Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Yurt

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 13, 2015
Cabins are very, very small and not good for 4 adults.
Nov 11, 2015
Wonderful. Cabins are clean and warm and dry it. We got to see the stars through a telescope because the astronomy club is their monthly. Be careful what campsite you get because some of them require a lot of up-and-down walking
Nov 09, 2015
Great location, excellent amenities. Very kid friendly.
Nov 09, 2015
This is my first time camping with KOA and was impressed. I had the best experience with the staff (I wish I could remember her name). She was so helpful in going out of her way to help us. I was with some college students, which some of them didn't bring sleeping bags. She actually lent them some sleeping bags. When we left to check out, one of the car batteries died. She help to jump start.
Nov 09, 2015
Excellent service, very quiet and spacious camp site, everyone was so friendly and helpful, we are recommending it to all of our friends!
Nov 02, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. High price for no towels, bed linnen or pillows
Oct 29, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was near a lake and would probably be good for a longer stay. Bugs were bad the night we were there.
Oct 29, 2015
Great office people, sight was fine, dusty and too many flies, we met very nice other campers, overall we enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
The rustic cabin was very nice and cozy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The kids had a great time on the bounce pillow.
Oct 26, 2015
It was very nice. I would recommend placing a trash bin at the exit so we could discard trash non the way out. I could not find one as I was leaving.
Oct 26, 2015
Our spot was very quiet and large enough for our party. The staff was friendly and the area was beautiful.
Oct 16, 2015
Bad wifi and dirty showers
Oct 13, 2015
What a fantastic crew. Very Professional and accommodating to our crew. It made our Family Party the best ever.
Oct 10, 2015
Just perfect. Already reserved for next year. The hosts and staff were first rate, friendly and helpful.
Oct 10, 2015
Oct 09, 2015
We had a great time, the campgrounds are very clean! The staff is great. The family loved the jumping pillow.
Oct 06, 2015
Very nice location and very well maintained campsite. We felt almost at home.
Oct 05, 2015
Cabin was awesome and they allowed our four mutts which was a huge selling factor for us. Friendly staff and well stocked store. Clean campground, but minus one star for our cabin which I had to clean sinks, countertops and table plus any dish or utensil we used before we used it.
Oct 05, 2015
This KOA is awesome I enjoy the nice guy who runs the place. He is always happy and very friendly. I have been here 3 weekends in a row now and I have not had a issue yet they are very accommodating. Which is very nice. Most KOA's are not.
Oct 05, 2015
Wifi is important to me and is hit-and-miss at all locations but non-existent at this one. The lodgings were quite nice though--Looks like it was just built. Nothing like "camping" with a kitchen and AC. I had a very quiet, relaxing weekend just as the doctor ordered.
Oct 04, 2015
The bed in the cabin is all springs and horribly uncomfortable. The pull out couch/bed is worse. The dishes were greasy and dirty and the toilet kept running. Other than that it was great. Everyone that works there is real friendly and helpful. The cabins just need a little updating, especially for the price you pay.
Sep 30, 2015
The campsite is big and there are everything you need, but the restrooms where no clean enough and the shower did not work.
Sep 29, 2015
Thank you so much for making this stay for my family so special. A successful weekend!!
Sep 28, 2015
Saved us a long drive after a concert at the Pozo saloon site was nice and in the shade
Sep 28, 2015
toilet ran constantly - had to continually jiggle handle. coffee pot dirty w/old grounds from former visitor. old, used water bottle left in frig from former visitor. no outdoor trash bin available to dump my trash. both bathroom and kitchen sink needed new washers - the water sprayed all over the place except in the basin. when I pay hotel prices for a "luxury" cabin, that's what I expect.
Sep 28, 2015
This was the best day we've ever had everything about this campground was amazing the people who work here made it better!! We will definitely be back we can't wait to come back thank you so much for making it a wonderful wonderful weekend ! :). :)
Sep 28, 2015
Very quiet with clean restrooms and friendly staff.
Sep 28, 2015
The staff was very friendly...pool was refreshing...the bounce pillow was fun...and the bathrooms were clean. What else could you look for when you are camping? Overall great stay!
Sep 27, 2015
We stayed at 3 other KOA campgrounds on this Trip. They all had cleaner bathrooms, sites. Staff were friendly at Santa Mararita, free hay ride good. Just need to fix up the place a little , it is kinda run down.
Sep 23, 2015
People were very kind and even brought me wood in the middle of the night since all the surrounding stores were closed. Great campground!
Sep 22, 2015
The pool was disgusting, game room wasn't impressive, the flies were outrageous and I love KOA but would never go back to this one.
Sep 21, 2015
We enjoyed the mountain scenery from our Kabin #84 for two nights. We will be back!
Sep 21, 2015
I really liked the cabin but as far as the extra bathrooms on the grounds I didn't like having coed & only 1 Also the hornets were in the cabin & didn't expect to see all the big tarantulas everywhere
Sep 14, 2015
Friendly staff and very clean property!
Sep 14, 2015
Wonderful Place, very friendly, the stuff came to our car to fill up air in our tires when we asked for help
Sep 14, 2015
Very quiet and peaceful!
Sep 14, 2015
Enjoyable and relaxing.
Sep 14, 2015
Nice park. We stayed in a cabin. It was as advertised. We only slept at the park as we had business in San Luis Obispo all weekend. It was a bit noisy on Friday night but perfectly quiet on Saturday night.
Sep 10, 2015
We loved the friendly and professional staff, the pool was always well cared for, the grounds are well kept, the new bath house is beautiful and all the wildlife was awesome. Our kids and dogs felt very welcome and we enjoyed all of the hikes around the area as well as the lake nearby. The highlight however was the starry night event where we got to see Saturn, galaxies and nebula!
Sep 08, 2015
Another great Labor Day weekend in Santa Margarita. Thank you!
Sep 08, 2015
The space was clean and they had fun activities schedule to celebrate the holiday weekend! (Labor Day).
Sep 08, 2015
This was our second time here and we loved it!
Sep 08, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because this campground was very quiet. It is off the beaten track and I am guessing that is why it was not crowded. The only two things that I would like to see improved are more RV sites that are more private, like some of the tent sites and for people to be more diligent picking up after their pets.
Sep 08, 2015
This was our 5th annual group camping trip, each year we have seen this KOA get better and better, improvements are noticeable and the kids loved the art projects! We will be back next year!
Sep 08, 2015
The staff at the registration is great. But the facility of the campsite is not at all. We have a group of total 16 people staying at the site. We made reservations with 1 cabin and 2 campsite. The campsite we assigned were horrible, not much flat ground for parking and cooking place together. Also the campfire we set up kept blowing the smoke back to our table. Shower in the cabin was cold.
Sep 08, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Staff was exceptional! Lots of activities and fun stuff to do. We look forward to planning our next trip. Many thanks.
Sep 07, 2015
This is by far the best camp ground I've ever been to!
Sep 07, 2015
Extremely helpful and friendly staff!
Sep 07, 2015
Great hosts! Even gave a free meal on arrival. Way cool!
Sep 06, 2015
Loved it. Spacious, clean and dog friendly. Huge pet relief area. Even though they're renovating the noise was minimal. Staff was friendly

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals