San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 13, 2014
Good facilities and pool. Public transport options to San Francisco are very limited (we were advised only on Wednesday). So you either have to book a guided tour or rent a car when traveling with an RV.
Aug 13, 2014
At our site we got to see 2 red tail hawks up in the redwood trees. It was beautiful.
Aug 13, 2014
location, the ease getting in & out was good.
Aug 13, 2014
first class best one I ever stay at the KOA we drove all over north America in the last 10 years 130,000. mi
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Very nice campground. The bathrooms were a bit old but were kept clean.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Awful wifi when campground is full. Sites need more routine clean up. Busy at check in, need to upgrade method. Staff could escort camper to site to avoid problems
Aug 12, 2014
Have stayed here many times before, but unsure if we will again. Staff allowed a drunken, noisy group of 15-20 people to use a site rules say only 6 and one car may occupy. Also, 5-6 cars overflowed the site. We were told rules were bent because it was a family reunion. I suggested they be moved to the group area, but this was ignored. My email to camp mgr has also been ignored.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay. Note: Car rentals are not available on weekends.
Aug 12, 2014
Site was not uneven and dirty. Sewer connection was higher then trailer outlet. Loud talking and laughter until 12:30AM. Overall unpleasant experience.
Aug 12, 2014
Check in was a breeze, even though they were very busy. Upon driving to our camp site we came across "tent city". The sites are so tiny our neighbors had placed their tent within 3 feet of our fire pit. Melissa at the front desk was very helpful about my concerns, and found me a much better site in the RV section. Melissa saved our camping trip, and gave us wonderful memories. You go girl!!
Aug 12, 2014
Great activities for kids. Close enough to San Francisco for day trip, and near my favorite brewery, Lagunitas!
Aug 11, 2014
Facility O.K. Internet connection throughout camp was poor. Tengonet as ISP is never very good anywhere we have stayed.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Overall great for the kids! Sites too small for camping I think! But did a good job keeping the place fairly clean!
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed here with our 2 & 3 yr olds in a TT. The place was packed, but we never felt like there were too many people. Would be nice for a little kid area as the playground was sized for ~4yr olds and up.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Nice campground. Just don't be near the activity center as game noise and foot traffic through your site are constant.
Aug 10, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff. Very kid friendly. Great location.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Ils offrent une excursion à San Francisco qui est vraiment complète. Le guide John est vraiment intéressant, il connait la ville et son histoire. Il nous fait découvrir chaque recoin de S F Il ne compte pas son temps ne ménage pas ses explications en résumé : à la fin de l'excursion tu as la certitude d'avoir vraiment tout vu et su de S F A NE PAS MANQUER
Aug 07, 2014
Employee was very helpful , camprground very clean and well positionned to visit San Francisco and the valley of Sonoma and Napa . Thank you !!!! To all KOA staff !!!
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Such fun,great service,awesome people,clean,will always come back :)
Aug 07, 2014
Was unable to use all amenities , hence the 4 stars, however was impressed with the large variety of activities for all ages. Clean but well used restrooms, common areas not crowded for the number of sites, but would like to see some sand put on the area entering the dog park since the grass is gone. But I could see where the tried to re-sod, but just too much activity . And that is a good thing.
Aug 06, 2014
We had a great time!
Aug 06, 2014
my grandson and I on abiys outing it was great
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
What a great place to spend time with friends and family.
Aug 05, 2014
We had such a great time and will definitely visit again!
Aug 05, 2014
Was traveling from out of town and was disappointed that family visitors had to pay $12.00 a person to come see us. So they chose not to visit.
Aug 05, 2014
We are former Novoto ites, so it is a great place to hook up with old friends and family.
Aug 05, 2014
Our family (especially our 2 sons ages 11 & 9 ) just LOVE the Petaluma KOA!!! We know they're safe riding around the camp ground on their bikes without us worrying. They have the BEST pool! :D
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
We really enjoyed our visit. You need to fix the brakes of the banana bikes. Mine didn't work and my son rented one the next day and his brakes did't work, You should do a safety checks on each bike each day.Tag bikes so they don't get used until fixed.
Aug 05, 2014
have children and want activities, then this place is for you. I on the other hand felt like a combo of county fair & rv dealership. Clean place, all workers extremely nice. When everyone lights a campfire it's kinda overwhelming...just didn't feel like a 'campground' more like a "Kids ground' have to really keep your eyes wide open kids on scooters everywhere...more quiet for these 50+...
Aug 05, 2014
Great campground with so much to entertain the kids. We liked it so much, we started storing our RV here and they tow it to our campsite on check in day and tow it back to storage upon check out. Love it!
Aug 05, 2014
In our opinion----Horrible service. Incompetent employees and RUDE night helpers, VERY little respect for disabled people. NEVER will I stay here again. NEVER. It was that bad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

8/6 called cj. arrived after hours and didn't have access to amenities.
Aug 04, 2014
This was our second stay. This time we brought our 3 year old granddaughter and she had a great time. Melissa Herald, one of your employees, deserves special recognition. She was a great help to us while we were there and is a terrific ambassador for KOA and the Petaluma campground in particular.
Aug 04, 2014
Had our RV in the storage at the campground. Then stayed at a corner site. Everything worked well. Site was great. though WiFi transmit rate could be better.
Aug 04, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.