Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 20, 2013
To the KOA Staff, Thank you for another successful event. You and your staff were VERY professional and accommodating making our stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to KOA hosting our events for years to come. Thank you, Pacific Savagez Empire
May 20, 2013
Great place, friendly and helpful staff. Mid week the best, no one on the lake. Can't wait to go back.
May 19, 2013
perfectly happy
May 14, 2013
Good place but very windy.
May 13, 2013
wife was working half of the time
May 13, 2013
I've stayed at this KOA several times. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Lots of amenities at the campground. Bathrooms are clean and well-stocked.
May 13, 2013
May 12, 2013
We enjoy our stay very much, everyone was very helpful and friendly.
May 12, 2013
May 10, 2013
This was definitely one of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed at. I love the quiet of the mountains, the cool air, and the easy proximity to both the lake and the village as well as to the ocean.
May 09, 2013
Although the staff were very friendly,the bathrooms/showers were very small and it took way to long to get hot water. We were not told that it was all but impossible to get cell/wifi service. Although we were allowed to use the office phone, a pay phone would have been nice. KOA directory states the pool is open as of 4/1...it was not.
May 09, 2013
The campground was beautiful and clean. The camp host took care of us and showed us right where our cabin was. We would love to stay there again.The campground was easy to find with the directions given on the web site. All in all it was a wonderful stay.
May 06, 2013
I have stayed here many times never any problems
May 06, 2013
Great customer service, clean campsites, close to the lake, awesome weekend!
May 06, 2013
A little dusty but that's kamping. Great customer service.
May 05, 2013
This is the 3rd year we've been back over my birthday & have every intention of coming back each year at this time. Everything was perfect!
May 05, 2013
May 05, 2013
May 04, 2013
I liked everything.
May 03, 2013
Loved that this was a real, outdoors-type campground with trees, hills and everyone having a great time!
May 02, 2013
Had the best time. The people that work there are great thank you :))
Apr 30, 2013
Awesome staff,campground,restrooms nothing bad too say
Apr 30, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
We found everyone to be very kind, friendly, and willing to help in any way they could. Karen was especially helpful..she went the extra mile to resolve our reservation dilemma. Thanks to all!. Brian
Apr 30, 2013
Camp site was up in the hill, secluded and good views. We saw LOTS of wild life. Only complaint was lousy laundry machines. But you don't go camping to do your laundry anyway. Would definitely come back if in the area. The best KOA we've stayed at thus far.
Apr 29, 2013
The staff was very courteous, friendly, helpful and came around multiple times to check to see if we needed anything. Was a FANTASTIC trip and looking forward to many more to Santa Margarita KOA. Thank you Shari, Joshua, Scott and Tamaria(SP?) for your great service, friendly attitude, teamwork and enjoyable personalities. You all went above and beyond in service. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!loved it!!!!
Apr 29, 2013
This is our second stay at the santa margarita koa. We loved it here. The staff is so kind and courteous. They really go out of the way to make you feel welcome, and answer any questions about the area you might have. The campground is clean, and has all the amenities you need. My 5 year old twins love the playground. We loved the extra large Rv site, with plenty of room. Thank you!
Apr 29, 2013
What A Great Getaway!
Apr 29, 2013
Such a great staff, the sites are huge, and the amenities are wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better spot! I highly recommend it to all.
Apr 29, 2013
We stayed for a local concert. The staff was GREAT, friendly and very informateive! We will be staying more often!!
Apr 29, 2013
Great area and facilities. The staff really cares about their guests and do everything they can to make your stay awesome. The campgrounds are well kept. Definitely will recommend this area to friends and will be back soon!!!
Apr 29, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Excellent customer service. I was disappointed that the pool was under construction because it was so hot,however the staff made sure we had a great time and they went above and beyond.. Would definitely come back.
Apr 29, 2013
The map was very confusing and many of the streets did not have signs and/or were not accurate according to the map. We had to use campsite numbers to find our way around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, we don't have road signs to match our site maps yet. We try to escort campers to the remote sites, like the one you had. Road signs are being carved as I type. We are working hard to improve everything from the ground up. Watch for new road signs and site #'s in the near future.
Apr 24, 2013
Sites could be a bit more level. Other than that, nice.
Apr 22, 2013
We loved every second. Gorgeous scenery, adorable cabin, clean, neat, convenient. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful and enhanced every moment of our stay. A total. Joy. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Apr 22, 2013
Most of the staff are friendly and willing to help if needed, clean campgroungs bathroom are clean as well shower need some love. Over all.. meh!
Apr 22, 2013
We had a very great time! It was very comfortable and your staff was very welcoming! Thanks again!
Apr 22, 2013
Apr 17, 2013
A great crew, friendly people and working hard to improve the facility. We enjoyed the environment and will be back next spring.
Apr 15, 2013
Staff are very friendly and helpful. I like it that it is far away from freeway noise. First cabin we were in was like sleeping in a dust bowl. The place has what looks like been carved out by a bull dozer and zig zag up the hills. We were there in April and I would not want to be there in summer where the dust would really fly.
Apr 15, 2013
Been twice before loved it. This time both horse corrals were covered in 4 inches of goat excrement and urine surrounded by 60 goats in makeshift pens. Foul smelling nightmare
Apr 15, 2013
Apr 15, 2013
It was a great stay. The campground was quiet. We stayed in one of the small cabins it was clean. Probably the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the bathroom needed a little maintenance. There was a leaking shower and it dampened the floor into one of the toilet stalls.
Apr 15, 2013
Friendly staff and nice and clean campground.
Apr 12, 2013
We had a wonderful stay. The cabin was clean and spacious. In addition, all the basic cooking utensils were provided. The kids enjoyed exploring the area. The hiking and fishing were great. We also enjoyed stargazing at night on the hill. None of us wanted to leave and we can't wait to go back. Thanks!
Apr 12, 2013
We stayed in your cabins for 2 nights. The facilities were very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Will go back again!
Apr 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in this campground very much. It's not only in a beautiful setting but also all the employees including the manager were very nice and helpful. Great place - we'll definitely come back again!
Apr 10, 2013
Apr 09, 2013
Bathrooms need remodeling.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.