Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2015
Hi, We were given 2 spots that were next to each other (78 & 79) but one was much higher that the other so it was complicated to visit our friends, especially our friend had a hip pain and daughter with an injured ankle. We didn't realize we should have verified the location of the spots by phone before.
Jul 31, 2015
Bathrooms too far away....other than that great
Jul 31, 2015
Site 89 is in a really great private spot. Highly recommended!
Jul 31, 2015
It is wonderful experience of my camping life. Thanks for KOA supply so wonderful place for travelers
Jul 31, 2015
Nice friendly hosts. Very quiet and rustic. We liked our stay here.
Jul 30, 2015
Don't know if it was from recent rains, but my one complaint would be the deep (in some parts very deep) wash out area at the entrance to my spot (26 I believe.) Makes backing in, positioning, and pulling out more challenging than it needs to be. Beyond that, easy to get to, nice area, and my family and I enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2015
Wonderful quiet setting. Very relaxing. Great help from staff regarding recommended routes for our large RV. Thanks
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground! The lake was dry because of the drought but the campground was clean, and quiet, and the owners were very nice. We will come back again
Jul 30, 2015
We called in with a same day booking and the woman on the phone was so considerate toward our need to be as close to the restrooms as possible (we have a 3 year old). Restrooms we clean and showers were great, clean with out any creepy crawlers to freak out my 7 year old although they are a little on the small side.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff are genuinely friendly and very willing to help you have a wonderful stay.
Jul 29, 2015
We LOVED this KOA, it was our first KOA experience. We were only disappointed that the jumping pillow wasn't working.
Jul 28, 2015
Reasonable cost and crew were personable and kind to me and my service animal. Thanks
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice, staff were very accomodating and friendly.
Jul 28, 2015
This was our first visit to small cabin rental. We thought bed linen and towels were provided like motels, so had to adjust. We did enjoy the experience. THANKS!
Jul 27, 2015
Lovely rural atmosphere.
Jul 27, 2015
Outstanding!! Had everything we needed anything we didn't have was available at the store. Definetely would recommend to friends and family. Price weren't to high at the store. Overall outstanding expierence. Thank you
Jul 27, 2015
Nice place, easy to get to ,clean nice.
Jul 27, 2015
No insects, but poor internet also. Bathrooms should be modernised
Jul 26, 2015
Great place to camp. My family loves this KOA.
Jul 26, 2015
My kids had a great time!
Jul 26, 2015
Beautiful scenery but the lady that runs the front desk is a condescending know it all.
Jul 26, 2015
nice staff, good locatiobn, store could be opened a little longer
Jul 25, 2015
The staff were great, however, this koa is located away from everything. I was disappointed. Cars came by all night long and there was a lot of dust. The worst koa I have seen so far.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
It's very remote. The bathrooms are hard to reach. Many of the advertised amenities were not usable. Store / Office closed at 5, not 8 as advertised

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are 10 mi. off US101. There are steep stairs to the restrooms. Mid-week we may close the store at 5pm but there is a sign that says "Please use our walkie talkie to reach staff for any reason at any time." Our new, larger Jumping Pillow will go in this week. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
Jul 21, 2015
Unfortunately everything was dry and dusty, the trees were gray. Some parts under construction. But extremly polite and friendly people. Facilities ok.
Jul 21, 2015
We were in site #8 if I come back I would not stay in this site because every time a vehicle goes by dirt is thrown all over your site:( sadly if your eating your food gets a layer of dirt:(
Jul 21, 2015
Our cabin was clean. The staff were amazingly kind and generous. Our only complaints were related to the behavior of other guests,missing or broken luxuries/activities and lack of WiFi connectivity. But, as two of those were not in the owners control, it's unfair to blame.
Jul 21, 2015
- Playground was under Construction (no jumping pillows) - wifi wasn't good
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Staff not very friendly and pretty much non existent, bathrooms/showers were gross! website said they had a lrg bouncer like most KOAS do, they didn't and playgrd was awful too. Very little lighting so bring your flashlight. Worst KOA I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at many of them as we are members
Jul 20, 2015
Very pleasant. Noisy kids were quiet by10 or so. So not a real issue. Planning to stay again.
Jul 20, 2015
the campground itself is great, but the bathrooms and pool were in desperate need of a deep clean. there was built up grime around the edge of the pool and in the showers. we camped in site 68, which had plenty of shade. If it rains on you, be prepared to not be able to get up to some of the higher campgrounds without 4 wheel drive. the roads turn to mud and there are some steep hills to climb
Jul 20, 2015
I had a wonderful time at the campground. I love the fact that the restroom and shower were clean and within walking distance. We also had hiking near by, a pool to cool down and the store to get whatever we needed thru out the day without having to drive far. The employees were wonderful.
Jul 20, 2015
I like how there was a convenient store there and how they had running water for the restroom and shower (which was free!) and that it wasn't booked like the other places, and we got to move our table around. I didn't like how it was super dusty or that we had to put out the fire out at 12am or that the place charged $5 a person after the 2nd person.
Jul 20, 2015
Les toilettes était dans un état lamentables voir dégelassent.
Jul 19, 2015
Great Stay. Friendly people. Had a small emergency while we were at campsite. Scott, who worked in office went above and beyond to help. I would highly recommend this campsite.
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great stay! We were in the deluxe cabin and loved it. It was clean and cozy and we will definitely be back!
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it!!! Clean
Jul 19, 2015
We were fortunate to get the last tent site as every campground in the area for miles was full! Unlike what the State is doing,....we had water and working restrooms. Grace was awesome at the front office,...held my spot,...and was overall just a super nice, friendly, helpful person to assist us! I definitely would recomend and stay here again! Thank you!
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
Todo muy bien muy buena atención y un lugar muy bonito, el precio es adecuado
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Rented a cabin for the night. It was so bad we left after 15 minutes and went to a hotel. Call me if you want to know more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at Santa Margarita KOA. KOA offers a Money-back Guarantee if you checkout within the first hour. I did not see that you took advantage of this. Please call us to discuss what did not meet your standards in the cabin. Please ask for the Manager/Owner, Karen.
Jul 15, 2015
nice quiet stay
Jul 15, 2015
It is beautiful area and kampground is very big and spacious. However, rv lots are small and hard to get to. When we were there jumping pillow was not working. Also, guest punctured main water line and we were out of water for one morning. Staff was really nice and brought as water but it was annoying not to be able to flush toilet.
Jul 15, 2015
We had been traveling down highway 1 all day without any luck of finding an open campsite. We made it to the Santa Margarita KOA at about 10 pm and met Karen. She was so nice and understanding of our troubles and gave us an AMAZING spot. We had such a terrific trip thanks to her :)
Jul 15, 2015
No Internet near our camp site, No Jumping bag...no hot water in cabins

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Santa Margarita KOA. We are large and rural; so there are some spots without internet. You were in a tent site, so I am not sure which cabin did not have hot water. If you had shared your concerns while onsite, we would have done our best to address them.
Jul 13, 2015
I brought 9 kids to camp this weekend. When I called to make my reservations the gentleman who answered was oh so helpful and we got a great site that more then met or needs and expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful except the lady who was working Sunday morning. She was cranky and not so helpful. But otherwise we all had a blast, stayed cool and will be back again for sure. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2015
Amazing place!!! Very clean and beautiful CA country..... We will come back for sure!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.