Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 06, 2016
The campground was nice and clean. Lots of bugs in bathroom. Map had different store time than sign on door. Was not told pool hours and it was not listed on map either.
Jun 06, 2016
Big site, fun pool, friendly staff and campers.
Jun 06, 2016
Jun 06, 2016
I had a problem with my power and they had no problem rembursing me for the trouble great customer service.
Jun 06, 2016
We Enjoyed our stay!! Very Clean bathrooms and showers!! Really Nice Employees and John was a very Nice Welcoming Committee!! We would Highly recommend staying there again!! Happy Camping 2016 season!!
Jun 06, 2016
Quiet hours were not enforced at all. Loud music and revving motorcycles kept us awake all night. We had a two night reservation, but left a day early because of the constant blaring noise. Without a doubt, this was our worst camping experience ever.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

our web explains that during the first week in June is Ohio Bike Week, We have more than 300 bikers staying with us. Our entire town is packed with tons of bikers. That is why on our web page we strongly suggest not staying with us because of the noise.Sorry you had a bad stay. GM
Jun 06, 2016
Good and clean primitive camp spot. We came during bike week and it was a bit noisy as expected.
Jun 06, 2016
Very friendly staff and guest, easy to find and in the top 5 KOA's I visited.
Jun 06, 2016
It was fun enjoying the live band that was there because of Ohio bike week, me an my kids cedar point trip was even Funner by stayin here
Jun 06, 2016
Over priced cable didn't work,wifi inop most of the time sites not very good overall I would go to Evergreen, or American Wilderness or shenendo valley instead.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to loose you,cable is satellite & after the big storm rolled through we had problems and could not get a repair person till after the holiday, we have plenty to do jump pillow, activities program, pedal carts, catch and release pond. We are making our sites bigger.sorry u had a bad stay GM
Jun 06, 2016
When I expressed my concern about the noise level of the bikers at the site, I was told quiet hours were not being enforced for them and that I was to accept that it is a "rowdy weekend". What a nightmare, we lost so much sleep to the noise. The site itself is lovely.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have over 300+ bikers stay with us each year during Ohio Bike Week. We have it blasted all over our web page that if you are not here for bike week you may not want to stay due to how loud and crazy it gets.We did refund you 2 night and we do try to maintain but its hard..sorry GM
Jun 06, 2016
Very loud and got no sleep quiet hours not enforced people reving engines till 4:00 am

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Its Ohio Bike Week...we have over 300+ bikers staying with us, unfortunately we can not stop everything that goes down....sorry for your bad experience...We blasted all over our web page about what was going on that week and if your not a biker you may not want to stay. GM
Jun 06, 2016
Couldn't ask for a better place to stay! All staff was very helpful only suggestion I have is to post things on your website if you have bands playing and activities going on.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you had a great time...The only reason we do not promote on our KOA page is because we try to not have family's camp with us that weekend.Its just to loud,family's leave giving us a bad review because of the noise. Please friend our page facebook.com/sanduskybayshorekoa GM
Jun 06, 2016
Property development seemed uncoordinated and poorly executed, sites not level and not well finished. Staff friendly and professional. Very expensive. KOA needs to do better on rates for folks just passing through vs charging Resort rates for everyone. Will not stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you feel that way GM
Jun 06, 2016
My stay was horrible, the office lady was so rude, the night guards were useless to do their jobs, the campers all around us were drunk & loud till 5am, i checked in at 1am & out by 7am & i cancelled my next nights stay, the people were very inconsiderate & the workers werent much better i wont be staying there again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are active partners and participants in Ohio Bike Week. Our entire town is packed with bikers for that first week of June every year. We had it blasted all over our web page of what to expect and maybe not stay with us if your not a biker. Sorry your stay was horrible please check our web page GM
Jun 04, 2016
We stopped in for one night. Clean park with nice folks in charge. Not a lot of amenities but a fine place to stay
Jun 03, 2016
We like staying at the koa's but this one we were disappointed!! The website and pamphlet both indicate there is a basketball hoop and 2 pool which the second pool is no big deal but the basketball area is a deal breaker!!! They also aay cable but our entire stay of 4 days were nothing but fuzzy!! We lost our power the electrical box was fried, which they fixed it in A timely manner!
Jun 03, 2016
Biggest KOA we ever seen. Restful night . Hit the road . Seeing the country.
Jun 02, 2016
Jun 02, 2016
My family had an extremely great time. There was always things to do. Have been coming for many years and will continue to do so.
Jun 01, 2016
Very helpful staff. Clean campgrounds. A lot to do for the kids. Love the swimming pool. We will be back
Jun 01, 2016
We love the Sandusky KOA! We've been going for 5 years now. However, this past visit involved a boy taking other kids' bikes for rides without asking, leaving the kids to think their bikes were stolen. We've NEVER had any problems with other kids or people there, so this was disheartening. Also, please check the paper towels in the bathrooms more frequently!
May 31, 2016
The cabins next to the railroad tracks are not very restful when trying to get a good nights sleep
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
The staff was amazing this trip. Our tent blew away, while we were offsite, during a strong storm. Security rescued it for us. Front desk was helpful & friendly. Keep up the good work Sandusky KOA!!! :)
May 31, 2016
We loved the campground!!! Our cabin was beautiful, friendly and helpful employees, clean, pool and jump pillow was amazing...we will be back a few more times this year. Wish we could stay all summer 😉
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
I felt very comfortable and was not rushed out of my site which made my trip home more relaxing
May 31, 2016
Thank you KOA Staff. I love the campground in Sandusky. I wish I could have stayed longer! It was a perfect weekend even with the rain we had.
May 31, 2016
Fun and Friendly staff! We had a blast in the pool and hanging around the camp site... Clean shower rooms with plenty of hot water and pressure. We will be back
May 31, 2016
Another great stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location for Cedar Point.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
Didn't get to do much because we got in to late, but we will be back to enjoy the campgrounds!
May 31, 2016
Very small sites and pool. Woman running kids crafts did not adapt well to circumstances or participants

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our activities have always been awasome,we had a ton of stuff to do from crafts, pudding eating contest,jalapeno eating contest, chocolate slip & slide, family movie night, tie dye and more.I heard from a lot of camping guest they had a blast and loved everything. Sorry you had a bad experience GM
May 31, 2016
I was extremely frustrated with the loud/obnoxious bikers riding through the park until very late ~12-1am. There were also very sketchy people staying in a "van" with no tent that was very creepy to even walk by. I've stayed here many times and it seems this location gets more and more "trashy" every time I come. I would like to come back without the "trailer park" atmosphere

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It's Ohio bike week?? We have it posted on our web page that its loud and we have biker traffic. As for the creepy Van, some people are passing through just looking for a spot and there vehicle is there tent, sorry you felt creeped out. Sorry your stay was ruined do to the bikers and creepy guest GM
May 31, 2016
I found the lack of campground patrol during the night negligent as the camp site next to ours stayed up till 4:00 am and were very loud. The next night they were better on volume but stayed up all night. The park seemed not ready for the Memorial weekend, staff was in training, my parking space had a pile of crushed limestone on one side that proved to be a stumbling item for the two days.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have over 400 sites-On your site map and located on the interior of your lodging has the after hours security number posted. A simple call could of helped put a location on a loud site.Rocks were 2 sites down on our maintenance mans site not on the road and out of the way how was it stumbling GM
May 30, 2016
Great campground. Lots of things to do for kids and for adults. I do wish that the campground would enforce the rules that they have posted.
May 30, 2016
It was overall ok. The bathrooms were really clean. The price of wood was way overpriced. The sites were very close together. The staff was nice however I never received a confirmation email prior to my stay.on the plus side they did allow a one nite stay on a holiday weekend. Will probably stay there again because of the activities for the kids.
May 30, 2016
Campsites are way too close together and Campsites are way too small and really can't enjoy a fire because sites are too small and the locations of the fire pit's are too close to campers. Really need to reconsider whether you want more campsites to make more money and loose customers or take out some Campsites and give campers more room to enjoy their stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our pull thru section you are in do have plenty of room, The fire pits are located a good distance from your concert pad, not every camper has big slide outs, so we do have more spaced out sites, but being a holiday we are packed. Try one of our more spaced out sites next time. Sorry GM
May 29, 2016
You guys were awesome hosts. Definitely my kind of people. One huge improvement would ve better showers though (pressure, height and marked hot or cold. Front desk girls were awesome too.
May 27, 2016
Cabin was nice/comfortable & location is great - close to cedar point. Would definitely stay there again.
May 27, 2016
I always enjoy my stay, grandkids did also, see you soon!
May 26, 2016
The freight trains every 20 minutes kept us awake the entire night. No privacy or trees.
May 26, 2016
Great stay. Everything was well maintained and very close to the park. Look forward to our next trip.
May 26, 2016
We had a wonderful stay. Also we were on motorcycles and your staff was great n helping us get anything we needed to r site.
May 26, 2016
Train is very loud, nice and friendly staff
May 26, 2016
This KOA is as good as any other and has a great view. Major con is the major freight train line running right next to it. Huge freight train ran by about once per hour all night. It woke me up every time. Otherwise great campsite with a Great Lake view.
May 25, 2016
Great time, quiet and comfortable. We will be coming again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals