Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2016
Train too close by. Made our big rig vibrate. Park crowded with cabins that didn't look clean. Felt the whole park was too crowded and not as clean as I've seen in other places.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Great campground. They can't control the train that comes through all night, though.
Jul 07, 2016
Bathrooms were not cleaned until the the busy weekend was over. The 11:00 quiet time was not enforced. People were screaming until 2 am and nothing was done. I would not recommend for a holiday weekend.
Jul 07, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Say was great we always have fun there, only thing we were upset about was there was not temporary parking kids were swimming and it was time to check out and was told we had to go.
Jul 07, 2016
For the most part, very pleased with our stay. Would have been nice to get a list of daily activities for the kids. Neighbors are curtious and dogs very well behaved. Will do again but make a two night stay.
Jul 07, 2016
My family stayed at this KOA while we spent time at Cedar Point. The park was lovely. A lot of fun activities, and very friendly staff. We would stay at this KOA again for sure.
Jul 07, 2016
Overcrowded, underkept. Bathroom was infested with mayflies and was never cleaned of them during my stay. Very large groups near me trashed their camps, and madeconstant noise after quiet hours and no staff presence on the grounds whatsoever. A real disappointment.
Jul 06, 2016
We enjoyed ourselves, just didn't appreciate the fact that the morning we were checking out, a huge semi truck with dumpsters came through the roads at 0700 which is before noise ordinance and wakeup us all up to drop off dumpsters that were needed the July 4th weekend when everyone was there, because the trash cans we overflowing, the speed bumps made the dumpster lids lift and made a loud noise.
Jul 06, 2016
lots to do for all the family. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful
Jul 06, 2016
Nice area. Tons to do in the camp ground. Conveniently close to everything. Drive slow in campground!
Jul 06, 2016
The beds were a bit to be desired but everything else was clean, supplied, taken care of and great. Plenty of activities and a good central location. Friendly staff and would recommend to anyone
Jul 06, 2016
Always a great place, just minutes away from cedar point and the water. Staff is friendly and accommodating.
Jul 06, 2016
Everything was great with our stay. The only problem we had was July 3rd when a bunch of drunk people were yelling and screaming and when the campsite next to ours decided to come in and set up around midnight.
Jul 06, 2016
We liked it. Bathrooms on cabin side could use better looked after. Your web sight was miss leading. No snack shack pool wasn't open. But enjoyed the stay
Jul 06, 2016
Great place! Clean bathrooms, big campsites, great staff. Super close to cedar point and offers alot to do.
Jul 06, 2016
Need better security loud parties after quiet time and a guy got punched trying to tell them to keep it down on Sunday night
Jul 06, 2016
It was nice, however old..The restrooms were really outdated but we did love our cabin..
Jul 06, 2016
We had a great stay, wish we could have had time to explore the camp ground more!
Jul 06, 2016
Dirty diaper in the men's shower and pee on the floor in the bathroom, wasn't cleaned up in 24 hrs. No enforcement of quiet hours. Will not be back!!
Jul 06, 2016
My stay at the KOA in Sandusky was great as usual. The best part is the courteous staff that attends to campers every needs. See you soon!
Jul 06, 2016
Great campground to stay in while visiting cedar point! Customer service was great! Clean bathroom facilities and showers. Thumbs up for Sandusky KOA!
Jul 06, 2016
The quiet hours are not adhered to. Too many intoxicated people yelling at all hours of the night .
Jul 06, 2016
They had no outside kitchen for campers in a camping that are no the deluxe. The entrance was way to crowed coming in and out . no real good activity for the kids being the 4th of July,Poor cleaning of the bath house . Over all it was not bad the workers was all nice and they did good job at keeping the rules on quite times and so on.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have 2 outside kitchens for campers located on 2 of our bath houses. On the 4th we had a chocolate slip and slide, pudding eating contest, jalapeno eating contest, Tie Dye, and themed activities for the weekend?Ice cream social, family movie night?Sorry you missed out on all the activities.GM
Jul 06, 2016
This campground needs some clean-up and the bathrooms need up dating. Lots of bugs on the walls and outside the walls of the bathrooms. The pool looked dirty and the children's playground was disgusting. They charged more than any of the KOAs we stayed at and it was the dirtiest. Just being honest.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you feel this way about our campground. Our bathrooms are updated and are kept very clean. We have tons of muffle heads and Mayflies during a 3 week period that we can not avoid. Its nature but we try and deal with that as best as we could. AG
Jul 06, 2016
The amount of activities was great. The fact that the quite time at night was not enforced, it was very hard to sleep. When you have kids and your neighbors are drinking and very loud, playing music with words that are inappropriate, it was not good!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately we get crazy busy on the 4th of July and with fireworks and crazy campers it gets hard to find them all. We do have our security after hours number located on our site map that was given at check in. Sorry for your bad experience. GM
Jul 06, 2016
My wife and I stayed at this KOA for 3 nights along with our 2 teenage daughters and their 2 friends while we were going to Cedar Point. It is by far the most expensive campground that I have ever stayed at for the amenities provided. We booked a premium site only to find when we got there that it did not include a sewer hook up. For the money I'll stay at Cedar Point campground next time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Since you made your reservation online we have 2 types of deluxe sites listed...deluxe full hookup pull thru and deluxe w/e pull through. Both come with water, 50/30 amp, cable and fit up to 70ft. sorry you had a bad stay GM
Jul 05, 2016
We had a great time.The staff was friendly, the store was convenient.The pool was awesome and the baths were clean.We will be back next year
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly employees. Clean showers.
Jul 05, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA. We stayed over 4th of July weekend so it was busy. Staff did a great job keeping the park and restrooms clean. Ms. T in the craft station was extremely friendly and so patient with all the children.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
cabins were nice. disappointed new 2nd pool wasn't done.Also my 9 year old could never play basketball too many bigger kids always there. Drunks adults caused issues on 2 separate occasions. stayed here many times that was a first that police had to come out
Jul 05, 2016
The staff was great throughout our stay. The campground and buildings were clean and well taken care of. The amenities are great, the location is great, but the sites are way too small.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The hole family enjoyed it
Jul 05, 2016
We will definitely camp here again, clean and lots of fun
Jul 05, 2016
I ask for a table 2 times and did not get one you know how hard it to get food ready and eat with out a table very disappointed
Jul 05, 2016
Never a problem. This is my favorite campground. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
A cute campground. Loved the Ice Cream Social. All of the staff was very friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
We understand everybody experiences camping in different ways. Our experience was that we had very little room to enjoy outdoor camping. The staff was friendly and check in was smooth. If you have a camper and plan on spending most of your time at Cedar Point, then this is the place for you. Don't expect quiet and serene. There is a train that runs really close to the campground and is loud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have bigger sites but they may have been booked or no availability. Sorry about the train, we really have no control over it. GM
Jul 05, 2016
Overpriced. Sites on top of each other. One small pool. That was very full and looked like it needed to be shocked with chlorine. Other one under construction . Wouldn't stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have bigger sites but unfortunately they were booked. We do shock our pool and treat it on a regular, we just get so many people in the pool since its so hot out. GM
Jul 05, 2016
We feel that it would be a better campground if you had all your permanent campers in one area, where our lot was was they where nice accept their kids where running around with no adults and the kids where under 5 yrs of age.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have 2 seasonal sections, but we also have different sites located around our campsite that would accommodate your stay next time if you would like more space and a better site. These may have been booked since we are very busy. GM
Jul 05, 2016
Quiet hours not enforced, bathrooms were filthy with dirty band aids on the ground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a lot of campers during the holiday weekend, sorry for your bad experience with us. We do clean the bathrooms 3 times a day but with having so many people the bathrooms may get dirty in between cleaning. GM
Jul 05, 2016
The activities/facilities were great. Sites were ok (our fire ring in neighboring site), security was horrible - called because some campers smoking pot, security came out and told them he smoked too, "just don't let others see it". 11pm curfew not enforced - July 3rd some were drunk and very loud, no security to stop it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience. Being July 4th weekend we are packed with all types of campers; sorry you had a few campers around you not following the rules. GM
Jul 04, 2016
Great time and staff was helpful. Trains passed by almost every 1/2 hour in the wee hours but all in all wad a great time.
Jul 04, 2016
We loved the cabin - was perfect for our needs. Would be nice if the bathroom were cleaned a little more often.
Jul 04, 2016
I didn't think the rustic cabin came w electricity and air, was perfect, and will defiantly share my experience w rest of campy family. Thanks
Jul 04, 2016
It was ok. Deluxe patio was great, but for $80 a night I expected a little more privacy. It was over crowded and sites are packed in like sardines. We've paid much less for beachfront sites that had a lot more room and privacy. It is way over priced. Price might reflect cedar point being right down the road, but still very over priced. Lots of kid activities, but had to pay for some crafts too.
Jul 04, 2016
Great stay! We pulled up to a very small campsite that was right on top of three others. We asked to move to a bigger site and they happily moved us. The second pool wasn't open yet, but I think it would be a great opportunity for an adults only pool as there were tons of kids in the only pool available. Will stay again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals