Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 06, 2015
I love this campground very clean and friendly and always has HOT showers, the only place I'll stay in sandusky!
Jul 06, 2015
It started with lumpy ground at our site. There was no good place to pitch the tent. We tried to get a different site and we were told we could not move. Then our neighbors behind us were up all night with music and drinking. No one came around to enforce the quiet time rules. They were up all night using harsh profanity and we could not sleep and we had our 2 year old with us that heard everythin
Jul 06, 2015
We had awesome time. Swimming,crafts, bike riding. I feel so safe at this KOA very friendly staff. Thank you for the memories with my grandkids.
Jul 06, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at KOA Bayshore in Sandusky ... they only complaint we had is there was a large family that brought their 2 month old baby and it woke up crying every hour or two both nights we were there... their site was directly behind ours and we could hear the baby loud and clear. If wouldnt have too big of an issue if they would have attended to the baby right away but they didnt
Jul 06, 2015
Campground was clean. A lot of activites for kids, although activities were not done according to the scheduke so we missed a lot of them. Neighbors were all very loud and rude. Sites are too close together. No privacy. N bathroom hardly ever had toilet paper or paper towels all wkend.
Jul 06, 2015
Campground workers didn't know their own policy. Rules not enforced. Everyone is right on top of each other if busy.
Jul 06, 2015
Your employees are very friendly and helpful! This was our second stay and we will be back again.
Jul 06, 2015
Camping sites were too close together. Quiet hours were not enforced. Restrooms were dirty. This KOA is one of the worst I've stayed at. The only nice thing was the staff at the front desk.
Jul 05, 2015
The only thing you need to do is upgrade the basketball courts. They are in deplorable condition. I've been coming there for 14 years and I have never seen any upgrades. The basketball courts are an important part of family friendly camping....
Jul 02, 2015
This KOA was very nice! Bathrooms were clean,they had lots to do for the kids. The only negative I have is that a train track is right outside of camp grounds and goes by all night long..
Jul 02, 2015
Great stay, as always.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved our stay there. The pool area and playground were great. All the staff were helpful and nice. This is going to be our regular camp when he go.
Jun 29, 2015
We were there at a camp site during very heavy rains, the staff/manager was wonderful and assisted us in getting to a cabin site with no hassle what so ever! Very helpful and accommodating, we will definitely be coming back here!! Thank you for making our trip, that was almost ruined, much more comfortable and enjoyable :)
Jun 24, 2015
It was a horrid stay. No control during quiet hours. TOO many bikers, I came there because my grandson was in a soccer tournament in Cedar Point. Bathrooms were dirty. We are considering canceling our KOA membership
Jun 24, 2015
The farthest bathroom got pretty buggy at night, but that was expected so close to the lake. The koa is close to cedar point though, and had a really nice view of Lake Erie. The staff were all super helpful.
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of mosquitoes in the bath house.
Jun 22, 2015
We had an excellent tent site! Staff was friendly and helpful, camp store well stocked. We plan to return. (When there are less muckleheads ;-) )
Jun 22, 2015
We camped in a tent and our site was at the end of the campground by the road and railroad tracks. I liked the seclusion of the site but it was VERY NOISY at night. I counted 12 very loud trains going by each night of our stay, needless to say, I got very little sleep. If you are a light sleeper I would look for another campground or stay in one of their cabins with air conditioning.
Jun 22, 2015
Over all it was a great time although the bug problem was a bit much way more than normal bugs that bite
Jun 22, 2015
this was our first family camping trip. we also brought a3 year old a 5 year old and a 10 year old. they were all equally entertaining and we felt very safe at the campground. the staff was more than helpful. I would definitely recommend it!!!
Jun 22, 2015
There were a lot of bugs.
Jun 20, 2015
Planned a trip to Cedar point and picked the KOA for my small group (8). Decent sized tent sites (we had just electric). The sites did stay a little muddy after the massive rain, but that is understandable. Yes there is a train that goes by frequently at night and blows horn (It's not that bad). Overall the staff were great and clean facilities. I WILL BE BACK.
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Bugs coated every inch of the camp. They covered tents and swarmed the bathrooms, inside and out. I thought the bathroom floor was dirty when I first came in, but at night I discovered the smudges were dead bugs. The bugs coated the interior of the bathroom- as you walked across the floor, you killed the bugs as you crushed them underfoot. The sinks were coated with dead bugs too. It was awful.
Jun 15, 2015
The shower/bathrooms could be nicer.
Jun 15, 2015
It's always a great stay. This is the only camp ground I will stay at. Very very clean. Thank you will see you again this summer. L
Jun 14, 2015
everything was great people were very nice and helpful
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
It's a very clean and well kept campground!! It was bike Week and we didn't get much sleep with the motorcycles revving up every hour, but would definitely stay again!!
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
This is our home KOA. We come down from Michigan once a month and usually have no problems but this time it was terrible with all the bikers. We were warned they would be loud but at 1-3 in the morning? We thought there was a quiet policy in place like described on the guide upon check in. The first night someone finally got them quiet. Mentioned to staff and they said nothing they can do!
Jun 11, 2015
motorcycle group kept us up all night.
Jun 11, 2015
I couldn't sleep most of the time because of loud motorcycles that no one was doing anything about.
Jun 11, 2015
I love staying at the KOA it is a great place, staff are always keeping the place looking nice.
Jun 11, 2015
Worst stay ever! Bikers doing burn outs until 5am, bands starting at 2am. No security and quite hours not enforced. We will never stay here again nor recommend anyone ever stay here.
Jun 11, 2015
Had a fantastic stay..was in for bike week..met some great people and the staff was friendly
Jun 11, 2015
The bathrooms were all in very poor condition, my girlfriend said that only one of the stalls locked so she had to wait for it. The security was not very friendly when I called to make a noise complaint because people were flying around on motorcycles at 2am. Over all not a good experience in comparison to the other KOA'S I have been too.
Jun 11, 2015
Quiet time was at 11.. But you could get no rest due to all the partying going on. I unserstand it was bike week but I have stayed at Sturgis, Biketoberfest, Thunder bike rally and never had to deal with such idiots. I called the front desk and complained but got no help what so ever.
Jun 11, 2015
Had a great time we will be back soon. Staff and ground were wonderful.
Jun 11, 2015
Great place to stay. Friendly staff. Very clean and family environment even during bike week. Definitely will be back. Thanks!!!!
Jun 11, 2015
Randomly chose a weekend to go to Cedar Point and it happened to be bike week. There were campers that were revving their bike engines until 5:30 in the morning. Quiet hours posted were absolutely useless. Probably the worst stay I have ever had at a campground.
Jun 11, 2015
The grounds were very nice and met all my needs; however, the other guests were in the worst way disturbing to the point I felt unsafe. There were about 200 bikers on the grounds and at 12:15 am they decided to see whose bike could rev the loudest. This continue till 4:30 am. I barely got a wink of sleep and feel that management was completely negligent to allow- they should have called the cops
Jun 11, 2015
I've stayed at many KOA's around the country. This is by far the worst. Outdated and filthy.
Jun 11, 2015
Stayed one night during bike week. Some of the other guests were revving there engines all through the night. I call campground security, they told me "they were doing what they could." It continued to 3 and 4 in the morning. Not a good stay at all!
Jun 10, 2015
Your facility is very nice. I know it was bike week we are bikers but some security was needed to stop the 2 drunks from riding at 4:00AM at 60mph between tents etc. We will not return to this KOA for this event but I am sure you will be full and don't really care. Staff very good.
Jun 09, 2015
In spite of almost being blown away by the monsoon winds during part of our stay, Bike Week at KOA was great! Clean, friendly, helpful. Thanks for everything!
Jun 09, 2015
i was told i was going to have shaded site in my confirmation. the site had no shade at all.
Jun 09, 2015
bike week sucked and bugs are a nightmare never staying agin

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.