Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 30, 2013
Camp site was up in the hill, secluded and good views. We saw LOTS of wild life. Only complaint was lousy laundry machines. But you don't go camping to do your laundry anyway. Would definitely come back if in the area. The best KOA we've stayed at thus far.
Apr 29, 2013
The staff was very courteous, friendly, helpful and came around multiple times to check to see if we needed anything. Was a FANTASTIC trip and looking forward to many more to Santa Margarita KOA. Thank you Shari, Joshua, Scott and Tamaria(SP?) for your great service, friendly attitude, teamwork and enjoyable personalities. You all went above and beyond in service. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!loved it!!!!
Apr 29, 2013
This is our second stay at the santa margarita koa. We loved it here. The staff is so kind and courteous. They really go out of the way to make you feel welcome, and answer any questions about the area you might have. The campground is clean, and has all the amenities you need. My 5 year old twins love the playground. We loved the extra large Rv site, with plenty of room. Thank you!
Apr 29, 2013
What A Great Getaway!
Apr 29, 2013
Such a great staff, the sites are huge, and the amenities are wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better spot! I highly recommend it to all.
Apr 29, 2013
We stayed for a local concert. The staff was GREAT, friendly and very informateive! We will be staying more often!!
Apr 29, 2013
Great area and facilities. The staff really cares about their guests and do everything they can to make your stay awesome. The campgrounds are well kept. Definitely will recommend this area to friends and will be back soon!!!
Apr 29, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Excellent customer service. I was disappointed that the pool was under construction because it was so hot,however the staff made sure we had a great time and they went above and beyond.. Would definitely come back.
Apr 29, 2013
The map was very confusing and many of the streets did not have signs and/or were not accurate according to the map. We had to use campsite numbers to find our way around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, we don't have road signs to match our site maps yet. We try to escort campers to the remote sites, like the one you had. Road signs are being carved as I type. We are working hard to improve everything from the ground up. Watch for new road signs and site #'s in the near future.
Apr 24, 2013
Sites could be a bit more level. Other than that, nice.
Apr 22, 2013
We loved every second. Gorgeous scenery, adorable cabin, clean, neat, convenient. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful and enhanced every moment of our stay. A total. Joy. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Apr 22, 2013
Most of the staff are friendly and willing to help if needed, clean campgroungs bathroom are clean as well shower need some love. Over all.. meh!
Apr 22, 2013
We had a very great time! It was very comfortable and your staff was very welcoming! Thanks again!
Apr 22, 2013
Apr 17, 2013
A great crew, friendly people and working hard to improve the facility. We enjoyed the environment and will be back next spring.
Apr 15, 2013
Staff are very friendly and helpful. I like it that it is far away from freeway noise. First cabin we were in was like sleeping in a dust bowl. The place has what looks like been carved out by a bull dozer and zig zag up the hills. We were there in April and I would not want to be there in summer where the dust would really fly.
Apr 15, 2013
Been twice before loved it. This time both horse corrals were covered in 4 inches of goat excrement and urine surrounded by 60 goats in makeshift pens. Foul smelling nightmare
Apr 15, 2013
Apr 15, 2013
It was a great stay. The campground was quiet. We stayed in one of the small cabins it was clean. Probably the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the bathroom needed a little maintenance. There was a leaking shower and it dampened the floor into one of the toilet stalls.
Apr 15, 2013
Friendly staff and nice and clean campground.
Apr 12, 2013
We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was clean and spacious. In addition, all the basic cooking utensils were provided. The kids enjoyed exploring the area. The hiking and fishing were great. We also enjoyed stargazing at night on the hill. None of us wanted to leave and we can't wait to go back. Thanks!
Apr 12, 2013
We stayed in your cabins for 2 nights. The facilities were very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Will go back again!
Apr 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in this campground very much. It's not only in a beautiful setting but also all the employees including the manager were very nice and helpful. Great place - we'll definitely come back again!
Apr 10, 2013
Apr 09, 2013
Bathrooms need remodeling.
Apr 08, 2013
Great location. Close to Santa Margarita Lake and hiking. Kids enjoyed bouncing pillow.
Apr 08, 2013
The cabin was awesome! It was so clean and comfy.
Apr 08, 2013
I must say first that Scott was great and took an interest in making our stay more comfortable. When I called to make reservations,no one explained that the grounds were under construction and that the pool was being renovated. The reason I choose this kampground was because the State Park in Big Sur was under construction. We left a day early because there was nothing to do. There was no swimming
Apr 08, 2013
Just went to relax and to get away from the city with my wife and my friends. Loved the location and i will be returning soon.
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
Its better than I expected though we didn't get to see much of it. Came in late and left early but will definitly go back. Seemed like a great place.
Apr 06, 2013
Everyone is friendly and always willing to help.
Apr 05, 2013
Staff very friendly and amenities very clean
Apr 05, 2013
Reconstruction in progress. Narrow sites. No cable tv. Well shaded and wild turkeys were fun.
Apr 05, 2013
the place stated no pit bulls and there was one next door. It said that the pool was open and it was not. They had the wrong dates on the website.The staff was nice.
Apr 05, 2013
Apr 02, 2013
Pat was very accomodating when I called to change our camp site. He put us in one that was shady, secluded and large enough for our 2 bedroom tent and our e-z up canopy. The bathrooms were clean and only a short walk from our spot. We did notice that the sites closer to the playground were considerably noisier than ours. But our spot was perfect for our family of 4. .
Apr 02, 2013
Loved the jumping pillow! Wish a cabin rental came with a toilet and sink.
Apr 02, 2013
The stay was really very pleasing. Staff was very very helpful. Cabin was very clean. Love this KOA campground.
Mar 31, 2013
I stayed for almost 1 year very great people and great place, will stay again when in the area. Hated to leave, I travel alot in line of work and would tell everyone they should stay there and if they don't its on them. Once again love the place and people. Steve and Bonnie
Mar 31, 2013
The kids had fun on the bouncing pillow, but was disappointed in the condition of the basketball court and disc golf. Lucky for us we brung our own entertainment. The overall stay was nice and relaxing quality family time.
Mar 31, 2013
Very rustic. Our cabin and the bathrooms were clean. My son was disappointed the pool was not working and we could not access the Wi-Fi. Beautiful scenery and nice place if you want to get outdoors.
Mar 31, 2013
Loved the tent site that we got! It had great views and it felt quite isolated (which I really enjoyed) but with access to all the great KOA amenities.
Mar 30, 2013
Mar 30, 2013
Mar 30, 2013
Hello, Santa Margarita was one of our favorite camps. great camp site. The way the camp is set up makes you feel like your camping, did not feel like cattle in a stockade like others we stayed at. People where very helpful and went way above and beyond to make us feel like we belong. The only downfall was the shower room was not heated. Loved it. Thank you
Mar 30, 2013
The only thing that would have made the stay perfect (five stars) would have been if the RV sites were like the tent sites, secluded, and not so close very close to each other.
Mar 28, 2013
Great place. Quiet and clean. Will be back in near future. Were understanding of my husband getting ill and are reimbursing one night that we missed. We appreciate their thoughtfulness.
Mar 28, 2013
Great site. Clean showers and restrooms. I booked another weekend. Everyone was nice and helpful.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.