Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2013
This campground is right next to a freight line that has a train go by every 1-2 hours. They also are in a very low area so flooding occurs easily and the pumps to remove the water were not working. No refund was given, though we were able to move sites since half of ours was under 3-4 inches of water. People were friendly but did not work to fix the problem, we had to address it with them.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Nice campground, too close to airplanes and trains. It was loud.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Clean and friendly. Tight campsites. Major issue was dog poop on ground in table area.
Jul 26, 2013
Peace and quiet and fun... Very nice cabins at affordable rates... My family and I will definitely be back!
Jul 25, 2013
We had a very good time. Campground was clean as well as the bathrooms. Staff also very nice and helpful.
Jul 25, 2013
Our site was very spacious. There were many staff members on the property, so we felt very secure. We were never able to get a wifi signal a our campsite. That was very disappointing.
Jul 25, 2013
Not much was working when we arrived. Bike rental was having problems the pillow wasn't inflated my kids were extremely bored. The pool wasn't very attended too the water was greenish in color. It was close to cedar pointe which was our main reason for going. Next time i think I'll splurge and pay for a resort property. It certainly wasn't anything like the koa in Michigan.
Jul 25, 2013
This KOA seems to be poorly managed. It started with making reservations for myself and a second for friends. The person did not noew how to do it correctley, and the stor goes on. 4 teenagers at the pool were causing a lot of trouble. there was no supervision. I notified the office. they came out and asked them to stop.This would not have happened in a well managed facility and if it did they wou
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Facility was an average camping facility, but below average expectations for a KOA. Overall, activities for kids were great and my kids stayed well entertained. Very tough to beat location to Cedar point and cost was reasonable. Proximity to train tracks, excess light pollution and poor tent sights. Facility should consider building tent pads due to slow drainage throughout the area.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Clean and nice time. Will be back.
Jul 24, 2013
Bathrooms are not very clean. Pool appeared very dirty and the bouncy Matt was not inflated. Grass at sites was not in good repair. Staff were very nice. Would not return to this KOA
Jul 24, 2013
Nice site -- good location. WiFi off the air the whole time!
Jul 23, 2013
It was loud. When my husband called to complain at 1130 pm because the basketball court was very loud he said "if I wanted to stay in an urban environment I would stay in Cleveland. The manager called him a racist. I was shock on how unprofessional this was.
Jul 23, 2013
Paying $65 for a spot with 10 inch ruts and gravel interior roads is too much money. The WiFi never worked but they usually don't at KOA's (I don't know why they advertise WiFi)My biggest problem was the price. If it were $25 it would have come closer to being worth it. Thinking about giving up our membership as all the KOA's seem to be the same way. Too high priced for what you get.
Jul 23, 2013
Wi-fi at campsite did not exist.
Jul 23, 2013
It was really muddy, but your fault. I thought the sites were a little close together. The restrooms were really clean and spacious. Our grandchildren enjoyed themselves very much with the activities, train ride (especially) and pool.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We were accommodated quickly and efficiently when I called just 3 days prior to our arrival. The 3 room cabin was amazing! We had our own kitchen, bedrooms, and bathroom! Thank you for making our trip more enjoyable!
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The staff we encountered were very nice. Unfortunately, the internet did not work the entire time we were there. We were really counting on being able to check the internet to research what to do while we were in town. Also, this is probably out of the hands of the staff, but the smell of oil/tar really made it difficult to spend any time outside.
Jul 22, 2013
Good place to stay if you are visiting the amusement park.
Jul 22, 2013
The camp set up is nice and the all the staff were outstanding. They were very helpful in accommodating with requests for my stay with a boat. The only recommendation is that I would be to have specified area for the fire pits so that each site does not have numerous bare spots in the camp site.
Jul 22, 2013
mayflies were bad,needed a dinette in cabin, other than that was clean and nice.
Jul 22, 2013
We had a great stay even though it had been raining quite a bit before we got there. We where accommodated with a dryer lot than what was assigned. We had a wonderful time at this KOA! Staff was very friendly and helpful! Will go back there for sure!
Jul 22, 2013
had had a lot of rain so the campground was mostly flooded (somewhat understandable but no notification prior to arriving. wifi did not work
Jul 22, 2013
There was a flash flood the night before we arrived and our site was under water, the staff was extremely helpful finding us alternate accommodations quickly. So thankful, they saved our vacation!
Jul 22, 2013
Our campsite had gotten flooded out so we couldn't even sleep in our tent bc it was filled with water. We went to the office to complain about what had happened and we were never even offered a new campsite (There were lots of available sites). The lady at the desk just kept saying there was nothing they could do because they can't control the weather and she said we are not going to be refunded.
Jul 22, 2013
Great stay. People are friendly and a nice campground. Bathrooms are adequate.
Jul 22, 2013
stay was outstanding,
Jul 21, 2013
Stayed in a park model,it met our needs, but REALLY needs some TLC. A table/chairs would be excellent. It was rather dirty (floors)& the Kitchen not well equipped (no bowls,5 forks, etc. in a unit for 8 - sleeps 8).Close to Cedar Point (Main plus and the pool). Great pool - could be open until 10 - so when you come back from the days activities you can enjoy cooling off in the pool. Trains(:(
Jul 21, 2013
We were not happy with our visit to the Sandusky Ohio KOA.The sites are very close together and the amenities are lacking to say the least. During a hard rain the campground will flood out. We left a day early, along with numerous others. Wish we would have stayed elsewhere.This Koa really let us down and we will not return.The ONLY plus is that it is close to Cedar Point.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The sites are small and very difficult to get into with a big rig. Streets are narrow and the campground is old and needs to be remodeled. Heavy rain caused the campground to be flooded.
Jul 21, 2013
The facility appeared to be dirty; from the front office, to the pool, and even the site. We were in site 99 and a large rain came through. All of the Class A sites, as well as the street, on that strip flooded to ankle depth. When stepping out of the coach, I didn't know of the potential for electrocution, as well as if it was just rain water or sewerage that I was wading through.
Jul 21, 2013
After the rain, the sewer backed up into the surface water which was 6" deep. Had to walk into the sewage to un hook. No One in management seemed to care. I should have called the health department so the next person coming in would not get sick.
Jul 21, 2013
Excellent service and very clean
Jul 20, 2013
Pull thru sites are too close to each other and does not have contain much grass at site.
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
The pool was overcrowded with kids from a neighboring apartment complex and mobile home park. The Wi-Fi service was totally inadequate!
Jul 20, 2013
there is nothing Monday through Friday for the kids to do besides swim r lot was a muddy mess with big rUtsand our fire pit was so close to both campers it was scary!for the price we paid we can stay at a Jellystone and have all kinds of activities in a very nice padded lot with green grass we were very disappointed for the cOst
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Sound of trains and smell of pig farm were not appealing, but it was very close to Cedar Point which was what we wanted. The maintenance man was very rude when my daughter accidentally walked in the bathroom while he was cleaning. It was very hot out so maybe he was in a bad mood. Everyone in the office seemed relatively pleasant.
Jul 20, 2013
Very accommodating staff, friendly. Nice park. Wll be back again, hopefully for longer!
Jul 20, 2013
Only stayed overnight,so cannot rate amenities. Staff attentive and polite, store well stocked and facilities clean. I would utilize site again.
Jul 20, 2013
Very nice campground. Very clean. Employees were friendly. Our issue was that the WiFi never worked properly which was a problem because my husband teaches online classes. We chose this KOA partly because of the free WiFi. We kept going to the desk to tell them it was not working, they kept resetting it, it kept going out. Frustrating.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.