San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 03, 2015
Our family and friends had a wonderful weekend at the Petaluma KOA! The kids enjoyed all the activities and the parents enjoyed the relaxation and freedom.
Aug 03, 2015
The campground seemed over-booked and was very noisy. We weren't able to relax at the pool due to the huge amount of rowdy kids. NOT a relaxing experience at all.
Aug 03, 2015
Well, it started out rough. I had made reservations for a tent space with electricity/water about 1 1/2 months in advance. When we arrived we were given the worst campsite I've ever seen. But the staff found us a lovely RV site in the back that cost more, but turned out to be nearly perfect. We loved the events, the hayride, the playground, the pool, the bouncy pillow, the petting zoo, etc.
Aug 03, 2015
This is our 2nd stay at this KOA location. We really like this KOA and that is why we came back. There's plenty of things to do all within short drive away!
Aug 03, 2015
This KOA has a very friendly staff and so much to do for the kids. It was like an amusement park with activities all day long.I'm sure this is why the price to camp was so high.If you don't have kids not a place for you. Our one complaint was that the sites were littered with previous campers items. we cleaned up dog food,cigarette butts, water balloon pieces etc.
Aug 03, 2015
The biggest downside to our start were other campers walking through our campsite at all hours of the day and night. I am disappointed that people don't use common sense to find the path two spaces down.
Aug 03, 2015
The only problem my husband & I had were the young children splashing in the hot tub as if it were their bathtub. Children should not be in hot tubs as the temp of the water is not healthy for them. They also make it impossible for older guests to relax in it.
Aug 03, 2015
First time at a KOA, it was enjoyable! Lots of activities for our kiddos.
Aug 03, 2015
The site we were at was not very level which made it a little difficult for set-up.
Aug 03, 2015
Beautiful grounds; liked the very large pool; being close to San Fran was the reason we 'reserved in advance' ; Very great value!
Aug 03, 2015
Very pleasant. The camp was very family friendly. It was far enough from the major highway that one did not hear the traffic. No plane or train noises either.
Aug 02, 2015
we liked your campsite but 2 things we didn't like so much.1.there is quite some noise on weekend mornings because of grandma's coffee that is sold right next to where we stood. please start with this later, or do it somewhere else. same for the morning gymnastics that we heard early in de the morning. 2.we asked before we came if it was easy to get to SF, and we were told yes, but it was difficul
Aug 02, 2015
When we came there was a tent placed at our site and there was trash on the site. We could not get information about where to park our RV if we wanted to visit San Francisco. We were offered the guided tour for approximately 300 dollars for our family. Way too expensive! We parked our RV for free at the Marina in San Francisco!
Aug 02, 2015
Stayed 7 days....great folks. The most I have ever paid for a campground!
Aug 02, 2015
Overpriced, staff not friendly, difficult to physically enter, overcrowded. I felt like I was staying at a crowded zoo or crummy amusement park.
Aug 02, 2015
the pads need to be of hard surface ,too much dirt!
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
We love this place. We camp here annually with our grown kids, their spouses and our 4 grand kids ages 4-9. We look forward to our next visit to this wonderful camp / resort!!
Aug 01, 2015
Plenty to do. Big pool.
Aug 01, 2015
Need more people to pick up litter around campground. Staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of activities.
Aug 01, 2015
Lots to do for my grandson! Staff was very professional. We really enjoyed our stay!
Aug 01, 2015
Although there were many campers around it was peacefully quiet at the campsite under the trees
Aug 01, 2015
we stay here all the time, the staff are always friendly and the sites are the best
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night. This KOA is awesome and seems to be a great place for families with children....so much to do!
Jul 31, 2015
We had a great stay, two nights, with our two babies and two dogs. The grounds were clean and well maintained, our site was large and felt reasonably private. There were so many activities to do, that we didn't even get to them all. The kids had fun, making it an easier experience for mom and dad. Planning to stay again on the return trip if there's room!
Jul 31, 2015
We come here often and will be back again!
Jul 31, 2015
There is absolutely no water pressure making showers in your RV impossible. It is very overpriced.
Jul 31, 2015
it will be nice if you have 2 heated swimming pool! it was kinda crowded. But on top of that, The place is awesome!
Jul 30, 2015
We enjoyed the facilities but we're disappointed in the handling of our day guests. We had made & prepaid for their admission. Multiple guests were told they couldn't drive in to drop off food, or family members before parking at the overflow lot. I booked this event months in advance. At the weekend of the event, I was told things had changed. I'm skeptical about future stays.
Jul 30, 2015
the sites were very small barely fit a trailer in them and it was very unfriendly toward a second car I would never go back there
Jul 30, 2015
Great experience. Excellent staff, clean restrooms, shaded site. Had to do some side to side leveling, but this was an excellent campground.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
I first visited this KOA with my folks. My son had such a good time that I decided this would be the first outing for our new travel trailer. Everyone was extremely helpful, the campsite was fantastic, and we had a great time. Thank you for such a wonderful campground.
Jul 29, 2015
We have camped in 43 states,100s of campgrounds and Petaluma KOA RANKS in the top 3 of them all,if not number 1. Kid friendly, camper friendly! I cannot say enough good things about it. Where else can you have a giant redwood tree ON your campsite. Magnificent!!! Myself, my wife and my kids recommend this campground to anyone who enjoys being in a friendly beautiful well maintained campground.
Jul 29, 2015
Beautiful facilities and activities that numerous and varied. A terrific family destination.
Jul 29, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. We would definetly come back
Jul 29, 2015
It was a blast, our kids enjoyed all of the great activities offered at the resort. We will be back!
Jul 29, 2015
Very nice and clean. Enjoyed our short stay. Our dogs loved the treats provided by a very friendly maintenance person!
Jul 28, 2015
have stayed at this particular KOA going on 10 times over the last two decades. always clean, friendly and thing for the kids.
Jul 28, 2015
Everything was good except 1)there was never dog poop bags at the dog park every time we went. Several dog owners did not clean up after their dogs 2) was no PD newspapers in box
Jul 28, 2015
Our grandchildren had a great time in the pool, on the bouncy pillow, at the ice cream social, at the prom, at the movies, at the petting farm. They love going to KOA's!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Pool was closed first day. Was offered banana bike but was taken away ten minutes after getting them because of time.... Laundry room was dirty and unkept. Our firewood was stolen...showers were freezing cold. Highly disappointed.
Jul 27, 2015
Some of the sites in the campground can be very tight for maneuvering big rigs. Our first assigned site was too tight for our 5th wheel. However, the staff was very accommodating in reassigning us to another site. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Super fun activity filled weekend. Wish checkout was a tad later!
Jul 27, 2015
It was great
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA has a lot going on. There is a lot to do for families; the pool and hot tub, banana bikes, karaoke petting farm, and giant bouncing pillow. But this place is just too big with too many campers. The spaces are relatively small so you have the feeling of being in a city surrounded by people, not the feeling of peaceful camping.
Jul 27, 2015
The only issue this time was a rude seasonal worker at the front gate who have my wife an unnecessary amount of attitude becouse she couldn't remember the gate code and I forgot to give her the white pass. East mistake, but next time hold the attitude.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.