Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 06, 2014
For the price it was a great experience and a lot of things for the kids but the downgrade was the train coming every 20 minutes at night, we barely sleep on the 4 nights we stay at this Camp.
Aug 06, 2014
Awful; the cabin was over priced and filthy. The front counter people were rude and an employee was highly confrontational on his first attempt at discussing our radio being to loud at 11:02 p.m. while having fun by the fire. We had our travel softball team gathered in annual dance off when we were confronted by an employee "shut it off or speak with Sandusky's finest." Seriously the police!
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
The service was good. Checked in easily and everybody was plenty helpful. The rating comes from two things however. First, the rules aren't enforced. Our neighbors were loud at 2:30AM as well as other nights people still playing basketball at 12AM despite quiet time starting at 11. The other is the trains. Not entirely the fault of KOA but nearly makes it impossible to get any sleep at all.
Aug 06, 2014
Great activities for the young family. Clean facilities. Perfect for train enthusiasts. Plant trees for more privacy.
Aug 06, 2014
Excellent service, well kept campground and accommodations. Thank you!
Aug 06, 2014
Thank you, very quiet spot, older facilities but very clean and lots of showers/bathrooms for the uumber of campers there.
Aug 05, 2014
Very busy train tracks very close to campground - horns every 30 min or so all night long each night of our stay. Mine and Jumping pillow not open when posted. No attendant at jumping pillow.
Aug 05, 2014
having a train go past every 20-30 minutes blowing its air horn makes for a VERY unpleasant night of sleep. I would not recommend staying anywhere near the train.
Aug 05, 2014
The campground offers plenty of activities, a snack shop serving food, and is a good value for the price paid.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Next to Ceder Point, what more needs to be said.
Aug 05, 2014
Everything was wonderful, my mother's only suggestion was to put a swing on the front porch. She loves to swing in the morning with her coffee. The cottage was lovely and the bed was very comfy.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Outside of cabin was dirty, dirt all up the side, dirt in the door wall tracks. Bathroom tub was dirty. Couch was wet and stunk like pee, had to have it switched.
Aug 05, 2014
Very nice bath houses, courteous staff nice campground. However the sites are a little tight together but overall very nice.
Aug 05, 2014
Always friendly staff, located close to the park. Fair prices and clean site.
Aug 05, 2014
My favorite KOA campground. This was our second trip there this year. Kids had a lot of fun. I highly recommend it. But yes there are train tracks near by but so is Cedar Point. I love the location.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We stayed in a Park Lodge because it advertised sleeps 8. Upon arrival, we found our Park Lodge to be quite old. The age of these units doesn't seems to be openly shared on your website. While we stayed, we asked to see one of the newer Deluxe cabins, which doesn't appear to be advertised on your website. We discovered it would have slept 8 and would have been cheaper.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Had a great time...very friendly anf knowledgeable staff. Plan on visiting here again soon! Thanks again!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Loud trains passing all night - late night car racing at the raceway nearby - very loud
Aug 04, 2014
This is the BEST park for my grandsons and I!! We had such fun!! Boys loved the jumping pillow pool the gem seatch snd our campfire!@ The park model was perfect! !! Thanks so much!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Our This Was OuR First Experience In A Camp Ground That Wasn't In The Wilderness. Liked The Conveniences, But It Was An Adjustment To The Experience.
Aug 04, 2014
Ppl were loud till about 2:30 am Lots of confusion regarding pet policy and tents.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
The train went by fairly regularly and loudly and was quite close.
Aug 04, 2014
I did not like that the tent sites were almost right on top of each other. You can't get any privacy to yourself because you're so close to the person next to you. There isn't much to do for children. They have a couple things but the koa in port Huron has much more to do to keep the kids occupied and having fun.
Aug 04, 2014
A nice campground in a great location, but it is next to a busy (every 20 minutes 24x7) rail line and crossing ( with whistle). Those of us in tents and pop ups should be placed further away or at least warned,
Aug 04, 2014
On arrival after unpacking it occurred to us that our units ac was not working so had to gather up everything to move to another unit. In this unit our tv remote didn't work and after sending 3 people out still didn't. Loud neighbors with excessive profanity reported with no results. The train is a huge problem that runs all night long.
Aug 04, 2014
Kids love it friendly staff
Aug 03, 2014
Good value. Clean bathroom. Friendly staff. Clean pool. Nicely stocked kamp store.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Great campground, clean facilities. Only reason for 4 stars is that the beds are the worst I have ever slept on. Would have stayed longer if it weren't for the beds.
Aug 02, 2014
friendly, clean, spacious, BUT furniture needs updating, as we are all adults, mattress are very uncomfortable, futon is bad, hard as a rock, need a table and chairs for eating inside,carpets should be removed, old big stains on , them, they need a little fix up work inside, close to Cedar Point, and no one bothers you during your stay..
Aug 02, 2014
We came for our honeymoon and stayed in a cabin.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Nice place to stay. Grounds kept clean, manicured. Rest rooms clean and plenty of hot water for showers. Pool was great for grandkids. Close to Cedar Point an added benefit. The only negative was the amount of train traffic 24 hrs. a day-got use to it-sort of. If you like trains and the whistles, then its a 5 star.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Let me start by saying that Patty Hoffman saved them. The night manager Alex is horrible and is costing them money. We went there for the bounce pillow. It was closed for an entire day we were told because they were short staffed. Then it rained for an hour. I hate to see nice people being taken advantage of and that's what he is doing. His desk people ridicule the campers. Really? Customer servi
Aug 02, 2014
Too much money for a parking lot. Nice pool but not for me.
Aug 01, 2014
The place is nice. Great Location to access Cedar Point and Kalahari. The Train that goes by about 400 yards away every 20 minutes,, has to honk its horn. Maybe if I had a big RV it wouldn't have been so bad, but I was in a pop up tent camper. It kept us up.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Customer service was awesome when we check in and when we left.Very quiet campground. Only thing and it wasn't the campground vault but neighbor came a night and hit waterpipe so we didn't have work until the afternoon, but the guy that was fixing said he was sorry and we told them it was not there fault that happen. And when he was done fixing it He came to us to let us know water back thanks
Jul 31, 2014
spots were very crowded. we barley had room for our pull outs. felt very safe though, there was always people at gate, even at night.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.