Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2015
Nice place, everyone was super friendly. Too bad about the train noise. The sites where a little too small as well.
Aug 12, 2015
Better than expected. It was clean, well designed, and workers were friendly. Very impressed!
Aug 12, 2015
Nice location and some fun stuff on the groun. Pool was green though so no swimming. Cabin had some type of bug in it which prompted us to leave a day early and seek medical attention. Nice location if you have a trailer.
Aug 12, 2015
We were looking for a place to stay during our visit to Cedar Point. We camped for 2 nights at this campground and had no complaints! Our site was clean, easy access to the electric, fire pit, and table available for use. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. We will definitely be returning with the family to try out one of the cabins next time!
Aug 12, 2015
Good pad. Place was a bit rowdy. Check in person tried to charge me much more than what I was quoted on the telephone. Facility needs charcoal grills
Aug 12, 2015
We had a MAJOR water leak from the water heater, which we did not discover immediately. When we did, we could not reach anyone, even at the emergency number to report it. We all had lukewarm showers and very poor sleep worrying about it.
Aug 12, 2015
We only spent one night there and it was quite pleasant,but also quite pricey. Plus you need to clean/check the pool chemicals,because it was dirty.
Aug 12, 2015
Nice clean, very accomodadating when we wanted to change spots to a larger more private one. Only thing we miss is when escorted to site a little time to assist in parking and trying to fit a big rig into a smaller space. other than that a great KOA
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. Was super clean and ac nice and cold! Lot's for the kids to do and staff very friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
I will not be recommending this KOA to friends or family as it was not what I expected at all. The pool water was green or yellow for most of the week, the sites were extremely small and ours had a huge hole where our picnic table was, the bounce pillow was open at completely random times and not those listed on the sign, and the facilities were not up to KOA standards.
Aug 11, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. Contraire to that statement as for the updates, TV is outdated (meaning it needed DVD rather than VHS), the internet (there was hardly any reception) and there were a ton of mosquitos that bit us as soon as we opened the door to the cabin (it would've been nice to supply a can of bug spray). Other than that I enjoyed my stay.My kids had fun in the pool & at the basketball court.
Aug 11, 2015
If you want a noisy campground, this is it. Our campsite was next to the RR tracks and trains ran all night. This didn't bother me as much as the site behind me which was noisy until 1 AM though quiet hours started at 11PM! Music playing and yelling. Gate person very friendly but he was the exception.
Aug 11, 2015
Good people, clean campground.
Aug 10, 2015
Overall the campground was ok and worth saving the money it would have cost to stay at cedar point lighthouse. The trains were loud and one night there was a toxic odor that overtook the campground. Garbage pick up at the site was a plus. The store was minimally stocked. Probably would stay right at cedar point if I went again.
Aug 10, 2015
Wish they sprayed for bugs, the spiders and mosquitoes are so bad on the campsites! And maybe think about another swimming pool in the near future with all the campers the pool is a little small and crowded. And bring back the pool tables. We have been coming to the bay shore campground for many many years
Aug 10, 2015
Our first time to Sandusky KOA. We enjoyed the campground; rather quiet with exception of trains, but that does not bother us. Sites are close together, but didn't mind much as we are not always at site. We experienced friendly service, cleanliness of facilities and activities on weekends were great for kids. Boys like the jumping pillow and mining for gems. So convenient to Cedar Point
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Al ways have a great time Here. we have stayed four times so far this season, hopefully trying to become seasonal. had a small problem some little girl at the pool stolen My Phone. did receive all the parts back after a couple of hours, thanks to the staff and video cameras and people that are Seasonal.
Aug 10, 2015
Camp sites were way too close together. The showers and bathrooms were very clean though. Friendly staff as well.
Aug 10, 2015
I enjoy the location and the proximity to Cedar Point. Upon my greeting, staff did not acknowledge me for over 5 minutes (while she was counting the drawer). Secondly, I was unable to use my points for any discounts, as the young lady was a trainee and did not know how to redeem the points. Otherwise a pleasant experience.
Aug 10, 2015
People seemed to be moving around quite late, but the grounds were just fine. Clean facilities and lots to do for children!
Aug 10, 2015
We met the owners/managers of this KOA and they were very nice and helpful. It was a nice campground but the full hook up sites are way too close to one another. We had some very loud neighbors and this made it difficult to sleep.
Aug 10, 2015
The cabin was nice and clean and a good size for the 4 of us.But you should check when people leave.There were only 2 sauce pans and one was in very bad shape.I didn't bring any b/c of the website saying no need to and had to eat out more often than I planned. Also the patio door needs to be replaced. Some kind of water damage between the glass very unappealing. Otherwise pretty nice stay.
Aug 10, 2015
The grounds were nice, but it was pretty cramped. It would be nice if the park told us about the railroad tracks that are across the street. The bathrooms were clean, neighboring sites smoked weed the whole time. The spots could be better marked to know whos is whos, had trouble with that when we arrived, all and all not horrible for the price.
Aug 10, 2015
more electric tent sites would be nice so it doesnt feel so cramped in one area with so many other areas open... new bathroom doors would help with the bug problem
Aug 10, 2015
Great place to stay. Clean and well maintained. Really enjoyed our stay there while we went to Cedar Point. Very close to the entrance.
Aug 10, 2015
Lost my keys to my vehicle and needed to stay later to get extra set brought to me and koa worked with me thank you for the great weekend
Aug 10, 2015
The camp was clean. The staff was outstanding. The only reason I give it a 4 is because the sites are small and a bit tight. However, I guess this is to be expected in a major attraction area. I would stay here again.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
We stay here every time we visit the amusement park for convenience and price. The only negative, pets are allowed and owners are not always considerate to fellow campers.
Aug 10, 2015
I was harassed about my dog being out side in her kennel for 20 minutes while I organized & packed my RV to leave after an otherwise enjoyable stay.
Aug 10, 2015
When I booked on line I booked for a full hookup pull thru and I did not get the sewer hook up. It was only for one night so it was no big deal. But when you book for something specific you should get it!! Other wise people were nice . Sites also to close together !!
Aug 10, 2015
My husband and I stayed at this location while celerabrating our 5 year anniversary. I'm confused as to why security drove past our campsite (very slowly) several times and even had the nerve to spotlight us. Unlike our neighboring sights who had loud children/ were trying to chop down limbs off trees we quietly say by our fire and chatted. We were so uncomfortable we considered leaving.
Aug 09, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. The area was kept nice and clean. It was very spacey but cozy. I love the fact that the employees and neighbors were friendly. A plus was that I could watch my children play from our assigned lot. We would truly stay with you again. The Edwards family
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Great sites, lots of fun activities for the kids. We will be going back!
Aug 08, 2015
Cabin was great! I was told check in time was at 3 at the time of reservation then drove 6 hours and arrived at 3pm and then was told check in was at 4. Every basketball hoop was either bent cracked or broken, shuffleboard was also broken, children's playground had loose posts as well, No body enforced the hours of the pool nor the jumping pillow, people were swimming at 930 at night!
Aug 08, 2015
Trains early morning got a bit old. We were unaware of the vicinity of the tracks until we arrived. Very clean facilities.
Aug 08, 2015
Cost way too much and the train s kept Us up all night
Aug 07, 2015
Cabin was very clean and comfortable. Great proximity to Cedar Point.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
How can this KOA keep the franchise? The park model we stayed in was totally filthy. TV cable was out. R5 refrig should go to the dump. The out buildings are very dirty. No one is paying any attention to the place. Too bad because it could be a nice park. I would NEVER recommend this park to anyone.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
I had an enjoyable few days at this campground I just wish there were a few more amenities to enjoy
Aug 06, 2015
The newer cabins are okay, but the older ones need updating. Also, they could be stocked better - a bowl to make a salad would be nice. And maybe more than four forks.
Aug 06, 2015
It is very clean & quiet place within one mile of cedar point my only complaint is that you DO NOT honor KOA value card in store
Aug 06, 2015
Sites on top of each other. Old facility that needs updating. Jump pillow only available in evening after asking multiple times to have blown up and staff clearly put off by it. Put us on wrong site and had to move after setting up. Bathroom were clean though.
Aug 06, 2015
Packed in like Sardines was the correct comment for the weekend, but it was better after Sunday. I already recommended you to a friend.
Aug 06, 2015
We enjoyed our stay in the rustic cabins. The pool was nice and the shower was awesome. There could be improvement on housekeeping. The cabin floor was filthy, our feet were black in just a short time. Also we found articles of clothing food and deodorant in between the mattress and walls.
Aug 06, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.