Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 04, 2013
Staff was very courteous and friendly.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Great stay in deluxe cabin. Many activities that we enjoyed including movies dancing to live music and a hayride also. Only complaint was only 2 shade umbrellas by pool. We had one of them so it was fine for us.
Jul 01, 2013
We had originally planned to stay 4 nights but found that the location added 1 extra hour to our sightseeing plans. Based on your message we saved more than 13 dollars, since a refund to our original 4 day reservation was not offered by Koa. Overall ok.
Jul 01, 2013
Unfortunately, the weather was too hot, obviously not the fault of KOA. The view at our site was just as described: "spectacular and secluded". My only complaint was that we had noisy neighbors below but other than that we LOVED our site.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
We loved our campsite #13. Secluded and shady. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
I made reservations through Scott @ the KOA. I told him what I was looking to rent & he suggested 2 cabins together on the hill. It was perfect! He was so helpful & nice. He gave us info & contacts for local activities, etc. The cabins & the grounds were neat & clean. We had a great time & look forward to coming back!
Jun 28, 2013
This camp is built on a hillside which gave extra space between tent sites. We saw quite a bit of wildlife. We will be returning.
Jun 27, 2013
I would recommend this camp ground to families with children. For us it was nice to have a place for the night. The restrooms were an issue to us. They were difficult to get to. Through others camps and then down stairs across the road and then upstairs. With a large rv with toilets this would be ok but we have a pop up with no bathroom.
Jun 25, 2013
Quite nice Place but the restrooms are a bit old and Need maintenance. All in all Good to the nice location
Jun 24, 2013
Every thing was great! The staff was very friendly. Several of the families that were in our group have young adults with special needs and your staff was so great when it came to their needs. We will definitely come back which will make it 13 yrs of camping at your site...
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Great staff. Keep up making the great improvements
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
Such a great place for kids. The staff is so friendly!
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time. The staff was very helpful. Thanks Shari for going the extra mile
Jun 17, 2013
Beautiful campground, very clean. Jumping pillow-genius! We will be back.
Jun 17, 2013
The owner is super nice. The site is being worked on and do not expect wifi unless you are near the office. The electric outlets work only with RV. We came in our truck and roof top tent so we did have any outlets that we could use
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the campgrounds had a lot of activities that the kids enjoyed. Sherri (sp?) and Bridgett were super nice and a lot of help when we had questions. Thank you for the great weekend!
Jun 16, 2013
Very enjoyable & relaxing, we will return again & recommend you.
Jun 14, 2013
Our stay was very satisfying, with staff was very accommodating,reserve early. Hats off to Kathy and the staff.
Jun 13, 2013
We were told we'd have wifi; we didn't. The campsite wasn't clearly marked. One bathroom was locked. Men's bathroom wasn't clean. Hot shower was good!
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 08, 2013
Had a good time! Staff was kind and there cabins were very clean. My family and I were a little upset with all the dust that was kicked up from the bulldozer type trucks while we were trying to eat our meals outside. Other than that it was a blast! thank you very much.
Jun 07, 2013
will rate higher when bathroom renovations are complete.
Jun 05, 2013
wasnt sure what we were getting into and it turned out to be one of our greatest camp trips in a long time. friendly staff, great camsites, great activities-(especially country music under the stars with hot dog/marshmallow roast) and good/clean facilities. The pool was great for our little one, as well as the awesome jumping pillow. And the lake was a pleasant short walk with nice hiking trails
Jun 04, 2013
very awesome area. should be more available trash cans for the upper levels and shorter Distance to showers from camp areas
Jun 03, 2013
It was a lot of fun, lots of activities for the kids, loved our lodge, can't wait to go again.
May 30, 2013
All the staff were extremely friendly and there were lots of activities. Thank you to Shari Scott Rex Karen and all the others for a wonderful stay. Best KOA ever!
May 29, 2013
Overall the stay was good, except on the last day. There was a group of people who were not camping who came to use the jump pillow and they were driving very fast and drinking while driving.
May 28, 2013
Great activities for kids. Didn't like that some local rif raft was allowed to come into the park to play. Sites are OK but for a long 5th wheel or motorhome it's hard to back in.
May 28, 2013
Loved the jumping pillow, cabins were great, very friendly staff, we would love to come back for our next vacation. Thanks a lot! Vidya and Ganesh Swaminathan
May 28, 2013
Lots of activities and very friendly staff. The kids loved the jumping pillow!
May 28, 2013
I really enjoyed my stay. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I will be coming back
May 28, 2013
Great spot for visiting the coast,a beautiful area, the playground and the pool are great and management put some effort into activities for the family. But- the restrooms were filthy and run-down, and there were not enough facilities. Plus, with 3-4 families camping on each site, the campground was totally crowded and loud. Not my expectation for a KOA, at all.
May 28, 2013
Great place, great staff, and great activities. A little dusty, but nice.
May 28, 2013
We had a great memorable get away with my family. The cabin was a great in between for my family between a tent and house. We loved it ! Thanks
May 27, 2013
Great pull through site (only one)Laundry machines need to be replaced. Family friendly. We saw wild deer and many Woodpeckers and the KOA Goat Herd! Close (walking distance) to a great boating and fishing lake.
May 25, 2013
It was great all the staff was absolutely wonderful.
May 23, 2013
We enjoyed our stay with all you guys....just like our other family...Thank You for that....BUT have only 1 complain...it would be really nice to have the roads re-graded, they are really bad (pot holes are really deep)...please see what you can do about that!! Other than that, we really love you guys, your great...thanks for being a friend
May 21, 2013
The site, store and staff were good. There were barking dogs and dirt bike noise. Perfect for campers who don't mind noise. Also, this was during the week...
May 20, 2013
To the KOA Staff, Thank you for another successful event. You and your staff were VERY professional and accommodating making our stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to KOA hosting our events for years to come. Thank you, Pacific Savagez Empire
May 20, 2013
Great place, friendly and helpful staff. Mid week the best, no one on the lake. Can't wait to go back.
May 19, 2013
perfectly happy
May 14, 2013
Good place but very windy.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.