Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2016
This campground needs some clean-up and the bathrooms need up dating. Lots of bugs on the walls and outside the walls of the bathrooms. The pool looked dirty and the children's playground was disgusting. They charged more than any of the KOAs we stayed at and it was the dirtiest. Just being honest.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you feel this way about our campground. Our bathrooms are updated and are kept very clean. We have tons of muffle heads and Mayflies during a 3 week period that we can not avoid. Its nature but we try and deal with that as best as we could. AG
Jul 06, 2016
The amount of activities was great. The fact that the quite time at night was not enforced, it was very hard to sleep. When you have kids and your neighbors are drinking and very loud, playing music with words that are inappropriate, it was not good!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately we get crazy busy on the 4th of July and with fireworks and crazy campers it gets hard to find them all. We do have our security after hours number located on our site map that was given at check in. Sorry for your bad experience. GM
Jul 06, 2016
My wife and I stayed at this KOA for 3 nights along with our 2 teenage daughters and their 2 friends while we were going to Cedar Point. It is by far the most expensive campground that I have ever stayed at for the amenities provided. We booked a premium site only to find when we got there that it did not include a sewer hook up. For the money I'll stay at Cedar Point campground next time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Since you made your reservation online we have 2 types of deluxe sites listed...deluxe full hookup pull thru and deluxe w/e pull through. Both come with water, 50/30 amp, cable and fit up to 70ft. sorry you had a bad stay GM
Jul 05, 2016
We had a great time.The staff was friendly, the store was convenient.The pool was awesome and the baths were clean.We will be back next year
Jul 05, 2016
Friendly employees. Clean showers.
Jul 05, 2016
This was our first time at a KOA. We stayed over 4th of July weekend so it was busy. Staff did a great job keeping the park and restrooms clean. Ms. T in the craft station was extremely friendly and so patient with all the children.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
cabins were nice. disappointed new 2nd pool wasn't done.Also my 9 year old could never play basketball too many bigger kids always there. Drunks adults caused issues on 2 separate occasions. stayed here many times that was a first that police had to come out
Jul 05, 2016
The staff was great throughout our stay. The campground and buildings were clean and well taken care of. The amenities are great, the location is great, but the sites are way too small.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
The hole family enjoyed it
Jul 05, 2016
We will definitely camp here again, clean and lots of fun
Jul 05, 2016
I ask for a table 2 times and did not get one you know how hard it to get food ready and eat with out a table very disappointed
Jul 05, 2016
Never a problem. This is my favorite campground. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
A cute campground. Loved the Ice Cream Social. All of the staff was very friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
We understand everybody experiences camping in different ways. Our experience was that we had very little room to enjoy outdoor camping. The staff was friendly and check in was smooth. If you have a camper and plan on spending most of your time at Cedar Point, then this is the place for you. Don't expect quiet and serene. There is a train that runs really close to the campground and is loud.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have bigger sites but they may have been booked or no availability. Sorry about the train, we really have no control over it. GM
Jul 05, 2016
Overpriced. Sites on top of each other. One small pool. That was very full and looked like it needed to be shocked with chlorine. Other one under construction . Wouldn't stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have bigger sites but unfortunately they were booked. We do shock our pool and treat it on a regular, we just get so many people in the pool since its so hot out. GM
Jul 05, 2016
We feel that it would be a better campground if you had all your permanent campers in one area, where our lot was was they where nice accept their kids where running around with no adults and the kids where under 5 yrs of age.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have 2 seasonal sections, but we also have different sites located around our campsite that would accommodate your stay next time if you would like more space and a better site. These may have been booked since we are very busy. GM
Jul 05, 2016
Quiet hours not enforced, bathrooms were filthy with dirty band aids on the ground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a lot of campers during the holiday weekend, sorry for your bad experience with us. We do clean the bathrooms 3 times a day but with having so many people the bathrooms may get dirty in between cleaning. GM
Jul 05, 2016
The activities/facilities were great. Sites were ok (our fire ring in neighboring site), security was horrible - called because some campers smoking pot, security came out and told them he smoked too, "just don't let others see it". 11pm curfew not enforced - July 3rd some were drunk and very loud, no security to stop it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience. Being July 4th weekend we are packed with all types of campers; sorry you had a few campers around you not following the rules. GM
Jul 04, 2016
Great time and staff was helpful. Trains passed by almost every 1/2 hour in the wee hours but all in all wad a great time.
Jul 04, 2016
We loved the cabin - was perfect for our needs. Would be nice if the bathroom were cleaned a little more often.
Jul 04, 2016
I didn't think the rustic cabin came w electricity and air, was perfect, and will defiantly share my experience w rest of campy family. Thanks
Jul 04, 2016
It was ok. Deluxe patio was great, but for $80 a night I expected a little more privacy. It was over crowded and sites are packed in like sardines. We've paid much less for beachfront sites that had a lot more room and privacy. It is way over priced. Price might reflect cedar point being right down the road, but still very over priced. Lots of kid activities, but had to pay for some crafts too.
Jul 04, 2016
Great stay! We pulled up to a very small campsite that was right on top of three others. We asked to move to a bigger site and they happily moved us. The second pool wasn't open yet, but I think it would be a great opportunity for an adults only pool as there were tons of kids in the only pool available. Will stay again!
Jul 04, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, nice size camping area to set up our tent and build a fire, I wish we had been there for more than just one night! We had a great time!
Jul 03, 2016
Pool was initially very cloudy and murky/green. It did clear up after a few days. The sites are very close with a very small green space between campers. Lots of activities, kids liked it. Not my favorite KOA.
Jul 03, 2016
Very noisy. At the time we were there, works were going on twenty feet from our camper. Add this to the trains, highway and normal maintenance and you get the equivalent of downtown Cleveland. This being said, the people were fantastic, as is mostly the case when we go into a KOA
Jul 03, 2016
Small but perfectly formed 3 bedroom mobile unit/cabin. Great use of space, full size bathroom and refrigerator. 5 mins from the turning onto cedar point. Staff friendly and accommodating. Lovely park undergoing renovation. The cabins are close to train tracks, but that didn't bother us!
Jul 02, 2016
Old campgrounds. Not very attractive.
Jul 02, 2016
Very clean! Would definitely stay again
Jul 02, 2016
We stayed in a Park Model, the trains were awful, all night long, rattled the unit. The unit was dirty when we arrived, so I had to clean right away.
Jul 01, 2016
Sites were small and the one we had was not very level. The bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have ever been in.
Jul 01, 2016
We had a great time! The campground staff were awesome! Looking forward to the next time.
Jul 01, 2016
Despite the June mayflies, the stay was very good. They cleaned the bugs every day as much as they could. They fixed the trampoline asap for the kids. Very cool!
Jun 30, 2016
It wasn't quite what I was expecting as far as camping goes, but for the price it was good. Mayflies were everywhere so they made it a little worse. I liked how they had a pool and some other activities and also a store for any supplies you might need that you forgot
Jun 30, 2016
Ants in the cabin and filthy dirty floor, I'm guessing it had not been mopped for weeks. When we arrived it looked like someone had a melted Popsicle all over the refrigerator. Plus freeze dripped water into refrigerator, had to keep a pan to catch the water. However, the staff was friendly, offered to send someone in but we had already unpacked everything.
Jun 30, 2016
Awsome campground the staff are very pleasant and always willing to help we have stayed here a couple times now, when we visit cedar point...and every time it is without headaches or hassles...we stayed in a cabin this time cause our group was not the tenting type and the cabins are very nice... highly recommended this campground...
Jun 30, 2016
Check in was quick, store was clean, only thing I would like would be a separate place for people with animals, our neighbor had dogs and it crapped and you could smell it for hours:
Jun 29, 2016
It was very pleasant.
Jun 29, 2016
Great time at Sandusky/Bayshore KOA people are all friendly. SUPER close to Cedar Point. Kids loved it!
Jun 29, 2016
Very pleasant staff!
Jun 29, 2016
Good but not great. Tiny lots and tight turns for larger trailers. Had to pull way forward in order to get our slide out. Close to Cedar Point Causeway and other town features. Nice staff. I didn't feel the value matched the cost.
Jun 29, 2016
The location was great for what we were doing in the area. Everything else was either run down or very dirty.
Jun 29, 2016
We made a reservation for 3 nights, over a week in advance for a family get-together with our grandchildren. The first night we basically stayed in a driveway with 2 yards of grass between us and the neighbors. We did move to a nice area after inquiring. Also the pool was constantly green...not clear and sparkly as it should be, even after requesting they clean and shock it. YUCK! tons of people.
Jun 28, 2016
Seasonal folks not so friendly, assuming that the occasional camper/renter knew all their rules.
Jun 28, 2016
had a wonderful time.If we where to stay again a few thing's would have to be changed first 1. friendly check in people 2. bath mats for the tubs they where very slippery and maybe get a handrail for them also.Make sure the cabins are clean and available when they say they will be. Check out the equipment in them are air was not working in are cabin.
Jun 28, 2016
Super campground- they think of everything you need. Great people and clean large campground but always under control. If there was a 6th star they should get it!
Jun 28, 2016
pool did not look very clean; smaller bathroom had a shower that wouldn't shut off and drained all the hot water; loud neighbors were annoying
Jun 28, 2016
The staff was really friendly and helped me find a place that was secluded so I could have the peace and quiet that I came there for. The grounds were all well kept and clean and everybody was really respectful.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals