Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Rustic Cabin Reviews

Aug 26, 2014
The security staff was more interested in making friends with the 6 women who were drunk, loud, and vulgar than to ask them to respect others. You could feel every spring in the bed in the deluxe park model. The unit appeared clean but their were many, many, many spider webs inside the unit. The important part was that the kids had fun at Cedar Point.
Aug 26, 2014
We have stayed at many KOA's now & this one just did not compare. Everything is fenced/gated which takes away from the great outdoors experience. The "cabin" was noting more then an old trailer. They have a lot to offer, but just not the same.
Aug 26, 2014
Friendly staff and decent amenities in the park model. Wasn't aware of their no firearms policy until I read the check-in literature the first night. Shouldn't have to give up my right to self defense where I sleep. I don't believe property security exists, never seen them in 3 days! Manager saw I was armed and didn't ask me to leave. Clarification needed. Won't stay again if policy is enforced!
Aug 25, 2014
Although the management was very kind, the location and noise outweighed any kindness that could ever exist! I took my family camping for a peaceful relaxing week, ending up with a week was neither. The sounds of hundreds of the loudest trains I have ever heard...constantly! During the night it was impossible not to think a train derailed into our cabin. The location is terrible!
Aug 25, 2014
I love camping here. Everyone is very friendly and there is fun things to do. My only complaint would be that all though the 2 women were great and keeping up I felt like they should of had some help. Doing activities,train,cooking and whatever else they had to do from morning until night seemed like alot to keep up with. Prob just due to school starting maybe. We will be back again next year!
Aug 25, 2014
I loved staying there but this cabin had more issues than the last one. But I would stay here again.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
As always this is a great campground to stay at. Very clean and will maintained. Will be back for sure!
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Well-run kampground. Friendly staff. Great kabins, great location. Tremendous value compared to other options in the region.
Aug 19, 2014
We had a great time. Staff was lovely, our cabin was clean and access to amenities was excellent. We will stay again and tell our friends.
Aug 19, 2014
very nice.
Aug 18, 2014
It's close to everything we go to or that way.Close to the Parks and Jet boat launch.
Aug 18, 2014
I would have liked to have more activities for the kids to do during the week. We stayed all week and they did not have much to do when the weather was not good. The rental could have been cleaner.I had to wipe all the floors with lysol wipes. The staff could have been alittle more friendly too.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
location with the camping experience was what i was after. Location it had. But, the camping experience was lacking. The lots are very small and mostly paved. As well as trying to have a camp fire under a spot light was not very enjoyable.
Aug 18, 2014
Clean, friendly. Would stay here again.
Aug 17, 2014
we had a great time & were very pleased with you campground . all facilities were keep very clean and the staff was very polite and helpful. it was nice that you had activities for the younger children to participate in also.
Aug 16, 2014
The park is awesome.very clean. We stayed in a park model .My only issue was they need to replace the matress on the bed and the fouton..
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Cabins were small but clean. The sites were very close. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay there again.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
The cabin did not appear to be clean upon check-in. The floors were very dirty. The bottoms of my feet were black after walking around barefooted. The decor was very unappealing and could use an update. A kitchen table would be helpful.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Our stay was great, clean cabin and staff was friendly all the time, the place is close to all attractions and not expensive at all. I really recomend it to anyone. We will be back here next year.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Facilities were more like a single wide not the cute wooden Kabins at other KOA's. Aside from that, cleanliness is not a priority at this KOA. There were hairs and dirt along the edges of the floors in the bathroom and bedroom along with a used sucker stick in the window sill. With all the dust/dirt in the window sill it's not hard to believe the sucker stick was missed.
Aug 12, 2014
I had a very nice stay
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Way too congested...view of billboards and the sounds of a train every 20 minutes! There wasn't any bedding for the futon...only the 2 beds. the AC didn't cool the 2nd bedroom all. It couldn't have been cleaned...there were left over shoes under the bed. The KOA train hardly ran at all on Saturday. the fishing pond was locked at 8AM when we wanted to fish. Very disappointing.
Aug 11, 2014
When I returned the key on Sun Aug 10, I spoke w/Patty the manager. The accomodations were the same as a month ago, but this unit needed the floor cleaned, not just swept. I expressed to Patty & she said she'd take care of it. The coffee pot was not working & when my husband reported this, a new coffee pot was brought to the unit within a few hours. Good & friendly service.
Aug 11, 2014
The grounds are nicely kept with blooming flowers at each unit. However, the bedroom carpets with stained and filthy and furniture was inadequate. We were in the 3 bedroom model and there was no kitchen table & chairs, only 3 stools at a tiny counter! There were no outdoor chairs on the deck and no grill. $128 a night was too much to pay for this unit!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I expected Sandusky/Bayshore Deluxe Cabins to be same everywhere. They weren't even close to others I've stayed at. Cabin was clean, but too small, TV from 1978, and the fridge was so over frosted I couldn't fit anything in the Freezer and the Fridge wouldn't keep our food/drinks cold. The bunkbeds were made bigger so hardly room between the beds. Way outdated/too small for the $$.
Aug 08, 2014
The employees were super friendly. We stayed in 3 park models. They were all very clean as well as the campground itself. KOA is located very close to attractions & shopping. The only complaint that I have is the refrigerator was either thawing out or freezing items. We couldn't get it set on a happy medium. I would stay there again, if I go back to the area
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
the bedrooms where not what we expected - we had older adults who could not sleep in a high le vel bed , and futon was broken. that is things that should be addressed before people arrive.
Aug 07, 2014
Nice place. Needs updated in the rv model homes. Housekeeping could be a bit better. Dead bugs on sill, Neosporin tube under bed. The model we were in could use some work in the bathroom. Train did not bother us as kids loved to watch them.
Aug 07, 2014
pros- close to cedar point cabins are clean nice pool cons- beware of loud trains uncomfortable beds
Aug 06, 2014
Awful; the cabin was over priced and filthy. The front counter people were rude and an employee was highly confrontational on his first attempt at discussing our radio being to loud at 11:02 p.m. while having fun by the fire. We had our travel softball team gathered in annual dance off when we were confronted by an employee "shut it off or speak with Sandusky's finest." Seriously the police!
Aug 06, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.