Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Cabin Reviews

Jul 26, 2015
Horribly abusive office staff person. Read my Yelp or TripAdvisor reviews to see the details.
Jul 26, 2015
I think the campground has many wonderful activities going on all the time and is extremely kid friendly. I felt our 1 room cabin with just beds and a barbecue was overpriced though. When I made my reservation everything else was booked or I would of spent more money on something nicer. I've stayed in hotels with free breakfast and a bathroom and paid less per night.
Jul 25, 2015
Fun time for the entire family. Staff was great to deal with super friendly. Already trying to plan the next trip.
Jul 25, 2015
Very Nice experience staying at KOA
Jul 25, 2015
The best camping experience we have ever had with our children!
Jul 25, 2015
Love staying here. So much to do for the kids and in the area. A beautiful location.
Jul 24, 2015
Noisy til late in the night despite complaints. Staff were nasty, unhelpful. Will absolutely never ever go again!
Jul 24, 2015
As always, a great place and great staff. My son loves everything this site has to offer. I lover everything this area has to offer.
Jul 23, 2015
Everything was great, staff, pool, facilities, play areas...I only wish there was storage space in the cabins. No closet or shelves made it hard to put away clothes.
Jul 23, 2015
Best staff, only suggestion is to have a designated section for larger parties.
Jul 23, 2015
Cabin was great, the only thing was there was a lot of spider webs in windows by bunk beds so kids were scared but other than that everything was awesome.
Jul 23, 2015
Positives: activities for kids, clean grounds, peaceful, clean cabins, clean restrooms Negatives: person answering phone call kept yawning while answering my questions, no sleeping options for kids under 3 yrs old beside bunk beds, playground structure area needs to be brought to safety code by by adding wood chips or other shock absorption for falls, cabins a bit close to one another
Jul 22, 2015
We are usually a "tent-in-the-woods" camping type family, but you need to look at things differently with a one year old in the house. We opted to try the deluxe cabin camping experience. Safe area with lots to do for the older kids and the adults. This cabin far exceeded my expectations. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.
Jul 22, 2015
After hearing great things about the Santa Cruz/Monterey KOA we decided to try it out. We rented on of the deluxe cabins which was perfect with having little ones. We all had a great time! This will be a new tradition for us every summer.
Jul 21, 2015
I loves the facilities, the cabins were clean and very accommodating. The activities for children where great and the staff was very friendly. The prices I felt were a little high is the only reason I wouldn't give it a full 5 stars, not very affordable for everyone. Our stay was great aside from another camper dampening our experience by placing multiple false complaints on our large group.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Customer Service could've been better. First time signin up, I was only given a little info.
Jul 20, 2015
The cabins were great!
Jul 20, 2015
We had a fabulous time! The lodge we stayed in exceeded our expectations! The room was nice and clean! The staff was excellent and friendly! Always willing to help and answer questions! We would come again!
Jul 20, 2015
We came with 20 various ages girl scouts & had a fabulous time we will be back excellent service
Jul 20, 2015
Our family trip of 9 had a great time at the campsite as well as the many nearby beaches!
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Very nice campground in a nice area.
Jul 19, 2015
We stayed in the deluxe cabin 157. We did not like that campers were to the right of us, they were very noisy when sitting outside talking til midnight. Also, doors on bathrooms don't close completely so no real privacy. No other KOA has ever charged us $25 for early check-in so seemed like a rip off esp since cabin was ready.
Jul 19, 2015
Asked to book a specific cabin but was told that would cost $10 more. Why is that policy in place? Got stuck down wind from 3 other cabins so we were forced to deal with smoke from their fires and the resulting ash on our food/table. Wanted to make tye died shirts but only available on Satudays. Pancake breakfast only on Sundays? Why are weekday users penalized?
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
The most beautiful KOA that I have ever stayed at. Staff was super friendly and always helpful. Sites were spacious and all playgrounds and kids areas were well maintained if not brand new. I managed to lose track of my 6 year old while we were riding banana bikes and the entire KOA staff in all corners of the campground dropped what they were doing and helped me search. He was found in 5 minutes!
Jul 17, 2015
My son has Autism and our stay there was the happiest I have ever seen him! We plan on visiting every summer now!! Thanks for an amazing family vacation!!
Jul 17, 2015
We had a great time at the Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay KOA. Employees were friendly and grounds were clean.
Jul 16, 2015
Good... Lots of improvements..
Jul 16, 2015
The stay was fun. Kids had a great time. The 150 a night for a cabin is too much to not have a toilet or shower.. If I came back it would have to be with an rv.
Jul 16, 2015
Lots to do for the kids and kept very clean!
Jul 16, 2015
Tragic accident on 7/13 made our stay a very sad one. Left early cause it really effective our family.Wish we could get a refund. Cabin 205 & 206. It was hard to relax. Otherwise this place is great
Jul 15, 2015
We like that the camp ground has a combination of tents and cabins, but this place is crowded. All the sites are very close together. People do not abide by the quiet hours. It gets really noisy at night. There are a lot of hidden costs that is not communicated on the website. For tent camping, this place is really expensive. I will not come back.
Jul 15, 2015
Campground roads were busy for the littler kids (5 and under). It was crowded and I would recommend considering less density and certainly not adding more campsites to this packed campground. We may not return because of density/overcrowded. Also, the campground should make efforts to conserve water (timers on showers, water efficient showerheads), and should have recycling bins
Jul 15, 2015
very nice
Jul 15, 2015
Grata experiencia !! Fue la primera vez y yo mis amistades quedamos fascinados. Y volvermos a reservar mas adelante !! Todos los empleados son muy amables. Gracias por todo !
Jul 15, 2015
We loved the grounds, very clean and we'll kept. Our check in was great and informative, the clerk was very professional and pleasant. This was our first time getting a kabin next time we know to bring more padding, the bed killed my back. We checked out early and the clerk didn't care to even ask why. Just took the key, said you are takin care of and that was it. Like it was about money only.
Jul 14, 2015
We had a great time camping with our friends. The only thing I would like to see is stronger and fair rules for dogs. We absolutely love bringing our dog with us and take exceptional care to ensure that she doesn't bother any campers. We really wish that others could say the same. Also, we noticed that there were an excessive amount of ticks. Maybe a notice when you check in to let campers
Jul 14, 2015
Our family of 41 had a wonderful time at KOA. We had cabins for the sissies and tent sites for the hearty and can't wait to come back next year. Many activities for the kids. Clean and well kept. Loved it.
Jul 14, 2015
Clean facility. Bathrooms were super clean considering the volume of people that come to this KOA site. The only issue was the quiet hours. It need to be extended to 11:30 pm. People come just not to sleep but to have fun too
Jul 14, 2015
This is the families 4th year coming here. The kids love it! We stay in one of the cabins. We always have a great time. This year the stay was not as nice as previous years. we stay in cabin 80 and this time the outside was covered in spider webs, inside had ants which the staff tried to clean up 1 time but failed, and the shower had just a trickle of water coming out. service has slipped some.
Jul 14, 2015
This is our 4th time staying at the Santa Cruz KOA in less than a year. We love it here! Such a great place for family fun. We can't wait to visit again!
Jul 13, 2015
Excellent service, tons to do, fun for kids, perfect for our dog. Only suggestion would be a lower bed (Chair height) in handicapped accessible deluxe cabin (rm 111). Transfers were very difficult from wheelchair to bed and would be much easier for a wheelchair bound person if the surface is more even with the chair. The sofa bed is also bad for transfers because it's very low and gives alot.
Jul 13, 2015
Good stay
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Cabins too expensive, could use more counter space. ...tree climbing not very accessible....no kids crafts during our stay :( last year they had movie night, tye dye, playground games etc...none during this stay :(
Jul 13, 2015
We love, love, love this campground. The staff is so happy and helpful and really add to the overall experience. We do an annual family trip each year and wish we could come more often.
Jul 13, 2015
This KOA unit made a Deluxe Cabin whose entrance is right in front of a restroom. It was a new cabin. Nobody thought about the fact that people so close to a restroom might smell foul smell. We could see people inside restrooms and so could they.
Jul 13, 2015
We loved being in #81 cabin again. Everyone and most things were great. The staff was always friendly and available when we called for any reason. The only complaint we have is that the hide a bed was miserable. Also, sometimes there were "older" kids on the bounce pillow, pitching the younger kids down and off. We hope to stay with you again next year.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.