San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Overwhelming presence of RVs, guessing many people "live" there year-round. Felt cabins and tents and RVs were too closely packed in together, could hear conversation next door. Really wish there would have been a reading light next to the bed in the studio lodge. Otherwise nice!
Sep 08, 2014
Fun, friendly, clean and a great place for kids to be kids and parents to relax and enjoy.
Sep 08, 2014
Kids always have a blast when we come here. Staff was great. Showers were not as clean this time. Last time there was always someone coming around to dump the trash cans. We did it ourselves which ok but nicer to see campgrounds cleaner when everyone was busy doing their activities. This time there were tons of flies everywhere. Other than that, we had a great time!
Sep 08, 2014
I think the wristbands are insulting and degrading and show the owners are mistrusting customers. The camp is clean and very family-friendly.
Sep 08, 2014
This campsite was clean and had plenty of things and activities to keep the kids entertained. We all absolutely loved our stay and plan on returning soon.
Sep 07, 2014
Lovely, quiet night in a cabin, along a 20-hour journey. Thanks for your kindness!
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Friendly staff. This campsite is family friendly. There were many kid activities. Bathrooms clean. We loved the kampers kitchen by the pool. We stayed i in a cabin, i would highly recommend. Great experience.
Sep 02, 2014
We had a great time my family and I love this KOA best stay the beds are so comfortable lots of fun an d activities for the children look forward to going back !!
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Overall it was good for my first time. However it was surprising to be up all night my last night because the smoke dector battery was low and beeped all night.
Sep 02, 2014
Nice cabin, lots of activities, clean restrooms and showers. One comment: please consider allowing PVs (personal vaporizers) in the pool area. I was told by a staff member (very apologetically) that PVs were not allowed.
Sep 02, 2014
the kids had a great time as there was so much for them to do. The best KOA in CA. We've gone to 8 of them. great place you have
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Very easy and fun weekend. So much for kids to do, and having meals for purchase was very convenient.
Sep 01, 2014
Not recommended to anybody. Staff is almost harassing us asking every two hours to move our car, when we are still unloading our stuff. Other campsite have two cars or more for more than a day and they did not get sited for having multiple vehicle.we camp to relax and that was annoying. Poor customer service. Not planning to come back to any KOA campground anywhere.
Sep 01, 2014
great! only wish the BBQ had more food options and was open longer
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
great location for exploring the Bay area and areas north of the city. Very quiet while we were there..but this is a HIGH density campground and could be noisy and cramped during busy weeks/weekends. Nice staff.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
I enjoyed the stay so much that I made reservation for next year when I left. The only suggestion I have is that staying at the top of the hill was great however there were not enough bathrooms for the amount of campers. We had to wait in line or go to another camp area
Aug 26, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Very fun times! Bathrooms were in good shape,plenty of things for kids to do. This is our 2nd time staying, will come back for sure.
Aug 25, 2014
our kids had a blast with all the activities and the lovely pool.
Aug 25, 2014
My family and friends had a great time at the Petaluma KOA, can't wait to come back.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
My family had such a great time. Dj lyle and the karoake was such a hit! They loved the pet farm and bounce pillow and music by the pool too. I am.so impressed! Our cabin was so clean and for being non campers we were able to camp without buying alot of things like chairs and bbqs too. Super.fun! Thank you koa petaluma!
Aug 25, 2014
Delightful location, Clint have been a more pleasant stay.
Aug 24, 2014
We stayed in a lodge cabin and the cabin exceeded our expectations. We were there for 6 nights and I was only able to get on the internet once for a few mins. Lots for the kids to do. The grounds were okay. I would not tent camp there. Staff was great!
Aug 24, 2014
We've stayed here several times with our rv and in cabins. First time in delux lodge cabin though. Expensive but very nice.
Aug 22, 2014
Everything for the most part was great. I just wish when I request a specific room I get it and don't have to go back to the office to request another room because two years in a row I get the wrong room even after I have requested it on line.
Aug 22, 2014
Great environment and even greater staff! Our cabin was cozy and clean and our kids loved all the activities. We are making this trip an annual family outing. Thanks to the friendly staff
Aug 21, 2014
Mostly great but had to wait for propane since there was none ready when we went to grill our first night. Also, activities the next day had been cancelled, but when I complained they found someone to open the activities later in the day to accommodate us and gave us a free coupon for the banana bikes. They also did not have enough toilet paper or trash bags for 3 nights but we had some with us.
Aug 20, 2014
We have stayed here every year for the past 5 years.It seemed like there was a lot more litter this year and lines at the bathroom which I have never experienced before. we rented banana bikes and then went back the next day to rent again but the employee was new and didn't know how to ring up the bikes on a credit crd so she wrote down our cc numbers on pieces of paper.I am nervous about cc fraud
Aug 18, 2014
I stayed in a preferred cabin and it was great as usual. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Kid friendly activities are always a bonus! The only negative I can say would be cleanliness of the camp sites themselves. There was a lot of trash (paper bits, broken plastic utensils, etc.) in the dirt. This is my 6th year at this KOA and the first time I've noticed so much trash.
Aug 18, 2014
We've been coming to this KOA for many years and were just SLIGHTY disappointed with this visit. Assigned cabin 83 and things needed attention. A huge tree branch nearly fell on us and had to be cut down! Light bulb was replaced, door handle was dangling but MOST disappointing was the screen latch. We asked from day 1 for a latch but never got one so dogs kept running out of cabin. Told we get one
Aug 18, 2014
The staff was interesteing but the over all kampground gets a 10 in my book. So much for the kids todo and the lodges were awesome
Aug 18, 2014
Super fun and seemingly safe, supportive, activity-rich enormous vacation "resort" for the kids. We stayed in a little "family Kamp" cabin...ask for one next to a water spigot:)
Aug 18, 2014
Facilities were great and so was staff. Was not thrilled with a staff member named Ryan. He was way over the top. My 5 year old was afraid to go on the jump pillow because of the way Ryan was talking to the other kids. We avoided all activities that he was supervising. His heart seemed to be in the right place and I appreciated how seriously he took his job but he was often inappropriate.
Aug 18, 2014
Going to KOA camp has become a family tradition once a year. Watching my grandkids enjoying all your facilities and events, fulfill completely our expectations. Thank you so much for thinking in all.
Aug 18, 2014
MY kids had a wonderful time during our stay at KOA the only thing i don't like here is the spacing of tent site it's too crowded and very close to each other only 1 tent fit in but other than than everything was great, friendly staff, lots of activities and clean lodges.. next time i want to try their cabin.. KOA is something to consider if you like short family quality time trip and stress free!
Aug 18, 2014
This is our second summer camping at the KOA. I feel very safe camping there with my kids and they love, love it! We would have liked to have an opportunity to climb the rock wall but the time it was available didn't work for us any of the nights we were there. A morning climbing time would have been nice. We also found ourselves picking up some trash and minor clean up at our cabin. Great!
Aug 17, 2014
My children had the best time ever and the facility was clean and quiet.
Aug 16, 2014
Service there was wonderful
Aug 16, 2014
Very clean canins and wonderfull staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Was a little apprehensive about our stay after reading the YELP reviews, however, I was pleasantly surprised! Dianne was welcoming and friendly upon check in. Cabin was nice and clean. Yes, be prepared for flies, but with cows nearby, it comes with the territory. Bathrooms and showers were super clean. Many activities to choose from & great pool! They even warmed it up for the movie at night
Aug 16, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.