Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Our stay was great. The only complaint I had was the fire wood we bought at the camp store did not burn properly.
Jul 08, 2013
My friend and I had a wonderful stay! It is very close to the Causeway and the facilities were clean. We did not try out the swimming pool or do some of the activities at the camp because we were at Cedar Point for most of the day. Overall, I would definitely recommend this campground who likes to go camping in any way, shape, or form.
Jul 08, 2013
it was the worst place to stay specially when the employees tell you that they dont normally open the area where they put us when it rains we woke up to all our stuff floating in water
Jul 08, 2013
This is the best place in the aria to camp. I spent more time there this month than home
Jul 08, 2013
It was ok. Our campsite was fine, but I noticed many of the others were flooded. Near the entrence of the campground it smelled AWFUL.. I am greatful the whole site didn't smell because I probably would have left.. A lot to do for kids.. But the pool looked grose .. So we did not swim. All the employees were very nice
Jul 08, 2013
Our lot & one next to us got flooded out. When we first pulled into our lot, there was a big muddy tire trenched area. The bathrooms/shower area were steamy, one little fan, no dehumidifier in bathrooms/shower areas. I was in a bathroom stall with no toilet paper and tried to use paper towel and it was out too. Said there was cable when booked, but cable didn't exist. We left a day early.
Jul 08, 2013
The bathrooms were not cleaned the entire time we were there. The campsites were underwater and muddy.
Jul 08, 2013
Been there several time employees are great but park and bathrooms were extremely dirty very disappointed to be honest you with all the rain ruining or vacation we couldn't even turn to be able to take a clean shower will think twice before returning again
Jul 08, 2013
Awesome
Jul 08, 2013
We love it there nice people and Great service is our 3rd year going and if Gods willing we will be back soon thank you
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
OK but not exceptional. Grandkids were so looking forward to the jumping pillow but it was very dirty and had a lot of teenagers on it. Muddy site. Not a very well-stocked store. Nice pool though.......
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
I found our cabin to be in clean condition when arriving, and enjoyed our stay. Although the may fly bugs were quite bad, all over everything. But I understand that is something in nature, so I did not mind them.
Jul 07, 2013
Cabins had no yard to relax around fire or hang out w/family. No 4th of July festivities at all on the 4th. First day went 2 Cedar Point so second day stayed at camp all day & nothing at all to do. Catch & Release pond a joke, appeared knee deep. Tent sites were flooded out. Location is close 2 Cedar Point BUT in middle of shady neighborhoods. Poor KOA, it was like camping in the Twilight Zone.
Jul 07, 2013
Clean cabins with pleanty of space for our family to hang out in the evening after spending the dayat Cedar Point. Very short drive to Cedar Point at about half the cost of the hotels at the park. Great pizza/sandwich shop across the street too!
Jul 07, 2013
besides the weather and the mud which is beyond your control, people had large speakers set up with loud rap music playing, swearing by people walking by and by people at the pudding eating contest including obscene gestures and people were actually standing next to their tents peeing. not where i would like to take my family. Its a shame too this is a great spot for us for cedar point.
Jul 07, 2013
The campground offers many services and a pleasant environment. Utilities worked well. Our neighbor entered the camping slot in the opposite direction and occupied our grassy space. Also, entering and exiting the campground was difficult because small carts and RVs or campers occupied (parked in) the entrance/exit lanes next to the lobby.
Jul 07, 2013
Did not like the parking!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
The people are very nice
Jul 06, 2013
Very litte grass for picnic table. Asphalt strip is too narrow. Made mistake on check in and missed 7th day discount. Over priced for quality of campsite.
Jul 06, 2013
Nice place to stay but they seemed a little unorganized when I was checking in, it may have been due to it being a holiday.
Jul 06, 2013
The staff as always was very friendly and helpful. There was a problem with a campsite music being too loud and the situation was corrected immediately. Thank you
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
We love, love, love it here. It is a great place to rest and relax and everyone here is very Friendly. Will come here as often as possible. Thank you.
Jul 05, 2013
Nice even site. Small store, nice lady at jumping pillow, heated pool. Lots of bugs (Canadian Soldiers?) everywhere! Would be nice if they swept them off the doors of the bathrooms. All in all, very nice campground.
Jul 05, 2013
We loved it there! People were friendly. Minutes from cedar point! Our cabin was clean! Pool was nice. Other then the may flies it is a convenient place to stay if u plan to vacation in and around lake Erie. We would visit there again!
Jul 04, 2013
Heavy rain hit Sandusky early Friday evening. By Saturday morning Park unit #4 (the one we stayed in) was still surrounded by a 3" deep lake of water. Drainage needs to be addressed
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
The pull thru sites were nice. The sites were big enough to pull in and spread out. pool was nice and clean, along with the restrooms. It was easy to reserve sites for our group of 7 units.
Jul 04, 2013
the entire staff was very friendly and helpful. the campground, model we rented and tent site was all clean and well taken care of. my family and I enjoyed our stay at your koa site in Sandusky,ohio
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
Very close to Cedar Point. Even though we were in a pull through it was still tight for us to get in and out and to park our vehicle.
Jul 04, 2013
Jul 04, 2013
What would make it better in the cabins is more chairs for every one tp have places to sit!!!
Jul 04, 2013
It was awesome!!
Jul 03, 2013
Everything was excellent. The kids had a wonderful time. The staff were extremely helpful. I am sure we will be back again, as soon as next year.
Jul 03, 2013
Great
Jul 03, 2013
The campground was nice and quiet and the bathhouse was spotless the entire week. The pool area was nice and clean also.
Jul 03, 2013
Returning next weekend. Worth the 7 hour drive. Staff very friendly and help immediately to any requests. Cabins very clean and maintained.
Jul 02, 2013
We were in Sandusky for the yearly mayfly plague! Nothing KOA could've done. But I'm wondering if something could be done to better drain the wet campsites--there were puddles on our site the entire stay. Also, noise and firework policies were not enforced, so far as I can tell, though that wasn't much of an issue for me personally. The one rule I wasn't fond of was having to buy KOA wood to burn.
Jul 02, 2013
Overall the facility was adequate, but extremely small lots for the full hookup/pull threw section. Fishing pond was a very nice feature. Had a personal issue and needed to leave a day early. The Manager was extremely rude and argumentative about providing a refund. Some simple courtesy before the immediate NO we do not give refunds would have been fine. Very embarrassing! Probably will not return
Jul 02, 2013
The stay was wonderful. The only drawback was the standing water at the campsites. The Staff, General apperance, accessability were all superior and we really enjoyed the stay
Jul 02, 2013
The campground was nice. Good store, clean restrooms, and friendly and helpful staff. The only drawback was the close proximity to the train tracks. There are frequently trains passing by at all hours of the day and night.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
The mayflies and weather not-withstanding, the people were friendly but the campground was just too big and noisy for us. Big problem with drainage at the sites as well, i.e. standing water.
Jul 01, 2013
We had a great time. The only improvement I see this campground could do is to install concrete pads on the full hook up sites. Our site turned into a swamp, other KOA campgrounds I have been to had concrete located where the RV awning would be.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.