Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2013
My 10 year old son and I stayed overnight in one of the hurts. We live only 30 minutes away but we wanted to do something fun, different and spontaneous. We had a great time! The yurt is spectacular and we were next to the jumping pillow, which was perfect. We can't wait to stay at this KOA again.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Family had a blast. Thanks
Jul 09, 2013
Friendly staff, spacious sites, and close proximity to lake, and surrounding beach communities.... the activities were for all ages loved it.
Jul 09, 2013
Karen/KOA Staff-great!!! Our group of 7 (4 adults, 2 kids and a dog) were recommended of an appropriate RV for camping instead of cabin or yurt given hot and humid weather on the fourth of july weekend. We camped out for 3 nights and it was some experience. Kids and the dog LOVED it. Big pool. RV came with AC, Coking range, microwave, utensils. No songs after 10 :) fishing/boating @ Don/Tom great!
Jul 09, 2013
Friendly staff, lots to do, the jumping pillow was a big hit (even with my wife, we have no kids!) The camp sites were clean and well kept and there was plenty to walk around and see! Definitely recommend!
Jul 09, 2013
me an my family have been staying at santa margarita koa for the past 6 years. we booked it back in jan of this year for are space. when we show up the space that I booked was given to a different family so now that got me so upset that it had happen to us. the bad thing was the family that took my camp site was there for 4 day already. so I had to take a different camp site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're so sorry you didn't get the site you hoped since Site #28 was requested but not marked on your reservation. We made a special note in your file that Site #28 is your favorite and you may camp a night in #28 on us. Just give us a call to check availability. We appreciate your loyal business!
Jul 08, 2013
The KOA was very accomodating. There was a lot to keep my family busy.
Jul 08, 2013
They gave us a site that sat above a dysfunctional bathroom that smelled like it was overflowing with waste. There were other sites, the other site offered was at a dangerous drop off. We had no water at our site and the bathroom was at a downward walk that was slippery, and our entrance to our camp needed 4 wheel drive most times to get to the top. I will never recommend this camp.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The road is too close to the cabin, it is very dusty when cars dive by. You don't want to drink the water, since it is yellow color. Other things are good, we had six families stayed together and had fun.
Jul 08, 2013
Clean, safe, and lots to keep the kids happy! We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2013
Too dusty. Too hot. Not the best summer camp location. Would prefer a little cooler.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
The staff was SUPER nice! It was a nice place to stay while visiting relatives in nearby Atascadero!
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was very courteous and friendly.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Great stay in deluxe cabin. Many activities that we enjoyed including movies dancing to live music and a hayride also. Only complaint was only 2 shade umbrellas by pool. We had one of them so it was fine for us.
Jul 01, 2013
We had originally planned to stay 4 nights but found that the location added 1 extra hour to our sightseeing plans. Based on your message we saved more than 13 dollars, since a refund to our original 4 day reservation was not offered by Koa. Overall ok.
Jul 01, 2013
Unfortunately, the weather was too hot, obviously not the fault of KOA. The view at our site was just as described: "spectacular and secluded". My only complaint was that we had noisy neighbors below but other than that we LOVED our site.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
We loved our campsite #13. Secluded and shady. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
I made reservations through Scott @ the KOA. I told him what I was looking to rent & he suggested 2 cabins together on the hill. It was perfect! He was so helpful & nice. He gave us info & contacts for local activities, etc. The cabins & the grounds were neat & clean. We had a great time & look forward to coming back!
Jun 28, 2013
This camp is built on a hillside which gave extra space between tent sites. We saw quite a bit of wildlife. We will be returning.
Jun 27, 2013
I would recommend this camp ground to families with children. For us it was nice to have a place for the night. The restrooms were an issue to us. They were difficult to get to. Through others camps and then down stairs across the road and then upstairs. With a large rv with toilets this would be ok but we have a pop up with no bathroom.
Jun 25, 2013
Quite nice Place but the restrooms are a bit old and Need maintenance. All in all Good to the nice location
Jun 24, 2013
Every thing was great! The staff was very friendly. Several of the families that were in our group have young adults with special needs and your staff was so great when it came to their needs. We will definitely come back which will make it 13 yrs of camping at your site...
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Great staff. Keep up making the great improvements
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
Such a great place for kids. The staff is so friendly!
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time. The staff was very helpful. Thanks Shari for going the extra mile
Jun 17, 2013
Beautiful campground, very clean. Jumping pillow-genius! We will be back.
Jun 17, 2013
The owner is super nice. The site is being worked on and do not expect wifi unless you are near the office. The electric outlets work only with RV. We came in our truck and roof top tent so we did have any outlets that we could use
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the campgrounds had a lot of activities that the kids enjoyed. Sherri (sp?) and Bridgett were super nice and a lot of help when we had questions. Thank you for the great weekend!
Jun 16, 2013
Very enjoyable & relaxing, we will return again & recommend you.
Jun 14, 2013
Our stay was very satisfying, with staff was very accommodating,reserve early. Hats off to Kathy and the staff.
Jun 13, 2013
We were told we'd have wifi; we didn't. The campsite wasn't clearly marked. One bathroom was locked. Men's bathroom wasn't clean. Hot shower was good!
Jun 13, 2013
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 08, 2013
Had a good time! Staff was kind and there cabins were very clean. My family and I were a little upset with all the dust that was kicked up from the bulldozer type trucks while we were trying to eat our meals outside. Other than that it was a blast! thank you very much.
Jun 07, 2013
will rate higher when bathroom renovations are complete.
Jun 05, 2013
wasnt sure what we were getting into and it turned out to be one of our greatest camp trips in a long time. friendly staff, great camsites, great activities-(especially country music under the stars with hot dog/marshmallow roast) and good/clean facilities. The pool was great for our little one, as well as the awesome jumping pillow. And the lake was a pleasant short walk with nice hiking trails
Jun 04, 2013
very awesome area. should be more available trash cans for the upper levels and shorter Distance to showers from camp areas
Jun 03, 2013
It was a lot of fun, lots of activities for the kids, loved our lodge, can't wait to go again.
May 30, 2013
All the staff were extremely friendly and there were lots of activities. Thank you to Shari Scott Rex Karen and all the others for a wonderful stay. Best KOA ever!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.