Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 17, 2015
We had a wonderfull stay there. The staff is friendly, the place is beatiful, we had a great tent site. Clean showers and restrooms.
Apr 15, 2015
Well, if I have to nitpick I'd have to say the horseshoe pit is too close to campsite #42. Some clumsy kid nearly drilled a horseshoe into the passenger window of my wife's minivan. Otherwise we have no complaints. We love Santa Margarita KOA- beautiful setting, friendly staff- and will likely return some time.
Apr 15, 2015
The camp site was very rustic. The roads up to some of the camp sites were a little scary to drive on. After staying at previous koa's I was a little surprised. Other koa's are very developed and have planned activities for the kids, bike rentals, etc. this camp site only has a Jumping pillow and a play set and a pool. The pool was closed. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was very nice.
Apr 15, 2015
My second time staying here, the Kampground Manager went out of his way to help me and for that I'm am extremely greatful. THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Apr 14, 2015
After multiple stays here, this weekend was the absolute best!
Apr 14, 2015
My family always enjoys a stay here. I park my motorhome with older son as a companion. Younger son and family get a cabin. Only criticism is the laundry room. Bad experience there a year ago and again this year. New machines needed.
Apr 14, 2015
Another great stay!
Apr 14, 2015
I had a great experience and will return
Apr 13, 2015
No Swimming Pool until summer season No movie nights until summer season The Wifii was terrible It actually hurt the settings on all of our devices -- on our devices Many Books that were bought and downloaded on our readers were deleted The lake was much farther than we were told ... Not a 1/4 Mile ... It was actually 1.2 Miles each way
Apr 13, 2015
let me start off with a MAJOR issue we have that has not be resolved. We were incorrectly billed for an extra night. We have yet to hear back on resolving of the issue. The campground was ok, cabin was small but nice with all appliances working. however Wifi did not work at all. with the OVERbilling issue unresolved I'm not likely to recommend this site. I would appreciate a response to my e-mail.
Apr 13, 2015
We were given camp site 26 originally then were able to move to site 100 which was much better! Site 26 is really small and located in weird spot. Service was awesome check in and out was easy and fast! The kids loved the pillow jumper! I gave it 4 stars because a dog barked almost every night. Oh well something's happen. Overall great area tucked away from the every day!
Apr 13, 2015
We really enjoyed out stay! This is a quiet peaceful KOA. It's perfect for a calm get away and close enough to action to enjoy the best of both worlds.
Apr 13, 2015
The barking dogs wasn't a hit I think they should go back up the hill where there's not so many people....their pretty noisy! Other then that we love the place...
Apr 13, 2015
Our stay overall was good. we tent camped with our dog, he did great but lots of other dogs barked all night. pool was closed for repair, hopefully fixed soon. drinking water seemed a little "murky". bathrooms were what you expect at a small sight. we would go back
Apr 13, 2015
Nearest bathroom was closed for maintenance.. Bummer for me, good for others following work completion!
Apr 13, 2015
Had great time with my kids and my dog! One mistake I made was I didn't read the directions on the website and I relied on my navigation took the winding road 58. trust me DO NOT take this road, we barely made there without throwing up.
Apr 13, 2015
It was great really clean and camp site's are great tons of fun thx for a good birthday at your campground. Will recommended to everyone.
Apr 13, 2015
Only problem was there was one toilet in the bathroom and it was a good distance away from the camp site other than that it was great
Apr 13, 2015
Overall great - kids loved the pillow but were disappointed that the pool was closed.
Apr 13, 2015
first time here, awesome place with a very friendly staff, maintained very well and very clean.
Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic! It was the cleanest campground I have ever stayed in! The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Super clean bathrooms too!
Apr 11, 2015
My wife and i have stayed here many times we always love this campground even a really bad rain didnt dampen our stay we will be back again highly recommend staying here
Apr 11, 2015
Beautiful and peaceful campsite and helpful staff. However, the shower facilities let it down a little.
Apr 08, 2015
We made our reservation over a month in advance on line. We showed up relatively early in the day on Saturday, and clearly our site had been given away. We wanted a tent site and didnt need any services but wanted a private site. We were given an alternative way up the hill, but that wasnt a site at all, and had to settle as it was getting dark for a small site near the front. Ruined our trip
Apr 08, 2015
We loved our first KOA experience and are looking forward to many family trips in the future!
Apr 07, 2015
I LikeThis CampGround Very Much,Plan On Coming Back.
Apr 06, 2015
Great. Area w/room for big tent, SUV, 2 tables, BBQ, & fire pit - & for our kid to ride his bicycle without running over everything. Kind staff, clean facilities, great playground. A group of people had very much fun until about 5 a.m. -singing, playing music, and having conversations that we could even follow from the other side of the campground. The quietest time of the day: 9-10 am.
Apr 06, 2015
We had a very nice time the park was beautiful And camp host were awesomewere awesome
Apr 06, 2015
Stayed here because all campgrounds close to the beech were full. Beautiful location, large spaces, lots of trees and lots of potential but poorly maintained. Showers were dirty and the only toilet in the men's bathroom was plugged. Stayed in a yurt and had to walk down s steep bank to the bathroom (there was toilet paper behind the yurt). Management was were polite and courteus.
Apr 06, 2015
Beautifull surrounding, campground really in The nature, but restrooms nötig clean at all.
Apr 06, 2015
It was OK, thank.s
Apr 04, 2015
Very Nice campground, lots if schade andere plenty to do for the kids
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much. Lots of things for our grandkids to do and we were close to the coast. We will be staying again in the future.
Apr 02, 2015
We stayed in the Sunset cabin. It was adorable and the perfect size for our family of 5. We will definitely be back next year! Medeiros Family.
Apr 01, 2015
The campground was nice - lots of trees, playground, pool, and the store! The cabin we stayed in was nicely stocked with dishes. Downside, we heard LOTS of children playing. Note to self to check cabin location for future visits. Also, the inside of the microwave (top) was dirty, and the floor of the cabin could have used a good sweeping.
Apr 01, 2015
We had a good site. The environment was great, looking forward to returning.
Apr 01, 2015
The only reason I wouldn't be extremely likely to recommend it is because it's a bit rustic. I know many of my family who camp prefer more of a hotel-like experiences with their campgrounds and the steps to the restrooms would be a no-go. But we loved it!
Apr 01, 2015
The people there are wonderful but the campsite leaves a lot to be desired. Our site had no available electricity which it was supposed to have. The washroom adjacent to our site 22 was a disgusting mess. The mens toilet did not work and it stunk.
Mar 31, 2015
We have been coming here for the last 3 summers...we live it...it totally has the camping feel and is well kept up...and the staff are so friendly....will be back in a couple weeks.... :)
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great stay. Wish there was water in the pool, it was extremely hot out. But we had a good time
Mar 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay! Wish we could haver stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect.
Mar 30, 2015
We had such a great time in our "remote" campsite. Great view, complete privacy, and best porta potty ever! Only downside was the barking dog all night from the private property next door. We will definitely be back!
Mar 29, 2015
Super clean campground.
Mar 25, 2015
we stayed at the Deluxe Cabin #3 for 2 nights. Everything is perfect, but what I don't like is that there is no tv, loud noise coming from the heater, and there is cold air coming out of the vent. If you had all those things fixed, I could've gave you 5 stars.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments about the loud heater and the draft. We will address the issues right away. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mar 23, 2015
Had a great stay, quiet and peaceful. The check in was a breeze with a very helpful person. We'll be back I'm sure.
Mar 23, 2015
Our stay was great!
Mar 23, 2015
Perfect weather, beautiful site, nice amenities. Thanks for having us.
Mar 18, 2015
A great place to stay for peace and quiet, no traffic noise, no train noise. Very helpful staff! Thank you.
Mar 17, 2015
We liked the campground. However Saturday night, the water went out. It was out for about an hour. But, when it came back on, the water was full of rust. It stained my sink. I think we should get something in return for that.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.