Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 13, 2013
a person near us in a tent had a dog that barked all night and the train was loud during the night. The train could not be helped but the dog was against campground rules and did not get kicked out until it bit someone.
Aug 13, 2013
my stay is always easy and carefree at Bayshore. and everyone there is helpful and friendly
Aug 13, 2013
We were surprised that the "campground" was in the middle of the city, next to the train track and the airport!
Aug 12, 2013
clean, friendly, convenient!
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Lots of bugs/ants/mosquitos
Aug 11, 2013
I was not very pleased with this koa. I stayed here probably 4-5 years ago and it was good at that time. Everyone in the shop was extremely nice and I felt the prices were good but the bathrooms were horrible. I don't think it was ever cleaned the one day. From the entrance door to the bugs smashed all over and never cleaned up.
Aug 10, 2013
I didn't expect it to be as close as it was to Cedar Point which was our reason for coming. We don't vacation for lack of funds and this was ideal for us. My teen boys had plenty to do within the campground they didn't want to venture back out on one of the nights so that was a big plus. Thank you so much for everything - keep up the great work! We WILL be back.
Aug 09, 2013
Extremely friendly staff, always willing to help. The campground offered many activities for kids and adults to pass time
Aug 08, 2013
My stay was fabulous! The place couldn't have been better! Great location and incredibly clean!
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Everything was wonderful, except that quiet time was not enforced, my children were not able to get to sleep even after 11 because of noisy neighbors. Other than that, best campground in the area.
Aug 06, 2013
I would of given 5 stars if our request for distance from other campers was met. There were plenty of other sites that would not of been so close to us. I informed the person that took our reservation that we would be a loud group, and because of this we were told to keep it down. We couldn't even be at the fire with our radio on 10 when the volume went to 100, after 11.
Aug 06, 2013
Very comfortable, and tons of activities!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Our stay was nice. The only downfall was the smell of oil on occasion. The staff was very nice and helpfull.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
KOA is a very clean campground and I would highly recommend staying again... Minus the rain that I caught when I was there, but unfortunately you cannot help mother nature...
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Really close to Cedar Point Park Really nice people Office open great hours What's with the Christmas Music?
Aug 04, 2013
good
Aug 02, 2013
Price was reasonable considering the area, staff was for the most part friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the area attractions (particularly Cedar Point), I have stayed at this KOA since before it was a KOA and have never been disappointed!
Aug 01, 2013
We've stayed her for the last several years. We've always enjoyed our stay and the amenities are always enjoyable. I do wish that there was a family site near the back that had electric. Thanks The Todd Family
Aug 01, 2013
The campground and activities were nice; however, the location was terrible. We were unable to sleep from constant trains and planes. Airport and railroad beside campground, it was terrible.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds and bathrooms were clean. Very enjoyable place to stay and will defiantly stay in another Koa campground.
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Nice amenities, but train is too close. Smell was horrible at night. Women's shower was filled with spiders and Mosquitos.
Jul 26, 2013
This campground is right next to a freight line that has a train go by every 1-2 hours. They also are in a very low area so flooding occurs easily and the pumps to remove the water were not working. No refund was given, though we were able to move sites since half of ours was under 3-4 inches of water. People were friendly but did not work to fix the problem, we had to address it with them.
Jul 26, 2013
Nice campground, too close to airplanes and trains. It was loud.
Jul 24, 2013
Facility was an average camping facility, but below average expectations for a KOA. Overall, activities for kids were great and my kids stayed well entertained. Very tough to beat location to Cedar point and cost was reasonable. Proximity to train tracks, excess light pollution and poor tent sights. Facility should consider building tent pads due to slow drainage throughout the area.
Jul 24, 2013
Clean and nice time. Will be back.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The camp set up is nice and the all the staff were outstanding. They were very helpful in accommodating with requests for my stay with a boat. The only recommendation is that I would be to have specified area for the fire pits so that each site does not have numerous bare spots in the camp site.
Jul 22, 2013
Our campsite had gotten flooded out so we couldn't even sleep in our tent bc it was filled with water. We went to the office to complain about what had happened and we were never even offered a new campsite (There were lots of available sites). The lady at the desk just kept saying there was nothing they could do because they can't control the weather and she said we are not going to be refunded.
Jul 22, 2013
Great stay. People are friendly and a nice campground. Bathrooms are adequate.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Sound of trains and smell of pig farm were not appealing, but it was very close to Cedar Point which was what we wanted. The maintenance man was very rude when my daughter accidentally walked in the bathroom while he was cleaning. It was very hot out so maybe he was in a bad mood. Everyone in the office seemed relatively pleasant.
Jul 20, 2013
Very accommodating staff, friendly. Nice park. Wll be back again, hopefully for longer!
Jul 19, 2013
I have stayed at other Koas that are great but this one was a parking lot and a dump. So dirty and disgusting. Gross. Showers were nasty, floors filthy, empty toilet paper and paper towels. Really disappointing.
Jul 19, 2013
I loved our stay at the Sandusky KOA. It is a shame more people do not stay at the Bay Area...I know it is non-electric but is beautiful and quiet there.
Jul 15, 2013
The lack of drainage in the campgrounds led to flooding in almost every campsite. We were told to find our own camp site if ours was flooded. We had to find the last campsite that was mud instead of a puddle. While we understand that KOA cannot control the weather, we wish that they would have reassigned us to a new site before we arrived in the dark.
Jul 13, 2013
The mud was HORRIBLE! I understand it was rainy, but in all my years of camping, I have never seen mud this bad. We had to go out and buy rubber boots just to walk around our campsite. Also, night two of our 3 night stay, the people behind us were smoking pot and shouting obscenities at all hours of the night. Other than that, I thought the campground was nice, and the staff was friendly.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
we enjoyed our stay very friendly atmosphere clean facilities the children loved it and we loved it too
Jul 09, 2013
nice place
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Kampground had a lot to offer but the shower houses had never been cleaned that I could notice through the three days that we were there.
Jul 08, 2013
I stayed here for about a week in a tent. We had fun during our stay because the activities the campground had was good. Now for the bad. The bathrooms were not kept up at all. I think they were cleaned maybe once a day and sometimes I observed trash on the floor for over two days. The campsites are recessed which create a little pond at each campsite. Major draining problem. I left early.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.