Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Loved the stay just wish there was more shade or ways to rent canopies while visiting
Aug 13, 2014
The staff was awesome and extremely accommodating, the site was clean and well taken care of, and the location was exactly what were looking for. It was a really amazing vacation!
Aug 13, 2014
The train made it difficult to sleep - along with the late night arrivals. Even though there is a quiet time after 11 pm nothing was done about rowdy guests up until extremely late hours (4am) and profane language - even when night security was told!
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
We've stayed 3 difference times at Bayshore KOA, and we will go back.. It's a great campground, with plenty to do..pool, playground and plenty of adult activities. Tucked away on the bay, feels like you really are getting away but there's plenty of things outside of campground being it's located right in Sandusky!! We camp on primitive camp sites, but may be upgrading in future to a camper. Enjoy
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Our stay was great, clean cabin and staff was friendly all the time, the place is close to all attractions and not expensive at all. I really recomend it to anyone. We will be back here next year.
Aug 13, 2014
Love the large grassy areas. Makes for a pleasant evening to cool down after a hard day's sightseeing.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
We asked for a shaded site but the site we were given did have a single tree near it. They did move us to another site. When it rained the site flooded with ankle high water. There were no paper towels in the bathrooms. The sites were to small.
Aug 12, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites way to close together and allowing 8 people per sites adds to overcrowding. Should not allow tents plus motorhome on single site. Opening fishing pond at 10am & closing at 5pm is dumb. Should be open all the time. Fish bite dawn & dusk. Not enough lighting in bathrooms need light by sink for shaving.
Aug 12, 2014
Facilities were more like a single wide not the cute wooden Kabins at other KOA's. Aside from that, cleanliness is not a priority at this KOA. There were hairs and dirt along the edges of the floors in the bathroom and bedroom along with a used sucker stick in the window sill. With all the dust/dirt in the window sill it's not hard to believe the sucker stick was missed.
Aug 12, 2014
I had a very nice stay
Aug 12, 2014
Staff is polite and responsive. All facilities are very clean. There were some noisy campers one night of our stay past quiet time. The next night KOA staff was patrolling and on top of things. Kids loved the crafts, pool, and bouncing pillow. One thing I would love to see though, better maintenance on bikes. Many were broken and ones that were not had low tire pressure, loose chains, and so on.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
We already are planning our trip back to Sandusky KOA for next year! But we are staying a week next time! We had no idea just how many activities were right at the campground. We are so glad we found you!
Aug 12, 2014
clean, great service, and fun place for kids
Aug 12, 2014
Bathrooms were clean, so was the pool. Shuffleboard, basketball, air pillow were all great. I like the bike rental and the tv room was nice when it rained. Probably need to finish upgrading the picnic tables, ours was pretty wobbally
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Way too congested...view of billboards and the sounds of a train every 20 minutes! There wasn't any bedding for the futon...only the 2 beds. the AC didn't cool the 2nd bedroom all. It couldn't have been cleaned...there were left over shoes under the bed. The KOA train hardly ran at all on Saturday. the fishing pond was locked at 8AM when we wanted to fish. Very disappointing.
Aug 11, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at this camp ground. The staff was great to us. We checked in as a thunderstorm was hitting the area. The staff noticed we were tenting and gave us an upgrade to a cabin. That event alone has made us want to return and will in the future.
Aug 11, 2014
When I returned the key on Sun Aug 10, I spoke w/Patty the manager. The accomodations were the same as a month ago, but this unit needed the floor cleaned, not just swept. I expressed to Patty & she said she'd take care of it. The coffee pot was not working & when my husband reported this, a new coffee pot was brought to the unit within a few hours. Good & friendly service.
Aug 11, 2014
The grounds are nicely kept with blooming flowers at each unit. However, the bedroom carpets with stained and filthy and furniture was inadequate. We were in the 3 bedroom model and there was no kitchen table & chairs, only 3 stools at a tiny counter! There were no outdoor chairs on the deck and no grill. $128 a night was too much to pay for this unit!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
The staff was friendly and campground very clean. Lots of things for kids to do.
Aug 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the new cabin and it was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are already making plans for next year.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I expected Sandusky/Bayshore Deluxe Cabins to be same everywhere. They weren't even close to others I've stayed at. Cabin was clean, but too small, TV from 1978, and the fridge was so over frosted I couldn't fit anything in the Freezer and the Fridge wouldn't keep our food/drinks cold. The bunkbeds were made bigger so hardly room between the beds. Way outdated/too small for the $$.
Aug 11, 2014
Good atmosphere, great stay.
Aug 11, 2014
Everyone was friendly and the bathrooms were clean. We stayed with Bill and Martha Purcell. Great time.
Aug 11, 2014
Campground and restrooms were very clean. Had a great stay.
Aug 10, 2014
We arrived late and they stayed up and waited for us! So kind!
Aug 10, 2014
My grandkids like the campground as much as cedarpoint:) owners and workers are my favorite
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Wish they enforced quite time better. Wanted to sleep at 1 am and people a few sites down had music playing. Other than that place is nice and we'll kept. Very close to cedar point!
Aug 09, 2014
Our 4 day stay was fantastic, washrooms clean , pool and playground area was clean and safe. We stayed for the convenience to Cedar Point and was not disappointed. Would definately would stay again.
Aug 09, 2014
Comfy cabin and well kept campground!!!
Aug 08, 2014
The employees were super friendly. We stayed in 3 park models. They were all very clean as well as the campground itself. KOA is located very close to attractions & shopping. The only complaint that I have is the refrigerator was either thawing out or freezing items. We couldn't get it set on a happy medium. I would stay there again, if I go back to the area
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
The camp ground was very peacefull even though it was quite full. Clean facilities and lots for kids to do.
Aug 08, 2014
The staff was very friendly. Lots of fun for kids of all age groups. Sites were super clean. Loved pull thru sites with full hook up with 50 amps. I would definitely stay again!
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
the bedrooms where not what we expected - we had older adults who could not sleep in a high le vel bed , and futon was broken. that is things that should be addressed before people arrive.
Aug 07, 2014
Nice place. Needs updated in the rv model homes. Housekeeping could be a bit better. Dead bugs on sill, Neosporin tube under bed. The model we were in could use some work in the bathroom. Train did not bother us as kids loved to watch them.
Aug 07, 2014
train would go by every 15 to 20 min. kept us up all night. that was the only problem we had with this koa.
Aug 07, 2014
pros- close to cedar point cabins are clean nice pool cons- beware of loud trains uncomfortable beds

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.