San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 02, 2014
We came up with a group of 48 families (144 folks total) and everyone had an awesome time. Thanks for providing so many activities for the kids. It was super fun!!
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
We enjoyed our cabin. We were disappointed that there wasn't more nature close by (i.e. hiking). We didn't enjoy the view of the highway.
Jun 02, 2014
Campsite is good with option of grass with a slight unevenness and most have some shade. 99% paved and packed gravel for the rest. Bathrooms were great A+ on them badboys and Kampers Korner is great for a place to cook your food. Nice place overall.
Jun 02, 2014
This was the first stay at a KOA for my family, and we loved it. We had so much fun doing the activities: petting zoo, swimming, playground, banana bicycles, jumping pillow. We camped in a tent and were pleased with the clean bathrooms. Our only complaint is about the noise. There is a private house on the other side of the KOA, and a group of teenagers had a loud party there until 3:00 a.m.
Jun 02, 2014
nice open spaces. no hiway noise. good family resort type of park. have rebooked for retrurn trip home. called RV friends from park told them to hook up and come. loved the setting.
Jun 02, 2014
Everyone was very nice and accommodating. Melissa was especially helpful and friendly. She would greet us and our dog Henry whenever she was out and about as I also saw her do to all campers. Her knowledge regarding the area was extremely helpful. I think all of the staff were great would and will stay there again:)
Jun 02, 2014
We stayed in one of the cabins for a big birthday weekend. There were about 9 families who all rented cabins in the same vicinity and we had such a blast! The kids (between the ages of 2 and 10) rode their bikes, played at the play ground and ran around like crazy. Our cabin was so nice and the beds were really comfortable too. The pool was warm and sunny....overall, it was a great weekend!
Jun 02, 2014
Very expensive. Sites not very level. Worst of all, charging $12.00 per person for 2 guests that joined us for dinner one night for 3 hours. Atrocious!!!!!
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
It was an extremely windy weekend and the area where I had my tent had nothing in the way of a wind break. The wind blew so hard other tents in the area were blown over. I finally left early as it was just too much. It would be more customer service oriented to keep that whole area closed to tent camping during windy times like that.
Jun 02, 2014
There are so many great activities for children to do! My 4 year old LOVED it! He especially liked getting to spend some up-close and personal time with the animals in the petting zoo!
Jun 02, 2014
Loved the campground. Clean and well kept. Friendly and welcoming staff. I took some points off of the rating due to loud music at night and early morning, and only two toilets for quite a few campers around us. This site would probably be better in the off season.
Jun 02, 2014
This is the BEST KOA we've ever stayed at. The entire place was very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My son loved the climbing wall and jumping pillow and we both loved the giant pool and jacuzzi.
Jun 02, 2014
Wonderful family campground in the trees. A delightful surprise close to SF.
Jun 01, 2014
Great facilities and activities. The downside was that the brand new toilets, that hadn't quite been finished but will be really cool when done, had bright security lights on the side that were shining (on and off) directly into our campground and tent all night.
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Love making lifetime memories with my family at our favorite Koa in PETALUMA!!!
Jun 01, 2014
Awesome staff and the area is beautiful!! Campground was quiet and secure. We will be back
Jun 01, 2014
My wife & I are brand-new to truck camping, and we were greatly impressed with our back-in site. (Cable TV & WiFi hook-ups?!) It doesn't quite qualify as 'roughing it' as in my backpacking/tent-camping days, but we are still smiling!
May 31, 2014
The best KOA...... Gret place for kids. Lots to do
May 31, 2014
By far the best koa we have ever stayed so far. Staff very helpfull and dedicated. Facilities are perfects and the site is beautiful.
May 31, 2014
Wonderful in all but one respect. The --I assume new--showers in the bathroom across from section B just down from the pool are the most terrible design I have ever encountered. No privacy,the spray from the one on the left cannot be directed, hits the wood floor, doesn't drain. Hooks are on the OUTSIDE of the door which can't be opened if another person showering across from it is getting dressed
May 31, 2014
Took the trip they provided to San Francisco. John was our driver and we had an excellent tour. Good place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.
May 30, 2014
It was great with the exception of parking.I was not allowed to park 2vehicles in the designated tent spot even thought i informed the staff that both drivers had a handicap placard/disability,and there were several tent sites with 2vehicles parked overnoc and the entire time of camping. One site being exactly next to my site.I was told to alternate with my vehicles.
May 30, 2014
May 30, 2014
Lots of children's activities, friendly staff and great location.
May 29, 2014
Only complaint is that you need to upgrade and get a real wifi connection. Awesome pool party - lots of fun!!
May 29, 2014
Enjoyed all the activities. Could never get the TV Cable signal working from slot 155.
May 29, 2014
We were extremely pleased with the guided tour of SF especially thanks to our guide Johnny.
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
Loved that Lyle was able to do 2 pool parties & kaorke this year.He really caters to the kids & keeps things fun!Appreciate at 10 pm staff go around and remind the loud music people of quiet time. Would recommend not watering the dog park so much.It was too muddy. I see the new sod, but excessive watering is not helping it grow & does more damage just section off area until its established
May 28, 2014
KOA Petaluma never disappoints. Woody and the team always make it a pleasant stay. Absolutely the best family vacation spot in the Bay Area.
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
May 28, 2014
In particular, I would like to thank the Manager, Danny who went over and above to be very helpful with driving directions to destinations and places of interest. He cares about the guests and has a true passion to make your stay as good as possible. He should be commended and recognized for the a job well done! Thanks Danny.
May 28, 2014
Had a great time for the Memorial Day weekend! So many fun activities and very accommodating staff.
May 28, 2014
The only issue that I have is that the restrooms were always messy (not due to staff not keeping them clean) but inconsiderate campers. Otherwise the campground was clean, well kept and staff were immediately available, pleasant and willing to help in any way they could. We will stay here again!
May 27, 2014
Enjoyed our stay with you when we attended the 2014 BSA motorcycle rally. Camp staff were really friendly and made us and the bikes very welcome. The tour guides were knowledgeable and helpful, all in all a great week,thank you.
May 27, 2014
We were camping in tents, Poor uneven site. Lack of shower and toilet facilities. restrooms/showers were being rebuilt with only portable toilets to use. Communal cooking area dirty, being used as a dumping area by the crew building the restrooms. Broken electrical items, Washing machines X1, Dryers X3,Coffee machine, Slush machine all out of order. Laundry Iron lost/stolen with no replacem
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
Pool and hot tub were murky. DJ at pool was not great. Bathrooms were dirty.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
our trip started out pretty rough. Truck blew a head gasket had to be towed in with the trailer. Everyone there realize we are rough night and we're absolutely wonderful and kind. Even though it was a busy weekend, with a lot of people,facilities and staff was great. Can't wait to book next year
May 27, 2014
Stayed with a large group of families from our 3rd graders' class. Great way to all hang out together.
May 27, 2014
We come every year and love it!
May 27, 2014
We had a great first stay at your facility and have already reserved our spot for next year. my only feedback would be the showers in the new bathrooms for the tent sites. There are no hooks/space to put your clean clothes.
May 27, 2014
As usual we spent an enjoyable long weekend at the Petaluma KOA. There was tons for the kids to do. Between the pool and DJ Lyle it really made the trip for my kids. When they're happy I'm happy.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.