Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
Made a late same night reservation for a camping spot. Reservation person was outstanding. Upon check-in there were no envelopes which was confusing. Couldn't figure out phone. Bathrooms could use updating. Enjoyed short visit.
Jul 20, 2017
Really friendly staff, clean facilities, lots of space. What else do you want?
Jul 19, 2017
It was at a beautiful location with camp sites and cabins in very unique settings. Plus amenities like jumping pillow, pool and hayride were great fun for kids.
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Lovely time! Amazing staff, fabulous accommodations, super fun activities and amenities. Only bummer is the dust, but you are camping after all! Highly recommend.
Jul 18, 2017
The staff was super friendly. One comment is that I think the website does not accurately reflect just how hilly the site is and how much climbing is necessary to use restrooms
Jul 17, 2017
Loved everything! Can't wait to come back in September.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Arrived after 10 pm. Found reservation and map that led to rv site. Couldn't find my way to the restroom on the opposite side of a ravine. Staff happened by and showed me the way. All sites were filled. Obviously a popular place. We left early in the morning as we are photographers visiting the area.
Jul 16, 2017
Need dust control.
Jul 16, 2017
Great location right next to the lake and surrounding beaches, wineries and Hearst Castle. Staff was incredibly accommodating and super friendly. Cabin was spacious and clean. We primarily used this KOA as our base camp and didn't use any of the onsite amenities besides the pool. Will definitely return. This has definitely become one of our favorite destinations.
Jul 16, 2017
Well the cabins were great very peaceful and people did not bother me. Airflow was difficult one window did not open and fan blew around hot air. In campsite way too much dust maybe adding hay on roads might help or the road erosion netting. Having people yelling at kids disturbs the peace and they should be reminded that people are uncomfortable when they threaten their kids with punishment
Jul 14, 2017
It was our sons first camping trip and he enjoyed every bit of it. Thank you for everything, the staff was wonderful and made our stay even more enjoyable. Our favorite thing was the jumping pillow, which we visited multiple times a day. We will definitely visit again!
Jul 12, 2017
Fantastic KOA! The staff is super friendly and very helpful.
Jul 12, 2017
All the campers were pretty quiet, the area is very shady, the bathrooms are clean, and the staff was nice. Not a bad place to stay!
Jul 12, 2017
Facilities are nice and clean. Only complaint would be that it is very dusty.
Jul 11, 2017
Awesome time!
Jul 11, 2017
Ww were in town to stay a couple of days after visiting the Avila Beach Oyster Festival. The deluxe cabins are perfect for a nice couples getaway and the grounds offer different private vantage points to enjoy your time at the campground. Whether you are there with your family or a nice couples getaway we definitely recommend the Santa Margarita KOA!
Jul 10, 2017
Staff was great.Our deluxe cabin was very nice and worked well for our group of six. Fun activities. Pool was warm and murky. Due to weather 106 when we got there not sure it was anything they could have done about it. Lake is nice, and we saw Canadian geese and doe with twins. Had a great lunch in Morro Bay where it was nice and cool.
Jul 10, 2017
There was some problem with electricity. However, our trailer was not one of the trailers affected. We enjoyed the campground overall. Rose Sloan
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Had a great time at this KOA. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 08, 2017
This campground is very good for families or just couples. It has a very interesting layout since it was placed on the foots of the mountains. It has great hiking up and downhill. It also has a great swimming pool to cool down. It is also .3 miles from the entrance to the lake. This was a great getaway definitely recommend to anyone specially people that are just starting to go RVing.
Jul 08, 2017
The grounds were well maintained and the facilities looked new. The delux cabin was really nice and roomy with 2 queens, a loft and a fantastic view. The area is beautiful. Friendliest most helpful staff you'll ever find 😁
Jul 08, 2017
The kampground is super family-friendly, which meant the kiddies (and I!) loved it. My children loved the bouncy thingy, the playground, and the pool. And I liked watching them enjoy the Great Outdoors without the dreaded electronic gadgets. I also liked the wide open kampsites that provided privacy and space for the tent, etc.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Camp was too dusty and many of the sites had no shade. That made it uncomfortable during our stay in July. But kids activities are offered and the staff is friendly. May want to include an after hours phone number for reporting water leaks or other emergencies.
Jul 05, 2017
I loved our cabin. The site was clean and the staff were friendly. Thank you very much for making our stay enjoyable.
Jul 05, 2017
Great KOA, but our site was a tad bit smelly, because all of the affluent from uphill seemed to converge near our dump position.
Jul 05, 2017
Love the remote sites! The staff is also amazing and very friendly.
Jul 05, 2017
Bummer it's not near the lake
Jul 04, 2017
Staff was fantastic. Plenty of activities, beautiful scenery on the drive in, close to the beach and San Luis Obispo. Our only complaint were the restrooms. We have a pop up and the Koa was at or near capacity (80 campsites)and although we were told 8 for women the guys only had 4 toilets for all trailer sites & 1 was out night 1. If $15 per night no worries but, @ $60 PN, rent some port-o-pottie
Jul 04, 2017
Need to be fit. Washrooms not always clean during the week but very clean at weekends. Kamp America bus there one night and the occupants were horrendous. Drinking and extremely loud until 3 am. No one nearby got much sleep that night.otherwise clean and very helpful staff.
Jul 03, 2017
Just stayed the night. Very nice people.
Jul 03, 2017
Jul 01, 2017
Nice staff, had no trash bags for our delux cabin, no hot water in pool shower but still had good time but most koa have a little higher standard
Jun 30, 2017
Nice campground. Tent site was a little dusty, though no big deal. clean restrooms. only .2 mile from beautiful Lake Maragarita.
Jun 29, 2017
we loved our stay, the people had great attitudes and help us when we had questions..I would recommend this camp site to anyone as 5 stars..
Jun 29, 2017
Enjoyed our stay in your yoaurk (not spelled right) very much.
Jun 28, 2017
It's a great campground. We were there in the week and it was very quiet. Large spaces for RV !
Jun 28, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
The staff are amazing. They will do anything to make you feel at home.
Jun 26, 2017
Charming cabin, friendly staff, economical, close to lake. Great place!
Jun 26, 2017
fun pool and bounce pillow, but mostly owners and staff very happy to have us, and very helpful.
Jun 25, 2017
Jun 25, 2017
Very friendly staff, nice place.
Jun 25, 2017
We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 24, 2017
Jun 24, 2017
Best KOA we experienced
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals