Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 19, 2017
We stayed here earlier in the season, and since then have stayed at several KOA's in several states. While the staff are generally friendly, the campground, itself, is nothing to write home about. There is no privacy. Just a huge open field with tons of packed in sites with little landscaping. There also isn't anyone patrolling or enforcing "quiet time." Very loud groups past midnight. Close to CP
Sep 19, 2017
We liked the campground! The nature trail was pretty cool. Our kids loved the playgrounds and pools. Your staff was very nice!
Sep 19, 2017
First time camping with my kid! We liked it all. Great location and we rode the pedal karts for almost an hour too! Easy checkin/check out.
Sep 18, 2017
Had a great time. Clean,great. Customer. Service!!! Nice environment. Great price well worth it!!!
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It was the busiest time we've stayed there but it was very enjoyable. Staff is always nice.
Sep 05, 2017
We were able to switch sites to a quieter location without any problems. It was busy, but enjoyable. Only complaint was the times were switched for the activities without notice. My kids were very disappointed that they didn't get to participate in the marshmallow shooters or the movie. It needed to be advertised correctly.
Sep 05, 2017
This was our second visit to this KOA. We were not very happy. There were several issues with kids on the jump pad and playground not handled very well, bathrooms were not kept very clean and stocked and the worst part was they had a garbage truck come through at 7:15 am on Monday to empty dumpsters. Also the activities sheet they gave had times which were not followed. Our first stay was better

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.We did have a few very large family reunion and they kept my staff very busy that weekend,We have a lot of traffic through our facilities and having a wet campground does bring muddy shoes.Our g staff works hard to keep all 5 bath/shower houses clean everyday.Being its a holiday weekend trash was overflowing,we where not expecting that early. GM
Sep 05, 2017
I have stars at other KOA camp grounds and this is my least favorite by far. No trees in our area, no organization with kids crafts, they closed tye dye 30 minutes early on us, no one watched the bike rental had to hunt people down for that. They even turned off the bounce pillow multiple times

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.We had to shut the pillow down to excessive rough housing.We had a few very big family reunions that cased a bit of problems that weekend,the safest thing to do at that point was to shut it down. Tye Dye was from 10am to 12pm very busy and had tons of kids.Rentals are watched but if campers don't return on time we have to find them. GM
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
The activities during the day were a blast.
Sep 03, 2017
Great location if you want to go to Cedar Shore. Staff was superfriendly. Campground was perfectly clean, restrooms were ok. Playground was a great spot to meet other kids. After a few nights we could barely hear the trains. The ice cream social could have gone better. Everything else was AOK.
Sep 03, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Very enjoyable and would gladly stay here again. Meet Lots of very interesting people and make new friends. Staff was very friendly and very helpful.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
I enjoyed it a lot, but a lot of folks I know won't like it because of the very close proximity to a busy railway and crossing.
Aug 28, 2017
Was just what we needed, a nice place to set up a tent. We didn't spend much time at the campground.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
I really enjoyed my time. We had zero problems and had a ton of fun.
Aug 28, 2017
Great staff and clean campsite and bathrooms and all.
Aug 25, 2017
Great campground great people always a pleasure to stay...
Aug 24, 2017
Clean, well kept, friendly staff. I never rate anyone a 10 (or 5) because there is always room for improvement, but you folks were as close as you can get.
Aug 24, 2017
Everything was great except the cost of campfire wood was outrages. $6.50 a bundle which only had 6 pieces of wood. Why have a campfire ring if you can't afford the wood for one.
Aug 24, 2017
I camp here about twice a month every summer with my family and I enjoy it every time. Everyone here is very nice and we enjoy the 2nd pool that was put in.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Loved the activities for kids. Definitely a family campground. All staff were super nice and helpful. This is the cleanest and best kept campground we have ever stayed at. Loved it all!
Aug 22, 2017
stay every year!
Aug 21, 2017
This was our 1st camping trip in our new pop up. We had an Amazing time at KOA! The staff were Awesome! Very friendly n helpful. The kids activities were so cool, my kids loved it. Playground n pools were clean. We stayed in the very back of campground n that was perfect for us, gave us privacy. The only complaint would b that the back bathroom needs to b cleaned/checked more often. Wil come again
Aug 21, 2017
It's a nice KOA as far as the pool, playground and children activities, but it is a loud KOA. Train going through blaring horn at all hours, people coming and going until very late, staying up and playing music and talking very loudly until very late, If you don't mind noise, then this KOA is good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. Unfortunately we do not have control over the trains off property. We do have quite a few Cedar Point campers who stay with us and the park does not close till midnight and with traffic it can take up to 30min or more to make it out of the parking lot. We also have late arrivals because of Cedar Point as well. Once again sorry for the bad experience. GM
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Campgrounds were very clean, and the bathrooms were well kept. IĆ¢d be happy to stay here again!
Aug 21, 2017
There was a list if activities that were suppose to take place for. 5-8 pm. Only 3 of them on the list were done and it ended at 7. Also I was unaware there was a train track within 100yards of the campsite. Who puts a campground by a train track???? The pools were dirty/cloudy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our activities list can change depending on the attendance of campers, Family movie night started early do to the request of other family's attending the activities. We had rockets launching and other great activities going on that weekend. We are a 50 year old campground and we have little control of what goes around us.Unfortunately we have no control over the train that runs off our property.GM
Aug 21, 2017
This campground is well kept and very clean. All of the fun features like the pool, rental pedal carts, volleyball court, etc. are well maintained and in working order. Over the past couple years, some of the areas where cabins were added are getting a little crowded and in those areas can ruin the camp feel a bit. The workers are all super nice and accommodating.
Aug 21, 2017
My only complaint is how close you are to other people.
Aug 21, 2017
Nice place to camp. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Our stay was very enjoyable. Will definately return!
Aug 21, 2017
Loud trains all night long, loud campers all night long, everything else was great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do apologize for the trains but we do not have any control over them. GM
Aug 19, 2017
it was great that we were so close to Cedar Point. And the bathrooms were bright and clean. However, the noise from the very busy railroad tracks kept us from getting any decent sleep. The streetlights were also too bright, keeping our tent from getting dark while we slept. And quiet hours were not enforced very well. Other campers were noisy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train so we are sorry for that. We do have security lights located around the grounds and bath houses for safety reasons so do apologize for that, we have over 450 sites and a very big campground. We always have a few loud campers and security tries hard to address everyone. Sorry for the bad stay. GM
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Love the entire stay..staff,grounds. Everything was great my family will return
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
We liked the campground but the campsite behind were loud and drinking alcohol late at night. We called several times. We feel that there was more that could have been done with that situation. The 2nd night they left and we were able to sleep
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
11 others and I went camping for one night at this campground for a Cedar Point trip. When requesting two campsites online, I could not figure out how to ensure that we could get two campsites next to each other, so I gave them a call. The customer service at this campsite is wonderful! They allowed me to get two sites next to each other, which worked great for the large size of our group!
Aug 15, 2017
So clean and the staff was lovely!
Aug 15, 2017
Campground, drive-way, restrooms and showers were so good, clean and comfortable. Not even a single negative aspect did I come across during my stay.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campground for kids, so much to do. Brought my nieces and nephew for the weekend to spend some time with them before school starts, they loved it! The staff were all great and really friendly, thank you for the memories!
Aug 15, 2017
Great place to stay for our cedar point trip and very affordable!
Aug 14, 2017
The campground is super clean and well patrolled. The playground and the pools were in great shape too. The only downside is the proximity to the train which seemed to be running all the night during the night. So, it may be optimal for one night but not so for longer stay. The cabins were right by the train too. So take a look at the camp map before you book your stay.
Aug 14, 2017
It was great, I haven't been to a KOA since I was a younger kid and remembered how much fun it is for kids. I stayed w/ my GF there and we went to cedar point for 2 days so it was a great hotel substitute. Thanks
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy