Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 26, 2016
Train traffic at all hours was terrible. I don't understand why they needed to sound horns at length and often.
Aug 26, 2016
Had a great time!!! We would visit again even if we weren't going to Cedar Point!!!
Aug 25, 2016
only issue we had was the train. other then that it was great!
Aug 24, 2016
The amenities were great - pool, bounce pillow, Snack shack selling delicious and reasonably priced homemade breakfast. Restrooms and showers were clean. Lots were on the small side and ours was near a smelly dumpster. Our last night and group of very noisy neighbors arrived and kept us up until 2am, despite being asked Twice to respect the quiet hours. Great location next to Cedar Point!
Aug 23, 2016
Overall, campground is good. Staff is very nice. Sites are on the small side. Constant trains very annoying. Did have fun during our stay and would consider going there again.
Aug 22, 2016
There are major drawbacks with this campground. The first is that it is located close to a major train thoroughfare. Loud freight trains run all night long every 15 minutes. Sleep was impossible. Second, there were bugs everywhere. Finally, the light from the nearby bathrooms gave off way too much light at night. I ended up sleeping in my car. It was a horrible experience.
Aug 22, 2016
This was the first time we had stayed here. I was super impressed with all the amenities that was offered. Two swimming pools, the pedal cars (10$/hr), the stocked pond( there is ALOT of bigger fish and plenty of smaller ones, and they also offer free Wi-Fi throughout the camp ground. One key thing I noticed was their level of security, when concerning children
Aug 21, 2016
Very friendly staff. We are not used to staying at a KOA. Usually we are at a State park. A KOA is rather crowded for us and noisy. Couldn't hear crickets over the music people were playing next to us and the train going by every hour. Campsite was clean and so were the bathrooms.
Aug 21, 2016
My son was bitten by a spider inside the campground which made us drive back to Pittsburgh early to deal with it so we paid for our 2nd night but didnt stay over due to what happened. I lost the money that I paid for it. We had to cut our vacation short & he was upset. We go to Cedar Point every year & I was hoping that a refund for the 2nd night b/c we left due to the spider bite.
Aug 19, 2016
Grouchy staff.
Aug 19, 2016
Other then the hourly trains going though at night it was a really nice place with friendly people
Aug 16, 2016
We loved it! It was perfect for or purposes!!! What train?!?! ;)
Aug 16, 2016
Overall, we had a pretty good time. However I think there should be no charge for the breakfast served there and no charge for pedal carts. The sites are a bit small. I would consider doubling up some lots to make them bigger, and definitely more trees needed on some of the sites because the site that we had originally reserved had no trees or privacy whatsoever and we asked to be moved. Other tha
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 13, 2016
1st visit to sandusky , well run, clean and maintained.
Aug 13, 2016
I have been staying at this campground since 1997 the bathrooms are always clean and the staff is very friendly. And the price and location can't be beat, this is the closest campground to Cedar Point other then the one directly in Cedar point which that one doesn't allow tents.
Aug 12, 2016
Shaded level site # 347 was great. Clean bathrooms Only 1 pool running Friendly staff Train was loud at night. No big deal
Aug 12, 2016
Great KOA! Had a great time. Only complaint is how short the shower heads are. They are good for lower body shower but practically have to sit on ground to wash hair.
Aug 11, 2016
The only complaint is that the pool needs better upkeep. The new pool should have been opened. They need better lighting around the pool and play areas.
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
For as much entertainment and as big as the place is, it's very quiet and peaceful! Staff were awesome and friendly, with warm smiles. If you don't like bugs (really, why are you camping) the bathrooms can get overwhelmed by the flies, but the cleaning crew does and AMAZING job each day, you'd never know there were bugs in the bathrooms. Overall, great place, great price, great people
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Had a great stay! Super close to Cedar Point! Pool was clean, and pretty good bathroom accommodations. One disclaimer, there was a camper around us that had a fan, air conditioner, and was playing a movie all night (past quiet hours). As time went on we got tired of it and went to tell a worker in the Office, but no one was there. So we just had to take care of it.But other than that a great time!
Aug 07, 2016
Neighbors partied until 2am. It felt like I was in a small condo with thin walls instead of camping.
Aug 07, 2016
We had an amazing time, the heat was unfortunate but nevertheless it was a nice weekend. The only complaint we did have was the trains. I don't mind the lulling sound of a train but the fact that the blow their horn at all times of the night was something I would have liked to enjoy my vacation without. There must have been 15 trains a day. The staff was great and very friendly. Thank you!
Aug 06, 2016
If you are tenting here there are only 3 sites in the shade. Otherwise a nice place. Very child friendly.
Aug 04, 2016
We all had fun
Aug 03, 2016
Lots to do but the sites are very small and the constant train noise is bothersome. Great access to Cedar point which is why we stayed. Thank you!
Aug 03, 2016
The staff behind the counter told us a few sites we could choose from upon arrival and we went and looked. When we returned to the desk the other lady said she had no idea as we could have any site (so we chose one we liked better). Overall a great stay!
Aug 02, 2016
Was very good overall. THe only concern i have is, did you have recycling on site? there was only garbage around the site, maybe install some recycling bins every so often.
Aug 02, 2016
Emplacement was great, campground needs love, staff was polite but not proactive
Aug 01, 2016
Trains run thru all night, dirty swimming pool, zero shade on our two tent sites site, and really...,for being so kid friendly, I was shocked at how rude your staff was when the pulled a golf cart up to our site at 10:55 Saturday night and told our kids to "shut up it's quiet time". Thanks for the great manners
Aug 01, 2016
Our third time staying at this one. The only issue was the placement of other tent campers. There were only about 10 sites taken in the back part and two others decided to setup right on top of us. Not sure if this was their decision or KOA's placement, but there was more than enough room to spread out. Just saying. Nice overall, Arcade needs a couple more games for the kids.
Aug 01, 2016
First stay was great this year...2nd stay the workers said the 2nd pool would be open...it wasn't...just would love honesty
Aug 01, 2016
Nice clean restrooms and facility. Tent site are too close together, not even enough room for 2 vehicles to park on the site.
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Very fun and friendly. Nice scenery and close accessories
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great stay July 2016 everyone was very nice, clean site, clean bathhouse.
Jul 28, 2016
As usual this was a great stay. Nice park improvements this year. Our favorite campground
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Awesome times made great memories and very clean grounds all staff that we encountered with were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. And the general manager is the best person ever...
Jul 25, 2016
Great. Very pretty and friendly workers! Close to cedar point and that is why we stayed there. Bathrooms are also very well taken care of.
Jul 25, 2016
Campsite was as expected, pool was a little dingy, and quiet hours (as stated by numerous yelp reviews) is a joke here [didn't mind, it's all young kids going to cedar point] Train wasn't as common as reviews led me to believe either
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
This is our favorite place to stay when we visit Cedar Point. Very easy and close to the entrance. Prices are very affordable as well.
Jul 25, 2016
Overall we loved it. We didn't like the spot that they gave us so we found one that we liked and they gave us no problem at all switching. The pool was awesome and the kids liked the playground as well. They also have peddle cars that you can rent that are pretty neat too. Our only complaint is that the spots are small and close together. Thankfully they weren't too busy, but we enjoyed ourselves.
Jul 24, 2016
Not sold on the sizes of the sites and noone really enforces the 11pm quiet time.
Jul 23, 2016
We really enjoyes ourselves,clean bathrooms,plenty of things for the kids to do. The only thing we was upset about was the the campers on the other side of tenting lot 314 was very loud, until 530 in the morning,after waking our kids up 3times i finally asked them to turn the music down and try to keep the noise down,i was laughed at.but other than that it was an awesome time.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy