Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Yurt

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 01, 2016
We've been coming to this campground for 3 years now. We've stayed in the cabins and yurts and both are great! The staff is always so nice and helpful, especially Scott! My family and friends are always excited to plan our next trip to KOA Santa Margarita!
Jan 30, 2016
Staff great! We were on vacation from out of state. Our generator quit working while dry camping, so we went to the KOA to check shore power. We would have to hurry home if we couldn't fix the problem. Kudos to Scott who took the time to discuss our problem, research it, and ultimately FIX the problem. So we truly felt like KOA family members and continued our travels in California.
Jan 28, 2016
The Kampground is cool. We were camped by a group of either long-term campers or locals who let their dogs run loose. The minute we tried to walk out dogs, we were confronted by these loose dogs. Then, after dark, some jerk from the group below us spent 20 min yelling and whistling for his loose dog. Extremely annoying and rude. It is obvious these people are accustomed to acting this way.
Jan 28, 2016
Great spot with amazing landscaping.
Jan 22, 2016
Staff was very accommodating and very helpful. Amenities were great, clean and in good shape.
Jan 21, 2016
This was a fun campground for the kids since we were amount in the cold weather. I don't think we'd camp there during the summer. The pool is a bit too small and far from the camp ground. The lake isn't close either. The staff were all great and friendly!
Jan 21, 2016
Very beautiful campground!
Jan 21, 2016
could not get any TV reception but I understand we were in the mountains
Jan 19, 2016
First time staying KOA. I assume they are all family friendly like this one. It is just my wife and myself, so not really what we are hoping for. With that said, aside from a Quiet Time issue that got resolved, I would return again. Staff and owner Karen could not have been nicer. I like all the openness of the site. Please work on more pull thru spaces for trailers with a little room by them
Jan 16, 2016
Ver good tô be with family
Jan 14, 2016
The best camping experience I have ever had! Beautiful spot, great amenities and the best customer service imaginable! We will be back!
Jan 05, 2016
Jan 04, 2016
Had a wonderful stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The best KOA I've ever stayed at.
Jan 04, 2016
I have stayed here a lot of times never had a bad stay all the staff was great
Jan 03, 2016
Dec 31, 2015
Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Dec 27, 2015
Such kind and friendly staff greeted us. Our cabin was warm and comfortable during a very chilly rainstorm. Look forward to returning with the grand kids in the summer.
Dec 27, 2015
Love ! Love ! Love!. This campsite was extremely clean, hospitable and accommodating. I am sure to return and tell everyone I know.
Dec 20, 2015
Dec 18, 2015
Dec 17, 2015
It's always a pleasure to stay there the staff are friendly and very helpful.
Dec 14, 2015
The cabin was clean and warmed up prior to our arrival. The only complaint I have is that we called the front office and left a message the day after we arrived requesting wood. Our phone call was not returned and the wood we requested was not delivered. We called the after hours number and someone came to the office right away and gave us some wood. Overall great service, just return calls.
Dec 14, 2015
Our cabin was most lovely, the grounds are amazing, and the staff is super friendly. We really loved our stay and can't wait to come back!
Dec 09, 2015
First-time experience with KOA and commercial campgrounds in general. Campsite was great, check-in easy and the grounds were all I'd hoped for. Didn't use much in the way of "amenities" but liked the fact everything there looked great and was easily accessible if desired. Loved the fact that directions to my campsite could easily end with, "...then turn right at the Emu and you are there."
Dec 06, 2015
So relaxing and enjoyable. Stayed in Cabin #23; nice and close to the restrooms. Looking forward to coming back!
Dec 02, 2015
We had a great weekend! The staff was very helpful with a broken padlock, responded in minutes with a cutter! Cleanest campground I've ever been at.
Dec 02, 2015
Clean and well kept koa. Workers were very helpful and will visiting again in the future
Dec 02, 2015
Well laid out camp ground with good facilities.
Dec 01, 2015
Dec 01, 2015
This is our 8th year spending Thanksgiving with you! Love it! Always have a great time.
Dec 01, 2015
Thanksgiving weekend is always a camping weekend for us. We usually stay down close to the beach, but decided to give Santa Margarita a try this time. I'm glad we did. The camp was laid out very well, the store is well stocked and the personnel are very friendly. The campground is quiet and the site we had was spacious, giving us plenty of room to enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Dec 01, 2015
Delux Cabin was perfect, very cute and they left the lights in for us. plumbing backed up from our toilet into shower and sink. I was told manager charged my credit card without A verbal authorization. I came in to pay with another credit card and was told it was already completed based on notes. Poor management. Nice enough ppl. Mixed review overall
Dec 01, 2015
Really nice place, but pretty expensive.
Nov 30, 2015
Awesome. Staff is attentive to every need. Super clean.
Nov 30, 2015
Friendly people, nice sites, my kids loved the jumping pillow, great location within driving distance of great sight seeing areas.
Nov 30, 2015
Thanksgiving day was a memory my daughter will remember for a long while. Thanks. See you next yr.
Nov 30, 2015
Very good
Nov 30, 2015
all i can say is i feel lucky that we tried the little cabin, clean,cozy.comfy. a great couple of days relaxing
Nov 30, 2015
Great service, good rates, cabin clean, please need new heater on cabin, see you soon
Nov 30, 2015
Nov 13, 2015
Cabins are very, very small and not good for 4 adults.
Nov 11, 2015
Wonderful. Cabins are clean and warm and dry it. We got to see the stars through a telescope because the astronomy club is their monthly. Be careful what campsite you get because some of them require a lot of up-and-down walking
Nov 09, 2015
Great location, excellent amenities. Very kid friendly.
Nov 09, 2015
This is my first time camping with KOA and was impressed. I had the best experience with the staff (I wish I could remember her name). She was so helpful in going out of her way to help us. I was with some college students, which some of them didn't bring sleeping bags. She actually lent them some sleeping bags. When we left to check out, one of the car batteries died. She help to jump start.
Nov 09, 2015
Excellent service, very quiet and spacious camp site, everyone was so friendly and helpful, we are recommending it to all of our friends!
Nov 02, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. High price for no towels, bed linnen or pillows
Oct 29, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was near a lake and would probably be good for a longer stay. Bugs were bad the night we were there.
Oct 29, 2015
Great office people, sight was fine, dusty and too many flies, we met very nice other campers, overall we enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
The rustic cabin was very nice and cozy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The kids had a great time on the bounce pillow.
Oct 26, 2015
It was very nice. I would recommend placing a trash bin at the exit so we could discard trash non the way out. I could not find one as I was leaving.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps