Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
We were extremely disappointed in this KOA. We camp a lot at state and national parks and have never had as bad an experience as we had this past weekend. The mosquitos were absolutely horrible due to the stagnant water next to the campsite. Our biggest complaint was quiet hours not being enforced. On Saturday night, there was loud music and people yelling and singing until 5am. Unacceptable!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a protected wet lands right behind us and we sit on the lake, unfortunately you will have bugs, its nature. During the weekend you stayed we had our Bay section rented out for a music festival...sorry you had a bad experience. GM
Jul 17, 2016
I loved every second of our vacation! The staff was amazing!
Jul 17, 2016
Was definitely a very nice stay. Convenient location and accommodating. We will be back.
Jul 17, 2016
It's location to Cedar point is great. It's clean with a friendly staff but they pack you in like sardines, but all the planes, trains, and aut onions take away from it feeling like camping.
Jul 17, 2016
We were placed in a campsite right beside a group of guys in their early twenties. They were SO loud. Way past the alleged "quiet time". Screaming, drunk, swearing, throwing up. The campsites are extremely small, so it was like they were right outside of our tent. This went on until about 4:00 in the morning. They received multiple complaints about this group. They should have been kicked out.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we know all about those gentlemen..our security was dealing with them all night. We did call local PD but since they were under the influence they could not kick them out because they have been drinking. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 16, 2016
My family and friends really enjoyed our stay and very pleased with the campground staff.
Jul 15, 2016
Worst kept, smallest camp site I have ever seen. I had thought KOA meant quality, but apparently not as such. I had been better off setting up a tent on a busy over pass, because I would have gotten more respect and privacy. What a ripoff!
Jul 15, 2016
Campground was clean and in a location close to many attractions. However the location also means that it is very noisy at night with freight trains going by at all hours.
Jul 15, 2016
We were up all night due to the train tracks directly next to our campsite. We had no idea it would be like that. There also was zero shade at our campsite and no trees. We were expecting more of a natural feel of a campsite. The place was very clean and bathrooms were great. But we were so disappointed in the campsite. I won't be recommending this site. Wish we would have stayed somewhere else.
Jul 14, 2016
I really enjoy staying at this KOA campground. I appreciated the extension to our stay. Ten days went by too fast. I hope to be back before the summer is over. I enjoy visiting with the staff in the store. I love the weekend breakfast! And I also love visiting with other campers. Thanks again for a great time.
Jul 14, 2016
The proximity to Cedar Point is fantastic. The cleanliness of the washrooms were very good. The rest of the park is adequate: sites are crammed together (even on weekdays they didn't have sites spread out - why?! There was certainly space!), and it was certainly not wise to build a KOA beside an extremely busy railway track.
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you to all at the KOA in Sandusky. My grandkids had so much fun over the 4th of July weekend.
Jul 14, 2016
Scenic area with lots to do at the campsite and close to many activities in Sandusky. Be aware of the closeness to the railroad track. Would come again.
Jul 14, 2016
As always everyone was cheerful and helpful. I was walking with firewood to my campsite and a young man in a cart volunteered to drop it off at my campsite. Very nice since it was heavy.
Jul 13, 2016
Great job. only 1 problem with shower facilities near tent area #322 and #323.all else was great experience for entire family.810-964-6957
Jul 11, 2016
Very nice and affordable. The only thing that I didn't like was that security just walks into the womens bathroom very late at night to do rounds. Without really saying anything! Other then that great stay!
Jul 11, 2016
The stay was okay, the only concerns I have is the presses of checking in and the train but that's not changeable. I checked in late and wasn't notified that we had to check in the morning after. I think that the employees or the email notification should state that you have to actually go in and check in the next day. We didn't have too much of a problem with that though, The staff was very nice!
Jul 11, 2016
The front desk people were very welcoming upon our arrival and also great when we were leaving. Perfect area to stay after being at Cedar Point all day. Clean showers and bathrooms and an option for laundry!
Jul 11, 2016
Easy to get into after Cedar Point, nice tent sites, not too busy even on a Saturday night in July.
Jul 10, 2016
Camp grounds were very clean. Lots of great activities for my daughter. Very quiet in the evenings and mornings. Staff was friendly and helpful. Can't wait for our next trip here.
Jul 09, 2016
We always enjoy this campground. Our only gripe is water pressure and height of shower heads in bathrooms. Staff is nice and sites are nice! Thanks
Jul 08, 2016
It was 4th of july weekend so some extra ordinary chaos was expected a few loud neighbors and a drunken fight at 2 am .
Jul 08, 2016
Bathrooms well not cleaned after the Mayflies invaded the camp ground. People were killing them by walking over them which made it worst because the Mayflies smelled like rotten fish. They should have made an effort to clean up the grounds and especially washrooms under 12 hours.
Jul 08, 2016
Nice campground. Making sure to give a map during check-in is important. I had to ask for one to see where I was camping. Also pool closed too early and didn't aline with the hours posted.
Jul 08, 2016
Loved the pool, pedal carts and scenery. Also loved prices for the random items in your store that we forgot from home. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!
Jul 07, 2016
Great campground. They can't control the train that comes through all night, though.
Jul 07, 2016
Bathrooms were not cleaned until the the busy weekend was over. The 11:00 quiet time was not enforced. People were screaming until 2 am and nothing was done. I would not recommend for a holiday weekend.
Jul 07, 2016
Overcrowded, underkept. Bathroom was infested with mayflies and was never cleaned of them during my stay. Very large groups near me trashed their camps, and madeconstant noise after quiet hours and no staff presence on the grounds whatsoever. A real disappointment.
Jul 06, 2016
We enjoyed ourselves, just didn't appreciate the fact that the morning we were checking out, a huge semi truck with dumpsters came through the roads at 0700 which is before noise ordinance and wakeup us all up to drop off dumpsters that were needed the July 4th weekend when everyone was there, because the trash cans we overflowing, the speed bumps made the dumpster lids lift and made a loud noise.
Jul 06, 2016
Everything was great with our stay. The only problem we had was July 3rd when a bunch of drunk people were yelling and screaming and when the campsite next to ours decided to come in and set up around midnight.
Jul 06, 2016
Great place! Clean bathrooms, big campsites, great staff. Super close to cedar point and offers alot to do.
Jul 06, 2016
Need better security loud parties after quiet time and a guy got punched trying to tell them to keep it down on Sunday night
Jul 06, 2016
Dirty diaper in the men's shower and pee on the floor in the bathroom, wasn't cleaned up in 24 hrs. No enforcement of quiet hours. Will not be back!!
Jul 06, 2016
My stay at the KOA in Sandusky was great as usual. The best part is the courteous staff that attends to campers every needs. See you soon!
Jul 06, 2016
Great campground to stay in while visiting cedar point! Customer service was great! Clean bathroom facilities and showers. Thumbs up for Sandusky KOA!
Jul 06, 2016
The quiet hours are not adhered to. Too many intoxicated people yelling at all hours of the night .
Jul 06, 2016
The amount of activities was great. The fact that the quite time at night was not enforced, it was very hard to sleep. When you have kids and your neighbors are drinking and very loud, playing music with words that are inappropriate, it was not good!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately we get crazy busy on the 4th of July and with fireworks and crazy campers it gets hard to find them all. We do have our security after hours number located on our site map that was given at check in. Sorry for your bad experience. GM
Jul 05, 2016
We had a great time.The staff was friendly, the store was convenient.The pool was awesome and the baths were clean.We will be back next year
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The hole family enjoyed it
Jul 05, 2016
We will definitely camp here again, clean and lots of fun
Jul 05, 2016
I ask for a table 2 times and did not get one you know how hard it to get food ready and eat with out a table very disappointed
Jul 05, 2016
A cute campground. Loved the Ice Cream Social. All of the staff was very friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
Quiet hours not enforced, bathrooms were filthy with dirty band aids on the ground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a lot of campers during the holiday weekend, sorry for your bad experience with us. We do clean the bathrooms 3 times a day but with having so many people the bathrooms may get dirty in between cleaning. GM
Jul 05, 2016
The activities/facilities were great. Sites were ok (our fire ring in neighboring site), security was horrible - called because some campers smoking pot, security came out and told them he smoked too, "just don't let others see it". 11pm curfew not enforced - July 3rd some were drunk and very loud, no security to stop it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience. Being July 4th weekend we are packed with all types of campers; sorry you had a few campers around you not following the rules. GM
Jul 04, 2016
Great time and staff was helpful. Trains passed by almost every 1/2 hour in the wee hours but all in all wad a great time.
Jul 04, 2016
Great stay! We pulled up to a very small campsite that was right on top of three others. We asked to move to a bigger site and they happily moved us. The second pool wasn't open yet, but I think it would be a great opportunity for an adults only pool as there were tons of kids in the only pool available. Will stay again!
Jul 04, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, nice size camping area to set up our tent and build a fire, I wish we had been there for more than just one night! We had a great time!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy