San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Mostly great but had to wait for propane since there was none ready when we went to grill our first night. Also, activities the next day had been cancelled, but when I complained they found someone to open the activities later in the day to accommodate us and gave us a free coupon for the banana bikes. They also did not have enough toilet paper or trash bags for 3 nights but we had some with us.
Aug 21, 2014
Love this place I do wish they had a kitty pool or water park so adults could use the hot tub without 10-15 kids
Aug 20, 2014
Bright street lights that don't go out at all at night made for a pretty disappointing stay. It was over packed with people and long lines, dirty bathroomsthat were always busy, quiet time unenforced. This place has potential but it feels like they try to get more guests than this location can handle.
Aug 20, 2014
Very well organised campsite with lots of facilities and activities for the children
Aug 20, 2014
We have stayed here every year for the past 5 years.It seemed like there was a lot more litter this year and lines at the bathroom which I have never experienced before. we rented banana bikes and then went back the next day to rent again but the employee was new and didn't know how to ring up the bikes on a credit crd so she wrote down our cc numbers on pieces of paper.I am nervous about cc fraud
Aug 20, 2014
Lots of activities, friendly employees. A great place!
Aug 20, 2014
very nice/ comfortable campground.
Aug 20, 2014
other than the water pressure appearing to be low, everything else was fine
Aug 20, 2014
BASIC "DIRT" SITE WE STAYED IN WASN'T MUCH. ALSO IT WAS ANNOYING WHEN OUR FRIENDS CAME TO PICK US UP FOR LUNCH; THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN REQUIRED TO PAY $14 TO DRIVE TO OUR SITE. THE LAUNDRY ROOM WAS CLEAN BUT REALLY, REALLY SMALL. WE WON'T STAY AGAIN.
Aug 20, 2014
Came here for the kids activities only to find out 1 day after check-in the activities were cancelled. When I called for a reservation, was told there would be activities. When I checked in, reception reviewed with me the list of activities on the hand-out. The next day I am told mgmt just realized local kids have gone back to school - hence the activities cancellation. Not good.
Aug 19, 2014
Great
Aug 19, 2014
This was our first time at Petaluma KOA. It was fun for all ages, my daughters,my granddaughters, and myself. I would of liked it more if it wasn't so crowded at the pool but the staff did try their best and brought out more chairs to sit on. Young staff could of been trained more on customer service. They were nice and everything, just not as accomodating as they could have been. Overall-Good B+
Aug 19, 2014
The Kampground was very nice, even though we were in a no-hook up tent area. Have not stayed here for a number of years and know now to make reservations a couple months in advance in summertime. Priced to high for passing thru travelers.
Aug 19, 2014
nice park overall. showers by the pool need anti slip mats as the tile is slippery and my son fell several times. the shower/bath house near the pool is nice and new but warning, the showers are way to small and have no room to get dressed in or set anything down. prices are the highest of any KOA i have ever stayed at but the park has lots for thr kids to do.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
I stayed in a preferred cabin and it was great as usual. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Kid friendly activities are always a bonus! The only negative I can say would be cleanliness of the camp sites themselves. There was a lot of trash (paper bits, broken plastic utensils, etc.) in the dirt. This is my 6th year at this KOA and the first time I've noticed so much trash.
Aug 18, 2014
We've been coming to this KOA for many years and were just SLIGHTY disappointed with this visit. Assigned cabin 83 and things needed attention. A huge tree branch nearly fell on us and had to be cut down! Light bulb was replaced, door handle was dangling but MOST disappointing was the screen latch. We asked from day 1 for a latch but never got one so dogs kept running out of cabin. Told we get one
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
The staff was interesteing but the over all kampground gets a 10 in my book. So much for the kids todo and the lodges were awesome
Aug 18, 2014
Super fun and seemingly safe, supportive, activity-rich enormous vacation "resort" for the kids. We stayed in a little "family Kamp" cabin...ask for one next to a water spigot:)
Aug 18, 2014
Facilities were great and so was staff. Was not thrilled with a staff member named Ryan. He was way over the top. My 5 year old was afraid to go on the jump pillow because of the way Ryan was talking to the other kids. We avoided all activities that he was supervising. His heart seemed to be in the right place and I appreciated how seriously he took his job but he was often inappropriate.
Aug 18, 2014
Despite someone previously leaving dog poop all over the site before we came, we were still able to get it cleaned up and enjoy our camping.
Aug 18, 2014
Going to KOA camp has become a family tradition once a year. Watching my grandkids enjoying all your facilities and events, fulfill completely our expectations. Thank you so much for thinking in all.
Aug 18, 2014
MY kids had a wonderful time during our stay at KOA the only thing i don't like here is the spacing of tent site it's too crowded and very close to each other only 1 tent fit in but other than than everything was great, friendly staff, lots of activities and clean lodges.. next time i want to try their cabin.. KOA is something to consider if you like short family quality time trip and stress free!
Aug 18, 2014
This is our second summer camping at the KOA. I feel very safe camping there with my kids and they love, love it! We would have liked to have an opportunity to climb the rock wall but the time it was available didn't work for us any of the nights we were there. A morning climbing time would have been nice. We also found ourselves picking up some trash and minor clean up at our cabin. Great!
Aug 18, 2014
friendly staff, one of the best we will be back next year.
Aug 18, 2014
Great clean and fun facility if you have kids. Highly recommend John for the San Francisco tour. It was a great day in The City. I lived there for 10 years and he showed is things if never seen! Pure fun
Aug 18, 2014
After a very rocky start (poor site assignment after having called in advance) the stay was very nice.
Aug 18, 2014
First time camping and we had a great time... I love the fact that we were by the pool and the other activities. My kids had a blast definitely coming back here..the front desk were very nice and helpful... Bathrooms were kept clean.. If you're looking for a kid friendly place to go too this is it....
Aug 18, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Would be really great if KOA could deliver firewood to campsite after purchase!
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
More green grace on some space please.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Space 157 us the worst spot in the park. We were not asked if we wanted our site on the corner of what seemed the 405 freeway! Way too many kids. Could not even drive. Too many rules for me.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
It worked for me but is a very busy spot to stay.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
We liked the KOA and all the amenities. The staff was attentive and helpful. We really enjoyed the tour that was offered down to San Fransisco and John our tour guide was very knowledgeable and fun. We didn't like our actual tent site. It was not level and the sprinklers turned on at 3:00am every morning soaking our tent. We did tell the staff about it but it was never addressed.
Aug 17, 2014
Great pool with lots of shade opo ups abd umbrellas. Loved the activities ( free) for the kids. Staff was extra helpful. Kamper Kitchen made meal clean up super easy. Restrooms were clean. As a Single Mom camping with her kids, I felt safe in a secure campground. Thanks KOA
Aug 17, 2014
My children had the best time ever and the facility was clean and quiet.
Aug 17, 2014
Very good, Nice kitchen for campers. The best Koa wa had on our trip, although the temperature in the evenings were s bit too low😉
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Just spent Friday night there. We had fun but there was a security light that stayed on all night and we found it hard to go to sleep. Need to dim it after dark.
Aug 16, 2014
Service there was wonderful
Aug 16, 2014
Had a great time with the family, kids loved it and want to go back next year.
Aug 16, 2014
Very clean canins and wonderfull staff.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Absolutely loved.. Super,super people. Something for everyone... Best I have been at

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.