Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 8 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Rustic Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Great family weekend !! Love this KOA !
Aug 23, 2015
The employees were somewhat friendly. The cabin we stayed in was dirty. If you expect your guests to clean up before they leave I expect a clean cabin to sleep in. There was dirt, dead bugs and spider webs galore. There was also a sterile needle wrapper behind the TV. That is completely disgusting. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone and I will not stay at this location again.
Aug 23, 2015
We have stayed here many times this summer, as well as several years ago. Always had a great time. A lot of things for kids to do.
Aug 23, 2015
We got to check in early and the park models are really nice.
Aug 21, 2015
Wonderful place for kids!!
Aug 21, 2015
We stayed in cabin R7. The carpet in our cabin had multiple stains. The front of the fridge door had scattered rust marks all over. Our dining room table was a folding card table with 4 folding chairs that didn't match. My reservation was made for 6 people, there was only enough silverware for 4 people. One light blanket per bed, and charge for addl blankets. Hot, rule posted to keep temp at 75.
Aug 21, 2015
Proximity to Cedar Point and day trips to Cleveland was great. The Cabin was poorly stocked, pretty dirty and worn. The main bed was worn out 15 years ago. Trains pass by every 30 minutes blowing whistles, seeming from about 100 feet away. You can smell exhaust fumes from the nearby quarry all day and night long. Staff was nice though.
Aug 20, 2015
Overall very clean and well kept. The newer section could use a few more trees/landscaping for privacy as the rustic cabins are pretty close together.
Aug 19, 2015
There is a train going by every 20 minutes. Thin walls between bedrooms. Decent AC. Close to Cedar Point. Comfortable for our 2 day stay.
Aug 18, 2015
This campground was very rundown and it appeared as if the staff just didn't care about the looks or if the equiptment was in operational mode. They kept the jumping pillow open till past midnight with no supervision and all the basketball hoops were broken. The pool was so cloudy you could not see the bottom. I am also a campground owner. I own camp Cadillac in Cadillac, MI.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
My girlfriend and I love this campground the only place I will stay when I come to sandusky rates are great and the place is top notch!
Aug 17, 2015
clean, friendly. pull thru site wasn't very wide or level. no shade. noisy neighbors but security did enforce the quiet hours. great stuff for kids to do and close to cedar point which is why we went.
Aug 17, 2015
My boyfriend and I booked a rustic cabin for our stay. The cabin was perfect for us and we really enjoyed our stay. The only thing that I really did not like was the cobwebs/dead bugs on the ceiling and in the corners. I would have appreciated it if someone came in to clean them out before we checked in.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
For the money I spent on a "3bdrm cabin" I expected more than a cracked plastic, lumpy mattress shoved into a closet. Cabins were filthy and the pool was green. My kids wouldn't even swim in it
Aug 17, 2015
Need new mattresses, bed rooms hot
Aug 15, 2015
When my family and I checked into KOA our cabins was not clean. We had to go out to the local Walmart to buy cleaning iteams for all three cabins. And upon checking out the lady's at the front desk was very disrespectful. One was a manager and the other was an older of lady. My family and I would never again stay here. The Sandusky KOA is not a clean place to camp.
Aug 15, 2015
Our cabin was very clean. The staff was very Helpful. They had many activities and things for our grandchildren to do. We will be letting everyone we know about this great place to stay.
Aug 14, 2015
We were so excited to camp for our very first time. When we arrived at out cabins they were filthy. The first few hours were spent cleaning my cabin. I lost valuable family time. Then we were informed that the the trails were flooded so no fishing or biking. I have very active children so they were disappointed. Thankfully cedar point was up the street we were able enjoy the park for the day.
Aug 14, 2015
Exceeded my expectations! Staff was helpful and friendly, cabin and bathrooms were very clean, overall very satisfied with my stay.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Nice location and some fun stuff on the groun. Pool was green though so no swimming. Cabin had some type of bug in it which prompted us to leave a day early and seek medical attention. Nice location if you have a trailer.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a MAJOR water leak from the water heater, which we did not discover immediately. When we did, we could not reach anyone, even at the emergency number to report it. We all had lukewarm showers and very poor sleep worrying about it.
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. Was super clean and ac nice and cold! Lot's for the kids to do and staff very friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. Contraire to that statement as for the updates, TV is outdated (meaning it needed DVD rather than VHS), the internet (there was hardly any reception) and there were a ton of mosquitos that bit us as soon as we opened the door to the cabin (it would've been nice to supply a can of bug spray). Other than that I enjoyed my stay.My kids had fun in the pool & at the basketball court.
Aug 11, 2015
Good people, clean campground.
Aug 10, 2015
The cabin was nice and clean and a good size for the 4 of us.But you should check when people leave.There were only 2 sauce pans and one was in very bad shape.I didn't bring any b/c of the website saying no need to and had to eat out more often than I planned. Also the patio door needs to be replaced. Some kind of water damage between the glass very unappealing. Otherwise pretty nice stay.
Aug 10, 2015
Great place to stay. Clean and well maintained. Really enjoyed our stay there while we went to Cedar Point. Very close to the entrance.
Aug 10, 2015
We stay here every time we visit the amusement park for convenience and price. The only negative, pets are allowed and owners are not always considerate to fellow campers.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
How can this KOA keep the franchise? The park model we stayed in was totally filthy. TV cable was out. R5 refrig should go to the dump. The out buildings are very dirty. No one is paying any attention to the place. Too bad because it could be a nice park. I would NEVER recommend this park to anyone.
Aug 06, 2015
We enjoyed our stay in the rustic cabins. The pool was nice and the shower was awesome. There could be improvement on housekeeping. The cabin floor was filthy, our feet were black in just a short time. Also we found articles of clothing food and deodorant in between the mattress and walls.
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
We stayed in a 1 bedroom cabin with no bathroom and it was great! The AC worked amazingly, and all of our outlets worked. The site was very quiet and everyone around us was very friendly! My favorite campground!
Aug 05, 2015
Koa is a really great campsite. My family goes to a diffrent koa once a year. This was our first time at this koa we chose is because of the distance to cedar point. This koa did not have much to do and my cabin was infested with spiders and ants. The beds and Cabinds did not look like the pictures. Our bed was a plastic children's like matress
Aug 05, 2015
Great time friendly people nice place to stay
Aug 05, 2015
Enjoyed the pool and playground! Bathrooms were clean and overall nice facilities. Staff was friendly.
Aug 05, 2015
Cabin bed sloped terribly. Showers were being cleaned at nine am right when everyone needed to shower and leave. Would have been a pleasant stay but for these major things.
Aug 04, 2015
Had a very nice stay. Service was great and friendly. Place was clean. Cabins could use hooks to hang towels etc. Cabins were also advertised as full kitchens..but was missing a lot of stuff. This was a bit disappointing as did not pack our'kitchen' items as expected a full kitchen. There were no sharp knives, not enough cutlery, no cutting board or large bowls. Train was a surprise.
Aug 04, 2015
The rustic cabin we stayed in was very clean. The people was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 04, 2015
The kitchen had missing utensils and pots and pans.
Aug 03, 2015
I usually don't camp at KOA's but this one wasn't bad. I don't like how the park models were rt on top of each other. I've been to other campsites where there is a little more space in-between the cabins so that you don't hear your neighbors snoring or their conversation. The price was good compare to a hotel with it being 1mile from cedar point. I would definitely come back when we go to CP again
Aug 03, 2015
I was extremely happy with our stay. The staff was very helpful and when the air conditioning went out in our cabin they did everything they could to make sure that we where as comfortable as possible. They even offered to upgrade us to a bigger place even though we only had a day and a half a left. My kids had an amazing time and I would definitely stay with then again.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activities. Great value. A Little more attention to cleaning especially the floor. Also, since we had 6 people on reservation and the cabin sleeps six, there should be enough silverware etc for 6 people.
Aug 02, 2015
Second stay at this fine KOA in a month, and already telling people about it. The price is right, and the staff is WONDERFUL.
Aug 01, 2015
The deluxe cabin right on the railroad tracks. Trains running all night. We were not provided enough sheets for 6 guest. Had to find 20 dollars in cash at 10:30 pm to pay for deposit on sheets. I even called ahead of time and was told all sheets will be provide.
Aug 01, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps