Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2016
Overpriced. Sites on top of each other. One small pool. That was very full and looked like it needed to be shocked with chlorine. Other one under construction . Wouldn't stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have bigger sites but unfortunately they were booked. We do shock our pool and treat it on a regular, we just get so many people in the pool since its so hot out. GM
Jul 05, 2016
We feel that it would be a better campground if you had all your permanent campers in one area, where our lot was was they where nice accept their kids where running around with no adults and the kids where under 5 yrs of age.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have 2 seasonal sections, but we also have different sites located around our campsite that would accommodate your stay next time if you would like more space and a better site. These may have been booked since we are very busy. GM
Jul 05, 2016
Quiet hours not enforced, bathrooms were filthy with dirty band aids on the ground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a lot of campers during the holiday weekend, sorry for your bad experience with us. We do clean the bathrooms 3 times a day but with having so many people the bathrooms may get dirty in between cleaning. GM
Jul 05, 2016
The activities/facilities were great. Sites were ok (our fire ring in neighboring site), security was horrible - called because some campers smoking pot, security came out and told them he smoked too, "just don't let others see it". 11pm curfew not enforced - July 3rd some were drunk and very loud, no security to stop it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience. Being July 4th weekend we are packed with all types of campers; sorry you had a few campers around you not following the rules. GM
Jul 04, 2016
Great time and staff was helpful. Trains passed by almost every 1/2 hour in the wee hours but all in all wad a great time.
Jul 04, 2016
We loved the cabin - was perfect for our needs. Would be nice if the bathroom were cleaned a little more often.
Jul 04, 2016
I didn't think the rustic cabin came w electricity and air, was perfect, and will defiantly share my experience w rest of campy family. Thanks
Jul 04, 2016
It was ok. Deluxe patio was great, but for $80 a night I expected a little more privacy. It was over crowded and sites are packed in like sardines. We've paid much less for beachfront sites that had a lot more room and privacy. It is way over priced. Price might reflect cedar point being right down the road, but still very over priced. Lots of kid activities, but had to pay for some crafts too.
Jul 04, 2016
Great stay! We pulled up to a very small campsite that was right on top of three others. We asked to move to a bigger site and they happily moved us. The second pool wasn't open yet, but I think it would be a great opportunity for an adults only pool as there were tons of kids in the only pool available. Will stay again!
Jul 04, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, nice size camping area to set up our tent and build a fire, I wish we had been there for more than just one night! We had a great time!
Jul 03, 2016
Pool was initially very cloudy and murky/green. It did clear up after a few days. The sites are very close with a very small green space between campers. Lots of activities, kids liked it. Not my favorite KOA.
Jul 03, 2016
Very noisy. At the time we were there, works were going on twenty feet from our camper. Add this to the trains, highway and normal maintenance and you get the equivalent of downtown Cleveland. This being said, the people were fantastic, as is mostly the case when we go into a KOA
Jul 03, 2016
Small but perfectly formed 3 bedroom mobile unit/cabin. Great use of space, full size bathroom and refrigerator. 5 mins from the turning onto cedar point. Staff friendly and accommodating. Lovely park undergoing renovation. The cabins are close to train tracks, but that didn't bother us!
Jul 02, 2016
Old campgrounds. Not very attractive.
Jul 02, 2016
Very clean! Would definitely stay again
Jul 02, 2016
We stayed in a Park Model, the trains were awful, all night long, rattled the unit. The unit was dirty when we arrived, so I had to clean right away.
Jul 01, 2016
Sites were small and the one we had was not very level. The bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have ever been in.
Jul 01, 2016
We had a great time! The campground staff were awesome! Looking forward to the next time.
Jul 01, 2016
Despite the June mayflies, the stay was very good. They cleaned the bugs every day as much as they could. They fixed the trampoline asap for the kids. Very cool!
Jun 30, 2016
It wasn't quite what I was expecting as far as camping goes, but for the price it was good. Mayflies were everywhere so they made it a little worse. I liked how they had a pool and some other activities and also a store for any supplies you might need that you forgot
Jun 30, 2016
Ants in the cabin and filthy dirty floor, I'm guessing it had not been mopped for weeks. When we arrived it looked like someone had a melted Popsicle all over the refrigerator. Plus freeze dripped water into refrigerator, had to keep a pan to catch the water. However, the staff was friendly, offered to send someone in but we had already unpacked everything.
Jun 30, 2016
Awsome campground the staff are very pleasant and always willing to help we have stayed here a couple times now, when we visit cedar point...and every time it is without headaches or hassles...we stayed in a cabin this time cause our group was not the tenting type and the cabins are very nice... highly recommended this campground...
Jun 30, 2016
Check in was quick, store was clean, only thing I would like would be a separate place for people with animals, our neighbor had dogs and it crapped and you could smell it for hours:
Jun 29, 2016
It was very pleasant.
Jun 29, 2016
Great time at Sandusky/Bayshore KOA people are all friendly. SUPER close to Cedar Point. Kids loved it!
Jun 29, 2016
Very pleasant staff!
Jun 29, 2016
Good but not great. Tiny lots and tight turns for larger trailers. Had to pull way forward in order to get our slide out. Close to Cedar Point Causeway and other town features. Nice staff. I didn't feel the value matched the cost.
Jun 29, 2016
The location was great for what we were doing in the area. Everything else was either run down or very dirty.
Jun 29, 2016
We made a reservation for 3 nights, over a week in advance for a family get-together with our grandchildren. The first night we basically stayed in a driveway with 2 yards of grass between us and the neighbors. We did move to a nice area after inquiring. Also the pool was constantly green...not clear and sparkly as it should be, even after requesting they clean and shock it. YUCK! tons of people.
Jun 28, 2016
Seasonal folks not so friendly, assuming that the occasional camper/renter knew all their rules.
Jun 28, 2016
had a wonderful time.If we where to stay again a few thing's would have to be changed first 1. friendly check in people 2. bath mats for the tubs they where very slippery and maybe get a handrail for them also.Make sure the cabins are clean and available when they say they will be. Check out the equipment in them are air was not working in are cabin.
Jun 28, 2016
Super campground- they think of everything you need. Great people and clean large campground but always under control. If there was a 6th star they should get it!
Jun 28, 2016
pool did not look very clean; smaller bathroom had a shower that wouldn't shut off and drained all the hot water; loud neighbors were annoying
Jun 28, 2016
The staff was really friendly and helped me find a place that was secluded so I could have the peace and quiet that I came there for. The grounds were all well kept and clean and everybody was really respectful.
Jun 27, 2016
My family visit KOA every year and we rent out at least ten cabins and this year started off with a horrible experience. Customer service means everything to me when I am spending my money.
Jun 27, 2016
cozy!
Jun 27, 2016
Stay here everytime we come to cedar point, great place to stay.
Jun 27, 2016
We are always happy to stay at Bayshore, the people are so nice and accommadating. There are always new improvements every year.
Jun 27, 2016
We were impressed with the activities, clean restrooms, and friendly and accommodating staff! Had a great time and plan to return!
Jun 27, 2016
The cabin we stayed in was very nice and reasonably priced!!!
Jun 27, 2016
ground was super dry hard to put stakes in ground but other than that the site was really nice all staff was really helpful.
Jun 27, 2016
Loud and unrestful! Cabin guests listening to music till 1:00am. I wish there was another camping option near Cedar Point, for that reason alone, it's worth the headache...It's sad that management can't recognize the facility shortcomings to such a beautiful location.
Jun 27, 2016
The site we were in was very tight and surrounded by the rental cabins. The people in the cabins made our stay unpleasant.
Jun 27, 2016
I was apprehensive to stay at this campsite after reading the reviews online. However we absolutely loved it!! The cabin was so comfy and clean! We will be back, we didn't want to leave!
Jun 27, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff with a great location very close to Cedar Point, but this campground feels more like a trailer park. Seasonal campers are rude to the transients. Bathhouses were were clean with plenty of hot water, but were dated and in need of modernization.
Jun 27, 2016
Place is very nice & spotless plus STAFF is EXTREMELY nice. RECOMMENDATION: Very "DANGEROUS" area between Gate and turning by pools w/ large RVs as small children ride their bikes, scooters, skateboards in parking lot area.They do not pay any attention and become unpredictable in turning in front of you. I recommend 2 staff people walk aside RVs and 5th wheels as they enter and leave.
Jun 27, 2016
Okay but kinda crowded
Jun 27, 2016
It was so easy to reserve online for our spur of the moment 1-night camp trip after a long day at cedar point. The bathrooms were nice and clean and the lot was nicely shaded. We will definitely be repeat campers at the Bayshore koa!!
Jun 26, 2016
Jun 26, 2016
It was fine, we only stayed one night and really didn't have much time. What really lowered my opinion was the Canadian Soldiers literally covered the entire men's bathroom door (mind you, dead by morning) and sidewalk entering (I have a pic) and when we left at 9:30 a.m. they were still not cleaned up. My kids refused to go to the bathroom.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals