Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2311 Cleveland Road

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2016
only issue we had was the train. other then that it was great!
Aug 25, 2016
Train noise all night with no advanced warning. Playground tired and dirty, sites very close together with no separation between travelers and permanent residents. Laundry facility old and doesn't work well. Definitely not up to usual KOA standards.
Aug 24, 2016
The cabin that I stayed in was honestly gross. The refrigerator was terribly rusted and there was a terrible smell. Overall it needs an over haul. I had no where to park either. Also, the pool water did not appear to be clean and the sides need to be updated. For the amount of money I spent, I would have expected it all to be nicer. I will go back to try one of the other cabins as they seemed nice
Aug 24, 2016
Bee and Ant issues impacted our stay.
Aug 24, 2016
The amenities were great - pool, bounce pillow, Snack shack selling delicious and reasonably priced homemade breakfast. Restrooms and showers were clean. Lots were on the small side and ours was near a smelly dumpster. Our last night and group of very noisy neighbors arrived and kept us up until 2am, despite being asked Twice to respect the quiet hours. Great location next to Cedar Point!
Aug 23, 2016
Everything was great even the train going by made it something to remember
Aug 23, 2016
VeryVery friendly staff nice cabins great place to stay for a trip to cedar point Train is a little loud but know one can help that we'll deffinetly be back.
Aug 23, 2016
Overall, campground is good. Staff is very nice. Sites are on the small side. Constant trains very annoying. Did have fun during our stay and would consider going there again.
Aug 23, 2016
This is a great campground and our 3 day stay would have been great if not for all the bee's at our site. We camp a lot and I can honestly say I was never so miserable at a camp site before. We could not sit out side the camper and enjoy our time as bee's were everywhere and just made us feel as we wasted our money staying here.
Aug 22, 2016
I didn't really enjoy my stay. While the rates are reasonable, the beds are very uncomfortable. Also, the cookware was dollar store at best. The frying pan that was provided was tiny and we had to go out and buy a bigger one. Had we known, we would have brought our own with us. Also, our room happened to be right next to the car dealership who leaves their lights on all night. Need curtains.
Aug 22, 2016
There are major drawbacks with this campground. The first is that it is located close to a major train thoroughfare. Loud freight trains run all night long every 15 minutes. Sleep was impossible. Second, there were bugs everywhere. Finally, the light from the nearby bathrooms gave off way too much light at night. I ended up sleeping in my car. It was a horrible experience.
Aug 22, 2016
This was the first time we had stayed here. I was super impressed with all the amenities that was offered. Two swimming pools, the pedal cars (10$/hr), the stocked pond( there is ALOT of bigger fish and plenty of smaller ones, and they also offer free Wi-Fi throughout the camp ground. One key thing I noticed was their level of security, when concerning children
Aug 22, 2016
Trains went by every 15 to 30 minutes blowing on their horn all day and night, and they advertise wi if but I could not connect to it kept on getting wrong password messages and even told the staff, got the usual can't do anything about it excuse
Aug 22, 2016
Loved it, wish we could have stayed longer! Staff great, sites roomy & level. Many activities. Will return!
Aug 22, 2016
Beautiful site. Lots to do.
Aug 22, 2016
This campground has the smallest space between sites that I have seen. The seasonal campers sites are an eye sore. All in all one of the worst camp grounds we have stayed in!
Aug 21, 2016
our family always looks forward to our yearly stay. every year it gets better and better. all the workers are extremely happy and helpful. the location is priceless. this KOA is super clean, fun and beautiful.
Aug 21, 2016
Very friendly staff. We are not used to staying at a KOA. Usually we are at a State park. A KOA is rather crowded for us and noisy. Couldn't hear crickets over the music people were playing next to us and the train going by every hour. Campsite was clean and so were the bathrooms.
Aug 21, 2016
My son was bitten by a spider inside the campground which made us drive back to Pittsburgh early to deal with it so we paid for our 2nd night but didnt stay over due to what happened. I lost the money that I paid for it. We had to cut our vacation short & he was upset. We go to Cedar Point every year & I was hoping that a refund for the 2nd night b/c we left due to the spider bite.
Aug 20, 2016
First time to Sandusky Ohio destination Cedar Point. KOA Campground was a great stay clean facilities. Stayed in cabin with full bathroom and kitchen. Served our needs completely. Thanks again. See you next year
Aug 20, 2016
I was very skeptical because of the previous comments. But the staff were very warm and inviting. Took very good care of us. We will be back again!!!
Aug 20, 2016
Great location and easy to get to. Unfortunately our shower handle wasn't working so everyone either had a freezing shower or it was scolding hot. The front desk said they were aware of the problem so I'm not sure why it wasn't fixed. We didn't check In until 9 pm
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 19, 2016
Have traveled across the US with a 31' Travel Trailer & stayed at 20+ KOAs. Read other reviews, I was worried about the stay. Comments about facilities being "old" are accurate - but they were clean and well maintained. Definitely a campground that has seen a lot of use, still a decent place to stay. Would rate it average, but you can't beat location for access to Cedar Point & Ferry to islands.
Aug 19, 2016
Check-in was painless and efficient, and the full hookup pull through site was great. Could have done without the drunks with a cooler full of beer just outside the pool that brought an argument into the pool area and began to get physical. Swim time was over for my wife/child at that point, as they didn't feel safe. Better alcohol enforcement would make the park more family-friendly.
Aug 19, 2016
The staff were friendly and helpful, campgrounds were clean and well kept. Affordable nights stay just a couple minutes from Cedar Point.
Aug 19, 2016
Grouchy staff.
Aug 19, 2016
Other then the hourly trains going though at night it was a really nice place with friendly people
Aug 18, 2016
The bathrooms and showers were very nice and clean. The camp ground was also clean and friendly. The pools and play ground were also really nice. We love how close it is to Cedar Point. We look forward to staying at this KOA again! Thanks for a great time.
Aug 18, 2016
We stayed in a aka in which was super cute and pretty comfortable. It would have been nice to have 1 lounge chair. Overall a nice clean place to stay that was very affordable!
Aug 18, 2016
The cabin was nice and well kept. The only problem was the train going past our room multiple times and it got incredibly hot during the night and we even had the ac on. It was perfect for a one night stay. Also it smelled really bad outside could not figure it out
Aug 18, 2016
Awesome very helpful staff!
Aug 18, 2016
Enjoyed our stay, close to where we were going. Staff very helpfully
Aug 17, 2016
The cabins were amazing. We had been camping across country so it was nice to have our own space and bathroom.
Aug 17, 2016
This KOA is overpriced and not up to standards. The roads are full of potholes as are the campsites. They are also too close together. I did send a note to KOA corporate. I do want to say, however, that the people in the office were very nice.
Aug 17, 2016
GROUND MUDY,NO DRAINAGE LOT WAS MUDDY NEED MORE CONCRETE PATIO'S LIKE 71 THRU 78 BETTER ASPHALT OR CONCRETE FOR MOTOR HOMES
Aug 17, 2016
We've camped here twice this summer and loved each stay. We look forward to making this a yearly vacation destination.
Aug 16, 2016
Had a great time. Keep up the good work.
Aug 16, 2016
we stayed in a camping cabin 1 bed 2 bunks and it was dirty you could of knit a sweater with the dirt and hair under the bed and on the floor the staff said the floor was stained? not enough dishes for 4 people well they said there is only 2 of you! Stopper did not fit in the sink had to do the dishes in a pot no chairs for outside or inside but there were two TV tables to eat off of.
Aug 16, 2016
The cabin smelled like balls! We couldn't air it outfit the life of us! There was no walk way so we walked through mud pit to get to our door. There was mold growing on the window sills.... We will def be staying at a hotel on our next trip to Cedar Point!
Aug 16, 2016
I totally enjoyed my stay at KOA-Bayshore. I came with 5 teenage kids and our stay was to visit Cedar Point for 2 days. We will be returning again next year for our Cedar Point vacation! The 6 of us stayed in a cabin and we found it very nice, clean and perfect! Thank you KOA.
Aug 16, 2016
We have been coming here since 1999 and every time we come we are so pleased how clean it is, comfortable the cabins are and the amenities for the kids. Thank you again!
Aug 16, 2016
Pleasently surprised with the cabins. Staff was friendly & did a great job keeping their campground clean!
Aug 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay with you everybody was nice.
Aug 16, 2016
Beautiful kampground! Will most definitely be returning someday soon!
Aug 16, 2016
Staff very friendly. Hookup for water & cable only inches from the ground. We have 2 handicapped friends with us and there are no showers with facilities for them. One of the big reasons we stay at KOA is handicapped available. Very small site and the little grass that is there was uneven and had a large dip where the picnic table should be. Will not be returning to this KOA in the future.
Aug 16, 2016
We loved it! It was perfect for or purposes!!! What train?!?! ;)
Aug 16, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
Overall, we had a pretty good time. However I think there should be no charge for the breakfast served there and no charge for pedal carts. The sites are a bit small. I would consider doubling up some lots to make them bigger, and definitely more trees needed on some of the sites because the site that we had originally reserved had no trees or privacy whatsoever and we asked to be moved. Other tha
Aug 16, 2016
Very clean campground. Needs more bathrooms, not necessarily showers. Staff very friendly.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals