Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2014
Bathrooms were clean, so was the pool. Shuffleboard, basketball, air pillow were all great. I like the bike rental and the tv room was nice when it rained. Probably need to finish upgrading the picnic tables, ours was pretty wobbally
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Way too congested...view of billboards and the sounds of a train every 20 minutes! There wasn't any bedding for the futon...only the 2 beds. the AC didn't cool the 2nd bedroom all. It couldn't have been cleaned...there were left over shoes under the bed. The KOA train hardly ran at all on Saturday. the fishing pond was locked at 8AM when we wanted to fish. Very disappointing.
Aug 11, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at this camp ground. The staff was great to us. We checked in as a thunderstorm was hitting the area. The staff noticed we were tenting and gave us an upgrade to a cabin. That event alone has made us want to return and will in the future.
Aug 11, 2014
When I returned the key on Sun Aug 10, I spoke w/Patty the manager. The accomodations were the same as a month ago, but this unit needed the floor cleaned, not just swept. I expressed to Patty & she said she'd take care of it. The coffee pot was not working & when my husband reported this, a new coffee pot was brought to the unit within a few hours. Good & friendly service.
Aug 11, 2014
The grounds are nicely kept with blooming flowers at each unit. However, the bedroom carpets with stained and filthy and furniture was inadequate. We were in the 3 bedroom model and there was no kitchen table & chairs, only 3 stools at a tiny counter! There were no outdoor chairs on the deck and no grill. $128 a night was too much to pay for this unit!
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
The staff was friendly and campground very clean. Lots of things for kids to do.
Aug 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the new cabin and it was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We are already making plans for next year.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
I expected Sandusky/Bayshore Deluxe Cabins to be same everywhere. They weren't even close to others I've stayed at. Cabin was clean, but too small, TV from 1978, and the fridge was so over frosted I couldn't fit anything in the Freezer and the Fridge wouldn't keep our food/drinks cold. The bunkbeds were made bigger so hardly room between the beds. Way outdated/too small for the $$.
Aug 11, 2014
Good atmosphere, great stay.
Aug 11, 2014
Everyone was friendly and the bathrooms were clean. We stayed with Bill and Martha Purcell. Great time.
Aug 11, 2014
Campground and restrooms were very clean. Had a great stay.
Aug 10, 2014
We arrived late and they stayed up and waited for us! So kind!
Aug 10, 2014
My grandkids like the campground as much as cedarpoint:) owners and workers are my favorite
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Wish they enforced quite time better. Wanted to sleep at 1 am and people a few sites down had music playing. Other than that place is nice and we'll kept. Very close to cedar point!
Aug 09, 2014
Our 4 day stay was fantastic, washrooms clean , pool and playground area was clean and safe. We stayed for the convenience to Cedar Point and was not disappointed. Would definately would stay again.
Aug 09, 2014
Comfy cabin and well kept campground!!!
Aug 08, 2014
The employees were super friendly. We stayed in 3 park models. They were all very clean as well as the campground itself. KOA is located very close to attractions & shopping. The only complaint that I have is the refrigerator was either thawing out or freezing items. We couldn't get it set on a happy medium. I would stay there again, if I go back to the area
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
The camp ground was very peacefull even though it was quite full. Clean facilities and lots for kids to do.
Aug 08, 2014
The staff was very friendly. Lots of fun for kids of all age groups. Sites were super clean. Loved pull thru sites with full hook up with 50 amps. I would definitely stay again!
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
the bedrooms where not what we expected - we had older adults who could not sleep in a high le vel bed , and futon was broken. that is things that should be addressed before people arrive.
Aug 07, 2014
Nice place. Needs updated in the rv model homes. Housekeeping could be a bit better. Dead bugs on sill, Neosporin tube under bed. The model we were in could use some work in the bathroom. Train did not bother us as kids loved to watch them.
Aug 07, 2014
train would go by every 15 to 20 min. kept us up all night. that was the only problem we had with this koa.
Aug 07, 2014
pros- close to cedar point cabins are clean nice pool cons- beware of loud trains uncomfortable beds
Aug 06, 2014
We will always turn our Cedar Point getaway into a camping trip as well. Both summers have been amazing! Great way to wrap up summer vacation...camping AND Cedar Point!
Aug 06, 2014
For the price it was a great experience and a lot of things for the kids but the downgrade was the train coming every 20 minutes at night, we barely sleep on the 4 nights we stay at this Camp.
Aug 06, 2014
Awful; the cabin was over priced and filthy. The front counter people were rude and an employee was highly confrontational on his first attempt at discussing our radio being to loud at 11:02 p.m. while having fun by the fire. We had our travel softball team gathered in annual dance off when we were confronted by an employee "shut it off or speak with Sandusky's finest." Seriously the police!
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The service was good. Checked in easily and everybody was plenty helpful. The rating comes from two things however. First, the rules aren't enforced. Our neighbors were loud at 2:30AM as well as other nights people still playing basketball at 12AM despite quiet time starting at 11. The other is the trains. Not entirely the fault of KOA but nearly makes it impossible to get any sleep at all.
Aug 06, 2014
Great activities for the young family. Clean facilities. Perfect for train enthusiasts. Plant trees for more privacy.
Aug 06, 2014
Excellent service, well kept campground and accommodations. Thank you!
Aug 06, 2014
Thank you, very quiet spot, older facilities but very clean and lots of showers/bathrooms for the uumber of campers there.
Aug 05, 2014
Very busy train tracks very close to campground - horns every 30 min or so all night long each night of our stay. Mine and Jumping pillow not open when posted. No attendant at jumping pillow.
Aug 05, 2014
having a train go past every 20-30 minutes blowing its air horn makes for a VERY unpleasant night of sleep. I would not recommend staying anywhere near the train.
Aug 05, 2014
The campground offers plenty of activities, a snack shop serving food, and is a good value for the price paid.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Next to Ceder Point, what more needs to be said.
Aug 05, 2014
Everything was wonderful, my mother's only suggestion was to put a swing on the front porch. She loves to swing in the morning with her coffee. The cottage was lovely and the bed was very comfy.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Outside of cabin was dirty, dirt all up the side, dirt in the door wall tracks. Bathroom tub was dirty. Couch was wet and stunk like pee, had to have it switched.
Aug 05, 2014
Very nice bath houses, courteous staff nice campground. However the sites are a little tight together but overall very nice.
Aug 05, 2014
Always friendly staff, located close to the park. Fair prices and clean site.
Aug 05, 2014
My favorite KOA campground. This was our second trip there this year. Kids had a lot of fun. I highly recommend it. But yes there are train tracks near by but so is Cedar Point. I love the location.
Aug 04, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.