Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
We were accommodated quickly and efficiently when I called just 3 days prior to our arrival. The 3 room cabin was amazing! We had our own kitchen, bedrooms, and bathroom! Thank you for making our trip more enjoyable!
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The staff we encountered were very nice. Unfortunately, the internet did not work the entire time we were there. We were really counting on being able to check the internet to research what to do while we were in town. Also, this is probably out of the hands of the staff, but the smell of oil/tar really made it difficult to spend any time outside.
Jul 22, 2013
Good place to stay if you are visiting the amusement park.
Jul 22, 2013
The camp set up is nice and the all the staff were outstanding. They were very helpful in accommodating with requests for my stay with a boat. The only recommendation is that I would be to have specified area for the fire pits so that each site does not have numerous bare spots in the camp site.
Jul 22, 2013
mayflies were bad,needed a dinette in cabin, other than that was clean and nice.
Jul 22, 2013
We had a great stay even though it had been raining quite a bit before we got there. We where accommodated with a dryer lot than what was assigned. We had a wonderful time at this KOA! Staff was very friendly and helpful! Will go back there for sure!
Jul 22, 2013
had had a lot of rain so the campground was mostly flooded (somewhat understandable but no notification prior to arriving. wifi did not work
Jul 22, 2013
There was a flash flood the night before we arrived and our site was under water, the staff was extremely helpful finding us alternate accommodations quickly. So thankful, they saved our vacation!
Jul 22, 2013
Our campsite had gotten flooded out so we couldn't even sleep in our tent bc it was filled with water. We went to the office to complain about what had happened and we were never even offered a new campsite (There were lots of available sites). The lady at the desk just kept saying there was nothing they could do because they can't control the weather and she said we are not going to be refunded.
Jul 22, 2013
Great stay. People are friendly and a nice campground. Bathrooms are adequate.
Jul 22, 2013
stay was outstanding,
Jul 21, 2013
Stayed in a park model,it met our needs, but REALLY needs some TLC. A table/chairs would be excellent. It was rather dirty (floors)& the Kitchen not well equipped (no bowls,5 forks, etc. in a unit for 8 - sleeps 8).Close to Cedar Point (Main plus and the pool). Great pool - could be open until 10 - so when you come back from the days activities you can enjoy cooling off in the pool. Trains(:(
Jul 21, 2013
We were not happy with our visit to the Sandusky Ohio KOA.The sites are very close together and the amenities are lacking to say the least. During a hard rain the campground will flood out. We left a day early, along with numerous others. Wish we would have stayed elsewhere.This Koa really let us down and we will not return.The ONLY plus is that it is close to Cedar Point.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The sites are small and very difficult to get into with a big rig. Streets are narrow and the campground is old and needs to be remodeled. Heavy rain caused the campground to be flooded.
Jul 21, 2013
The facility appeared to be dirty; from the front office, to the pool, and even the site. We were in site 99 and a large rain came through. All of the Class A sites, as well as the street, on that strip flooded to ankle depth. When stepping out of the coach, I didn't know of the potential for electrocution, as well as if it was just rain water or sewerage that I was wading through.
Jul 21, 2013
After the rain, the sewer backed up into the surface water which was 6" deep. Had to walk into the sewage to un hook. No One in management seemed to care. I should have called the health department so the next person coming in would not get sick.
Jul 21, 2013
Excellent service and very clean
Jul 20, 2013
Pull thru sites are too close to each other and does not have contain much grass at site.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
The pool was overcrowded with kids from a neighboring apartment complex and mobile home park. The Wi-Fi service was totally inadequate!
Jul 20, 2013
there is nothing Monday through Friday for the kids to do besides swim r lot was a muddy mess with big rUtsand our fire pit was so close to both campers it was scary!for the price we paid we can stay at a Jellystone and have all kinds of activities in a very nice padded lot with green grass we were very disappointed for the cOst
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Sound of trains and smell of pig farm were not appealing, but it was very close to Cedar Point which was what we wanted. The maintenance man was very rude when my daughter accidentally walked in the bathroom while he was cleaning. It was very hot out so maybe he was in a bad mood. Everyone in the office seemed relatively pleasant.
Jul 20, 2013
Very accommodating staff, friendly. Nice park. Wll be back again, hopefully for longer!
Jul 20, 2013
Only stayed overnight,so cannot rate amenities. Staff attentive and polite, store well stocked and facilities clean. I would utilize site again.
Jul 20, 2013
Very nice campground. Very clean. Employees were friendly. Our issue was that the WiFi never worked properly which was a problem because my husband teaches online classes. We chose this KOA partly because of the free WiFi. We kept going to the desk to tell them it was not working, they kept resetting it, it kept going out. Frustrating.
Jul 20, 2013
The check-in was messed up- we were originally assigned an already occupied site by a new associate. The co-manager dealt with the problem quickly- and we had a great stay!
Jul 19, 2013
Cabin was clean, but located next to train track and could smell deisel all week long. Pool was heated and was set at 80 degrees or higher, too hot for the 90 degree weather. Kids activities were closed except for one night. It was convenient to Cedar point, but there is nothing else to do in Sandusky. Bring everything you need for cabins, no towels and very little kitchen supplies.
Jul 19, 2013
I have stayed at other Koas that are great but this one was a parking lot and a dump. So dirty and disgusting. Gross. Showers were nasty, floors filthy, empty toilet paper and paper towels. Really disappointing.
Jul 19, 2013
The only complaint is the beds are not the most comfortable mattress. But we love the campground as a whole. The cabins are very clean and homey. The pool swings bikes and trails for the whole family is awesome. Everyone that works there is very friendly and helpful. Thank you and we will see you next year sandusky koa
Jul 19, 2013
had us packed in like sardines..no where to set up toss games for kids.train horn out of control.bathroom filthy while employees sat at desk and screwed around.just plain nasty
Jul 19, 2013
I loved our stay at the Sandusky KOA. It is a shame more people do not stay at the Bay Area...I know it is non-electric but is beautiful and quiet there.
Jul 19, 2013
Very nice kampground. Crew was very busy cleaning up after rain storms but still was very friendly and helpfull.
Jul 19, 2013
Always have a fun time at this KOA.
Jul 19, 2013
Campground sites are very small for large campers. No place for the kids to play next to your camper. Sites are not leveled. Bathrooms not clean. Staff was very friendly.
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Over crowded, loud and cramped sites. It was messy and dirty. Not impressed for a Presidents Award winner!
Jul 18, 2013
Our campsite was very muddy. It needed a load of gravel to soak up the water.
Jul 18, 2013
IT WAS A GREAT TIME SANDUSKY OHIO, I'll be back...
Jul 18, 2013
Love the camp grounds and also great employes
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I had to put air in my bike tires and replace chain several times while riding. Bike rental dude was apathetic to his job. More than half the staff had long faces and never smiled. That is very hard on caregivers of children who need a little support from those around them during an outing. The gem mining was a joke. Really? And your camping store was not a camping store - it was a camping closet
Jul 18, 2013
Muddy, crowded and disgusting
Jul 18, 2013
We got to the campground and all the staff were wonderful and very nice! However we spent half an hour waiting for people to move cars that were parked in our site . the campground itself was very tight and cars were often parked in spots that made it very difficult to maneuver a car through let alone a travel trailer.
Jul 17, 2013
This is our 8th time (or thereabouts) camping here. Besides being close to Cedar Point, they are friendly, helpful, have great facilities and are worthy of our repeat business. One of the only KOA's that go out of their way to ASK for what they should improve.
Jul 17, 2013
I felt that the mobile home we stayed in could of been a little more nicer as it was the patio window was broke and the screen was torn to door entrance and one of our family members had to have the air fixed, no curtains in the kitchen window.
Jul 17, 2013
We were given a site where we would have been sleeping on top of next site's fire pit. Had to switch. No warning of train noise which kept us up the entire night due to train whistle every 15-30 minutes. Had to ask for list of restaurants; why not in packet?
Jul 17, 2013
We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.