Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2016
Bathrooms were kept nice, there were cool play areas for kids and people were mostly respectful of eachother. The people diagonal to us were blasting awful old country rock songs at 7:15am during quiet hours and wouldn't turn it down.
Aug 30, 2016
Good overall
Aug 29, 2016
Had a great time. Loved the cabins we stayed in. They were clean, well equipped, and comfortable for a family of 4.
Aug 29, 2016
Very expensive , only 1 pool open. Moved camper 3x because slips were so small our camper and car could not fit. Charged us to pump out after we stayed . We left a day early . Honestly , except the crafts for my girls and the bathrooms being clean this place is not what I call camping . This is where you go to put your camper to leave for the day and come back to sleep$80/night it's not worth it.
Aug 29, 2016
I loved my stay at KOA Sandusky Bayshore. I had a rustic cabin that was very cute and comfortable. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers were very clean. I will definitely come back again. Hopefully for longer than the weekend next time.
Aug 29, 2016
It was a lot of fun, close to cedar point. We got to swim at the pool too. It was great.
Aug 29, 2016
Cabin was clean, but the beds were horribly worn out and uncomfortable. None of us slept well..
Aug 29, 2016
My entire family and I stay here at the Sandusky / Bayshore, OH KOA. We use our travel trailers and rent the cabins too. We love it! The staff is amazing! They go out of there way to make sure all of our needs are met! Thank you Jen and Alex for everything! My grandson LOVES the pirate ship and bounce balloon in the play yard. We look forward to our next time.
Aug 29, 2016
No warning at all of an extremely busy railroad line right across the street with trains running all night approx. every 30 min. keeping people up all night long.
Aug 29, 2016
Only one of the pools were in operation. Our cabin was not thoroughly cleaned. Staff was friendly. Overall, it was a positive experience.
Aug 29, 2016
We stayed in a cabin. The floors were dirty with dead bugs w wry where. We had a skunk that kept spraying under our cabin and no one did anything about it when we told them. Craft area was great for the kids but the pool is FILTHY! Have tons of pics of all the spiders outside with punchers!! So gross!!
Aug 29, 2016
This place was great. Nice pool and friendly people. I would definitely stay again.
Aug 28, 2016
Love the easy check-in!
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 28, 2016
Tout est parfait mais le prix est vraiment trop cher. Mais pour le reste le service est tres bon et les installations irréprochables.
Aug 27, 2016
Aug 27, 2016
Our 1st time visit, camp suggested by a friend. We had a great time! The cabin was perfect and new! We are already talking about next year ..
Aug 27, 2016
Aug 26, 2016
Train traffic at all hours was terrible. I don't understand why they needed to sound horns at length and often.
Aug 26, 2016
Three trains on the hour every hour all day and night, enough said, but was not mentioned on your site. No monitoring of playground, pool areas. Used well beyond stated hours. No patrols for speeding motorists and golf carts. Could be a nice campground but management needs to step up and take charge of things. Bathrooms were dated but clean.
Aug 26, 2016
Accommodations were fairly clean and staff was very helpful. One critique we had was that the pots and pans are extremely hard to cook with because of their quality. But staff was great!!
Aug 26, 2016
Dirty for a premium site it suckered even huge rutted right outside the door full length of site. There are trains every 10 minutes
Aug 26, 2016
Had a great time!!! We would visit again even if we weren't going to Cedar Point!!!
Aug 26, 2016
The sites were good sized. Lots of people enjoying the pool and activities Restrooms were fine.
Aug 26, 2016
Staff in front office were extremely unfriendly. RV site was near trash cans, the smell was terrible, you couldn't spend any time outside
Aug 26, 2016
This is our second time to stay here. Nice spots and not too crowded.
Aug 25, 2016
only issue we had was the train. other then that it was great!
Aug 25, 2016
Train noise all night with no advanced warning. Playground tired and dirty, sites very close together with no separation between travelers and permanent residents. Laundry facility old and doesn't work well. Definitely not up to usual KOA standards.
Aug 24, 2016
The cabin that I stayed in was honestly gross. The refrigerator was terribly rusted and there was a terrible smell. Overall it needs an over haul. I had no where to park either. Also, the pool water did not appear to be clean and the sides need to be updated. For the amount of money I spent, I would have expected it all to be nicer. I will go back to try one of the other cabins as they seemed nice
Aug 24, 2016
Bee and Ant issues impacted our stay.
Aug 24, 2016
The amenities were great - pool, bounce pillow, Snack shack selling delicious and reasonably priced homemade breakfast. Restrooms and showers were clean. Lots were on the small side and ours was near a smelly dumpster. Our last night and group of very noisy neighbors arrived and kept us up until 2am, despite being asked Twice to respect the quiet hours. Great location next to Cedar Point!
Aug 23, 2016
Everything was great even the train going by made it something to remember
Aug 23, 2016
VeryVery friendly staff nice cabins great place to stay for a trip to cedar point Train is a little loud but know one can help that we'll deffinetly be back.
Aug 23, 2016
Overall, campground is good. Staff is very nice. Sites are on the small side. Constant trains very annoying. Did have fun during our stay and would consider going there again.
Aug 23, 2016
This is a great campground and our 3 day stay would have been great if not for all the bee's at our site. We camp a lot and I can honestly say I was never so miserable at a camp site before. We could not sit out side the camper and enjoy our time as bee's were everywhere and just made us feel as we wasted our money staying here.
Aug 22, 2016
I didn't really enjoy my stay. While the rates are reasonable, the beds are very uncomfortable. Also, the cookware was dollar store at best. The frying pan that was provided was tiny and we had to go out and buy a bigger one. Had we known, we would have brought our own with us. Also, our room happened to be right next to the car dealership who leaves their lights on all night. Need curtains.
Aug 22, 2016
There are major drawbacks with this campground. The first is that it is located close to a major train thoroughfare. Loud freight trains run all night long every 15 minutes. Sleep was impossible. Second, there were bugs everywhere. Finally, the light from the nearby bathrooms gave off way too much light at night. I ended up sleeping in my car. It was a horrible experience.
Aug 22, 2016
This was the first time we had stayed here. I was super impressed with all the amenities that was offered. Two swimming pools, the pedal cars (10$/hr), the stocked pond( there is ALOT of bigger fish and plenty of smaller ones, and they also offer free Wi-Fi throughout the camp ground. One key thing I noticed was their level of security, when concerning children
Aug 22, 2016
Trains went by every 15 to 30 minutes blowing on their horn all day and night, and they advertise wi if but I could not connect to it kept on getting wrong password messages and even told the staff, got the usual can't do anything about it excuse
Aug 22, 2016
Loved it, wish we could have stayed longer! Staff great, sites roomy & level. Many activities. Will return!
Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful site. Lots to do.
Aug 22, 2016
This campground has the smallest space between sites that I have seen. The seasonal campers sites are an eye sore. All in all one of the worst camp grounds we have stayed in!
Aug 21, 2016
our family always looks forward to our yearly stay. every year it gets better and better. all the workers are extremely happy and helpful. the location is priceless. this KOA is super clean, fun and beautiful.
Aug 21, 2016
Very friendly staff. We are not used to staying at a KOA. Usually we are at a State park. A KOA is rather crowded for us and noisy. Couldn't hear crickets over the music people were playing next to us and the train going by every hour. Campsite was clean and so were the bathrooms.
Aug 21, 2016
My son was bitten by a spider inside the campground which made us drive back to Pittsburgh early to deal with it so we paid for our 2nd night but didnt stay over due to what happened. I lost the money that I paid for it. We had to cut our vacation short & he was upset. We go to Cedar Point every year & I was hoping that a refund for the 2nd night b/c we left due to the spider bite.
Aug 20, 2016
First time to Sandusky Ohio destination Cedar Point. KOA Campground was a great stay clean facilities. Stayed in cabin with full bathroom and kitchen. Served our needs completely. Thanks again. See you next year
Aug 20, 2016
I was very skeptical because of the previous comments. But the staff were very warm and inviting. Took very good care of us. We will be back again!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Great location and easy to get to. Unfortunately our shower handle wasn't working so everyone either had a freezing shower or it was scolding hot. The front desk said they were aware of the problem so I'm not sure why it wasn't fixed. We didn't check In until 9 pm
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
Have traveled across the US with a 31' Travel Trailer & stayed at 20+ KOAs. Read other reviews, I was worried about the stay. Comments about facilities being "old" are accurate - but they were clean and well maintained. Definitely a campground that has seen a lot of use, still a decent place to stay. Would rate it average, but you can't beat location for access to Cedar Point & Ferry to islands.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy