Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
A nice KOA, very rural compared to others I have stayed at. Probably one of the best for tent & cabin camping. Our RV site was very nice - shady and spacious, with a picnic table and fire pit. It's very hilly, be ready for some hiking! I would highly consider returning to this site to camp with my horses. I wish the dog walk was enclosed, and I prefer slightly nicer restrooms. Overall, nice.
Aug 16, 2014
The camp grounds were clean, the other campers were friendly and the staff were great. Oh, the pool, playgrounds and stargazing my kid loved it! Thank you KOA!
Aug 16, 2014
Great, wonderful, relaxing, superclean cabin #35, friendly helpful staff, & love your KOA videos. Girls can camp w/o guys. You do need to fix the water drainage system in the bathrooms. The shower runoff floods the bathroom #3 stalls, so you're wading through water.
Aug 16, 2014
bathrooms too far from our cabin, not a lot to do close by
Aug 16, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We enjoyed the quiet, the large bouncy pillow, and horseshoes. We had a fun stay.
Aug 15, 2014
Sadly, the drought has taken it's toll on this location. With Santa Marharita lake down 70% you can tell it's impacted the economy if this area. The campground feels bleak, dirty and depressing. Seemed to also have some unseemly permanent residents. My family and I vacated after one hour.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time very friendly staff. They even took time to show our site and help back us into the spot.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
What a great campground. Some of the poor reviews you read are ridiculous. You are camping, what more do you want. The staff was great, the Saturday activities are awesome. We will be back. LOVE THIS KOA!!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
The staff is great with personality to match.Camp ground is well taken care of and the bath houses are clean, and smell clean. The camp store is small but has every thing you might need if you forget it like I did. I didn't pack a wash cloth but was able to buy one for $1. I have no complaints from staff too store prices. An 8lb bag of ice is $3.25
Aug 11, 2014
Owners and staff of Santa Margarita are model hosts. They were professional yet enjoyable to interact with while they took care of our questions and interests about the surrounding area. The campground is well-laid out and presents very well in a hilly region that adds visual interest as well as more privacy in many of the sites. Be sure to turn rt onto CA 58 about 1 mile after exit 211 off US 101
Aug 11, 2014
Very friendly and lots of fun. The town nearby is very nice too.
Aug 10, 2014
Cabin was clean, and beds comfortable.
Aug 10, 2014
A map with my registration was waiting for me on arrival, but the sites themselves were not well marked. The bathrooms were nice.
Aug 08, 2014
this koa has everything you need and looked like it had plenty of activities for a longer stay. We were in a tent site at the top of the hill which was quiet with a fantastic view but a tricky drive in the dark!!
Aug 07, 2014
Had a good time~! The vent tubes for your underground holding tanks were terribly smelly and the location of them in the middle of RV spaces was not a good thing!
Aug 07, 2014
Set back in the forest off the main highway which was nice and peaceful. Be prepared for dirt sites!!
Aug 07, 2014
Enjoyed my stay. Just did not have time to fully enjoy your camp. Thanks
Aug 06, 2014
I did not get the site that I chose online. In fact we were given the one site I did not want due to it being right on the road. Too much dirt & dust from the vehicles! Additionally, the playground, if you want to call it that, was not suitable for young children and very worn down. Disappointed in the overall appearance. Positive note, the staff was professional & friendly & the pool was clean.
Aug 05, 2014
Excellent customer service. Cabin was ready and clean.
Aug 05, 2014
I loved it. Beautiful campground. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly.
Aug 04, 2014
Great place to get away. There are so many things to do in the area. The only thing I'd reconsider is the time of year I visit, it was very hot. Also, check out Shangri La ranch during your stay.
Aug 03, 2014
Stayed in 17 KOA's over 12 states during the course of the trip. The terrain is tough with sites often being cliff-side. There is not nearly enough bathrooms for the amount of folks this site holds and this was evident. Drought area needs a sanitary alternative.
Aug 03, 2014
Bathrooms and showers need work
Aug 02, 2014
Not up to KOA standards. Too dusty and dry. Also no recreation room at all. The empty Yurt was just that, empty. Too hilly for my 9 yr old to ride her bike.
Aug 02, 2014
The overall stay was great. The cabin was amazing as well as the views. The playground and and jump pillow need to be cleaned and updated. I would stay there again.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Great! Thx!
Aug 01, 2014
This was the worst KOA we visited. Wouldn't return. Things we didn't like: restroom out-dated and really dirty, hardly any short stay visitors and a lot of long stay/ permanent RV's. Drunk guys sitting around the rest rooms. We left a day early cause our daughters simply did not feel at ease/ safe. Our suggestion: ask them to really improve or get the KOA sign down. Way below the KOA standard.
Aug 01, 2014
I enjoyed the rural feel of the campground. We had the very top sight and the view was awesome! I have a feeling that campground has been around for awhile, and they are making some upgrades. The staff was friendly and very helpful.the only complaint complaint I have is the portable toilet at the top needs to be cleaned daily like the rest of the bathrooms. In all, we had a great time.
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Overall fair experience. A lot of activities were advertised but done only on weekends. Space we stayed in was very small and within 8 feet of another camper. Busy campground but seemed to be managed well.
Jul 30, 2014
We just came up for one night this time since we were bringing a friends family and none of them had ever been camping before. They are converts. We'll be back soon for a longer stay!
Jul 29, 2014
We had cabins 84 and 85 - perfect for us and family. We enjoyed the space between the two cabins for games and camp fires.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. The campground is very spread out so you really feel like you are on your own. It was really peaceful and quiet. We stayed in a cabin and it was very clean and cute. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars was because the "play area" for kids was not like other KOA's we stay at; it was rundown and dirty.
Jul 29, 2014
Ok the bad bit first; this is not the most beautiful site, it's a bit dusty and appears to have a fair number of long termers their. On the plus side good facilities, nice staff, quiet, locals helpful, SLO is a lovely town to visit and close by
Jul 29, 2014
We have been coming here for years now and we love it..we got to stay in one of the new cabins and loved every bit of it...the water balloon volleyball was fun and the pool is always a hit....I would like to see a drain put in where the water collects so many people slip in that one area it's really scary to watch....
Jul 29, 2014
Had a last minute birthday trip that was made possible by Dylan, our camp host. We got the last RV site in the county for the weekend complete with a cupcake, candle & happy birthday song upon check-in. We couldn't have been happier with the staff & their exceptional customer service!
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Great visit. Owners super friendly. Would love it if electricity could be added to some tent sites. Also a large sink at restrooms for washing pots and pans would be super helpful. My kids loved the huge jumping pillow!!! Thanks!
Jul 28, 2014
very nice campground, nice cabins too. Pool could have been a bit cleaner.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Camp grounds are gorgeous & staff is extremely helpful/professional. We enjoyed the family-type feel atmosphere. After staying in a cabin-we are spoiled- all the perks of time saving accommodations that freed us up to enjoy the outdoors. Lovely, lovely place! Also, one of the most affordable KOA's around.
Jul 28, 2014
From check in to check out . Greeted nicely , asked about somewhere to grab dinner. We were recommended to a hole in the wall bar that was awesome. Nice, clean, cool pool. We will be back. A little dusty driving thru the park but we just drove slow. Thanks, Matt
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.