Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Rustic Cabin Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
Had some rowdy neighbors, but the manager took care of it right away. Thankyou. We will be back in September 2013.
Aug 07, 2013
We had a great time at the campgrounds. We loved staying in the cabin. Thanks so much! Amy
Aug 07, 2013
Great family times! KIds loved the activities.
Aug 06, 2013
There should be notification about the train tracks a couple of hundred feet south of the campground. It actually shook the beds.
Aug 06, 2013
We were a little shocked at the train tracks right behind us but it was ok, we stayed in the park model and it was like home. Clean and very relaxing I would recommend this campsite, they were very accommodating to our needs and the fact that we had a large group. The campground has a lot to offer for people to do.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
This is the first time we used a KOA it was a great time. Thank YOU
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We had a family reunion there with about 50 people attending. I believe we all stayed on site. The campground was very accommodating to us and we all had a great time. Plenty of things for the kids to do, and we had lots of them..haha Sorry we missed the pancake breakfast, but it was raining that morning. :-( Wonderful stay !!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
The mattresses in the trailer need to be replaced along with the mattress on the futon. There was something wrong with the sliding door window glass. You couldn't see through it. The screen was held together on the sliding door with duck tape. The train across the rode ran at least every half hour. It was not only loud (including the train whistle) but the whole trailer shook at the same time.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Felt like home. Lots if extras and extra extra clean!
Aug 01, 2013
We stayed in a park model qthat was very old...flooring was torn; beds were old and very uncomfortable...I reserved the pavilion and when I got,there it was unavailable....we had to scramble to have our reunion of 26 people meet at the motel for dinner since it was pouring.....we' were allowed to use a camp site for our camp fire for which we were very grateful!
Aug 01, 2013
Lots of things avaiable for kids and park model was fine. The noise from the train going bye. Was really bad. No control over that.
Aug 01, 2013
Had a wonderful time. We stay at bay shore every time we come to Sandusky.
Jul 30, 2013
very nice
Jul 30, 2013
The employees of KAO were friendly and helpful. The camp grounds themselves were clean. The cabins, however had a strange smell and were dated and in need of repair. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable. That said, for what we needed them for, the cabins were ok. The loud trains that went by ALL night just across the street were distruptive to our sleep.
Jul 30, 2013
Friendly staff, made the stay enjoyable. Campground was clean. Staff went out of their way to accommodate your needs or requests. Would definitely recommend & family & friends.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Very unhappy to find out that the key to our cabin that we stayed in also was the same key to the cabin next door to us. Neighbor locked key inside cabin and asked to use ours to see if it would work and it did. Very unsecure.
Jul 29, 2013
KOA's version of fully stocked kitchen and ours are completely different. 4 plates, forks, spoons, knives, and glasses.....no mixing bowl, measuring cup or items such as that. Also no tools for the camp fire. Guess I was previously spoiled at another fully stocked cabin. Otherwise a great time.
Jul 29, 2013
only bad issue that the campground has is the train trafic sounding their horns at cross road close to kampground--this is beyond their control--other than that--great place with friendly and helpfull staff--would recommend staying here for anyone going to cedar point for the day or weekend
Jul 29, 2013
very friendly staff, clean,and the kids loved the pool, and basketball area
Jul 29, 2013
Rustic cabins are clean, nice and reasonable. Great way to cam with small children. We will be back... with friends! So much fun!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
we had a great time. can't wait to stay again.
Jul 28, 2013
my cabin/mobile had a tear in the floor, the bunk beds were way smaller thsn the picture appeared,, the bedroom with the full size bed had no room to walk around the bed,,, the campground seemed to be under water, etc
Jul 28, 2013
Amazing people , the best service , will be back again . Keep up the great work
Jul 27, 2013
People were very nice. Campground was very clean. Wish the store was stocked a little better, or was a little larger.
Jul 27, 2013
Cabin was wonderful, everything was clean but girl at front counter was rude and unhelpful. I will stay again buy hopefully the staff can improve their attitude!
Jul 27, 2013
It was a nice park model. The whole place was clean. Thank You
Jul 26, 2013
Secure, nice, clean facility.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Peace and quiet and fun... Very nice cabins at affordable rates... My family and I will definitely be back!
Jul 25, 2013
Not much was working when we arrived. Bike rental was having problems the pillow wasn't inflated my kids were extremely bored. The pool wasn't very attended too the water was greenish in color. It was close to cedar pointe which was our main reason for going. Next time i think I'll splurge and pay for a resort property. It certainly wasn't anything like the koa in Michigan.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We were accommodated quickly and efficiently when I called just 3 days prior to our arrival. The 3 room cabin was amazing! We had our own kitchen, bedrooms, and bathroom! Thank you for making our trip more enjoyable!
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
mayflies were bad,needed a dinette in cabin, other than that was clean and nice.
Jul 22, 2013
There was a flash flood the night before we arrived and our site was under water, the staff was extremely helpful finding us alternate accommodations quickly. So thankful, they saved our vacation!
Jul 21, 2013
Stayed in a park model,it met our needs, but REALLY needs some TLC. A table/chairs would be excellent. It was rather dirty (floors)& the Kitchen not well equipped (no bowls,5 forks, etc. in a unit for 8 - sleeps 8).Close to Cedar Point (Main plus and the pool). Great pool - could be open until 10 - so when you come back from the days activities you can enjoy cooling off in the pool. Trains(:(
Jul 20, 2013
The pool was overcrowded with kids from a neighboring apartment complex and mobile home park. The Wi-Fi service was totally inadequate!
Jul 19, 2013
Cabin was clean, but located next to train track and could smell deisel all week long. Pool was heated and was set at 80 degrees or higher, too hot for the 90 degree weather. Kids activities were closed except for one night. It was convenient to Cedar point, but there is nothing else to do in Sandusky. Bring everything you need for cabins, no towels and very little kitchen supplies.
Jul 19, 2013
The only complaint is the beds are not the most comfortable mattress. But we love the campground as a whole. The cabins are very clean and homey. The pool swings bikes and trails for the whole family is awesome. Everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. Thank you and we will see you next year sandusky koa
Jul 18, 2013
Love the camp grounds and also great employes
Jul 17, 2013
I felt that the mobile home we stayed in could of been a little more nicer as it was the patio window was broke and the screen was torn to door entrance and one of our family members had to have the air fixed, no curtains in the kitchen window.
Jul 16, 2013
The problem I had with my experience at KOA was your billing system. I made a deposit on 3 units and should've had a small balance. Instead your system only showed me making the deposit on each. My deposits we credited to another customers account with the same last name. I was lucky to have my computer with me to verify the withdrawals from my checking account. Also, lack of trash bags.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.