Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
Wish there was better shade for the tent area- all that lawn in front and it doesn't get used for good! Also it was nice how nice you all were but it would be nice if you enforced the rules a little more... neighbors were loud past curfew and loud way too early and that was a bummer. I liked the customer service overall- everyone was very friendly. Maybe great for an RV, but not for tent campers.
Jul 25, 2015
I like it but a little expensive but it's the area. Would stay again
Jul 25, 2015
The place itself is great. The tent sites are too close together, absolutely no privacy. The site on each site of us was up drinking, being loud and obnoxious until midnight with no so consideration we were 3 feet away. The activities for kids made it worth it for one night of little sleep.
Jul 24, 2015
Very kids friendly
Jul 24, 2015
We loved that there was so much for the kids to do at this campsite. They had loads of fun and were never bored!
Jul 23, 2015
Great camping, near the beach. Clean bathhouse. Very large campsites. Also very friendly personnel.
Jul 22, 2015
It was pretty good campground very well maintained and had lots of activities. Staff was very courteous and cordial. My only complaint is about their arcade which most games were out of order and their prize machine had very lame prizes and no selection at all.
Jul 21, 2015
Loved the amenities and service. Site #6 was the smallest site for camping but still seems OK.
Jul 20, 2015
cabin 153 needs a screen door, the bed mats do not cushion and there should be a check out only person available; other than that, it was a good stay and the staff was wonderful!! thank you.
Jul 20, 2015
Amazingly clean bathrooms and great activities for the kids. Just wish there was more real "nature" - trees, water, etc.
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Loved it! Great location.
Jul 18, 2015
Tent camping was terrible. Would never stay at a koa again.
Jul 18, 2015
Bikes were too expensive for the path provided. My kids/ teens had a hard time peddling. There is no supervision of teens on jump pillow. Teens would push and hurt my little one on pillow. WiFi is HORRIBLE!
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Quick 1-night stay in a tent site. I have been going here since I was a little girl. Love it
Jul 08, 2015
We had a great time with the kids and all the activities Well kept& clean facilities We did have for one of the nights the people across from up keeping us aware after midnight. Fortunately they left
Jul 07, 2015
We love this KOA location!! Its perfect for kids, so much to do!! We were here for the july 4th weekend and it was full. I would highly recommend to friends and family!!
Jul 06, 2015
The campground is lovely. Very children friendly. Would have liked campground rules to be enforced. There were fireworks going off, late night music, loud talking with profanity until after 1am, multiple tents (5) on he site next to ours, cars parked on the street, etc. Will avoid a holiday weekend in the future.
Jul 04, 2015
great place, but could not get our campsite early, the site was cleaned and ready. check in at 2 we were there ready to start our mini vacation at 11, so we went to beach and had a great 3 day stay. we are going back...
Jul 02, 2015
A real bargain for a beach vacation!
Jun 30, 2015
Other than the raccoon and skunk getting into our camp site while we slept, we had a great time! Pack lots of warm blankets, it's Cold At night even in June
Jun 29, 2015
This was our first KOA stay, and it won't be our last! We were so impressed with the amenities for the kids and adults alike. The pool was great, play area and activities were perfect for our family. We went with 6 other families, and everyone stayed in the various accommodations you offered... tent camping, cabin and lodge. It was perfect for everyone! Your staff was excellent!
Jun 29, 2015
We had wonderful time at KOA. There are so many activities planned for kids. Kids had lots of fun.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Facilities were kept clean and staff couldn't have been any nicer!
Jun 28, 2015
we enjoyed the cleanliness of park! the cleanliness of the bathroom! our neighbor next to us smoked that was frustrating but we were only there ome night. Do you have a designated non smoking area for camperes? thank you for a lovely stay
Jun 27, 2015
My son asked to see the ocean and go camping for 7th. I cant tell you how thrilled he was. Both my boys enjoyed our stay very much. As a first time camper myself, I can say, Im hooked! We will be returning, hopefully soon! Thank you so much for our lifelong memories!!
Jun 21, 2015
Very clean , nice staff, fast service
Jun 20, 2015
Space 1 a little noisy and rates are high but overall all a good experience.
Jun 18, 2015
The BEST EVER! Thank you to the front desk gals for getting us settled and answering our numerous questions. Thank you Nathan for helping Nathan up the palm tree. Thank you Jonathan for the planes and your genuine kindness. Thank you Daniel for the train ride. Thank you all. An amazing place!!
Jun 18, 2015
great location, great staff
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
There should be a warning that this facility is not intended for tent camping. This was the worst night of camping of my entire life. Because the sites are on top of each other you hear everything that your neighbors say and do, which meant I was kept awake past 1am and was woken up at 5:30am. And there was a street light shining directly into my tent the whole night.
Jun 13, 2015
Nice camping for kids! We stay'ed for 5 nights on a tent site which was perfect and now we stay 6 nights in an airstream which is a little expensive for what you get! And the airstream was not very clean.
Jun 13, 2015
Very family oriented
Jun 11, 2015
This KOA is our favorite! Very clean bathrooms, Grounds are kept up, lots of activities for kids. Clean Pool/Jacuzzi, Huge on-site store. FYI- Tent sites are VERY close to one another.
Jun 09, 2015
I was great although it would be nice to have a farmers market or something like that in the front field
May 30, 2015
We forgot our hammer, I walked down to the office to see if we could borrow one to get our tent stakes in the ground. My brother was hammering in the stakes by the time I could walk back to our tent. They got the hammer there that quickly. Great friendly staff, clean grounds. A great KOA to stay at.
May 26, 2015
Excellent for families with children. Lots of activities. Pool, bounce pillow, sand, large field out front to play various sports, large playground. We stayed on a sold out holiday weekend and spaces are tight! If you are looking for real camping, getting away from it all then this would't be the place. Looking for lots of things to keep the kids busy while you hang out with the adults, yes.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Great for kids!!! Would be nice to have the quiet hours policed better
May 21, 2015
The campground was beyond clean, the shoppette was convenient, wood was delivered immediately, trash pick up was curbside. AND we were able to watch the horse races via the WiFi. Convenient, yet still sleeping out side. Also, everything seemed VERY safe.
May 18, 2015
May 12, 2015
May 10, 2015
Everything was great...checkin, facilities, tent site (although the ground was really hard to get tent stakes into). only complaint is the people in the site across from us had two dogs that weren't leashed and one of them charged my dog and I as we were walking by. I asked the front desk about it and they said they'd address it, but I never saw anybody go there, and the dogs were still at large.
May 07, 2015
First time at KOA. Overall it was nice. Bathrooms were often in poor shape from very large girl scout group. Calls to the office got results but also a bit of attitude. Midnight arrivals in tent section were loud and woke up everyone around them while they set up camp. Sites are very close together. Not sure its worth the money.
May 04, 2015
tent sites are too small and too close together. No privacy whatsoever. Could hear snoring next door, only about 3 feet apart.
May 04, 2015
The tent site was just OK, but the restrooms and showers were not clean. Specially in the morning, in the rush hours between 8 to 10am there was a long cue and the cleaning ladies were cleaning at the same time. That was not good at all.
May 03, 2015
This was hard to rate because depending on your usage it would be a different answer. The park was clean, bathrooms were clean, and the showers were warm. The campsites were tiny and most of the teeny tiny sites were filled with large family or combinations of families so it was very busy and loud. Not great place w/o kids.The woman with long red hair at front desk is a great employee- keep her
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.