Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

Campground Reviews

Apr 22, 2014
Very nice prefab cabin walking distance to the lake. Summer Swimming pool. Quite, clean, friendly.
Apr 22, 2014
Friendly staff, turkeys and deer around, bathrooms clean, lots of trees, unique campground! We stay here anytime we're in the area!
Apr 21, 2014
Our stay was nice except that there was something wrong with the septic system. The entire campground smelled awful in the evenings. I did like that it had some big secluded RV sites.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. People were extremely nice and helpful. The pool was nice and clean but cold! Not heated in April. Enjoyed the frisbee golf. Campgrounds were beautiful and clean. Our rv is on smaller side (26') but bigger rv's may have trouble fitting. Definitely a tenters paradise. Only two bathrooms though. Great hiking. Would definitely stay there again.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We loved our stay here. The staff was nice, the bathrooms amazingly clean, lots of land to explore. The only two complaints would be that the fire pits are extremely shallow and the guy driving the golf cart with the blue (staff member) drove as fast as possible everywhere he went, kicking up dust and disregarding children's safety when driving near the playground. The playground was awesome btw!
Apr 18, 2014
sites are not level.
Apr 17, 2014
third stay and the people keep getting nicer and the Grand kids love it.
Apr 17, 2014
Staff were very friendly, grounds were well maintained- nice quiet campground. We had a blast!
Apr 15, 2014
Very nice and clean cabin, missing a few essentials (kitchen trash can and bags, hand soap, only had 1 roll of toilet paper). Only things wrong with cabin were bathtub drain didn't plug and bathroom fan didn't work. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 13, 2014
Apr 13, 2014
We all loved camping at camp koa my parents have gone for 14 years and now its become a family tradition we always get excited because there is always something new to experince at camp koa, plus everyone is very nice and helpful .
Apr 10, 2014
Extremely helpful staff, fun lake, beautiful scenery, beautiful scenery, beautiful scenery , and the kids loved the jumping pillow. Our stay was in April and we had perfect weather and thankfully no problems with wasps like I had read on other peoples reviews. It was an awesome time! Did I mention the beautiful scenery?
Apr 10, 2014
Great campground and staff. Site we had was large and pretty secluded. Restrooms clean and a well stocked store. Thanks so much.
Apr 08, 2014
This may be one of the nicest locations of any KOA campground. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Apr 07, 2014
We frequent the Moteray Bay Area, and spend $200 plus a night for a hotel room. Our family also loves camping with you, we get the best of both worlds at a great price, the kids had a blast making s'mores. The cabins are great, can't wait to go back.
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 03, 2014
Our stay was outstanding! Karen at check in was so friendly and hospitable. And even though it rained we were very cozy in our clean and comfortable cabin.
Apr 01, 2014
The tent sites are very large and the washrooms were clean
Mar 31, 2014
Great family stay, plenty for kids to do. Hiking, hunting and fishing close by.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
A pleasure to stay here, the staff is very friendly
Mar 31, 2014
I was not happy with this KOA camp. I have been to other KOA's but this one is not up to expectations. We were at site 43 and the water faucet produced yellow-tinted water- it was sediment of some sort. How hard can be be to fix it by putting a filter in? Secondly, the pool was not open when we were there, neither was movie night. If you charge $55 a night, please do it right. Thank you.
Mar 30, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Beautiful grounds. We had an unattractive campsite. Dump station was poorly maintained.
Mar 27, 2014
Spacious, clean, convenient. Passport America made the price do-able. Young woman registering in the office unfortunately not very , otherwise all good.friendly
Mar 25, 2014
Our grand kids had a super time playing with the other kids at the park on the air pillow. When we take them with us thay ask for thus KOA by name. We will be back.
Mar 25, 2014
This place is fantastic. Just had my 3rd trip there in the past 8 years. It keeps getting better and better. Not only is it a beautiful area, but this place has a mix of RV camping and remote sites for privacy. I love the cabins and the yurts. Wonderful owner as well, friendly. Cant say enough good things!
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 23, 2014
Great but quick stay...thank you!
Mar 20, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful, I didnt like that the internet was useless I like to stay in touch with family and extremely poor cell service in the area, not the campgrounds fault I know but if I had cell service the internet wouldnt have matter as much. The showers and restrooms where clean, very hilly area, had a good time and I would go back
Mar 19, 2014
Too remote for an overnight stop. Really dry & dusty. Didn't feel secure here.
Mar 19, 2014
Beautiful site with a decent amount of privacy. Spotless bathroom with hot showers. Had a wonderful time.
Mar 16, 2014
The camp host is very helpful to all guest. I frequently stay here and always feel very welcome
Mar 16, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
Everything was great... Might want to trim some trees so that larger Class A's would have more clearance...
Mar 11, 2014
We love this place so much. Every time we visit our daughter at San Luis Obispo,we love to stay her at Santa Margarita KOA
Mar 10, 2014
Our stay in a deluxe Kabin was fantastic. The only complaint I have is that the Kabin was not as clean as it should have been.
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 09, 2014
Very helpful & friendly. The road to the sites was unevenly so that we had problems to park. But e host was very friendyi and helped us by this problem. The landscape around is great and there are many things to do like hiking & biking.
Feb 26, 2014
The campgrounds and the restrooms were very clean. There was plenty of things for the children to entertain themselves with giving me and my wife plenty of alone time. Couldn't have asked for any better service, the employe there were extremely friendly. Had a wonderful time would deffinately recommend this place to anyone.
Feb 23, 2014
We loved it. The staff were helpful, polite and kind. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The bathrooms were large and the water was hot! It was quiet and the stars were amazing at night. When you turned off your lights it was dark, not a lot of site lights, we loved it. Rolling hills, huge oaks and some pines,not far from the lake or SLO. A drive out of town for peace and quiet.
Feb 23, 2014
The woman who helped me in the koa office and on site was extremely nice and helpful. Felt at home.
Feb 18, 2014
Scott was a huge part of our GREAT time. His warm welcome and enthussiasm were just what we needed. We haven't visited here for about 5 years but the new kabins were great for our family. I was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer in August and can't travel far and need lots of rest. I got that and my kids had a great time on the pillow jumper! What great memories my kids will have of this vaction!
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
Great location, nice people.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.