Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 24, 2017
I only stayed one night ,but that was because it was raining.camp ground was nice
Mar 21, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at this KOA. Staff was very helpful and caring. My biggest concern was that the hot water took forever to warm up and then didn't last too long.
Mar 20, 2017
Pretty area with the most helpful staff especially KimAnn
Mar 20, 2017
We stayed two days in a Deluxe cabin. It was too small for eight persons. I guess the maximum capacity for that cabin should be six. It was too close the the next cabin. We were almost sharing the fire ring and table space with the residents of the next cabin.
Mar 20, 2017
Had a wonderful weekend. One of our favorite spots. Office staff always friendly and helpful. Two sites next two the jumping pillow. Kids loved it as usual.
Mar 20, 2017
Santa Margarita KOA is a destination camp ground. Plan to stay and enjoy the natural beauty of this area.
Mar 20, 2017
Great customer service!
Mar 19, 2017
First time camping and we had a great time. Thank You! For being so kind.
Mar 19, 2017
When we arrived and saw the play ground, jump pillow, and our cabin, my 8 year old son exclaimed "This is as good as the Legoland Hotel." The cabin and the porch swing were so fun and convenient. We also enjoyed a fire and cooked hamburgers and roasted marshmallows. We also worked on some cub scout requirements. We enjoyed our one night stay so much. We were very sad to leave.
Mar 18, 2017
I think it is a great place and very spread out with regards to the sites. I like KOA's so I shouldn't be writing reviews. Cheers
Mar 13, 2017
Was hoping to find RV spaces a little more separated from each other. Limited personal space / privacy.
Mar 12, 2017
Mar 05, 2017
Wonderful, thank you!
Mar 02, 2017
Feb 23, 2017
Wonderful, considerate, camp hosts had a heater going in my cabin when I arrived, so it was nice and cozy!
Feb 23, 2017
I stayed with a group of 14 friends in two cabins. It was a blast! Awesome customer service and the people who helped us check in and everything were very helpful and fun!!
Feb 22, 2017
The staff was amazing, I believe her name was Kim she helped us with everything that we needed and more. The yurt that we stayed in was clean and warm and we had an amazing time staying there. Again Kim was amazing and generous and she deserves a raise! She was all about making sure the customer was happy and enjoyed their stayed.
Feb 21, 2017
Our stay was wonderful!! We chose the worst possible weekend to take a trip, there was flooding and rain the entire week before. I was worried about the conditions at your park. But we checked in with Kelly Ann and she was FANTASTIC! She eased our worries. She even drove to our cabin so we could follow her without getting lost! Cannot wait to go again during a drier month!!
Feb 21, 2017
We had a great stay, even through one of the worst CA storms ever! The hosts were super-helpful & accommodating..even letting us move sites & park a wedding-day leftover beer-keg trailer in their parking lot! Bathrooms were clean & the showers were hot! Overall a very welcoming & beautiful place to stay! (We loved Kevin the Emu too!) They have great stuff for kids too!
Feb 20, 2017
It was amazing, nothing like what I could have ever possibly expected! And you guys provide a 'jumping pillow' that none of our friends have ever heard of before. Thank you for everything !
Feb 15, 2017
We found this KOA by accident and were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly. The trailer site was nice and quiet. The park itself is hilly which makes for private feeling sites and great hiking. The down side was that they have a few animals. The emu was in a very small chain link encloser and definettly stressed and pacing. One goat couldn't stand.
Feb 07, 2017
This was a great find. The customer service was amazing. Kim Ann couldn't have been friendlier when we arrived. Had problems with our electric and although they couldn't fix it, they arrived promptly on a late Saturday night. Loved our pull-thru site. It was a rainy weekend so we plan to go back in the spring.
Feb 02, 2017
I loved the rolling green hills, the quiet and solitude. It was such a relief for me!
Jan 18, 2017
Great place to stay! Thanks Karen J.!!
Jan 16, 2017
Really friendly staff, when you can catch them. Office is not continuously manned, so you have to radio for assistance. Clean resort well maintained. Loved it.
Jan 12, 2017
We had a great time!!! We have stayed a few times already. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The only thing is the water pressure for the showers but you are in the mountains so how many showers do you need. We will definitely be back!!!
Jan 07, 2017
Super nice staff! Beautiful, clean, well-maintained cabin. Loved the facility. Great place for a quiet winter getaway!
Jan 05, 2017
Had such an amazing time! Staff was extremely helpful and always willing to help!
Jan 03, 2017
Ever since I was a boy traveling the US, KOA's have always been the highlight of our journey. These campgrounds have always proved to be a safe, fun, friendly place to enjoy time with family and get closer to nature. The Koa in Santa Margarita is no different. Great campsites and fun for all ages! Then there is the staff. The nicest, friendliest, most helpful bunch I've ever encountered.
Jan 03, 2017
Beautiful lake, mountains and campground! Clean, fun and peaceful.
Jan 02, 2017
We had a great time. Wish the lake was higher so we could have taken the boat. I left my home made fire poker at the camp sight. That thing was awesome.
Jan 01, 2017
Visited on a regular yearly vacation in the early 1970's, once staying two weeks, was just as enjoyable this trip as my memories of the 70's. A few more conveniences, Wifi, RV hookups cabins, The trees, quite with the sound of families hiking by was great. My wife loved it. we'll differently be back. Close to Morro bay, Pismo, Hearst Castle, San Luis Obispo. Can't go wrong here. Rodney & Lois B.
Dec 30, 2016
Perfect get away with the family Cabins where great so was stafff
Dec 30, 2016
Loved the cabins, 88 was perfect for my family of 5!
Dec 30, 2016
Enjoyable
Dec 23, 2016
Thankful that you were flexible with us checking in late. We were stuck in Big Sur, busy exploring!
Dec 19, 2016
The cabin was very nice and we had plenty of room. The staff at Santa Margarita were very nice and helpful. My wife had a great time for her birthday. Thank you.
Dec 19, 2016
Absolutely loved it. The staff was incredibly helpful to us, providing help with our fire when it would not start for the life of us, and also getting my truck started when the battery died. We are incredibly thankful to have been able to run to such caring camp staff. They basically double as my mother when things got stressful :)
Dec 01, 2016
the lady manager couldn't have been more helpful and cooperative. Made our stay much more pleasant.
Dec 01, 2016
Nov 30, 2016
The hospitality at Samnta Margarita KOA we is a good reason to keep going there.Its like him he away from home.
Nov 29, 2016
We had a great stay. We stayed at a tent site (#22) which was close to a bathroom but we also had our privacy and this site had access to water and electricity. Management was really pleasant and helpful.
Nov 28, 2016
Had a great time. People that work there were extremely helpful and friendly. Would go again.
Nov 28, 2016
Kim Ann was an extremely good host and very helpful. 10/10
Nov 27, 2016
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Nov 27, 2016
This was our ninth Thanksgiving here, and LOVE the campground, the camp hosts and EVERYTHING about it. We'really already reserved for next year!
Nov 27, 2016
Very friendly employees and the kabin was in excellent condition. A really good stay for us.
Nov 27, 2016
Love this place
Nov 25, 2016
Loved the nature.
Nov 24, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps