Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
I was extremely happy with our stay. The staff was very helpful and when the air conditioning went out in our cabin they did everything they could to make sure that we where as comfortable as possible. They even offered to upgrade us to a bigger place even though we only had a day and a half a left. My kids had an amazing time and I would definitely stay with then again.
Aug 03, 2015
Staff was very helpful. My kids loved the weekend activities.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The campground was nice, however the location is unfortunate. Being located right adjacent to train tracks, we heard at least two trains an hour nonstop. Hard to get any sleep, and hard to relax!
Aug 03, 2015
Stayed last fall for cedar point, came back Only due to location, however after this last stay we will NOT return EVER! Campsites way too small, closest bathrooms were FILTHY and FULL! Neighbors locked dog in camper and left the whole day therefore dog barked NONSTOP! The trains that run atleast every hour are just way too loud. Didn't sleep at all the entire weekend! We would NEVER recommend!
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
This was our first time at a koa and we loved it! This is a great place for families. The only bad thing was that we got an electrical site and both nights had rather loud talkative people around us. Next time we will opt for non-electrical where it seems quieter for those who want to get some sleep!
Aug 03, 2015
Old and run down. Wouldn't stay there again
Aug 03, 2015
Overcrowded, people were somewhat rude, extremly noisy not just the campers blasting their music from their sites, but a train runs by there every so often, so bring the ear plugs to sleep. Great place if you have kids, but not if you are looking to relax.
Aug 02, 2015
Not a bad KOA. Very quiet. Some things for kids to do, nice pool. Store was okay, not too stuff there. Good clean bathrooms and showers. Most of the staff was friendly.
Aug 02, 2015
Lots of activities. Great value. A Little more attention to cleaning especially the floor. Also, since we had 6 people on reservation and the cabin sleeps six, there should be enough silverware etc for 6 people.
Aug 02, 2015
Second stay at this fine KOA in a month, and already telling people about it. The price is right, and the staff is WONDERFUL.
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
The deluxe cabin right on the railroad tracks. Trains running all night. We were not provided enough sheets for 6 guest. Had to find 20 dollars in cash at 10:30 pm to pay for deposit on sheets. I even called ahead of time and was told all sheets will be provide.
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff. I would recommend this KOA to everyone in need of some hassle free relaxation
Aug 01, 2015
The sites are small and wide open. Good for a stop over but wouldn't stay for a camping trip as I would other KOAs.
Jul 31, 2015
the place was very clean and we really enjoyed ourselves. we will return there again. there is so much to do in that town.everyone there was very friendly.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
The bed in the unit I slept on was the worst bed I have ever slept on, there where sharp things in the mattress poking me and it was impossible to get any sleep.
Jul 31, 2015
Nice accomodations. Clean bath house. Cable wasn't working.
Jul 31, 2015
Nice place, friendly staff. Great RV mechanic on duty named Bob. Restrooms ok. Close to Cedar Point!
Jul 31, 2015
The people working the front desk/main office are extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back to stay for our next trip to Cedar Point.
Jul 31, 2015
very as usual.bathrooms were slightly less nice than koas typically have.nice bathrooms are how i keep my wife coming back.
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed from 7/24-7/28. The convenience to area attractions was fantastic. Bath houses were very clean throughout our stay and the campground itself was very well maintained. My only area of suggestion would be to have the store stocked better. We forget several items and were not able to purchase them at the store and we were told they were typically stocked, but sold out. I loved this place!
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
You have to impress upon the campers that it is extremely rude to walk thru someone else's campsite, it's been happening a lot lately
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed in a motor home so we never heard the train that was a big complaint of others. Campground was very clean. Sites seemed to be a little close but evidently that might be the normal. Very close to Cedar Point. Would stay again.
Jul 30, 2015
It was a really busy week-end, I thought the the bathrooms should have been cleaned at least twice/day and stocked. Otherwise the bathroom facilities were pretty clean. Our reservation was messed up, but the manager was accommodating. Other than that, trip was great!!!
Jul 30, 2015
Great..
Jul 30, 2015
we have stayed in the past and used the small cabins. This time we did the larger cottage. We were pleased only thing I can recommend is that the kitchen needs to be equiped for 6 ppl. Only 2 glasses not enough utensils.
Jul 30, 2015
Overcrowded, extremely noisy, motorcycle party with loud pipes late at night and very early in the morning, no cable service provided on my full hook up lot although it was advertised and some rude staff. Very disappointing
Jul 30, 2015
The campground was very clean and staff was very kind. Only big complaint I have was lack of shade my campsite did not have any shade all day.
Jul 30, 2015
KOA site says they have cable...they said they were dropped by the cable company, so why don't they tell KOA to change it. They have wifi but it doesn't connect and the lady told me if I bring my iPad down there she will try to get it to connect. Really at 10 pm you want me to drive to the office to see if YOU can get it to connect?? The wifi connections only last 3 mins. Pool was murky too. €
Jul 30, 2015
Cabin was fine but right next to a car dealership with a very bright light outside the window. Butane smell was noticeable from the back of the cabin.
Jul 30, 2015
Only 2 small pots.no frying pan. No sharp knife. no carpet was very dirty. Futon was very old and uncomfortable.pool was cloudy.
Jul 30, 2015
Very busy weekend. Still enjoyed staying at this campground. Only thing I wish is that you would offer some pet friendly rustic cabins since we bring our own linens anyways. Would be nice to be able to travel and stay with our Chihuahua.
Jul 30, 2015
Park appeared run down, but it was a decent option for a trip to cedar point. We didn't utilize the park options just the cabin.
Jul 29, 2015
Was in cabin M49. Only 1 fork & 2 spoons. No knives. Cute cabin but very small. Next time we'll get a larger cabin.
Jul 29, 2015
We had arrived after a significant rainfall. All the sites were flooded. We appreciated that gravel had been brought in and levelled so visitors had a place to put their units so they were out of the water. Staff were doing the best they could under the circumstances.
Jul 29, 2015
We've stayed at a lot of KOA's and we were not impressed with this one at all. The staff was NOT friendly at all. They seemed to be too busy talking to each other to help the customers. The grounds were well kept and it seemed like they were growing but I think they need to spend some extra time training their staff in customer service.
Jul 29, 2015
Chose this campground for the stocked fishing pond and according to the map , close access to the Sandusky bay. After we set up our tent we were excited to get to the bay, only to find that that part of the park had been rented out to a biker club and was closed to public. Then we decided to just stick with the stocked fishing pond which was so overrun with moss and weeds it was unfishable
Jul 29, 2015
Loved it except our site was directly underneath a light. Next time I will request a different spot. Definitely a good time!
Jul 28, 2015
The camping sites lacked shade and the Friday night crowd was loud and rowdy, especially with loud music.
Jul 28, 2015
Ok
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Well in a nutshell they screwed up our reservation we got what looked like a trailer instead of the new deluxe cabin we had reserved and having two teenagers one boy and one girl who can't sleep together two double beds wouldn't work especially since the unsleepable dirty futon was broken we had to spend money on an air mattress they gave us half the $ back after a fight it was the worst stay ever
Jul 28, 2015
Awesome place, very friendly staff.
Jul 28, 2015
sites are extremely small, in a line with no area for realxing unless you want to lean on your neighbirs camper. its camping at walmart parking lot w/ hookups basically.
Jul 28, 2015
we booked a cabin as a middle-of-the-road accommodation between camping & a hotel, since we were travelling on a dime. it was a great choice. a comfy queen size bed was all we needed, especially since we had our sleeping bags & pillows! the bed was comfy & it had all the space we needed for our 2 night stay. it was a perfect choice & we'll definitely be doing it again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.