Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2016
We stayed only one night is this wonderfully natural location. It is away from the beaten path but worth the trip to get there.
Jul 22, 2016
We were extremely satisfied with our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The cabins and grounds were clean and maintained daily. Our grandkids had a great time swimming at the pool.
Jul 22, 2016
Nice store and helpful staff. Dirt tent site. Steep climb to showers and bathrooms.
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time at Santa Margarita!
Jul 21, 2016
The trash cans were too full. Please empty on a daily basis.
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was very friendly the showers and cabins were very very clean we had a great trip!!!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Would of loved a 50 amp for my Rv luckily my neighbor let me plug into his for a stand up ac. There was a 12ft travel trailer that was in the 50 amp that they could of placed them in 30 amp prior to them getting there. Better Mgmt of Rv sites.
Jul 18, 2016
The canpground is close to nature but has steep roads and the car sometimes get stuck. There is a lot of suspended dirt. Need to fix the internal roads to make this place more enjoyable.
Jul 18, 2016
Brand new but expensive delux cabins. Site is scenic but not for families with children as they are located mountaineer area. There is always a risk if slip and fall of the edge. Roads are not paved well for cars to go safely.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
A great place to stay, far exceeded my expectations. A nice suprise.
Jul 18, 2016
Very quiet and well kept. Would be nice to have a restroom closer to east side. Very nice managers! A little dusty up in there though.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Stayed for two nights. The staff was extremely nice and accommodated all of our need. I would be willing to stay here again, and will definitely recommend to friends.
Jul 17, 2016
We absolutely love it here. This is our 2nd year coming. As long as there is water in the lake, we will definitely be back every year.
Jul 17, 2016
Absolutely perfect! Great location, plenty of things for kids to do yet relaxing enough for me and my hubby. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms and shower's. Well definitely be back soon.
Jul 16, 2016
Some of the problem was lack of rain I the area. The roads and camp sites are dirt and it was very dusty. Most sites are a challenge for big rigs. We were there because it was the only spot we could find in the area but we won't be back.
Jul 16, 2016
Out in bf nowhere , and surprisingly great
Jul 15, 2016
I expected the RV sites to be paved.
Jul 14, 2016
This was our first KOA overnight camping experience and I can't wait to plan our next! As a single parent- I wanted lots of activities for the kids and options for me in case my girl scout skills were not up to snuff. My son is 9 and wanted rustic camping all the way. My daughter is 4 and wanted to stay home. KOA is the way to go to keep everyone happy!
Jul 14, 2016
We were only planning to stay a few days but now keep putting off leaving because this campground is the best. The staff people here have been welcoming and do everything they can to enhance the campers' experience. This is hands down the best campground we've ever been to and highly recommend it.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Amenities are great. Lots of fun activities for the entire family and good service
Jul 12, 2016
Great location. Friendly staff. We meet our friends here every year and will continue do so. We have stayed in many KOAs and have found this one to be the best.
Jul 12, 2016
Friendly and accommodatng staff. Very few RV's. This campground is in the woods and has nice shady and private spots for tents and cabins if you book in advance.
Jul 12, 2016
Steep incline to camping spot, which made it extremely difficult to level RV. Camp spots so close together neighbors fire pit was located behind my RV and sewer hose was next to our table. Very dusty due to no surface material. Sketchy looking long term trailers in park. Biggest disappointment was the outrageous price we payed to stay. Only good thing to add is the office lady was super nice.
Jul 11, 2016
I didn't like the fact that the staff came and literally kicked us out at checkout time. I would understand of we were late or passed our checkout time but it was like 5 till 12 and we were all packed up just putting the last chair up. We stayed at state campgrounds and had a better experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you felt I "kicked you out of your site at checkout time." You were the last camper to checkout and the next guest had arrived. I wanted to make sure you were aware of the checkout time. I'm truly sorry if my enforcing the rules ruined your stay. I hope the rest of the weekend was GREAT!
Jul 10, 2016
We spent a good time. just a lot of bees
Jul 09, 2016
This koa is amazing. The host go out of their way to help you. Thank you, we will come again!
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Not enough shade on Mesa hill but then may have had Internet issues. Staff was awesome to make arrangements for the Cal Poly students to stay next to each other. Hope to see them next year. Thanks Michelle and Scott.
Jul 08, 2016
There were issues with the wifi that took me making contact twice before it was corrected.
Jul 08, 2016
We had a very nice stay here. When I called to make my reservation, Michele was very friendly and helpful and was the same when we arrived. Our site was clean and just great for our needs. This KOA site is just far enough away from the freeway to make you feel like you're out in the woods. We walked to Santa Margarita Lake and also hike to the top of the KOA to see the sunset. It was a wonderful!
Jul 07, 2016
The staff was very nice and helpful finding us a tire vendor to get the blown tire on our motor home replaced.
Jul 07, 2016
It was a Great stay, I love the Shower Points, very clean. The only thing is some People were still Noisey after 10:00 pm and the Roosters.
Jul 07, 2016
The campsite itself was pretty nice. Unfortunately, I got the site that was the furthest from everything and each time I had to use the restroom it was an uphill climb. I was also woken up by deer running around my campsite and was left wondering if they would stampede onto my tent. Overall, the people were friendly, but it would have been nice to be warned of all the wild wildlife.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

#25 is our most popular tent site because of its privacy and closeness to the restroom. Seeing wildlife is usually a bonus. I'm sorry the deer disturbed you. They usually keep their distance. The drought is sending them in search of food and water. You were not in danger. Now you have a GREAT story.
Jul 06, 2016
Good
Jul 06, 2016
BEST EXPERIENCE, AMAZING CAMP HOSTS, SO MANY ACTIVITIES, SO CLEAN, STAFF SO RESPONSIVE AND SO NICE. KAREN AND HER HUSBAND RUN A GREAT FACILITY! SO HAPPY!
Jul 06, 2016
I love this place and the people who work there are great.
Jul 06, 2016
It was awesome! Beautiful, well equipped, lots to do, and family and pet friendly. We will definitely stay again!
Jul 05, 2016
The owner and personnel of this KOA campground are very hospitable and friendly. The campsites are very nice, clean, and not too close/crowded to each other for campers' privacy. Just add more restrooms and showers for a more happy campers.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
We enjoyed our visit. Staff is friendly and responsive. My daughter enjoyed the jumping pillow, the water balloon volleyball and I enjoyed shopping at the LuLaRoe pop up. Thank you for a nice weekend!
Jul 04, 2016
It was very fun. The cabin and the public restroom are very clean. We had a great time staying there and all staff are very friendly. We will definitely be back!
Jul 04, 2016
Further off the highway than ecpected. But what a beautiful camoground. Staff was superlative!!! Very very helpful. If ever outthis way again, we would stay again
Jul 03, 2016
We had holiday reservations for one night July 2nd. But our dog hurt his leg a few days before up north. So we showed up here July 1St, trying to hurry home. There was mass scrambling by the and his staff to find a spot for us. He did. Much thanks to him and his great family and staff. (our dog is better)
Jul 03, 2016
The cabin was wonderfu. The only two problems we had was that the sofa bed air mattress had a hole in it. Before departing we swept cabin and there was dog feces in corner in one of the bedrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry to hear there was dog poop in your cabin and that housekeeping missed it. Also, dogs are not allowed in the newest Deluxe Cabins. I'll look at the previous reservation. I have ordered a new foam mattress for the sofa. The new air mattresses were a BIG disappointment.
Jul 02, 2016
Very nice people, the campsite itself is hilly and the ground is basically dirt - this leads to a lot of dust which if tenting and can become a little problematic after a while. I'm afraid the toilet in the men's bathroom was partially blocked. The kids enjoyed it, and of course the area around the site is beautiful.
Jul 02, 2016
Awesome campsite. The customer service was excellent. Scott checked us in, we drove to the jumping pillow to have a look around, went back to the cabin and the wood I ordered was already delivered. Michele was outgoing and friendly and continued the outstanding service throughout our stay. Our cabin was in great shape and the pool was clean and well maintained. We will definitely be returning.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals