up. Watch for new road signs and site #'s in the near future.
Apr 24, 2013
Sites could be a bit more level. Other than that, nice.
Apr 22, 2013
We loved every second. Gorgeous scenery, adorable cabin, clean, neat, convenient. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful and enhanced every moment of our stay. A total. Joy. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Apr 22, 2013
Most of the staff are friendly and willing to help if needed, clean campgroungs bathroom are clean as well shower need some love. Over all.. meh!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.