Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
I enjoyed the grounds
Jul 27, 2015
Nice clean campground, close to Cedar Point.
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great stay at Sandusky/Bayshore. The campground is well kept and very convenient to Cedar Point!!
Jul 27, 2015
It needs to be more clean and organized especially when checking in.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The staff at Sandusky/Bayshore KOA are all very nice. We had a great time!!
Jul 27, 2015
very nice camp ground, staff was grate, nice lots very level ant kept up well.
Jul 27, 2015
Location is good. Only a mile or so cedar point causeway. Hopefully you are a very heavy sleeper due to the the trains rolling through all hours.
Jul 27, 2015
This is a great campground. Everyone is very friendly. Lots to do. Pool was great and clean. The only beef is the train that runs all night. That's why I give 4 stars.
Jul 27, 2015
WE had a fantastic time, lot's to do. Can't wait to come back. Very clean and well taken care of.
Jul 27, 2015
Was very convenient and super clean. However, wish sites were a little bigger. Felt rather crammed in and had to buy another site to accomodate our troops.
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was polite and helpful. I was disappointed to have a tree taking up a large portion of our spot and it would have been nice to have a park grill to cook vice a fire-pit. The train running nearby was very distracting while trying to sleep throughout the night.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
The best part is the fact that it is so close to Cedar Point amusement park. The grandchildren enjoyed the playground and pool at the KOA park. The employees were very helpful with getting into our site late at night.
Jul 26, 2015
Have stayed here numerous times. Younger staff seemed a little confused. We were use to Patty who was consistently great
Jul 26, 2015
The campground itself is not bad, but that train running every 20 minutes makes it impossible to sleep even with the air running all night. The spots are tight and the staff isn't all that friendly. Definitely not what we're used to with a KOA.
Jul 26, 2015
The trains that run all night are ridiculously loud when you're sleeping. Super small yards. The staff isn't the friendliest either.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Helpful and friendly staff ,good security nice family invirement
Jul 25, 2015
I don't this should be part of the koa system
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
The place was great, my granddaughter who is 6 years old had a great time!!!!!
Jul 23, 2015
No cable which is advertised. The person in the office put us in a space that had someone in it. Then tried 2 put us in a 45 ft space & we R 65 ft with tow vehicle. Finally put us in a decent space but no cable & 2 many trees 2 use Satellite!
Jul 23, 2015
Very clean and well maintained.
Jul 23, 2015
It was a beautiful place and the staff were very friendly, however the cable was none existent and the wifi signal was so weak I couldn't do anything. When your traveling for two months, that is extremely important.
Jul 22, 2015
I do not like being charged full price for a site that is under construction, no cable, mud and water. I would like my money back
Jul 21, 2015
It was a very pleasant experience at this campground. I appreciated the $1.00 laudry facility. That is way more reasonable than most campgrounds. We also appreciated the nice cement pad and fire ring. After the wet summer we have been having, this was a pleasant surprise not to be dealing with mud.
Jul 21, 2015
Was very unhappy with sight size. Not really big on a 5 foot wide lot and then another camper right there. Too cramped for what we are use to. It's good for an overnight stop on way through but not for a week stay like we did. The people were great that work there so that's why you got the 2nd star.
Jul 21, 2015
Fun weekend. But camper sites are very close together. I will say the bathroom and showers were clean. The water was hot and great water pressure.
Jul 21, 2015
Loved everything about it except that our pull through site was no bigger than a postage stamp. Staff was great. Everyone was friendly.
Jul 21, 2015
Too crowded. Electrical outlet did not work on 50 amp and we had to use 30 a.m., which was insufficient for our coach. Kids were left unattended running around in the road. Cars were parked in ways that prevented passage of big rigs. Not the best KOA we have statyed in, and we stay in a lot.
Jul 21, 2015
We were told they had cable TV. They did not. They said they were working on it, but we were told by a couple of permanent residents that they saw no sign of working on it. The office staff was probably the least knowledgeable staff we have ever encountered at a KOA. Every answer was, I don't know."
Jul 21, 2015
we arrived late and left early so we are not able to provide a honest assessment.
Jul 21, 2015
Nice family. We were on new site .. Older camp sites need work , some trees of concern without leaves.
Jul 21, 2015
Our first two sites assigned to us were completely under water. Seemed weird that they wouldn't have had a listing of the sites available. When we finally got one, it was a mud pit. An annoyance, but not really the fault of the KOA. I believe we should have been offered a discount as the entire campground was flooded.
Jul 21, 2015
1.)Very noisy, trains & whistles constantly, especially at night. 2.)RV sites very close to each other, canopies almost touch each other. 3.)Quiet hrs start at eleven, which really means midnight till everyone quiets down. Asphalt is very narrow, maybe 7-8 ft.,can get muddy. For the money we paid, will never visit this KOA again.
Jul 21, 2015
The sites are too tight. My hook ups were on the site next to me, very disturbing, no privacy. People were not friendly or inviting on check in and were not at all informative about the grounds. I had to find everything on my own without staff help. Permanent sites were loud and obnoxious and inappropriate language towards children. this is not all but enough to say never again
Jul 20, 2015
We had a nice site with patio. I would like to see them add a grill along with the picnic table. Biggest problem we had was that there was NO cable TV service all week. Apparently Sandusky/KOA were attempting to upgrade to digital, but have not had cable TV (analog or digital) since May. Luckily there was good WIFI service at our site. The trains are non-stop 24 hours per day, bring your ear plug
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was awesome and accommodating! There was so much for the kids to do that even though it rained everyday for the 8 days we were there, (not all day though), the kids always had something to do :-)
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was friendly the grounds were very neat and kept clean showers were clean just an all-around great experience we stayed there for five days will be back next year thank you
Jul 20, 2015
The campsites were way to close with little privacy. The camper next to us had a slide out and took a portion of our ground to accommodate the slide out. Way too cramped
Jul 20, 2015
I understand that the site I was on was new and still under construction, however I did not expect it to have a mud hole on it. I spoke to management and it was fixed. All other amenities were great as expected at a KOA.
Jul 20, 2015
Ok place, but expensive for what it is. Some of the staff needs customer service lessons.
Jul 20, 2015
A great place to go , very clean and family oriented
Jul 19, 2015
Staff was disorganized. We paid for a full hookup but did not have sewer. If you are looking to overnight, this KOA is fine, but I would not recommend for an extended period.
Jul 19, 2015
Staff was unhelpful and full hook up site we had was lowest and underwater the entire week we were there. Moving to an open dry site was not an option. Don't stay here. Sites are extremely close. Just not happy with experience at all. The next time we are in Sandusky we will leave the 5th wheel at home and stay in resort.
Jul 19, 2015
Great price, great location. Much better staying here than our experience several years back staying at a cheap hotel in the area while visiting Cedar Point.
Jul 19, 2015
When your company lists all the amenities a campground has on your website, it is expected those are provided. There was no cable TV. Management gave some BS excuse, but there was none provided or available. Wifi was expected it either did not work at all or was so spotty it was useless. When my wife needed to work she was unable to. Lastly, the sites are WAY too close together.
Jul 19, 2015
Our full hook up site was very narrow and uneven. The only place to put our picnic table so it would be level was up against our neighbor's camper. We could only use the fire pit with our awning in. The bathroom nearest to our site was not very clean and the entrance is shared with a trailer park. It is also near a train track. We have stayed at several KOA's and this was our worst experience
Jul 18, 2015
RV sites are too tight (too close to one another). Restrooms/shower houses were clean and nice but the camp store, buildings and grounds were rundown. Biggest issue was the noise at night with the nearby railroad tracks. Did not get much sleep.....trains ran and sounded their horns about every 20 minutes.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.