San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 24, 2014
Nicest KOA I've stayed at in the western U.S. We did the San Francisco bus tour with John as our guide. He made the trip perfect. Very enjoyable time. Would definately stay again. Thank you. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 24, 2014
There should be someone to escort people to their sites, this is a very big place. The exit need improvement, don't see how some of the big rigs eve get out.
Aug 24, 2014
We were liking out stay until Friday night when "Scream-fest" started in the Rec tent which we were soooooooo "lucky" to be right outside. Volulme should be much lower so those of us who do not want to attend are not subjected to the noise for 2 1/2 hrs. This tent should be down near the animals and away from sites. I will not come back because of this.
Aug 24, 2014
Very clean the staff was helpful, if headed this way again we would stay again.
Aug 23, 2014
This KOA is a great family campground. However, did not particularly like the assigned site next to Rec Hall which would attract people (= noise) late into the evening. As well,our site was used as a short cut by many to reach Rec Hall.
Aug 23, 2014
I did not like the petting zoo. No need for it. The animals would be happier somewhere else.
Aug 23, 2014
Great location. Just tooooo big. Kids everywhere.
Aug 23, 2014
tres gros site avec animations et grande piscine. un peu industriel, beaucoup de services
Aug 22, 2014
Very large campground with tons of stuff for kids to do. Great location! However, we found the campground very dirty. Cigarette butts, wine corks and candy wrappers were left behind at our site. Maybe most people don't care about the littered sites but it didn't go over well with us. In the nine days we were at the campground, we did not see any site maintenance. Wifi was weak as well.
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Love this place I do wish they had a kitty pool or water park so adults could use the hot tub without 10-15 kids
Aug 20, 2014
Very well organised campsite with lots of facilities and activities for the children
Aug 20, 2014
Lots of activities, friendly employees. A great place!
Aug 20, 2014
other than the water pressure appearing to be low, everything else was fine
Aug 20, 2014
BASIC "DIRT" SITE WE STAYED IN WASN'T MUCH. ALSO IT WAS ANNOYING WHEN OUR FRIENDS CAME TO PICK US UP FOR LUNCH; THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN REQUIRED TO PAY $14 TO DRIVE TO OUR SITE. THE LAUNDRY ROOM WAS CLEAN BUT REALLY, REALLY SMALL. WE WON'T STAY AGAIN.
Aug 20, 2014
Came here for the kids activities only to find out 1 day after check-in the activities were cancelled. When I called for a reservation, was told there would be activities. When I checked in, reception reviewed with me the list of activities on the hand-out. The next day I am told mgmt just realized local kids have gone back to school - hence the activities cancellation. Not good.
Aug 19, 2014
Great
Aug 19, 2014
nice park overall. showers by the pool need anti slip mats as the tile is slippery and my son fell several times. the shower/bath house near the pool is nice and new but warning, the showers are way to small and have no room to get dressed in or set anything down. prices are the highest of any KOA i have ever stayed at but the park has lots for thr kids to do.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
friendly staff, one of the best we will be back next year.
Aug 18, 2014
Great clean and fun facility if you have kids. Highly recommend John for the San Francisco tour. It was a great day in The City. I lived there for 10 years and he showed is things if never seen! Pure fun
Aug 18, 2014
After a very rocky start (poor site assignment after having called in advance) the stay was very nice.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Space 157 us the worst spot in the park. We were not asked if we wanted our site on the corner of what seemed the 405 freeway! Way too many kids. Could not even drive. Too many rules for me.
Aug 18, 2014
It worked for me but is a very busy spot to stay.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We liked the KOA and all the amenities. The staff was attentive and helpful. We really enjoyed the tour that was offered down to San Fransisco and John our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun. We didn't like our actual tent site. It was not level and the sprinklers turned on at 3:00am every morning soaking our tent. We did tell the staff about it but it was never addressed.
Aug 16, 2014
Had a great time with the family, kids loved it and want to go back next year.
Aug 16, 2014
Absolutely loved.. Super,super people. Something for everyone... Best I have been at
Aug 16, 2014
Great fun with our 6 year old grandson! Lots for him to do. Great staff! The one thing that I would recommend fixing is the very long wait to buy something from the store. You have to stand in the check in line which can take a VERY long time !
Aug 16, 2014
We arrived on a Sunday nite - very busy. Driving a 40 ft motorhome pulling a car. Could not find our site as row sign hidden behind garbage. Got lost. Very frustrating. Then didn't fit in site. Had to ask for another one. Would have appreciated a guide to our site as in other Koa's. Went on the tour with John. Thought it was fantastic! Best part of our stay.
Aug 16, 2014
Always a great time. Thirty minutes from home but feels like hundreds of miles away. Very clean and friendly staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Pleasant, relaxing. Lots of amenities close by. Definite will return
Aug 16, 2014
AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!!!
Aug 16, 2014
We had heard so many great things about the KOA in Petaluma that we stayed a couple of nights with our granddaughters. Everything was wonderful, we all had a great time. We will be back....thank you.
Aug 16, 2014
Très bien équipé certes, mais pas assez calme. Le soir c'est vraiment trop bruyant jusqu'à 11h... Le prix est également trop élevé pour un camping...surtout pour les tentes 45 dollars pour avoir un terrain en pente, c'est trop (sans compter les taxes!) Manque un peu d'information touristique, peu de conseil de vives voix (uniquement des flyers )
Aug 15, 2014
This koa is so easily accessible to all you want to see and do. It is a great home base. We travelled to pt Reyes San Francisco Santa Rosa for a ew wineries plus dis a great walking tour of Petaluma. The San Francisco tour provided by koa for a fee was by far the best tour out there. Be sure to find out when john Horton is driving. He is a native San Franciscan. Awesome!!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Just very nice and cosy!
Aug 15, 2014
It was a lot of fun great for both adults & kids. Best place I have camped at but 1st time camping at a KOA camp ground.
Aug 14, 2014
The SF tour was awesome, John did a great job. The park was packed and is confusing to navigate, tight turns with overhanging trees. Someone should have escorted us to our site. Other campers were using to roadway, and in an effort to get around them I hit a low hanging tree branch with the rear of the MH while making a turn. Cable TV was bad and no one came to investigate after we called to o
Aug 14, 2014
We really enjoyed our time at the park. It is well-kept and relatively peaceful given the fact that it's very much a park designed for kids and family. We appreciated all of the fantastic activities, and if given the opportunity we would stay there again.
Aug 14, 2014
Great campground with lots of stuff for kids to do. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Loving staying there, just hard to get in unless you book way ahead!
Aug 14, 2014
The Petaluma KOA is most efficiently operated, courteous & knowledgeable staff, as well as possibly the greatest location in the U.S.!! Even the dog run is one of the best & cleanest we've experience! Our hats off to you!
Aug 14, 2014
I was disappointed that for an expensive koa , the site was not level and we had glass under our Rv. Also don't know why this koa has a check out time of 11 am where everywhere else is 12 noon? maybe for those of us who are older and traveling and do not want to use all your facilities we could have a discounted rate. We have stayed at many koa's over the years and I was disappointed in this one.
Aug 13, 2014
Good facilities and pool. Public transport options to San Francisco are very limited (we were advised only on Wednesday). So you either have to book a guided tour or rent a car when traveling with an RV.
Aug 13, 2014
At our site we got to see 2 red tail hawks up in the redwood trees. It was beautiful.
Aug 13, 2014
location, the ease getting in & out was good.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.