Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 12, 2015
The children had a great time; however, there were a few small concerns that I had. Maybe because it was the beginning of the season there were only 2 fishing rods available for rent, no bait on site and the store was poorly stocked. We also had to call someone to the park model because the gas was off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not officially open until Mothers Day Weekend that is the reason for our store to not be fully stocked. Same goes for our fishing pond and supplies. We still have tons going on and we are closed all winter and have to work through bad weather to get thing up and good. Thanks Management
May 12, 2015
Didn't like that I called in advanced and was told there was a microwave in my cabin and a grill neither was there was also told it family friendly but my husband went to the men's bathroom/shower there a naked women standing nude waitin for someone to finish up there was suppose to b a train it ran twice mining wasn't even running no workers for jumppillow to make sure older kids rnt bein rough

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our Rustic cabins have no amenities....our records show you made your reservation online and booked the Rustic yourself...We have other cabins with micro but non of our lodging has grills.We can not control a grown person standing naked in a shower house if notified we could of helped resolve.
May 11, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay their we will be back! All empolyees were very helpful and friendly. I was was really surprised at the how big the fridge was we thought we would only have a mini fridge that was really nice now next time we can better plan for snacks and meals.
May 11, 2015
Love this park. Always stay there when visiting Cedar Point. Cabins are the perfect size to rest between days.
May 11, 2015
This is our third summer staying with this KOA campground. Last year and this year I have the same complaint. The people at the front desk gave out where I was staying to my sister, yes I know my sister but how did the person know that I wanted anyone to know where I was? I don't think that's right they gave out where I was staying plus there was a truck in spot told counter lady and got no where.
May 11, 2015
We always have a very good experience at this particular campground, and if we ever have an issue they are "johnny on the spot" to fix it!
May 11, 2015
We stayed in a park model using a promotional price. New mattresses are needed but otherwise it was a good deal, if we had to pay full price for both nights the state of the mattress would have made this rating closer to poor. We have stayed here before in tents and other than bike week we have always enjoyed out stays. Bike week should be avoided at all costs especially if you have children.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello Bate's family. My name is Alex Gooding and I am the Manager of the campground.I understand your complaint and we are currently resolving and updating our park models. Most of them have been updated but replacing all at one time gets costly. Thanks and I am working hard to make your stay better
May 11, 2015
When we arrived the AC wasn't working, and we were instantly blamed for turning it down to low, which we had not done, it turned out a breaker hadn't been flipped. No towels in the unit when there had been in the past. Like the upgraded TV.
May 11, 2015
Our campsite was in an area where construction was going on, while the other side had plenty open spots. I also found the bathrooms to be poorly maintained. The most frustrating part was these leaves that fell on and around our camper stained not only our floors, but also the exterior of camper.
May 11, 2015
We have been going to the KOA for bout 7 years now. We have a big family and rent 2 3bdrm cabins each time 6 times a years. We love it and wouldnt stay anywhere else. Thank you KOA for making our stays enjoyable. We also love the improvements you have done for 2015.
May 11, 2015
Love this KOA! We stay here every time we visit Sandusky!!
May 11, 2015
Thanks So Much See You Again Soon
May 11, 2015
I really like this campground and I've been here several times. The staff is always helpful.The activity conductor was also very good with the kids.
May 11, 2015
We had a great time! The only thing I would recommend is putting a grill spot by the park models. We will definitely be back!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
very clean and staff was great will be back again for sure
May 11, 2015
It was great all except the 1st night another campsite must have been partying cause they were loud and woke all 3 kids up at 3 am and they couldn't get back to sleep :(
May 11, 2015
woke up to human waste coming out of the toilet and half filled in bath tub.tried to rent bikes but only one had a tire with air that wasn't leaking out. The cable did not work in our cabin. Bounce pillow was not on, on Saturday. So there was really nothing for the kids to do.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had city sewer problems that could not be controlled by us, but we did the best we could do by sending cleaning crews to clean.Our bikes were in storage all winter and unfortunately the needed to be maintained. Jump pillow is open Fri night 5 to 9 and Sat 9 to 12 and 5 to 9.
May 10, 2015
May 08, 2015
May 07, 2015
with 80% of the park not occupied, why would you put someone 20 feet from the garbage dumpsters? garbage dumpsters facing my site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello, I am Alex the manager of the campground.Site 57 is a highly reserved site, we have new employees in training since we just opened.The dumpsters are not on your site but located on our turn.Since we were so open if you would of notified us of your dislike for the site we could of moved you.
May 06, 2015
May 06, 2015
Friendly staff, clean accomodations. Had a great time.
May 04, 2015
We stayed in a cabin... It was so clean.. Bedding was fresh. We are planning our 4th of July trip and want to stay here again.
Dec 11, 2014
The owners were friendly and helpful.
Nov 11, 2014
We had a great time while camping at your KOA Kampgroung. Full hook-ups is a great plus, the bathrooms and shower houses was very clean and there was plenty of hot water. I really like the concret patio with the nice fireplace and picnic table. I thought the rates were great also. I can honestly say that I will more than likely be camping at KOA Kampgrounds again. Thanks for a great time !!!!
Nov 09, 2014
Hope WI FI will work better next year. Looking for adult swim, exercise.Train running more often in fall time. Thank you
Nov 03, 2014
Clean place, great location and nice helpful people. Will stay again!
Nov 03, 2014
It was a great stay. I wish we had discovered you a long time ago, We will definitely be back. The best part is that you let us check in late and that everyone that we talked to was extremely helpful and friendly.
Nov 03, 2014
Very comfortable in the park model, especially for a breezy, cold Halloweekend at Cedar Point. Nice to come back to our snacks, full kitchen, bathroom all with our own thermostat.
Nov 03, 2014
Always a great time here!!
Nov 03, 2014
It was very peaceful.
Oct 31, 2014
We stayed here for a week in late October with our 5 dogs. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The showers were very nice and clean.
Oct 31, 2014
Itwaswonderful.yourstaffwasexcellent.
Oct 30, 2014
Freight trains, blowing horns, every 15 minutes, ALL day long. Barely ten feet between rigs at the full hook-ups. Neighbor parked his car over our fire ring. Neighbors on both sides, checking in at 12:30 am and 2:30 am, different nights, talking the entire time. No sleep. Amenities for kids, okay. Restrooms/showers aging but relatively clean. Nice nature area, but hunters there on Monday.
Oct 29, 2014
nice clean campground, we got one of the six person cabins, we have two concerns, beds were like sleeping on concrete, and there needs to be more to set on in the living room area than the futon which is very uncomfortable, may be okay for the young but not so for the elderly. we have stayed at this campground for many years when we go to lake erie / cedar point in Sandusky,cabins never this bad.
Oct 29, 2014
Lots of activities for the kids
Oct 28, 2014
We love this campground, and the new deluxe cabins are fabulous!
Oct 28, 2014
The lots were way to close to each other.
Oct 28, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
We were off-site all day Saturday but there wasn't any activities planned Thursday or Friday for little ones and/or adults like other KOA establishments. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The office staff were friendly.
Oct 27, 2014
Well first off let me start by saying the park model that we stayed in was dirty. There is a burn mark on the counter the door had one screen missing , the closet door in the bedroom next to the bathroom was off and it smells really strong come to find out that they bimbed right before we got there for what idk and the futon was disgusting I have never had any issues with any koa but this one.
Oct 27, 2014
Only problem with the full hookup site is that the sewage hookup is too far from the trailer. 40 foot of hose stretched to capacity was just enough if we held it in position. Other than that very pleasant people who looked after us very well.
Oct 27, 2014
Overall nice. Clean!. Laundry, showers and bathrooms were spotless! Cant do much about the trains. Glad I was as far from the tracks as possible. I swear I counted 8 trains in one hour. Owners cant do much about that,
Oct 27, 2014
The entire experience with KOA was super. From the initial phone call to the checking out, I couldn't be more satisfied with our stay. We wil definately be back!
Oct 27, 2014
Even this late in the season, this was a SUPER clean campground. And very nice employees.
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Great place but a little noisy after quiet time. The rustic cabin was nice but no heat even though website states heat and air in all cabins. Overall was a nice stay. Will return.
Oct 27, 2014
Friendly, fun staff and the cabin was great! Much better than all the motels in the area!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.