Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA

1186 San Andreas Road

Watsonville, CA 95076

Reserve: 800-562-7701

Info: 831-722-0551

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 09, 2015
The Santa Cruz/Monterey Bay KOA facility is an outstanding camping experience. It was a good stay but the rain slightly ruin the outdoor activities. We'll definitely stay there again.
Apr 09, 2015
This was our family of seven's first ever experience with any KOA. The cabins were beautiful and the setting in the eucalyptus forest made us feel like we were had our own space even though it was a full campground. The management does need a better emergency plan for water/bathroom backup. Too few port-a-potties for the entire camp during an unexpected water outage led to unsanitary conditions.
Apr 09, 2015
Very busy during spring break, but excellent facilities and helpful staff.
Apr 08, 2015
KOA needs to monitor loud music from individual sites; not everyone wants to hear loud music all day. The bounce pillow was another issue, the rules posted were clearly not enforced. Kids were throwing footballs across the pillow and would hit whomever was in their way. I would suggest a scheduled time for little kids five and under to jump. Lastly $10 dollars an hour to rent a bike, Really!
Apr 08, 2015
We enjoyed all the facets of this KOA and how family and dog friendly it was. The staff was consistently helpful and friendly as well which was icing on the cake. Its location is also ideal for day trips whether it be the beach, Santa Cruz or Monterey. Overall great place, thank you!
Apr 08, 2015
Need a cafe for meals!
Apr 08, 2015
Our stay was great. There was a planned power outage due to PG&E from 8-5pm on one day of or stay. There was no heads up prior to checking in...bummer when you're mind and bill is set on full hookups.
Apr 08, 2015
Always a great time for Adults & children. Staff are awsome very friendly..
Apr 08, 2015
As always we had a great time, And we were notified in plenty of time of the scheduled power outage. Great job communicating with your customers!!
Apr 08, 2015
Apr 08, 2015
My only complaint is that we went there expecting all of these activities for the kids but there weren't many during our stay.
Apr 08, 2015
Manager, Glenn, and the front desk rep, Luann, ruined it all. After that, I started noticing everything - dirty bathrooms, old bikes, etc. It is a perfect spot but the service is absolutely appalling. Never got a chance to talk to 'PK' [the owner] because the staff 'could not reach him'.
Apr 07, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
We have stayed at this location a handful of a times and the campground is always clean and tidy and the staff are a pleasure. Good job staff!!!
Apr 07, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA/Santa Cruz. The check in staff was knowledgable and friendly. The place is basically a "Camping Resort" that is VERY family friendly, which we loved. We can't wait to go back. It's a little pricey for camping, but it's a small luxury that a camper needs to do once in awhile!
Apr 07, 2015
Always enjoy our stay here. Nice park with a lot for the kids to do.
Apr 07, 2015
We stayed in cabin 236! Every thing was perfect. Except the bath tub drain leaked out the bath water :(
Apr 07, 2015
Comfortable. Clean. Close to the beach. Close to Santacruz Board Walk and Monterey Fun activities for the kids. Loved the cabins.
Apr 07, 2015
The people that work there are very friendly and helpful!! Why wouldn't I return? Because it was too much money :(. I paid for the campsite (a lot) and that should include the whole family :(.
Apr 07, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff, and we loved all the activities for the kids! The cabin we stayed in had everything we needed and our only complaint was spotty cell reception and Internet connection. But that's ok...we were on vacation after all. We'll definitely be back!!
Apr 07, 2015
Great place for families with children. There was never a dull moment, always something to keep the children entertained. Clean grounds, clean bathroom, great location!
Apr 07, 2015
We discovered our sofa bed had been stolen, air compressor and all. Our BBQ igniter didn't work, and PG&E was shutting off the power on our last morning. We left early to avoid the uncomfortable sleeping conditions and possible power outtage. We were graciously given a partial refund and we will return this summer. Usually our stays are wonderful and without incident. Weird trip this time.
Apr 07, 2015
Apr 07, 2015
The campground was well maintained and very clean. It was family oriented and there were many amenities for children.
Apr 07, 2015
GREAT FOR THE KIDS. LOTS OF ACTIVITY. VERY CLEAN! VERY HELPFULL
Apr 06, 2015
Everything was just as described. Plenty of activities for the family. I only wish the WiFi was stronger. It really didn't work at our spot, even just for surfing the net. I know it's a vacation, but we still have to check in with work occasionally.
Apr 06, 2015
LOVED this KOA!! Very clean, friendly, fun and safe. We stayed with another family for a week. Between the 2 families, we had 5 kids (ages 8-3 yrs). They all had a blast riding bikes, jumping on jump pad, playing at playground, swimming in pool/spa, and generally running amuck around the entire campground with all the other kids. My only "complaint"...loved the campground so much, we didn't leave!
Apr 06, 2015
Wish you had more 2 bedroom deluxe cabins. They're always sold out.
Apr 06, 2015
Very clean, always fun and extremely friendly even amidst the water/electricity problem. We will definitely be returning!
Apr 06, 2015
The water was out all day on the second day of our trip. Now showers or flushing toilets. When we checked out, it was just a shrug, a smile and a sorry. It would have been nice if the management took steps to make things right.
Apr 06, 2015
Very pleased with cleanliness of facilities, helpfulness of staff, and variety of activities. Appreciated the crafts and egg hunt to celebrate the Easter weekend, too. Kids were sad to leave, so we're definitely booking another trip. Thanks for everything!
Apr 06, 2015
with the exception of the water pressure in the bathtub (there wasn't any) everything was pretty great
Apr 06, 2015
This was a top notch campsite. Super Kid and dog friendly. Staff super friendly and helpful. I have already referred some friends. We will definitely be coming back.
Apr 06, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone who worked there was very friendly. The kids loved all of the activites and play areas. The only down side is that the camp sites are so close together. U are right on top of each other. Also no wifi. Couldn't get service or make a call the whole time. Other than that we loved it.
Apr 06, 2015
The cabin was clean and our stay was peaceful! The kids had fun!
Apr 06, 2015
Last time we stayed here, had a blast! There wasn't as many sites. Came back after 4 years and they added a bunch more sites. It was so packed, the smoke from the camp fires just hung around and filled the camp area. 😔 unfortunately we will camp in a real camp ground, where we have a little more space and don't have people right on top of each other.
Apr 06, 2015
Kids had a blast!
Apr 06, 2015
This was our first time staying at a KOA and I'm so happy this one was chosen. We will definitely go back!!
Apr 06, 2015
We love staying here. There's so much for the kids to do. This was our second Easter staying, it has become a new tradition. Thanks for making it so fun!
Apr 06, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Apr 06, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff! Clean grounds. Lots of activities. Loved our visit!! Definitely coming back again and again.
Apr 06, 2015
Over priced and over rated. The kids activities were appreciated, but majority of the kids were running around causing chaos while the parents were no where to be found. No supervision on the bouncy pillow made it difficult to enjoy since unsupervised kids ran rampant. The trike rentals were a joke. My child almost got run down by one. They went down the hill by sites 3-6 spinning out and crashing
Apr 06, 2015
Our stay overall was nice however we had a couple of horrible experiences at the Kampground. One was the low and pointed wood shingles that at least 3 of us hit against, and one of us actually had a severe wound in the middle part of the head. Another was a very noisy neighbor - they were a family with kids and yet quarreled and cursed while their kids were wailing. Horrifying for our kids and us.
Apr 06, 2015
We love this campground. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the pool, big bouncer, mini golf, and location near the beach.
Apr 06, 2015
Nice campsite close to the beach, clean and nice staff!
Apr 06, 2015
Bathrooms out of order. .wateroff..power off...booked cabin and wasn't told bathrooms were out of order. ..no enforcement of quiet hours..
Apr 06, 2015
Great location. The park was in great shape and staff was very friendly and helpful. Great place for kids!
Apr 06, 2015
Very nice campground, staff very friendly and helpful, restrooms, showers and grounds always clean a enjoyable place to stay.
Apr 06, 2015
Great
Apr 06, 2015
If you are looking to get away and relax, but need wifi to complete your work, please stay at a hotel. I thought I could get away and get some work finished, ended up staying in the Starbucks for hours working instead in my anticipated cabin. There also are not instructions on what to do with your trash, so I carried my down to the shop to find out what to do with it. The cabin was cute

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.