Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2013
The cabin we stayed in was fantastic. All our kids had a great time. Pool temperature was a little cold even though it was a hot day. Everyone was shivering.
Jul 18, 2013
Made a mistake in where I thought I was booking, but the site was so beautiful and the campground facilities so clean I was out of the dog house quickly. I should also mention staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 17, 2013
Fun but A LOT of walking, mostly uphill. A hike to the bathrooms including 20 stairs down hill and 20 stairs uphill, one way, for a total of 80 stairs round trip! Despite that, the kids loved the jumping pillow and wonderful star gazing.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
The manager was great. We stopped at 6 KOAs this RV trip. This was by far the most organized one: directions, attitude,, and layout were all much appreciated.
Jul 17, 2013
We did not appreciate the overflow area we were placed in. Overall the campgrounds in other areas appeared well kept, but we felt that us--and others after us--would have thought more of this KOA if we were told it was full and sent to the state campground nearby out of respect for wanting an enjoyable stay as opposed to being placed where we were and charging the same rate as all other tent sites
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We loved our site #88. Great views and loved the goats. Glad there was a porta potty nearby. The rest of the site was a bit cramped. The owner was responsive and friendly and handled some problems at the site. We appreciated that.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins were very clean, your staff is one of the best, we include everyone who works at Santa Margarita KOA
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was very accommodating. We had a larger group and when we wanted to have a larger BBQ gathering, the staff provided a large BBQ and several picnic tables for the occasion. The cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for our family of four. Will certainly return. Thanks you!
Jul 15, 2013
I'm one of the Cota's from the Cota reunion. July 11/14. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the park and all it's amenities. The only drawback was I think you need more publid bathrooms. It was a long walk... Thanks for everything.
Jul 15, 2013
We had a family reunion there.. The staff was amazing.. Customer service was Outstanding... they let us have Fun!
Jul 15, 2013
how lucky we were to find and stay at the KOA campground in Santa Margarita. We planned our trip at the last moment, but found the site to be filled with great. friendly staff. who helped to accommodate all our needs. the kids had a wonderful time, which gave me time to relax, knowing they were in a safe environment. thank you everyone at KOA. Gilbert Alcoser
Jul 15, 2013
It was hot in the camping cabin,only had a fan in it. Bathrooms were clean. Nice place to view the stars, and enjoy nature.
Jul 15, 2013
Loved it and so did the kids! Very friendly staff. Only wish our site had some shade...very hot during the day.
Jul 15, 2013
Awesome location and well kept campgrounds
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Cabin was missing screens, unable to leave window open. Bathroom had open floor drain cover. Plumbing very slow to drain and at times backed up. Bathroom very dim and not sparkling clean. Leaking plumbing stains agains wall and floors. Area Very dusty. Tho the facility may have been lacking, but the staff was great and what we have come to expect at KOA.
Jul 12, 2013
Tent sites were very private and great view, but for the price premium of a KOA, the facilities were not up to expectations - very dirty, bug infested pool area, dirty bathrooms, ice out of stock in store, etc. Plusses were jumping pillow and hay ride.
Jul 11, 2013
It was a nice campground, but a little rough for tent camping because of all the dirt. It would have been nicer if there were hay or chips over the dirt where the sites were. It's ideal for motorhome or trailer camping for sure. Otherwise, the grounds were excellent. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, the jumping pillow and the people were really nice and quiet at night.
Jul 11, 2013
My 10 year old son and I stayed overnight in one of the hurts. We live only 30 minutes away but we wanted to do something fun, different and spontaneous. We had a great time! The yurt is spectacular and we were next to the jumping pillow, which was perfect. We can't wait to stay at this KOA again.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Family had a blast. Thanks
Jul 09, 2013
Friendly staff, spacious sites, and close proximity to lake, and surrounding beach communities.... the activities were for all ages loved it.
Jul 09, 2013
Karen/KOA Staff-great!!! Our group of 7 (4 adults, 2 kids and a dog) were recommended of an appropriate RV for camping instead of cabin or yurt given hot and humid weather on the fourth of july weekend. We camped out for 3 nights and it was some experience. Kids and the dog LOVED it. Big pool. RV came with AC, Coking range, microwave, utensils. No songs after 10 :) fishing/boating @ Don/Tom great!
Jul 09, 2013
Friendly staff, lots to do, the jumping pillow was a big hit (even with my wife, we have no kids!) The camp sites were clean and well kept and there was plenty to walk around and see! Definitely recommend!
Jul 09, 2013
me an my family have been staying at santa margarita koa for the past 6 years. we booked it back in jan of this year for are space. when we show up the space that I booked was given to a different family so now that got me so upset that it had happen to us. the bad thing was the family that took my camp site was there for 4 day already. so I had to take a different camp site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're so sorry you didn't get the site you hoped since Site #28 was requested but not marked on your reservation. We made a special note in your file that Site #28 is your favorite and you may camp a night in #28 on us. Just give us a call to check availability. We appreciate your loyal business!
Jul 08, 2013
The KOA was very accomodating. There was a lot to keep my family busy.
Jul 08, 2013
They gave us a site that sat above a dysfunctional bathroom that smelled like it was overflowing with waste. There were other sites, the other site offered was at a dangerous drop off. We had no water at our site and the bathroom was at a downward walk that was slippery, and our entrance to our camp needed 4 wheel drive most times to get to the top. I will never recommend this camp.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The road is too close to the cabin, it is very dusty when cars dive by. You don't want to drink the water, since it is yellow color. Other things are good, we had six families stayed together and had fun.
Jul 08, 2013
Clean, safe, and lots to keep the kids happy! We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2013
Too dusty. Too hot. Not the best summer camp location. Would prefer a little cooler.
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
The staff was SUPER nice! It was a nice place to stay while visiting relatives in nearby Atascadero!
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was very courteous and friendly.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Great stay in deluxe cabin. Many activities that we enjoyed including movies dancing to live music and a hayride also. Only complaint was only 2 shade umbrellas by pool. We had one of them so it was fine for us.
Jul 01, 2013
We had originally planned to stay 4 nights but found that the location added 1 extra hour to our sightseeing plans. Based on your message we saved more than 13 dollars, since a refund to our original 4 day reservation was not offered by Koa. Overall ok.
Jul 01, 2013
Unfortunately, the weather was too hot, obviously not the fault of KOA. The view at our site was just as described: "spectacular and secluded". My only complaint was that we had noisy neighbors below but other than that we LOVED our site.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
We loved our campsite #13. Secluded and shady. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
I made reservations through Scott @ the KOA. I told him what I was looking to rent & he suggested 2 cabins together on the hill. It was perfect! He was so helpful & nice. He gave us info & contacts for local activities, etc. The cabins & the grounds were neat & clean. We had a great time & look forward to coming back!
Jun 28, 2013
This camp is built on a hillside which gave extra space between tent sites. We saw quite a bit of wildlife. We will be returning.
Jun 27, 2013
I would recommend this camp ground to families with children. For us it was nice to have a place for the night. The restrooms were an issue to us. They were difficult to get to. Through others camps and then down stairs across the road and then upstairs. With a large rv with toilets this would be ok but we have a pop up with no bathroom.
Jun 25, 2013
Quite nice Place but the restrooms are a bit old and Need maintenance. All in all Good to the nice location
Jun 24, 2013
Every thing was great! The staff was very friendly. Several of the families that were in our group have young adults with special needs and your staff was so great when it came to their needs. We will definitely come back which will make it 13 yrs of camping at your site...

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.