Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 02, 2017
Campsites very tight. We were enjoying a campfire in designated ring when neighbor Rv emptied their black tank, which the connection is within 4 feet from campfire. Fines so bad we had to go inside. Also quiet times are not enforced. Not a very enjoyable stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites available but they were occupied during your stay. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 01, 2017
Jul 01, 2017
Nice, clean campground. Friendly staff. Excellent stay!
Jul 01, 2017
Crowded and expensive. Ok for overnight stays.
Jul 01, 2017
First the location is next to a trailer park and apartments, they didn't look like the best either. The day we got there we witnessed a fight between 2 groups of black people and both were yelling the n word next to the pool full of kids. Security came and told them to stop, I'm sorry but they should have been kicked out of the campground. The first pool was dirty and then some kid threw up in it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience during your stay, there was a altercation involving a group of campers staying with us. Our security addressed the situation and tried to control the language being used. We do have 2 pools to choose from when one is getting heavy used. Sorry about your bad experience. GM
Jul 01, 2017
The campground was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. The problem was that it is located across the street from train tracks and train whistles could be heard 24 hours a day about every 30-45 min. If you are not used to this type of noise it makes it very difficult to get rest at night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience wit us. I do wish we could control the train. Sorry for the train. GM
Jun 30, 2017
it was very pleasant. everyone was nice and everything was clean
Jun 30, 2017
Sites are very tight you have a camper or rv in your patio. Restrooms clean. Staff helpful.
Jun 30, 2017
The sites were very small. The site next to me could have roasted marshmallows from their camper window at my fire ring. My waste line was less than 2 foot from the fire ring of the site next to me. One of the long-term sites across from me looked like a junk yard with all the "stuff" in front of the camper. As a child I remember KOA's being much cleaner. This was very disappointing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites available but may have not been available during your stay. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 29, 2017
staff was friendly and helpful.Pool was not enjoyable, it was murky.
Jun 29, 2017
Campground is dirty, unmaintained, staff is not friendly, permanent residents are rude to overnighters. Such a bad experience we will never stay at a KOA again. Would never recommend this campground to anyone. Constant trains. Our so-called deluxe patio sire was about 25 feet from the road and lights from the neighboring businesses shined in our windows all night. Gross laundry area. YUCK!,

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We take pride in our campground and grounds and have many hard workers working to make it a nice and clean campground. I am sorry for the un maintained grounds you had to camp in during your stay with us. We are sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 28, 2017
Great campground! Kids loved it and wife loved it so that means I loved it!
Jun 28, 2017
Jun 28, 2017
Every thing was great staff are very friendly and helpful. Only thing I did'nt like the rv site was pretty small on top of each other. I would come again
Jun 28, 2017
Jun 28, 2017
Good. quite when it needed to be.
Jun 28, 2017
Very nice staff. Great ice cream social.
Jun 26, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. The Campground roads need some improving / repairs though.
Jun 26, 2017
We have stayed at a number of KOA's throughout our travels since May 8th. This is by far the worst campground to date. At arrival the counter people during check in were not friendly at all. In fact it seemed we were an inconvenience. The sites are way too close to one another, to the point where you can heat the next trailers TV or toilet flushing. Smoke from fires caused us to have to stay in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. We do have bigger sites but because of how busy we get pickings are slim. We do have new staff and check in can be a little intimidating. Sorry for the bad experience.
Jun 26, 2017
Not impressed with this campground. Pull though site we were given was soo tight that our awning was 1 foot from our neighbors slide out. Cable hook up broken. Right next to train tracks. Location great for cedar point, other than that I would never pay 78 a night for this place again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately we are very busy during this time of the season. We do have bigger sites but they where not available during your stay. The cable hook ups are new an located on the back of the electrical box. The wire you are referring to is the old cable line, sorry for the confusion. GM
Jun 26, 2017
Site was too tight. No room or privacy for eating outside or campfire. Tree on site had limbs too low and scratched my unit. Nearby train wailed all night long. Will not go back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites but because of how busy we are during this time of the season those sites where unavailable during your stay. I wish we could control the train, once again sorry for the bad stay. GM
Jun 26, 2017
Our picnic table at our site was all cracked and I had to put a towel over it so that our son won't get poked by the sharp plastic. I found the bathrooms not to be as I would expect from a KOA. The paper towel dispenser didn't work properly-seems like something that could be replaced easily and not for a lot of money. The air dryer also didn't work. However, the shower was good, water was hot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the table. Sometimes in between campers stay things get damaged, we would of brought you a different table. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 25, 2017
We had a great time. Our girls had the best time ever it was a safe and great environment for our family.
Jun 25, 2017
It was nice although the store was lacking I like to buy magnets etc they had nothing and food was sparse too. Otherwise it was a nice place
Jun 25, 2017
Office personal and staff were extremely nice and helpful. The campground it's self was nice and clean. Perfect location for cedar point visitors. There was plenty of activities for the kids to do and the play ground was great. Had a wonderful time during our stay.
Jun 25, 2017
We really like this campground. If the people would follow the rules, I would give it 6 stars. Adult swim in the morning should have kids out of the pool, we asked and they were reminded. Dog poop on our site, not KOA fault, naughty pet owners. Keep up the good work! We will be back!
Jun 25, 2017
everything good but electric was not full 120 freezer would not freeze but was fine at next stop.
Jun 23, 2017
Sites are too close but there is tons of things for children to do. Not many RV sites. Very close to Cedar Point Amusement Park - grest fun!!!!
Jun 23, 2017
Nice Place to stay at. Good Infrastructure, friendly stuff
Jun 23, 2017
Nice clean park with plenty to keep the kids busy
Jun 22, 2017
Always a great time, we come for bike week to have a great time and we always feel welcome.
Jun 22, 2017
Nice location. Friendly people. Needs some work, but it looks like there is some underway. There was quite a bit of swampy land, but surprisingly no skeeters. I was hoping there would be access to the water. Sites pretty close together. Bathrooms clean. Did not shower there.
Jun 22, 2017
A fine place to camp and a great pool. However, $64 was way too much to charge.
Jun 21, 2017
clean well maintained it was tough in some places to move 60 ft of truck/trailer around corners it was a little cramped.
Jun 20, 2017
We enjoyed our stay and will rebook for another stay this year. Would love to see tennis courts added. Thanks, Nick
Jun 20, 2017
staff were very friendly. facilities were very clean. close to cedar point amusement park and kalihori water park.
Jun 20, 2017
Lots of improvements made. That was nice to see. However, our pull-through site was EXTREMELY narrow, the bathroom floor was always wet and the vents in the bathroom were filthy.
Jun 19, 2017
Nice campground. Bathrooms where kept clean.
Jun 19, 2017
Sites are extremely narrow and the train kept us up most of the night. Great location. Very close to Cedar Point. Getting to and from KOA from Detroit was difficult and not well marked. Following GPS tried to take us through neighbourhoods.
Jun 19, 2017
Very family orientayed. Lots of things and activities for kids to do and meet other kids. Staff was always courteous and helpful both in making reservations and throughout your stay.
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Good bathrooms main bathroom needs more cleaning because of the pool
Jun 19, 2017
If I would have known that a train was that close I never would have made any reservations . I couldn't start a fire since it the fire ring was three feet away from my truck . There were two people at the pool drunk one day . You could only buy firewood at the koa . There wasn't any shade trees near our site and the person the young kid that showed us our site pointed to the table and fire ring at

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry we have not control of the train that runs behind our property. We could of offered you a different fire ring if it had been brought to our attention. We do have other sites with shade but they were not available for your stay since we had other campers make reservations on them. Fire wood can be purchased in our store or around town, you can bring your own if its not from out of state. GM
Jun 18, 2017
It was okay. I have nothing negative or positive about it.
Jun 18, 2017
this was our first time stay in our new motor home since we retired 3 months ago. we hope all KOA's are this friendly.
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
We pulled in and set up. We then started looking for another place to stay. The campground is full of people that live there. There is also mobile home park. There were way too many people that were in the pools. No campground feel. There were no trees and the sites were awkward and all gravel. If we would have had to stay, my kids would not have been allowed to move about or ride their bikes.
Jun 17, 2017
Not one single bad thing can I say about this campground. This makes the 28th campground we have stayed in this trip. It is in the top 5!
Jun 17, 2017
Very nice campground and helpful employees. Only drawback was site size which was very small and enjoying outside dinner sitting next to neighbors sewer drain not my idea of fun.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy