San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 04, 2015
My son is 11 this is our 6th year of fun at the camp, unfortunately we experienced a couple in the next campsite to our #92 with 3 aggressive teritoral big dogs on very long leashes their motor home was in the tent camping area that was the closest camp sight to the kids jumping bubble in addition to these dogs we saw near the pool a Rottweiler break away from a 30ft tether and chase 4 peacocks
Jul 02, 2015
Site was well-maintained but the showers were nearly impossible to use. No hooks or benches in the women's shower stalls for your things so you were reaching blindly over the door or stepping out in just a towel in a crowded bathroom.
Jul 02, 2015
kind of an odd place not really a campground more like a white trash resort
Jul 01, 2015
Picked Father's day weekend :( Should've had someone walking around hourly. Got up @3am & a 2ft tall fire was unattended.
Jun 30, 2015
SF tour was great, therefore the 2 star recommendation. Tent camping sites are bad in comparison to other KOAs. Too few bathrooms/showers at tent campsites; limited cleaning on week days; most of all: the campground allows tent check in at 2.45am. Imagine somebody hammering their tent into the ground right next to you at that time of night. KOA greedy?
Jun 30, 2015
Pretty meager tent sites. Super loud campground at night with screeching peacocks and an unidentified something else that sounded like helicopters flying overhead. The noise was continual going off and on making sleep impossible. It was so loud when the noise started going that it drowned out the hooting of owls. Definitely bring earplugs!
Jun 30, 2015
This place is going good for families, especially with small kids. We enjoyed our stay.
Jun 30, 2015
I would recommend. There is a pasture next door so you can smell manure at first. But after 15 minutes, our noses adjusted. Plus, there are donkeys and they are cute. My 8yr old loved this camp. There is a huge pool, movies at night, a gold mining area, petting zoo and a giant bouncy pillow. Tent area has a gazebo group kitchen with sinks, burners & outlets. Great stay!
Jun 29, 2015
Absolutely great! Very clean and have alot for the kids to do.
Jun 29, 2015
Great campsite- lots of amenities and activities and very clean. The only thing is that the lots could have been a little further from eachother - it gets pretty crowdy
Jun 29, 2015
Very easy check-in. The bathrooms are pretty small & only have 2 shower stalls but they were actually clean.
Jun 29, 2015
Me gusto mucho y se guro lo voy a recomendar
Jun 26, 2015
Very nice tent sites. Many activities for families, and a very helpful staff.
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you for a lovely stay and for keeping the property in top shape for guests.
Jun 26, 2015
The KOA was a great location to many fun places to visit. The smell throughout the park was stinky. The showers nearest the tent area are terribly small. The staff was friendly and informative.
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 25, 2015
Everyone was so nice!
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of fun activities for kids. Staff is over the top friendly and ready to help make your trip more fun.
Jun 22, 2015
If I was still living in California I would certainly recommend the KOA experience; since I am now retired in Michigan it is unlikely that I would be able to recommend the KOA to anyone who might take advantage of the site. It was a great re-experience for my wife (of 50 years) and attending grandchildren.
Jun 22, 2015
This was an awesome experience, there were so many activities to do and grounds where very clean...
Jun 22, 2015
The facilities were nice but expensive for tiny tent spaces and so close to neighbors. The guests here were very noisy after quiet hours and very messy. Employees seemed great!
Jun 22, 2015
All the staff is devoted to the campers. Such a wonderful experience, and the families who visit are raising polite children! Wow! Gives one hope for the world. Magical.
Jun 22, 2015
It was excellent camping experience for my family. However, 'pine forest' described in the reservation was not true. I could only see one pine tree at my camping site. Anyway, I was satisfied.
Jun 21, 2015
Nice stay. Nice campground. Sanitary was good.
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very welcoming, grounds and facilities that I used were clean, and they took care to give me a spot that closely met my requests.
Jun 20, 2015
My husband and I prefer to camp in state and national parks because we enjoy the more minimalist camping experience. We chose to stay at the Petaluma KOA because we didn't see any other camping options close to downtown. That said, out of other KOAs we have driven by, this KOA is one of the most beautiful! We slept well and awoke to a group of peacocks strolling through our campsite..very neat!
Jun 20, 2015
I booked my site at approx. 12:30 PM on the *same* day of my stay by phone. I spent 5 to 10 minutes reviewing sites with the agent and chose one that had the privacy I wanted. When I arrived, the site was taken because I didn't pay extra to hold the site. Agent didn't tell me, and why should I need to if I am booking the day of my stay? Lame policy.
Jun 20, 2015
I love the this KOA for our quick getaway from the city. Our 2 girls have a really good time. I wish there was more parent or staff supervision of kids, as "kids were being kids" because no one was watching them. i.e. flips into pool, throwing footballs in pool, fighting on jump pillow.
Jun 20, 2015
Good location near San Francisco (San Francisco tour available)with clean pool and hot tub. Lots of activities for kids. Camping kitchen with sinks with hot water to wash dishes helpful. Shower area very small
Jun 18, 2015
Love the place, had a wonderful stay every time, but don't love the extra day use fees- it adds up fast, and wish the climbing wall was open way more- it is a great activity- why have it sitting there not in use.
Jun 18, 2015
We were there for two nights, arriving late Monday and leaving early Wednesday. The pool for closed for the entire day Tuesday. They kept pushing back the time it would open, meaning we sat around waiting ALL DAY. We came to enjoy this campground. A pool was a large part of it. My kids left disappointed. I feel like they could have let us know Monday when we were checking in it would be closed.
Jun 18, 2015
Very nice & pleasant KOA. A lot of amenities!
Jun 18, 2015
great time there
Jun 16, 2015
Campground was clean host and employees were extremely helpful and courteous however 300 sites is more campers them I personally like to camp with
Jun 16, 2015
I love this Koa staffs are really frindly and my kids love everything about it
Jun 15, 2015
I enjoyed the cleanliness of the facility and the newer bathrooms. The dryer was a little loud. Perhaps the sound could be dulled. I will be back for sure. It's a nice place to bring family.
Jun 15, 2015
The only problem I have with this koa is the PITBULL policy,to single out a particular breed of dog is wrong, I probably won't be back!
Jun 15, 2015
Kudos to Ryan, Mario and Mario's sister (I forget her name). The kids love them!
Jun 15, 2015
The KOA here was amazing! The management was kind and the sites were great
Jun 15, 2015
My family and I had the best time at koa Petaluma. They go above and beyond customer service and people entertainment. My favorite was DJ Lyle he does karaoke, black dance night and he also teaches the kids how to dance around the pool and a pool party. So much to choose from: from face painting to movie night and hay rides,all a blast. Best customer service ever thanks, Marie Wagner
Jun 15, 2015
Crean,good events, will be good to add For grown ups. Atore cool But prices a litterae higo, i will suggest drop the prices, overall great
Jun 15, 2015
Great time. Got a reservation last minute and still got a good site!
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Great time. Had fun with all the activities and was really great for my kids.
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
I purposely registered early to get a good campsite. The clerk understood and to my dismay we were given camp site 86 which we later learned is the site you receive the most complaints about. The light kept coming on and off throughout the night, out site was constantly intruded by other campers on their way to the bathroom, while leaving the bathroom shaking their hair getting us wet,loud talki
Jun 10, 2015
Great place, very helpful staff, well kept. Look dorward to the next time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.