Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 08, 2015
Came up to attend a wedding in Sandusky found the campground was within a short distance from the wedding venue .It was also bike week but everything was for the most part flawless. Planning a return visit in July for sightseeing , An enjoyable visit all the way around.
Jun 08, 2015
Normally we love your campground but this weekend was ridiculous. We understand it was bike week but that doesn't excuse some of things that went on including dealing with a band playing at 1:00am and people doing burnouts in the campground at 4:00am. We will be very hesitant to stay here again after this.
Jun 07, 2015
We enjoy this facility & will stay here again - but we will NEVER again attempt to stay during Sandusky Bike Week. Unless you are into the 'Biker' scene you will likely not have a good time during staying at the property during Bike Week. We called & inquired 2x prior to the stay about whether it would be OK to come with our young daughter & were told it would be-but it was not!
Jun 07, 2015
Had to wait for someone to check while there were several other lots open and when I woke up 9:00 am tent already set up on my lot because person before me didn't bother to check out.
Jun 05, 2015
The convenience to Cedar Point theme park would be the reason for my recommendation and stay again. The bug issue was a major problem. You couldn't go outside without being attacked and covered by them. They were even an issue when going to the bathhouse. We had insects travel with us in our rv to next destination in IN. Bathhouse was nice, but didn't appear to be attended to as often as claimed.
Jun 05, 2015
Wish it had propane
Jun 04, 2015
Very clean. Very kid friendly.
Jun 04, 2015
I thought the campground and facilities were nice but not happy with how I was treated. I was there for bike week and the reason I was staying there was the entertainment and band on Saturday night. They canceled the band due to weather which all other bands in town still played that night. We decided to leave a day early due to no activities and weather and there was no refund for that day.
Jun 04, 2015
wifi kept dropping out even though they assured me I was in a good spot. Space was barely wide enough to get my tires on the asphalt while tow car was on the grass. Flying bugs infestation. Very disappointed for a KOA park
Jun 04, 2015
The maybugs were terrible. Showers weren't as nice/tidy as others. Rate was a little high for what we got.
Jun 03, 2015
No cable/TV, otherwise nice folks, nice park, good facility.
Jun 03, 2015
had a great time definitely will be back in the near future.everything was very well maintained rest rooms were very clean.
Jun 02, 2015
The occassional train whistle took some getting use too.
Jun 01, 2015
The stay was good and staff was friendly only the rain was cold😃
Jun 01, 2015
We love this campground!
May 29, 2015
May 28, 2015
Great place, customer service is wonderful. Clean showers.
May 28, 2015
The KOA brand is very consistent, which makes for a great camping experience. The Sandusky site was fantastic with plenty of activities for our son, and cleanliness. The staff need to smile a little more at the front desk, but otherwise a great stay!
May 28, 2015
May 28, 2015
it was our first exoerience camping abd we really enjoyed everything
May 28, 2015
Loved the family atmosphere. Cleanliness, friendly staff!!!
May 27, 2015
My family had a great time. We loved all the things to do there and how they had activitys for the kids. There was realy something for everyone.
May 27, 2015
We had a really nice time. the campgrounds was well kept and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, easy check-in. The pull through sites were close but not bad. The morning we were leaving we both got a breafast from the snack shack and we both enjoyed it. Very close and easy to get to Cedar Point. A lot of activities for the kids. We will go back when we are in the area.
May 26, 2015
Always is good to stay there we always come back it was a few little problem but everything ok like my stay there was some young people with a loud music to 5 in the morning but other wise perfect i like it there
May 26, 2015
I do not go camping to listen to trains all night long blowing their horns. This iss a commercial track and kept me awake my entire visit. I would never recommend this location to anyone trying to relax which is what most people are trying to do when camping. Also, site (which was the patio site) was not wide enough to accommodate my camper. I hung over into another site. Friendly staff positive.
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
I always reserved one of the better sites,.. full hook ups etc,.. as we did here, We went to hook up cable & it didn't work. Called the office to ask whats up. Was told there was none,..I said that I paid for it,... and was never told they didn't have it. They refused to compensate for lack of it,..even acted annoyed that I asked. Boring night,..no service,...won't be back.
May 26, 2015
Smallest rv sites ive ever camped on....tent camping area huge with about a dozen tents.
May 26, 2015
Nice place but there were some noisy Seasonal Campers playing corn hole in the street literally 8 feet from our pop outs. When the tournament continued well past the 11 pm quiet time we did bring it to the attention of security. It was taken care of right away and they moved their party back to their own camp spot. Overall a decent stay with a little bump. We would stay again. Close to Cedar Point
May 26, 2015
Nice grounds,bathroom, activities. Feedback: I choose KOA b/c of the ammenities; no WIFI & no cable - website indicates these are included. Called desk and unable to help with WIFI; was told cable contract termed & new service in July. How about updating your website? Also, unless your'e in a premier site, all other sites are way too narrow, made for poor stay-neighbors all complaining-too cramped

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have had alerts all over our KOA page the entire month of may to help let campers know of the changes in cable....unfortunately I do apologized for the inconvenience.
May 25, 2015
May 23, 2015
Close to the train tracks . Train runs every 20 mins it seems.No cable. very slow wifi.we booked online and there was no mention of no cable. Place was nearly Empty. They put many units next to each other. Not spreading out a units a bit. Very dirty will never stay there again. will spend the money to stay at Cedar Point campground next time. Koa quality of campgrounds has went severely downhill
May 23, 2015
We were there at a quiet time of year. Sites are a bit close so I don't think I would like it there during the busy season. Very friendly and helpfull staff and well maintained.
May 21, 2015
Friendly staff, clean restrooms and well maintained grounds. Great location.
May 19, 2015
No 24 hr security ad advertised,no response on emergency #. Toxic fire during our stay.
May 19, 2015
It was very clean and well stocked.
May 19, 2015
One star only because the front office adjusted the billing. Otherwise zero. This location attracts drunken frat boys heading to Cedar Point. Loud screaming at night - the bathrooms were filthy - the "deluxe" spots were sub-par. And we didn't get the spot we reserved. Avoid at all costs.
May 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay; lots of improvements needed but many seem to be in the works. It's difficult to gain a full perspective of the campgrounds since the season is brand new. We have booked 10 weekends out of 15 possible summer weekends to stay with you so we definitely were not too disappointed. We will revisit this survey again once the season is in full swing for an update.
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
Loved being there while it was "closed"! Loved the rates!
May 12, 2015
Staff was pleasant. Train noise was a little annoying. Bounce pillow wasn't open all the time, yet there was no schedule for the kids to know when they could use it. Toilets in shower house were a disaster. Campground was large, princess festivities (Frozen) were very much appreciated by my daughter.
May 12, 2015
very disappointed restroom very dirty. toilets do not flush properly. disgusting. No hot water in shower.
May 11, 2015
Our campsite was in an area where construction was going on, while the other side had plenty open spots. I also found the bathrooms to be poorly maintained. The most frustrating part was these leaves that fell on and around our camper stained not only our floors, but also the exterior of camper.
May 11, 2015
Thanks So Much See You Again Soon
May 11, 2015
I really like this campground and I've been here several times. The staff is always helpful.The activity conductor was also very good with the kids.
May 08, 2015
May 07, 2015
with 80% of the park not occupied, why would you put someone 20 feet from the garbage dumpsters? garbage dumpsters facing my site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello, I am Alex the manager of the campground.Site 57 is a highly reserved site, we have new employees in training since we just opened.The dumpsters are not on your site but located on our turn.Since we were so open if you would of notified us of your dislike for the site we could of moved you.
May 06, 2015
May 06, 2015
Friendly staff, clean accomodations. Had a great time.
Dec 11, 2014
The owners were friendly and helpful.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.