San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 14, 2014
been visiting/staying at KOA for years and overall really enjoy it. Biggest reason why I'm leaning more towards not recommending people to go there is that it keeps getting more and more expensive(the prices in the store r rediculous). *Overall a good place for families to have a nice time. It's just getting way too expensive.
Jul 14, 2014
You must have an Army working there! This place is always so very clean and well run. My 9 year old LOVED all the activities from the rock wall to the jumper, the new baby goat named Sven, and of course the pool and hot tub!! See you again next year.
Jul 14, 2014
Site was nice but bathrooms were very crowded during the mornings. The other issue was that other campers arrived very late (1 am) and set up their camp sites during the middle of the night making it impossible to sleep.
Jul 14, 2014
We never had the time to get bored. The Grandkids played and had so many activities to do we couldn't do them all. We enjoyed the staff immensely. They were ALL kind and helpful. We will be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Got a little guff from the security guard warning us that we were in a family establishment. Seemed a little unwarranted and presumptive.
Jul 14, 2014
While it was a very busy Saturday in July it was a great deal of fun for my son....We got a last minute reservation so our spot wasn't the greatest, but he didn't care. It was close to the playground and rec room so that's all he cared about. Overall it was quiet at night and we slept well. Great location and a nice downtown too.
Jul 11, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. Love the activities for kids. The tour with John was an awesome experience!! Will be definitely coming back.
Jul 10, 2014
Awesome! We are coming back next year again. My kids loves it. We didn't want to leave. (Some staff members are nice some are rude, nobody is perfect.)
Jul 07, 2014
Nice location, friendly staff, good value for the money.
Jul 06, 2014
Debra kept the bathroom well stocked and cleaned. It is all hands on deck during the busy 7am hour. She did great. Props to the folks who probably rarely get a kudos. Toilet paper is important! Ps you could add a soap at kid level. Thx! My first KOA ever!
Jul 06, 2014
The staff is very kind, as well as position and services.
Jul 03, 2014
It's a very nice campsite! Didn't get a chance to use the Kamp Kitchen but it's really cool! I only used it to charge my cell phone lol. The washrooms are very nice. I wish the showers were a little bigger though. There wasn't anywhere to put my things. A bench and even some hanging hooks would've been nice. Shower caddy or shelf in the shower itself for shampoos etc would've been helpful.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family went with another family. They stayed in a cabin which was beautiful just hot to sleep in with the 102 weather and no A/C. As for my family we stayed in a tent on the upper lot and found not enough space for our large 6 people tent from costco and had to put our tent. The kid activities were awesome I think I loved the animals more then my kids but they loved all the activities.
Jul 02, 2014
Always enjoy KOAs. A little crowded but it worked out. I wished KOAs would make a bigger effort to try to accommodate members when they are full.
Jul 01, 2014
The staff were friendly and helpful and there were a lot of activities geared toward families with young children. They offered a tour of San Francisco which was good. Unfortunately, the place was extremely crowded and the bathrooms were filthy. It seems that they are cleaned on a regular basis, but guests seem to have such bad bathroom manners that they need a full-time bathroom attendant.
Jul 01, 2014
Simply AWESOME.
Jun 30, 2014
This KOA is pretty amazing. This would be a 10/5-star rating except that we were assigned a site next to the bathrooms that also had the septic tank/system on it. n top of that, the only flat spot to pitch the tent was directly next to the tank. We ended up pitching on our friends' site next door, 50 feet away. That site should not exist. Not Cool.
Jun 30, 2014
Overcrowded, tents were right next to one another. not enough bathrooms and not clean. Site was more Suited for a RV than tent.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Fun trip everything was as expected. Bathrooms got a little dirty but that's more due to people being pigs about it. Staff was all friendly. Had fun!
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time at the KOA. The amenities are great for kids but the camping situation was horrible especially considering the price. Our site didn't even have a fire pit just a field of grass with a picnic bench.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Please notify guests that site 295 is exposed to really bright light at nightime. It was a big incovenience to have a tent lit up like it was daytime at night
Jun 29, 2014
The campsite was practically sitting on top of the other campsites. There is hardly room for your car, tent and fire. There is not very much to do unless you are a child or have children. Extremely disappointed that I spent $40+ a night to practically camp in my backyard (on grass).The teens playing volleyball constantly walked through our site and hit my car with the ball several times.
Jun 28, 2014
We had a blast.. The grounds were amazing and clean. and well lit at night. Cant wait to come back. :)
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
My children had an amazing time at this KOA. There was so much to do! I chose KOA for safety reasons It was the perfect place for Mom and two kids to camp out in tent for a night. The only thing I would change for next time is the tent site (which was near the playground) that has less RV/car traffic) to a quieter spot.
Jun 25, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Wonderful campground! If only the mirror in the tent-site bathroom had been installed....had to walk to the Ritzy bathroom near the RV section to do my hair. Other than that, perfect! AWESOME setting and staff. Thank you. Thanks for the wonderful pancake breakfast on Sunday. It was a bonus.
Jun 24, 2014
i work close by. up to 16 hrs per day. i give you forty five dollars night to park in a camp site. i leave no trash. take an am shower and leave. easy money for you all....
Jun 23, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again! Only complaint was the smell of sewer that drifted through the campsite a couple of times.
Jun 23, 2014
Great activities for kids! Pool was a little crowded on Saturday but Sunday was great. DJ by the pool was fun on Saturday and played great music, the kids loved him. Got windy at times and a few umbrellas fell over. Felt safe and very clean.
Jun 23, 2014
We came here last summer for the first time and had to come back. My husband, 3 kids and I love it for the friendly staff, the endless fun activities even if it is car camping. Other visitors are so nice too. The store is well stocked and bathrooms super clean.
Jun 23, 2014
Amazing for kids. Our daughter and her fire enjoyed all the activities immensely. Could have some events geared towards adults. Other than that the trip was amazing..
Jun 23, 2014
Way too expensive and our site 112 had a light on all night shinning into our tent and the blower in the bathroom sounds like a spaceship about to take off.
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
Muy buena ,a mis hijas les encanta
Jun 21, 2014
Review based on the tent area. The grounds and facilities were well kept & clean. Smell of cow poop was extreme, especially at night. Kids loved the bouncy "pillow". Main complaint was the customer service. When I made the reservation, I told them that I had 7 people, 2 tents. Our small site, without any room to put both tents, safe from the fire. Not told that the closest bathroom was closed.
Jun 20, 2014
KOA is so nice, you can't even call it camping. It's like the Ritz of camping
Jun 19, 2014
Loved this campground! And the tour was wonderful.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
I was given an end spot when I booked the reservations and checked in. Then they squeezed a party with 3 large tents and 9 people next to us on a mystery Spot. I was forced to move my tent and be 6 feet away from their fire pit. It was very loud and the quit hours were not enforced.
Jun 18, 2014
Another Great stay at KOA Petaluma. Facilities are always very clean. Camping site restrooms & showers appeared to be a new remodel. The only problem was an unkind staff member that denied our daughter art & crafts because he said there was only 15 minutes left for craft time. It should be indicated on the run down of activities that certain events run 45 minutes and not a full hour.
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool needs a lifeguard. It was filled beyond capacity--an accident waiting to happen. The visibility was nonexistent. I could barely see my hand underwater.
Jun 16, 2014
Pleasently surprised! Plenty of fun for all of the family to enjoy.
Jun 16, 2014
I aways visit this KOA but this time am not happy about it first night the people that where in 298,297 where to loud I call like at 10:50 to let you guys know and the noise cotinous call again like at 11:30 because they where to loud and told me that they where there and talk to them but I guess they did not care noise still same kids screming loud music like until 1:40am next night same. :-(

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.