San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 07, 2014
Super friendly staff and lots of trees at this park. Great place if you have kids - lots things to do. The park is huge and the sites are close together. The roads are narrow making it difficult to maneuver around trees in some sites. We have a 40' motorhome with a tow vehicle and should not have believed that we didn't have to disconnect!
Jun 06, 2014
Very clean,helpful and pleasant. Many activities and close to SF. Very good tour and tour guide(John)
Jun 06, 2014
Our stay was to say the least a nightmare first of all this place is very tight for a big rig. I reserved and paid for a premier site witch I never received. After two sites finally gave me one That fit not a premier. Promised help to get branches off roof that never happened and when the wind changed direction the whole place smelled like manure
Jun 06, 2014
This was the nicest campground I have ever been to. We went into San Fran for the day, but the campsite was so nice and had so much to do we hated to leave for the day.
Jun 05, 2014
It is a great campground and we enjoyed our evenings around the campfire. Two things.. the dog park was always too wet and muddy to use, and our spot was 2 spots up from the playground. We were an adult group with no young children and would have prefered a spot farther away. Not being familiar with your campground we didn't realize what a problem it would be and didn't ask for a dif. site
Jun 05, 2014
We loved all the different activities for the family and kids. The Dj at the pooln was awesome, full of fun and good enrgy. Already planned our next camping trip.
Jun 05, 2014
Great place to stay for families - the activities are endless
Jun 05, 2014
A great KOA with clean restrooms. Could use more showers in the RV parking area. We are traving with small pop-up trailers, so no showers, the showers were full a lot of the time.
Jun 04, 2014
Very friendly staff. Park clean and lots of activities.
Jun 03, 2014
Stayed four nights while visiting San Francisco and the wine country. Great location for the area. The KOA was extremely well run. Big, clean, lots of space and friendly staff. Was VERY busy on the weekend with LOTS of children. But still everything was clean and well run.
Jun 03, 2014
Would like to have been further away from the kids area. Next time I'll know to ask. Great place, well kept and great facilities.
Jun 03, 2014
This campground was party central on friday and saturday night. I have never seen a campground put up with a group coming in and taking over the campground for there own party. It was a lot of drinking and parents not watching the kids. There was a kickball game in the middle of the road and my camper got nailed. I called to complain, but it did not make a difference.
Jun 03, 2014
Nice place with forest, no noise, excellent wifi. restroom additionnal will be appreciate.
Jun 03, 2014
We put this campground at the top of our list. Vvery friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome on arrival. Facilities are top notch with lots of activities and amenities. We will return.
Jun 03, 2014
The RV area under the trees was fine and had that been all we had to deal with would be a 5 star. But being next to the cabins, terrible.you don't enforce your own rules. There where per 4 cabins with excess of 40 people at each, at the same time. We come here for quiet not booze parties.
Jun 03, 2014
Le personnel est toujours souriant et prêt a aider! Le meilleur à date Propreté: impecable !
Jun 02, 2014
Every thing about my stay was great.The place was the cleanest I have ever stayed camping. The staff were all quick to respond and all seemed to enjoy their jobs. The price was a little bit higher than I am used to but by the condition of all the facilities I can understand why.
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
This was the first stay at a KOA for my family, and we loved it. We had so much fun doing the activities: petting zoo, swimming, playground, banana bicycles, jumping pillow. We camped in a tent and were pleased with the clean bathrooms. Our only complaint is about the noise. There is a private house on the other side of the KOA, and a group of teenagers had a loud party there until 3:00 a.m.
Jun 02, 2014
nice open spaces. no hiway noise. good family resort type of park. have rebooked for retrurn trip home. called RV friends from park told them to hook up and come. loved the setting.
Jun 02, 2014
Everyone was very nice and accommodating. Melissa was especially helpful and friendly. She would greet us and our dog Henry whenever she was out and about as I also saw her do to all campers. Her knowledge regarding the area was extremely helpful. I think all of the staff were great would and will stay there again:)
Jun 02, 2014
Very expensive. Sites not very level. Worst of all, charging $12.00 per person for 2 guests that joined us for dinner one night for 3 hours. Atrocious!!!!!
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Loved the campground. Clean and well kept. Friendly and welcoming staff. I took some points off of the rating due to loud music at night and early morning, and only two toilets for quite a few campers around us. This site would probably be better in the off season.
Jun 02, 2014
Wonderful family campground in the trees. A delightful surprise close to SF.
Jun 01, 2014
Awesome staff and the area is beautiful!! Campground was quiet and secure. We will be back
Jun 01, 2014
My wife & I are brand-new to truck camping, and we were greatly impressed with our back-in site. (Cable TV & WiFi hook-ups?!) It doesn't quite qualify as 'roughing it' as in my backpacking/tent-camping days, but we are still smiling!
May 31, 2014
By far the best koa we have ever stayed so far. Staff very helpfull and dedicated. Facilities are perfects and the site is beautiful.
May 31, 2014
Wonderful in all but one respect. The --I assume new--showers in the bathroom across from section B just down from the pool are the most terrible design I have ever encountered. No privacy,the spray from the one on the left cannot be directed, hits the wood floor, doesn't drain. Hooks are on the OUTSIDE of the door which can't be opened if another person showering across from it is getting dressed
May 31, 2014
Took the trip they provided to San Francisco. John was our driver and we had an excellent tour. Good place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.
May 30, 2014
Lots of children's activities, friendly staff and great location.
May 29, 2014
Enjoyed all the activities. Could never get the TV Cable signal working from slot 155.
May 29, 2014
We were extremely pleased with the guided tour of SF especially thanks to our guide Johnny.
May 28, 2014
Loved that Lyle was able to do 2 pool parties & kaorke this year.He really caters to the kids & keeps things fun!Appreciate at 10 pm staff go around and remind the loud music people of quiet time. Would recommend not watering the dog park so much.It was too muddy. I see the new sod, but excessive watering is not helping it grow & does more damage just section off area until its established
May 28, 2014
KOA Petaluma never disappoints. Woody and the team always make it a pleasant stay. Absolutely the best family vacation spot in the Bay Area.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
In particular, I would like to thank the Manager, Danny who went over and above to be very helpful with driving directions to destinations and places of interest. He cares about the guests and has a true passion to make your stay as good as possible. He should be commended and recognized for the a job well done! Thanks Danny.
May 28, 2014
Had a great time for the Memorial Day weekend! So many fun activities and very accommodating staff.
May 28, 2014
The only issue that I have is that the restrooms were always messy (not due to staff not keeping them clean) but inconsiderate campers. Otherwise the campground was clean, well kept and staff were immediately available, pleasant and willing to help in any way they could. We will stay here again!
May 27, 2014
Enjoyed our stay with you when we attended the 2014 BSA motorcycle rally. Camp staff were really friendly and made us and the bikes very welcome. The tour guides were knowledgeable and helpful, all in all a great week,thank you.
May 27, 2014
our trip started out pretty rough. Truck blew a head gasket had to be towed in with the trailer. Everyone there realize we are rough night and we're absolutely wonderful and kind. Even though it was a busy weekend, with a lot of people,facilities and staff was great. Can't wait to book next year
May 27, 2014
As usual we spent an enjoyable long weekend at the Petaluma KOA. There was tons for the kids to do. Between the pool and DJ Lyle it really made the trip for my kids. When they're happy I'm happy.
May 27, 2014
The stay is is fine, however, the check in is so slow. Have you got an express check in. All our info is alrexdy on your comp- ie credit card, site num, num of people, no dog. Vehicle pic. Why does it take so long to check in ? Packets could b made up in advance. Checked off battalbing Done. Not to mention standing in line to check in behind someone who wants a candy bar. How about a food only l
May 27, 2014
Loved this location! I have two kids age 9 and there were lots of activities for them. They kept really busy and we felt very comfortable in terms of safety. We used a tent site and it was nice and room. That said, only complaint was the smaller bathroom and shower. On a very busy weekend, it needs to be cleaned more frequently, thus the 4 stars. The big showers were fine but much further away.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
I really like this KOA except for I feel like the campground isn't kept up as nice as it has been in the past.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.