San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 22, 2013
Good location, nice playground, Top crowded
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
We had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the San Fran trip with Donna. Thanks, Tom
Aug 20, 2013
Great campground with lots of little touches and details.
Aug 20, 2013
Well organized and professionally managed. Clean restrooms and showers. A very family-oriented place BUT you should have an "adults only" time at the pool (perhaps 5:00-6:00 p.m. or later) for those not traveling with kids but who would like a swim. It really is a gong show over there.Most of the upper campsites have the sewage outflow caps positioned uphill from the RV site. This should be fixed.
Aug 20, 2013
You can stay here and never leave and have a great time if you bring children. In the summer it's busy with kids (in the pool, on their bikes, etc.) They have tons for kids to do. For those of us without kids, the place is well staffed, restrooms are clean and have free showers. The coffee cart in the morning, breakfast for $3, and friendly people are great.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Bathrooms were a little untidy but understandable with the amount of people on the grounds. Took the tour from the campground and would highly recommend. John ( the tour guy) was amazing and truly knowledgeable. Would love to come back and take the trip again and stay longer. Thanks for a good time.
Aug 20, 2013
One thing I did not care for was the site was assigned to us the day we arrived. We were really disappointed - it was totally bare with no trees to provide any shade. The next day we went to speak with someone at the front desk to see if we could move. They did let us move to a much better site. I feel like they nickel & dime you for everything even though you already paid a lot to stay there.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
This was the third time visiting your camp in recent years. This time weather was not supportive, but we made most of it. Another small thing was that the site that we occupied was not leveled at all and we found ourselves every morning on the bottom of the tent. First night was funny, but next time I will make sure I do not get this site. Very clean facilites and great swimming pool
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
site was unpleasant because it was dirt, not gravel, grass sparse with plenty of weeds and debris on ground from previous campers; less than we have enjoyed in the past
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Great spot at the end of row C. Loved the swing and wooden chair for 2 with fire pit. Great pine trees and what a fun place for families with children. So many activities for them. A wonderful place. We will stay there again.
Aug 20, 2013
Lots to do for the family. Bathrooms were clean, the shower heads were terrible though. The pool was reaaly great, and movie night by the pool was fun :-). I wished there was a bit more privacy between sites, but overall we really enjoyed our stay and it was only 40 minutes to 6 Flags and 5 to the Lagunitas brewery :-)
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Nice campground. Very crowded in weekends. Stayed at a site near pool. Woke up 3 times because of a loud bell ringing(?!)
Aug 20, 2013
Not Big Rig friendly. Could not open awnings, trees in the way. No room to park tow. Pine sap all over rig. No escort to site.
Aug 20, 2013
The front desk clerk was very helpful and made our checkin very easy. We have stayed here several times and this was the easiest checkin. There was a very noisy party in the tent, but it ended on time.
Aug 20, 2013
what a wonderful CLEAN facility everyone who works there that we had an interaction with was friendly and seemed very knowledgeable
Aug 19, 2013
What a wonderful campground. Such a nice change from the "sardine" camping the other Koa's seem to have. Very clean. Helpful staff. Huge pool, alot of lounge chairs . We took the tour of San Francisco, wonderful tour Guide (John), very knowledgeable, a must see and do. On our way back to Canada we have been telling everyone to go to this campground. It's also dog friendly. Very easy to get to.
Aug 19, 2013
The reason I'm not sure if I'll be back is and that itt ould be okay if the crafts an extra things for free. But when your child wants to do everything and everything costs, it doesn't make for a pleasant stay. At other koa's the fun things are free. And that justifies the higher cost of camping to be there.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great Kamp Ground with alot of things to keep the kid busy.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Had a great time, our first camp out of the heat in August. Grandkids love the activity especially the hay ride and rock wall
Aug 19, 2013
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!!!
Aug 19, 2013
Great campground and we enjoyed the KOA San Fran tour. Well worth it. Can't believe this good a campground doesn't have good WiFi. Unable to use it which accounts for the lower rating
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
The numbering of the slot should be clearly posted to relive confusion
Aug 19, 2013
Our first time here was a delightful surprise. Came with our grand daughters, our adult kids and neighbors. We especially Enjoyed the pool with the kids. Participated in many activities, like Kareoke, wagon ride, ice cream social. But we LOVED the Polynesean show and plan to go back for it next year!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Huge campground,very few restrooms,so expect long wait in the mornings/evenings.Tent space had sprinklers(buried in the ground)coming off in the middle of the night,so you find everything wet in the morning.Very competent staff.
Aug 18, 2013
Efficient, clean and welcoming. This was our best stay in 2 weeks and 4,000 km of camping in the western US. The pool was great, the washrooms and showers always clean, staff friendly and campground quiet. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Friendly helpful staff. Really appreciate the connections to rental car and tours. Enterprise picked us up at the office. Excellent laundry room and rest rooms.
Aug 18, 2013
site 171 is a bit too small to enjoy
Aug 18, 2013
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Petaluma KOA. It is a great place for a home base in the bay area/wine country. Our kids are grown but it looks like a great place for families. We love the pull-through spots.
Aug 17, 2013
Had so much trouble with wifi signal that I gave up and we left one day earlier. At $70/d I was expecting a better. Next time in SF, will be staying in a different campground. When we asked for better signal, we changed site (30A not 50A) w/o credit. Not better. They even suggested that we go to Denny's Restaurant if we had an emergency and we had to Skype our family back in Qu├ębec. :(
Aug 17, 2013
Washers machine and Wifi Internet doesn't work efficiency
Aug 17, 2013
We were greeted by KOA's competent and friendly staff when we arrived and also throughout our stay. We were especially pleased with the concern and assistance we received when our 6 yr old grandson had a bike crash and needed help from the staff. Thanks KOA Petaluma...we plan to return soon.
Aug 17, 2013
Check in employees attitude was 'cool to cold'. Asked to sign legal release. No explanation other than its a registration form. Never seen anything like this at a KOA nor other RV park Not a positive start. Difficult to make a 90%+ turn into lane assigned space located. Too many small units in spaces for big rigs 45'+. Extended checkout by 1 hr then scolded in person 4 not leaving @ check out time
Aug 17, 2013
we had a great time!
Aug 17, 2013
I was going to bring a broken shower head to the attention of the front desk. However, the shower head was replaced immediately. Great way to stay ahead of the game. For me, that was VERY MUCH noticed! Thank you, Bob
Aug 17, 2013
WE REALLY ENJOYED THIS CAMPGROUND CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.