San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
We arrived on a Sunday nite - very busy. Driving a 40 ft motorhome pulling a car. Could not find our site as row sign hidden behind garbage. Got lost. Very frustrating. Then didn't fit in site. Had to ask for another one. Would have appreciated a guide to our site as in other Koa's. Went on the tour with John. Thought it was fantastic! Best part of our stay.
Aug 16, 2014
Always a great time. Thirty minutes from home but feels like hundreds of miles away. Very clean and friendly staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Pleasant, relaxing. Lots of amenities close by. Definite will return
Aug 16, 2014
AWESOME PLACE TO STAY!!!
Aug 16, 2014
We had heard so many great things about the KOA in Petaluma that we stayed a couple of nights with our granddaughters. Everything was wonderful, we all had a great time. We will be back....thank you.
Aug 16, 2014
Très bien équipé certes, mais pas assez calme. Le soir c'est vraiment trop bruyant jusqu'à 11h... Le prix est également trop élevé pour un camping...surtout pour les tentes 45 dollars pour avoir un terrain en pente, c'est trop (sans compter les taxes!) Manque un peu d'information touristique, peu de conseil de vives voix (uniquement des flyers )
Aug 15, 2014
This koa is so easily accessible to all you want to see and do. It is a great home base. We travelled to pt Reyes San Francisco Santa Rosa for a ew wineries plus dis a great walking tour of Petaluma. The San Francisco tour provided by koa for a fee was by far the best tour out there. Be sure to find out when john Horton is driving. He is a native San Franciscan. Awesome!!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Just very nice and cosy!
Aug 15, 2014
It was a lot of fun great for both adults & kids. Best place I have camped at but 1st time camping at a KOA camp ground.
Aug 14, 2014
The SF tour was awesome, John did a great job. The park was packed and is confusing to navigate, tight turns with overhanging trees. Someone should have escorted us to our site. Other campers were using to roadway, and in an effort to get around them I hit a low hanging tree branch with the rear of the MH while making a turn. Cable TV was bad and no one came to investigate after we called to o
Aug 14, 2014
We really enjoyed our time at the park. It is well-kept and relatively peaceful given the fact that it's very much a park designed for kids and family. We appreciated all of the fantastic activities, and if given the opportunity we would stay there again.
Aug 14, 2014
Great campground with lots of stuff for kids to do. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Loving staying there, just hard to get in unless you book way ahead!
Aug 14, 2014
The Petaluma KOA is most efficiently operated, courteous & knowledgeable staff, as well as possibly the greatest location in the U.S.!! Even the dog run is one of the best & cleanest we've experience! Our hats off to you!
Aug 14, 2014
I was disappointed that for an expensive koa , the site was not level and we had glass under our Rv. Also don't know why this koa has a check out time of 11 am where everywhere else is 12 noon? maybe for those of us who are older and traveling and do not want to use all your facilities we could have a discounted rate. We have stayed at many koa's over the years and I was disappointed in this one.
Aug 13, 2014
Good facilities and pool. Public transport options to San Francisco are very limited (we were advised only on Wednesday). So you either have to book a guided tour or rent a car when traveling with an RV.
Aug 13, 2014
At our site we got to see 2 red tail hawks up in the redwood trees. It was beautiful.
Aug 13, 2014
location, the ease getting in & out was good.
Aug 13, 2014
first class best one I ever stay at the KOA we drove all over north America in the last 10 years 130,000. mi
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Very nice campground. The bathrooms were a bit old but were kept clean.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Awful wifi when campground is full. Sites need more routine clean up. Busy at check in, need to upgrade method. Staff could escort camper to site to avoid problems
Aug 12, 2014
Have stayed here many times before, but unsure if we will again. Staff allowed a drunken, noisy group of 15-20 people to use a site rules say only 6 and one car may occupy. Also, 5-6 cars overflowed the site. We were told rules were bent because it was a family reunion. I suggested they be moved to the group area, but this was ignored. My email to camp mgr has also been ignored.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay. Note: Car rentals are not available on weekends.
Aug 12, 2014
Site was not uneven and dirty. Sewer connection was higher then trailer outlet. Loud talking and laughter until 12:30AM. Overall unpleasant experience.
Aug 12, 2014
Check in was a breeze, even though they were very busy. Upon driving to our camp site we came across "tent city". The sites are so tiny our neighbors had placed their tent within 3 feet of our fire pit. Melissa at the front desk was very helpful about my concerns, and found me a much better site in the RV section. Melissa saved our camping trip, and gave us wonderful memories. You go girl!!
Aug 12, 2014
Great activities for kids. Close enough to San Francisco for day trip, and near my favorite brewery, Lagunitas!
Aug 11, 2014
Facility O.K. Internet connection throughout camp was poor. Tengonet as ISP is never very good anywhere we have stayed.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Overall great for the kids! Sites too small for camping I think! But did a good job keeping the place fairly clean!
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed here with our 2 & 3 yr olds in a TT. The place was packed, but we never felt like there were too many people. Would be nice for a little kid area as the playground was sized for ~4yr olds and up.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Nice campground. Just don't be near the activity center as game noise and foot traffic through your site are constant.
Aug 10, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff. Very kid friendly. Great location.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Ils offrent une excursion à San Francisco qui est vraiment complète. Le guide John est vraiment intéressant, il connait la ville et son histoire. Il nous fait découvrir chaque recoin de S F Il ne compte pas son temps ne ménage pas ses explications en résumé : à la fin de l'excursion tu as la certitude d'avoir vraiment tout vu et su de S F A NE PAS MANQUER
Aug 07, 2014
Employee was very helpful , camprground very clean and well positionned to visit San Francisco and the valley of Sonoma and Napa . Thank you !!!! To all KOA staff !!!
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Such fun,great service,awesome people,clean,will always come back :)
Aug 07, 2014
Was unable to use all amenities , hence the 4 stars, however was impressed with the large variety of activities for all ages. Clean but well used restrooms, common areas not crowded for the number of sites, but would like to see some sand put on the area entering the dog park since the grass is gone. But I could see where the tried to re-sod, but just too much activity . And that is a good thing.
Aug 06, 2014
We had a great time!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.