Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 21, 2013
The facility appeared to be dirty; from the front office, to the pool, and even the site. We were in site 99 and a large rain came through. All of the Class A sites, as well as the street, on that strip flooded to ankle depth. When stepping out of the coach, I didn't know of the potential for electrocution, as well as if it was just rain water or sewerage that I was wading through.
Jul 21, 2013
After the rain, the sewer backed up into the surface water which was 6" deep. Had to walk into the sewage to un hook. No One in management seemed to care. I should have called the health department so the next person coming in would not get sick.
Jul 21, 2013
Excellent service and very clean
Jul 20, 2013
Pull thru sites are too close to each other and does not have contain much grass at site.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
there is nothing Monday through Friday for the kids to do besides swim r lot was a muddy mess with big rUtsand our fire pit was so close to both campers it was scary!for the price we paid we can stay at a Jellystone and have all kinds of activities in a very nice padded lot with green grass we were very disappointed for the cOst
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Only stayed overnight,so cannot rate amenities. Staff attentive and polite, store well stocked and facilities clean. I would utilize site again.
Jul 20, 2013
Very nice campground. Very clean. Employees were friendly. Our issue was that the WiFi never worked properly which was a problem because my husband teaches online classes. We chose this KOA partly because of the free WiFi. We kept going to the desk to tell them it was not working, they kept resetting it, it kept going out. Frustrating.
Jul 20, 2013
The check-in was messed up- we were originally assigned an already occupied site by a new associate. The co-manager dealt with the problem quickly- and we had a great stay!
Jul 19, 2013
had us packed in like sardines..no where to set up toss games for kids.train horn out of control.bathroom filthy while employees sat at desk and screwed around.just plain nasty
Jul 19, 2013
Very nice kampground. Crew was very busy cleaning up after rain storms but still was very friendly and helpfull.
Jul 19, 2013
Always have a fun time at this KOA.
Jul 19, 2013
Campground sites are very small for large campers. No place for the kids to play next to your camper. Sites are not leveled. Bathrooms not clean. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Over crowded, loud and cramped sites. It was messy and dirty. Not impressed for a Presidents Award winner!
Jul 18, 2013
Our campsite was very muddy. It needed a load of gravel to soak up the water.
Jul 18, 2013
IT WAS A GREAT TIME SANDUSKY OHIO, I'll be back...
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I had to put air in my bike tires and replace chain several times while riding. Bike rental dude was apathetic to his job. More than half the staff had long faces and never smiled. That is very hard on caregivers of children who need a little support from those around them during an outing. The gem mining was a joke. Really? And your camping store was not a camping store - it was a camping closet
Jul 18, 2013
Muddy, crowded and disgusting
Jul 18, 2013
We got to the campground and all the staff were wonderful and very nice! However we spent half an hour waiting for people to move cars that were parked in our site . the campground itself was very tight and cars were often parked in spots that made it very difficult to maneuver a car through let alone a travel trailer.
Jul 17, 2013
This is our 8th time (or thereabouts) camping here. Besides being close to Cedar Point, they are friendly, helpful, have great facilities and are worthy of our repeat business. One of the only KOA's that go out of their way to ASK for what they should improve.
Jul 17, 2013
We were given a site where we would have been sleeping on top of next site's fire pit. Had to switch. No warning of train noise which kept us up the entire night due to train whistle every 15-30 minutes. Had to ask for list of restaurants; why not in packet?
Jul 17, 2013
We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay
Jul 17, 2013
Although we know that they can't control the rain, hey can control drainage and they just don't have any. It rained the week before we arrived and it rained the 5 days we stayed there.The whole camp ground was flooded and our site was just mud. Everyone was friendly and I imagine the camp ground is nice when it's dry but didn't get to enjoy our trip.
Jul 16, 2013
We had excessive flooding and mud on our stay. We understand there had been alot of rain but drainage, leveling of sites to promote drainage and more ground cover at sites are drastically needed. Areas for playing that the website made look good were not available due to water conditions.
Jul 16, 2013
campsites too small, retention ponds a joke. the camground was flooded the entire time, I had no where to park my car but in a huge pool of water and wear flip flops to get in and out. entire sections of campsites were totally unusable, however they continued to place people in them. pool too small for size of campground, felt more like a public bath tub. sufficient showers and laundry nice,
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
There are a couple of problems the noise from the train's is terrible, the sewer connection is far from the water and electric hookup and you must have at least 20' of sewer hose, but is close to Cedar Point Park which is a great thing.
Jul 15, 2013
It is a great site but if it rains there you will be under water . It wood have been better with more staff to run the jumping pillow for the kids
Jul 13, 2013
Despite the torential down pours every day which resulted in flooding, we had fun. The staff here are extremely nice & the facilities were cleaned every day. No one can predict Mother Nature. Staff & campers made the best of a bad weather situation.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Site we reserved was not available.camp sites were floded.loud trains going by all hours of night. Unsupervised children urinating on the swing set play area. Unpleasant stay will not return.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
We where very disappointed, not the usual koa standard. There had been a lot of rain, this cannot be helped but the sites where flooded and a mudbath,you had to walk in the mud to get in and out of the rv,gravel around the sites would help.also you had to park on the road, not enough room on site to park the truck.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Campsites are very close together. Not enough room for awning to be out plus have a fire. Most sites were underwater from the rain.
Jul 09, 2013
We have a 33'Class A. There was so much water at our campsite we couldn't even walk around our RV.The water SMELLED so bad we had to go buy water at a store just to wash dishes. We paid $185 for 3 days and I think we should get some discount. We are going to Cody WY but you charge $ for cable TV.We are going Fulltimers. If we renew, Things better change or we go to GoodSams.I'll email Motorhome,TL
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Given wrong directions to pull into spot, resulting in getting stuck-camp manager not friendly about it. Grounds entirely too crowded and "clicky" with permanent guests. Lots of amenities, too many people.
Jul 08, 2013
The place is a wetland. We spent a week walking in mud the sites need some gravel. The sites are so small that the campers awning was only 2 feet away from the next camp site.
Jul 08, 2013
Its older and could use a few updates with the store, bathrooms, playscapes. The events were not organized well and we had some confusion on start times, costs. The banners and web site was out of date, the lids for the coffee cups do not fit, napkins In the napkin holders are the wrong ones so they don't come out. Juice ran out at 9am, washing machine was broken, certain games were broke too.
Jul 08, 2013
when we arrived at our campsite it was a complete swamp. the area to set up our tent was a mud pit and so was the picnic area. we asked to be moved to another site and they said they could not do that. we spent almost $200 on straw and mulch to make it a bit more livable the customer service was the worst I have experienced anywhere. they did not care or willing to fix the problems we had.
Jul 08, 2013
It was alright. I thought the bathrooms were pretty gross. The activities were always late and some didn't even get done. I didn't think the pool was very clean. Overall it was OK. I probably would never come back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.