Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2013
very friendly and clean Great Job....
Aug 01, 2013
We stay here every time we visit Cedar Point. Great facilities and wonderful park staff. Thanks Again, S. Adams Anderson, Indiana
Aug 01, 2013
The sites were poorly maintained. The ash fault was broken up and there were huge ruts in the ground that made it hard to get into the camper. The lawn was not mowed . The park store had nothing in it. The pool was green in color. The owners don't seem to care or take care of it because they know people will continue to stay there regardless because of the location near cedar point.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Very large. Our site flooded, which would explain the woodchips. It's a shame those sites were used since there seemed to be other sites available. Otherwise, well cared for place, friendly staff.
Aug 01, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds and bathrooms were clean. Very enjoyable place to stay and will defiantly stay in another Koa campground.
Aug 01, 2013
egress was not clearly marked and it was very noisy - train
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
We were disappointed in how noisy and congested the campground was. With the train passing by every 15 minutes all day and night, and neighbors too close, it was not the best camping experience we've had.
Jul 31, 2013
Great campground. Easy access from the highway and well maintained Thanks
Jul 31, 2013
I gave this poor rating for one reason. There WIFI did not work, they knew it and did not seem to care one way or another.I heard comments from the check in desk like "well even the owners can't get WIFI"
Jul 31, 2013
Wet day,but staff was great with helping out. As always was family friendly atmosphere
Jul 31, 2013
Nice amenities, but train is too close. Smell was horrible at night. Women's shower was filled with spiders and Mosquitos.
Jul 30, 2013
very nice
Jul 30, 2013
The employees of KAO were friendly and helpful. The camp grounds themselves were clean. The cabins, however had a strange smell and were dated and in need of repair. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable. That said, for what we needed them for, the cabins were ok. The loud trains that went by ALL night just across the street were distruptive to our sleep.
Jul 30, 2013
Friendly staff, made the stay enjoyable. Campground was clean. Staff went out of their way to accommodate your needs or requests. Would definitely recommend & family & friends.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Campsites too close together,not much room to park, Patty tried to say we drove too fast which is not only untrue but virtually impossible in our diesel truck while hauling our 35' trailer in the narrow driving path where everyone was parked. Other employees were very nice!
Jul 30, 2013
Very unhappy to find out that the key to our cabin that we stayed in also was the same key to the cabin next door to us. Neighbor locked key inside cabin and asked to use ours to see if it would work and it did. Very unsecure.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
KOA's version of fully stocked kitchen and ours are completely different. 4 plates, forks, spoons, knives, and glasses.....no mixing bowl, measuring cup or items such as that. Also no tools for the camp fire. Guess I was previously spoiled at another fully stocked cabin. Otherwise a great time.
Jul 29, 2013
only bad issue that the campground has is the train trafic sounding their horns at cross road close to kampground--this is beyond their control--other than that--great place with friendly and helpfull staff--would recommend staying here for anyone going to cedar point for the day or weekend
Jul 29, 2013
First the positives: friendly staff, clean facilities, and close to Cedar Point. Now the negatives: It rained which flooded out our campsite and much of the campground, this campground has an unacceptable drainage problem. Also, we checked in after dark, and expected a staff mbr to show us to our campsite. It was very difficult to find it on our own in the dark. No way this should be a KOA.
Jul 29, 2013
very friendly staff, clean,and the kids loved the pool, and basketball area
Jul 29, 2013
Rustic cabins are clean, nice and reasonable. Great way to cam with small children. We will be back... with friends! So much fun!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
we had a great time. can't wait to stay again.
Jul 28, 2013
my cabin/mobile had a tear in the floor, the bunk beds were way smaller thsn the picture appeared,, the bedroom with the full size bed had no room to walk around the bed,,, the campground seemed to be under water, etc
Jul 28, 2013
Amazing people , the best service , will be back again . Keep up the great work
Jul 27, 2013
People were very nice. Campground was very clean. Wish the store was stocked a little better, or was a little larger.
Jul 27, 2013
Cabin was wonderful, everything was clean but girl at front counter was rude and unhelpful. I will stay again buy hopefully the staff can improve their attitude!
Jul 27, 2013
It was a nice park model. The whole place was clean. Thank You
Jul 27, 2013
Unfortunately, this was my worst stay I've had at a KOA. There was virtually no drainage, so when it rained it became a mud pit. Staff was not helpful in resolving the issues.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Love this place. We camp in a pop up and this was Our second time here. Always well staffed as friendly. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Has a nice pool , playground basketball. Can't beat the price and you're 5 min from cedar point. The store has decent supply of items you may have forgot and prices weren't bad There is an active train track couple hundred yards away but it didn't bother me.
Jul 27, 2013
I realize that the weather can not be predicted and the previous 6" of rain did not help but this park needs some serious updating. Pads are very narrow and breaking up and not uptodate for big rigs. Serious drainage problems.
Jul 27, 2013
Camp too huge for our liking.
Jul 26, 2013
Secure, nice, clean facility.
Jul 26, 2013
It was good with the exception off the flooding and we had a bicycle stolen. Both of which out of KOAs for the most part. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 26, 2013
This campground is right next to a freight line that has a train go by every 1-2 hours. They also are in a very low area so flooding occurs easily and the pumps to remove the water were not working. No refund was given, though we were able to move sites since half of ours was under 3-4 inches of water. People were friendly but did not work to fix the problem, we had to address it with them.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Nice campground, too close to airplanes and trains. It was loud.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
Clean and friendly. Tight campsites. Major issue was dog poop on ground in table area.
Jul 26, 2013
Peace and quiet and fun... Very nice cabins at affordable rates... My family and I will definitely be back!
Jul 25, 2013
We had a very good time. Campground was clean as well as the bathrooms. Staff also very nice and helpful.
Jul 25, 2013
Our site was very spacious. There were many staff members on the property, so we felt very secure. We were never able to get a wifi signal a our campsite. That was very disappointing.
Jul 25, 2013
Not much was working when we arrived. Bike rental was having problems the pillow wasn't inflated my kids were extremely bored. The pool wasn't very attended too the water was greenish in color. It was close to cedar pointe which was our main reason for going. Next time i think I'll splurge and pay for a resort property. It certainly wasn't anything like the koa in Michigan.
Jul 25, 2013
This KOA seems to be poorly managed. It started with making reservations for myself and a second for friends. The person did not noew how to do it correctley, and the stor goes on. 4 teenagers at the pool were causing a lot of trouble. there was no supervision. I notified the office. they came out and asked them to stop.This would not have happened in a well managed facility and if it did they wou

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.