Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
Train was super loud.
May 26, 2015
Loved it!! With only one small issue. There was one site across from us music loud and disturbing everybody has there own thing going but when you get one family that over does everyone else then it's a problem. Other then that everything was great staff helpful, cheerful we just loved it thanks Dave and Suzanna
May 26, 2015
We had a Great time. Stayed in a New Deluxe 2Bedroom Kabin. We had something to do all the time. Weight limit on Bouncy pad. Movie night... Not enough seats. Mostly nice staff except girl with buzz haircut tended to always be too busy and a bit rude. Otherwise look forward to going again:-)
May 26, 2015
May 26, 2015
Awesome for kids had a great time
May 26, 2015
Nice grounds,bathroom, activities. Feedback: I choose KOA b/c of the ammenities; no WIFI & no cable - website indicates these are included. Called desk and unable to help with WIFI; was told cable contract termed & new service in July. How about updating your website? Also, unless your'e in a premier site, all other sites are way too narrow, made for poor stay-neighbors all complaining-too cramped

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have had alerts all over our KOA page the entire month of may to help let campers know of the changes in cable....unfortunately I do apologized for the inconvenience.
May 25, 2015
Not a big fan of the train coming through at all hours of the night. The cabin we stayed in was also very dusty and the wifi signal did not work for us. Also did not like the fact that there was no grill with our cabin.
May 25, 2015
Very nice very clean. Would like to see a small table and chars for kitcken
May 25, 2015
My son had a great time. Didnt like how close the sites are too each other but that wasnt a Big deal. Plus they spread them out nicely so we had gaps between us and our neighbors.
May 25, 2015
From the time we arrived until we checked out the stuff was amazing every was so helpful and extemely friendly. We went with 3 kids and 4 adults and stayed in the cabin it was perfect and so much for the kids to do. We will be back again for sure!
May 25, 2015
May 24, 2015
May 23, 2015
Close to the train tracks . Train runs every 20 mins it seems.No cable. very slow wifi.we booked online and there was no mention of no cable. Place was nearly Empty. They put many units next to each other. Not spreading out a units a bit. Very dirty will never stay there again. will spend the money to stay at Cedar Point campground next time. Koa quality of campgrounds has went severely downhill
May 23, 2015
We were there at a quiet time of year. Sites are a bit close so I don't think I would like it there during the busy season. Very friendly and helpfull staff and well maintained.
May 22, 2015
We stayed in the one room cabin with a full kitchen and full bathroom, it was a bit small but it was still nice and cozy. Our car barely fit in the park space, but we made it work. Our picnic table was extremely dirty so we didn't use it, but the fire pit was nice. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back.
May 21, 2015
Friendly staff, clean restrooms and well maintained grounds. Great location.
May 19, 2015
No 24 hr security ad advertised,no response on emergency #. Toxic fire during our stay.
May 19, 2015
Staff was very friendly; we swapped some jokes at checkout! Prices were very reasonable too.
May 19, 2015
It was very clean and well stocked.
May 19, 2015
One star only because the front office adjusted the billing. Otherwise zero. This location attracts drunken frat boys heading to Cedar Point. Loud screaming at night - the bathrooms were filthy - the "deluxe" spots were sub-par. And we didn't get the spot we reserved. Avoid at all costs.
May 18, 2015
Great place for the money.
May 18, 2015
May 16, 2015
May 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay; lots of improvements needed but many seem to be in the works. It's difficult to gain a full perspective of the campgrounds since the season is brand new. We have booked 10 weekends out of 15 possible summer weekends to stay with you so we definitely were not too disappointed. We will revisit this survey again once the season is in full swing for an update.
May 13, 2015
May 12, 2015
Loved being there while it was "closed"! Loved the rates!
May 12, 2015
We had a great weekend. Staff was very accommodating. Accidentally took one of your white bath matt. We got it mixed up with our white towels. My mistake.
May 12, 2015
My stay was great! This is the 2nd time staying here and I will always stay here when in the area. The staff is amazing! Everyone is very friendly and helpful! A+ Staff! Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable.
May 12, 2015
Great place good people
May 12, 2015
Staff was pleasant. Train noise was a little annoying. Bounce pillow wasn't open all the time, yet there was no schedule for the kids to know when they could use it. Toilets in shower house were a disaster. Campground was large, princess festivities (Frozen) were very much appreciated by my daughter.
May 12, 2015
my toilet backed up into my tub
May 12, 2015
We had a blast. Quiet, private, comfortable & affordable. We will do this again. My children enjoyed the train, bounce pillow, basketball all night and the Frozen characters. Cabins smelled nice and were really clean.
May 12, 2015
very disappointed restroom very dirty. toilets do not flush properly. disgusting. No hot water in shower.
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
Our cabin was super cute! Everything was very nice!
May 12, 2015
The children had a great time; however, there were a few small concerns that I had. Maybe because it was the beginning of the season there were only 2 fishing rods available for rent, no bait on site and the store was poorly stocked. We also had to call someone to the park model because the gas was off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do not officially open until Mothers Day Weekend that is the reason for our store to not be fully stocked. Same goes for our fishing pond and supplies. We still have tons going on and we are closed all winter and have to work through bad weather to get thing up and good. Thanks Management
May 12, 2015
Didn't like that I called in advanced and was told there was a microwave in my cabin and a grill neither was there was also told it family friendly but my husband went to the men's bathroom/shower there a naked women standing nude waitin for someone to finish up there was suppose to b a train it ran twice mining wasn't even running no workers for jumppillow to make sure older kids rnt bein rough

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our Rustic cabins have no amenities....our records show you made your reservation online and booked the Rustic yourself...We have other cabins with micro but non of our lodging has grills.We can not control a grown person standing naked in a shower house if notified we could of helped resolve.
May 11, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay their we will be back! All empolyees were very helpful and friendly. I was was really surprised at the how big the fridge was we thought we would only have a mini fridge that was really nice now next time we can better plan for snacks and meals.
May 11, 2015
Love this park. Always stay there when visiting Cedar Point. Cabins are the perfect size to rest between days.
May 11, 2015
This is our third summer staying with this KOA campground. Last year and this year I have the same complaint. The people at the front desk gave out where I was staying to my sister, yes I know my sister but how did the person know that I wanted anyone to know where I was? I don't think that's right they gave out where I was staying plus there was a truck in spot told counter lady and got no where.
May 11, 2015
We always have a very good experience at this particular campground, and if we ever have an issue they are "johnny on the spot" to fix it!
May 11, 2015
We stayed in a park model using a promotional price. New mattresses are needed but otherwise it was a good deal, if we had to pay full price for both nights the state of the mattress would have made this rating closer to poor. We have stayed here before in tents and other than bike week we have always enjoyed out stays. Bike week should be avoided at all costs especially if you have children.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello Bate's family. My name is Alex Gooding and I am the Manager of the campground.I understand your complaint and we are currently resolving and updating our park models. Most of them have been updated but replacing all at one time gets costly. Thanks and I am working hard to make your stay better
May 11, 2015
When we arrived the AC wasn't working, and we were instantly blamed for turning it down to low, which we had not done, it turned out a breaker hadn't been flipped. No towels in the unit when there had been in the past. Like the upgraded TV.
May 11, 2015
Our campsite was in an area where construction was going on, while the other side had plenty open spots. I also found the bathrooms to be poorly maintained. The most frustrating part was these leaves that fell on and around our camper stained not only our floors, but also the exterior of camper.
May 11, 2015
We have been going to the KOA for bout 7 years now. We have a big family and rent 2 3bdrm cabins each time 6 times a years. We love it and wouldnt stay anywhere else. Thank you KOA for making our stays enjoyable. We also love the improvements you have done for 2015.
May 11, 2015
Love this KOA! We stay here every time we visit Sandusky!!
May 11, 2015
Thanks So Much See You Again Soon
May 11, 2015
I really like this campground and I've been here several times. The staff is always helpful.The activity conductor was also very good with the kids.
May 11, 2015
We had a great time! The only thing I would recommend is putting a grill spot by the park models. We will definitely be back!
May 11, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.