Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. It is kept clean and nice. Thanks for the great stay.
Aug 28, 2014
It was not our favourite KOA. However, it is very close to Cedar Point, which is awesome.
Aug 28, 2014
It was nice stayed for 2n in a Cabin. It was not cheap! The bed was unbearable, falling apart. I was advised my cabin was the only one they did not get to when refurbishing.. you could tell and I paid the same as everyone else. Jane
Aug 27, 2014
I was a little worried after reading reviews and talking to friends that said the activities often weren't open, but our stay went great. Gem mining wasn't running but all we had to do was ask at the store and they started it right up. You could hear the train but it didn't wake us up in a camper. The staff was friendly. The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 was the small site size.
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Site was dirty on arrival, full of garbage in the firepit. There are plenty of activities for the kids and what not, but the hourly train through the night makes for a loud stay. Pretty sure there were no silent hours enforcement here as I heard people playing on the playground and basketball court all night long. That being said the bathrooms were clean for the amount of people staying.
Aug 26, 2014
The security staff was more interested in making friends with the 6 women who were drunk, loud, and vulgar than to ask them to respect others. You could feel every spring in the bed in the deluxe park model. The unit appeared clean but their were many, many, many spider webs inside the unit. The important part was that the kids had fun at Cedar Point.
Aug 26, 2014
We have stayed at many KOA's now & this one just did not compare. Everything is fenced/gated which takes away from the great outdoors experience. The "cabin" was noting more then an old trailer. They have a lot to offer, but just not the same.
Aug 26, 2014
Easy to find, helpful, friendly, great sites, easy pull-throughs! I would stay there again without hesitation.
Aug 26, 2014
Friendly staff and decent amenities in the park model. Wasn't aware of their no firearms policy until I read the check-in literature the first night. Shouldn't have to give up my right to self defense where I sleep. I don't believe property security exists, never seen them in 3 days! Manager saw I was armed and didn't ask me to leave. Clarification needed. Won't stay again if policy is enforced!
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Your KOA was a great place to stay. Staff was nice, our site was awesome. The only thing that I would suggest is to spray for the mosquitos. They were terrible. The Bluegrass Festival was very enjoyable and we want to thank Doug Struder and his people for doing such a good job. Sure wish they would of had the contest for guitars though. Thanks, and we will definetly see you next year.
Aug 25, 2014
Although the management was very kind, the location and noise outweighed any kindness that could ever exist! I took my family camping for a peaceful relaxing week, ending up with a week was neither. The sounds of hundreds of the loudest trains I have ever heard...constantly! During the night it was impossible not to think a train derailed into our cabin. The location is terrible!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
This KOA is the cleanest campground I have ever seen. Bathrooms are spotless. I will return.
Aug 25, 2014
it was a great stay, but there was a god awful smell and we thought our camper was on fire but come to find out there is a quarry down the road. other than that I love the camp ground.
Aug 25, 2014
I love camping here. Everyone is very friendly and there is fun things to do. My only complaint would be that all though the 2 women were great and keeping up I felt like they should of had some help. Doing activities,train,cooking and whatever else they had to do from morning until night seemed like alot to keep up with. Prob just due to school starting maybe. We will be back again next year!
Aug 25, 2014
Campsites were a little tight, but were well maintained.The gate attendant was polite and the employees at the office were as well. Nice time, we will be back.
Aug 25, 2014
I loved staying there but this cabin had more issues than the last one. But I would stay here again.
Aug 25, 2014
Besides the train at night. We had an excellent time during our stay. We will definitely stay again!
Aug 25, 2014
Site was decent. Bathroom could have been cleaner. It was out of paper towels 2x during our stay.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Except for the loud camaraderie of the campers next to us on both nights at 3am, it was pretty good. Facilities were clean. Staff were nice.
Aug 25, 2014
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a ton of activities for the kids. The store was very clean and so was the pool area. The area out back by the Bay was disappointing. There is a lot of trash and old mattresses. I also wish the sites were bigger. When we opened our slideout it would almost touch someone sitting on the picnic table at the next site.
Aug 25, 2014
Enjoyed our stay however the water and sewer hookups were too close together, and the campsites were too close as well. The bathrooms need updating. The other activities, concessions, and office/registration were very nice, and the camp staff were all friendly
Aug 25, 2014
we are not happy with our stay at your campground. your manager assulted my 12 year old autistic son and he had to be taken by ambulance to the emergency room. we were there for 2 hours at the er and at the campground only 3 hours prier to assult. police had to be called and statements were taken from us and witnesses to the assult by the police.
Aug 25, 2014
sites where really close together and pool had a lot of chemicals in it. park was nice and clean and the staff where pleasant
Aug 25, 2014
As always this is a great campground to stay at. Very clean and will maintained. Will be back for sure!
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
Needed a place to stay close to cedar point. Worked out great. Camper pull though is nice, but spots are very close together. Should consider expanding RV area into tent area.
Aug 24, 2014
Great pool and activities for the kids :)
Aug 24, 2014
We had a great time! The campground was clean and well kept and the staff was very nice and helpful! Will be visiting again!
Aug 24, 2014
was nothing like we were told over the phone. its downtown middle of a trailer park and apartments. smells horiable! trains every 15 minutes! and they were not friendly at all! will never go back!
Aug 23, 2014
Clean Campground. Site was small. The camp store was very limited. Otherwise close to attractions.
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 23, 2014
It was quite and relaxing. I loved the cabin we stayed in!
Aug 23, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
My boyfriend and I along with another couple came for the weekend everything was just the way we planned even something like fire wood we forgot but KOA had some we could buy gotta love fires :) we had a blast at camp site and cedar point being so close will come back soon!
Aug 22, 2014
Reasonably priced. Well-manicured tent-sites. 5-minute drive to Cedar Point Park. Slept poorly due to very active railroad 1/2 mile from Kampground. Not good for tenters.
Aug 21, 2014
Camp site was very level and clean very friendly courteous staff
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 20, 2014
wonderful clean campground. All of the staff went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend Sandusky/Bayshore to everyone. What a wonderful place to camp!
Aug 20, 2014
People and service is great, however, Needs wider paved/gravel sites with less mud . . . the cable TV connection was terrible . .
Aug 20, 2014
Great
Aug 20, 2014
No one lead us to site and I went myself and someone already taken my site and I had to walk to office and they gave me different site what I paid for. I asked for nice patio ended up moved to gravel. Not too happy about it I arrived and got so tired. Then they forgot to give me wifi password so I had to walk to office again. What is that??? I went other and they greeting and helps lead to sites.
Aug 20, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.