Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 21, 2015
Loved everything about it except that our pull through site was no bigger than a postage stamp. Staff was great. Everyone was friendly.
Jul 21, 2015
Too crowded. Electrical outlet did not work on 50 amp and we had to use 30 a.m., which was insufficient for our coach. Kids were left unattended running around in the road. Cars were parked in ways that prevented passage of big rigs. Not the best KOA we have statyed in, and we stay in a lot.
Jul 21, 2015
We were told they had cable TV. They did not. They said they were working on it, but we were told by a couple of permanent residents that they saw no sign of working on it. The office staff was probably the least knowledgeable staff we have ever encountered at a KOA. Every answer was, I don't know."
Jul 21, 2015
we arrived late and left early so we are not able to provide a honest assessment.
Jul 21, 2015
Nice family. We were on new site .. Older camp sites need work , some trees of concern without leaves.
Jul 21, 2015
Our first two sites assigned to us were completely under water. Seemed weird that they wouldn't have had a listing of the sites available. When we finally got one, it was a mud pit. An annoyance, but not really the fault of the KOA. I believe we should have been offered a discount as the entire campground was flooded.
Jul 21, 2015
1.)Very noisy, trains & whistles constantly, especially at night. 2.)RV sites very close to each other, canopies almost touch each other. 3.)Quiet hrs start at eleven, which really means midnight till everyone quiets down. Asphalt is very narrow, maybe 7-8 ft.,can get muddy. For the money we paid, will never visit this KOA again.
Jul 21, 2015
The sites are too tight. My hook ups were on the site next to me, very disturbing, no privacy. People were not friendly or inviting on check in and were not at all informative about the grounds. I had to find everything on my own without staff help. Permanent sites were loud and obnoxious and inappropriate language towards children. this is not all but enough to say never again
Jul 20, 2015
We had a nice site with patio. I would like to see them add a grill along with the picnic table. Biggest problem we had was that there was NO cable TV service all week. Apparently Sandusky/KOA were attempting to upgrade to digital, but have not had cable TV (analog or digital) since May. Luckily there was good WIFI service at our site. The trains are non-stop 24 hours per day, bring your ear plug
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was awesome and accommodating! There was so much for the kids to do that even though it rained everyday for the 8 days we were there, (not all day though), the kids always had something to do :-)
Jul 20, 2015
The staff was friendly the grounds were very neat and kept clean showers were clean just an all-around great experience we stayed there for five days will be back next year thank you
Jul 20, 2015
The campsites were way to close with little privacy. The camper next to us had a slide out and took a portion of our ground to accommodate the slide out. Way too cramped
Jul 20, 2015
I understand that the site I was on was new and still under construction, however I did not expect it to have a mud hole on it. I spoke to management and it was fixed. All other amenities were great as expected at a KOA.
Jul 20, 2015
Ok place, but expensive for what it is. Some of the staff needs customer service lessons.
Jul 20, 2015
A great place to go , very clean and family oriented
Jul 19, 2015
Staff was disorganized. We paid for a full hookup but did not have sewer. If you are looking to overnight, this KOA is fine, but I would not recommend for an extended period.
Jul 19, 2015
Staff was unhelpful and full hook up site we had was lowest and underwater the entire week we were there. Moving to an open dry site was not an option. Don't stay here. Sites are extremely close. Just not happy with experience at all. The next time we are in Sandusky we will leave the 5th wheel at home and stay in resort.
Jul 19, 2015
Great price, great location. Much better staying here than our experience several years back staying at a cheap hotel in the area while visiting Cedar Point.
Jul 19, 2015
When your company lists all the amenities a campground has on your website, it is expected those are provided. There was no cable TV. Management gave some BS excuse, but there was none provided or available. Wifi was expected it either did not work at all or was so spotty it was useless. When my wife needed to work she was unable to. Lastly, the sites are WAY too close together.
Jul 19, 2015
Our full hook up site was very narrow and uneven. The only place to put our picnic table so it would be level was up against our neighbor's camper. We could only use the fire pit with our awning in. The bathroom nearest to our site was not very clean and the entrance is shared with a trailer park. It is also near a train track. We have stayed at several KOA's and this was our worst experience
Jul 18, 2015
RV sites are too tight (too close to one another). Restrooms/shower houses were clean and nice but the camp store, buildings and grounds were rundown. Biggest issue was the noise at night with the nearby railroad tracks. Did not get much sleep.....trains ran and sounded their horns about every 20 minutes.
Jul 17, 2015
Location was very close to Cedar Point. The park is old and is not wearing it's age very well. You can tell that it was once a great place.
Jul 17, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 17, 2015
We realize campground is under construction but area we were in was not and with the rain we had the water was ankle deep making it difficult to get into and out of unit and vehichle,
Jul 16, 2015
Convenient to cedar point, but would drive a greater distance next time. Poor drainage,sites flooded and very muddy, sewer connection too low to make proper connection, pad too narrow for the trailer, site so narrow the neighbors awning was within 6" of our trailer.
Jul 16, 2015
Constant train noise made it difficult to sleep. Bathrooms were nice and clean. We liked the idea of a watch person on duty.
Jul 16, 2015
Love the cement patio but it didn't match with our trailer. Great if you have a center door, rear door-not so much. With rain, it was pretty muddy.
Jul 16, 2015
Everyone was very nice and helpful. The big bearded guy even gave us a couple movies from his private pile for the kids because it was raining. Very nice place.
Jul 16, 2015
Very polite staff and the facilities were clean. Over all good experience.
Jul 15, 2015
The campground in general was outstanding, my lot, #86 smelled like someone had spilled fuel on the ground and was very strong.
Jul 14, 2015
every one was very friendly and the campground was very well kept also i felt that my family was safe.
Jul 14, 2015
It's a decent campground. The only thing is the camplots are too small for RVs. I hated to start a fire in my fire ring since there was a very expensive motorhome next to us. We tried moving the ring, but the lots are too small. Also, it rained really hard while we stayed. The campground needs better drainage. The cabins behind us, a few of the campground roads and even our site was flooded.
Jul 13, 2015
Bathrooms where always out of toilet paper and paper towels. And not as clean as recent years.
Jul 13, 2015
This KOA is not big rig friendly. The sites are very small and hard to maneuver. We had to have people move their vehicles so we could leave the next morning. The site next door had a huge dog that was chained but came onto to our site aggressively approaching our little dogs. For small trailers this campground might work but for motor homes not so much. As a KOA VIP member will not be returning.
Jul 13, 2015
Overall disappointed in this KOA. Originally had campsite 199. Rain was predicted. I asked to move to a pull through just for convenience, but glad we moved. Entire back end of campground was under water by morning. Staff should know that happens & not put anyone in those sites. Pool closed at "dusk," which to staff was 8:30pm. Pretty early to close a heated pool. Sites too close together no grass
Jul 13, 2015
High cost for what you get. Pad that RV parks on is small from side to side. Also awning almost touches the RV next to us and if they had a window shade on their slide out we would have touched. Lot to small.
Jul 13, 2015
The site is alongside a train track with constant horn blowing. The site was flooded the entire stay without adequate drainage so we had a 2" deep pond around our RV. The site did not have adequate parking of any kind so everybody parked in the street, blocking easy entry and exit. I would not stay here again.
Jul 13, 2015
Very pleasant stay, but very poor drainage. Super muddy spots. I would suggest looking at all pull throughs and adding rock especially if we are paying a premium.
Jul 13, 2015
Excellent kao. Friendly,extremely courteous and right out nice. Site was above my expectation.
Jul 13, 2015
Much of the campground had been flooded, including our site, but management went above and beyond to move us and our new site was wonderful! great experience overall!!!
Jul 12, 2015
Great campground. Will stay again next time in town.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
SEWERS FOR WASTE ETC TERRIBLE LOCATION NO CABLE .THE PEOPLE SAY THEY ARE ALL SITES ARE BLACK TOP NO WAY BUT THEY HAVE A GOOD STORE I HAVE STAYED AT KOA'S THIS IS NOT THE BEST
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice campground, lots for children to do on weekend. Bathrooms could use a little updating. Laundry facilities nice. Employees, VERY nice. Store prices great.
Jul 11, 2015
Sites were tight for big rigs, other than that it was clean and Host very accommodating. Good stay.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
No cable as advertised and no discount offered. Pool was very cloudy. Sites are extremely close. People were out partying until 230 am. Cars parked on street area made parking and leaving very difficult. Fishing pond was covered in weeds and lily pads and is only open 10a to 5p. It is close to cedar point which was the main reason for our trip. For the price it doesn't offer enough
Jul 10, 2015
We checked in at the gate very late, about 2 am and only really used the site for sleeping. Of 7 campers in our camper 4 grabbed a shower. We spent most of our time at Cedar Point or asleep. So we didn't really even have time to enjoy the Kampground. No major complaints though.
Jul 10, 2015
Friendly staff. Sites are little too close, but understandable givin' the area.
Jul 09, 2015
Park,store,pool,play areas,and restrooms/showers were clean and well maintained.We enjoyed our stay at KOA Bayshore Sandusky.Staff were friendly and helped straighten out our camping site reservations that were mixed up and made it right.We will def keep park in mind next trip that way.Thanks.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.