San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 29, 2014
Please notify guests that site 295 is exposed to really bright light at nightime. It was a big incovenience to have a tent lit up like it was daytime at night
Jun 29, 2014
The campsite was practically sitting on top of the other campsites. There is hardly room for your car, tent and fire. There is not very much to do unless you are a child or have children. Extremely disappointed that I spent $40+ a night to practically camp in my backyard (on grass).The teens playing volleyball constantly walked through our site and hit my car with the ball several times.
Jun 28, 2014
We had a blast.. The grounds were amazing and clean. and well lit at night. Cant wait to come back. :)
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
My children had an amazing time at this KOA. There was so much to do! I chose KOA for safety reasons It was the perfect place for Mom and two kids to camp out in tent for a night. The only thing I would change for next time is the tent site (which was near the playground) that has less RV/car traffic) to a quieter spot.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Wonderful campground! If only the mirror in the tent-site bathroom had been installed....had to walk to the Ritzy bathroom near the RV section to do my hair. Other than that, perfect! AWESOME setting and staff. Thank you. Thanks for the wonderful pancake breakfast on Sunday. It was a bonus.
Jun 24, 2014
i work close by. up to 16 hrs per day. i give you forty five dollars night to park in a camp site. i leave no trash. take an am shower and leave. easy money for you all....
Jun 23, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again! Only complaint was the smell of sewer that drifted through the campsite a couple of times.
Jun 23, 2014
Great activities for kids! Pool was a little crowded on Saturday but Sunday was great. DJ by the pool was fun on Saturday and played great music, the kids loved him. Got windy at times and a few umbrellas fell over. Felt safe and very clean.
Jun 23, 2014
We came here last summer for the first time and had to come back. My husband, 3 kids and I love it for the friendly staff, the endless fun activities even if it is car camping. Other visitors are so nice too. The store is well stocked and bathrooms super clean.
Jun 23, 2014
Amazing for kids. Our daughter and her fire enjoyed all the activities immensely. Could have some events geared towards adults. Other than that the trip was amazing..
Jun 23, 2014
Way too expensive and our site 112 had a light on all night shinning into our tent and the blower in the bathroom sounds like a spaceship about to take off.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
Muy buena ,a mis hijas les encanta
Jun 21, 2014
Review based on the tent area. The grounds and facilities were well kept & clean. Smell of cow poop was extreme, especially at night. Kids loved the bouncy "pillow". Main complaint was the customer service. When I made the reservation, I told them that I had 7 people, 2 tents. Our small site, without any room to put both tents, safe from the fire. Not told that the closest bathroom was closed.
Jun 20, 2014
KOA is so nice, you can't even call it camping. It's like the Ritz of camping
Jun 19, 2014
Loved this campground! And the tour was wonderful.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
I was given an end spot when I booked the reservations and checked in. Then they squeezed a party with 3 large tents and 9 people next to us on a mystery Spot. I was forced to move my tent and be 6 feet away from their fire pit. It was very loud and the quit hours were not enforced.
Jun 18, 2014
Another Great stay at KOA Petaluma. Facilities are always very clean. Camping site restrooms & showers appeared to be a new remodel. The only problem was an unkind staff member that denied our daughter art & crafts because he said there was only 15 minutes left for craft time. It should be indicated on the run down of activities that certain events run 45 minutes and not a full hour.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool needs a lifeguard. It was filled beyond capacity--an accident waiting to happen. The visibility was nonexistent. I could barely see my hand underwater.
Jun 16, 2014
Pleasently surprised! Plenty of fun for all of the family to enjoy.
Jun 16, 2014
I aways visit this KOA but this time am not happy about it first night the people that where in 298,297 where to loud I call like at 10:50 to let you guys know and the noise cotinous call again like at 11:30 because they where to loud and told me that they where there and talk to them but I guess they did not care noise still same kids screming loud music like until 1:40am next night same. :-(
Jun 16, 2014
I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the campground and the activities that were offered for the children. I would definitely stay there again.
Jun 16, 2014
We were really happy with our first stay at a KOA! The staff were always friendly and cheerful and the facilities clean. There was a little confusion at check-in, and the economy tent site system wasn't totally clear, but overall everything was great. We can't wait to return.
Jun 15, 2014
So much to do Beautiful Bathrooms
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Had such a good time. Clean, friendly, great fun for kids and most of all reasonably priced
Jun 09, 2014
Unfortunately we did not realize how crowded KOAs were when we booked our camping stay. It is great if you like that sort of thing, but we prefer camping experiences where you have some elbow room and you do not have to hear people playing drinking games and yelling and swearing until 2 am.
Jun 09, 2014
This KOA is loud and crowded. Partying was acceptable until 3am, Dogs off leashes, garbage everywhere. Random rules set up for use of the facilities. The best part is the animals that are part if the site. Not what we were expecting for a campsite.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
you have a great place but the people who stayed the weekend have no respect for your place they are like animals you need to put automatic door closers on the bathrooms so the doors will be go shut, my parents would have kicked my but if I behaved like they did both the parents & the kids. I could not believe they could,nt even pick up their trash after watching the movie by the pool
Jun 09, 2014
Very clean
Jun 09, 2014
the staff were patient and courteous, but the number of people and the activity level was overwhelming. At 2 in the morning people were still yelling and having a good time. We had to be up at 6 am so it made for a miserable second day. I requested to move campsites and it was granted which I really appreciated. There needs to be a quiet tent camping area away from the rowdiness of pool.
Jun 09, 2014
Great. Thanks. Only issue was I booked a tent site that supp had a fire ring but ours did not. Not a problem but would have been nice. Otherwise all was as adverstised. Would rec KOA Petaluma to others. Thanks!
Jun 08, 2014
Great staff and fantastic pool!
Jun 07, 2014
The best KOA we've stayed at so far...after you get used to the farm smell.
Jun 05, 2014
This is my 2nd KOA that I have stayed at, and I was so disappointed with the service. I always felt when I went into the office, I was a bother. Then while I sat at the pool area, during the day, was told they needed to clean the umbrellas out by the pool area, I went back to tent site, and the umbrellas still sat there. Will never stay there ever again!!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
the tour guy was very very good! Best tour ever, thanks John.
Jun 02, 2014
We came up with a group of 48 families (144 folks total) and everyone had an awesome time. Thanks for providing so many activities for the kids. It was super fun!!
Jun 02, 2014
Campsite is good with option of grass with a slight unevenness and most have some shade. 99% paved and packed gravel for the rest. Bathrooms were great A+ on them badboys and Kampers Korner is great for a place to cook your food. Nice place overall.
Jun 02, 2014
It was an extremely windy weekend and the area where I had my tent had nothing in the way of a wind break. The wind blew so hard other tents in the area were blown over. I finally left early as it was just too much. It would be more customer service oriented to keep that whole area closed to tent camping during windy times like that.
Jun 02, 2014
There are so many great activities for children to do! My 4 year old LOVED it! He especially liked getting to spend some up-close and personal time with the animals in the petting zoo!
Jun 02, 2014
This is the BEST KOA we've ever stayed at. The entire place was very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My son loved the climbing wall and jumping pillow and we both loved the giant pool and jacuzzi.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.