San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
First time staying. Great staff. And my kids love it. Keep up the great work. May be a zip line In the works.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Too expensive reservation was for a site in the trees, but site was in an open field
Jul 29, 2015
we had a good time next we will get the the deluxe loft we had 6 people and it was a little tight but we made due and had a wonderful time.
Jul 29, 2015
Check in was delayed by one hour due to the cabin not being ready. Other than that, we all had a great time especially the kids. We will be back.
Jul 29, 2015
We had a great time. Better than a hotel.
Jul 29, 2015
We have camped in 43 states,100s of campgrounds and Petaluma KOA RANKS in the top 3 of them all,if not number 1. Kid friendly, camper friendly! I cannot say enough good things about it. Where else can you have a giant redwood tree ON your campsite. Magnificent!!! Myself, my wife and my kids recommend this campground to anyone who enjoys being in a friendly beautiful well maintained campground.
Jul 29, 2015
Beautiful facilities and activities that numerous and varied. A terrific family destination.
Jul 29, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. We would definetly come back
Jul 29, 2015
We loved it! This is one of the best KOA 's around. Loved the outdoor kitchen and pool. The only thing, was trying to get a shower. We were tent campers and the showers were always busy and needed cleaned up a little more frequently. Other than that it was a fabulous stay!
Jul 29, 2015
It was a blast, our kids enjoyed all of the great activities offered at the resort. We will be back!
Jul 29, 2015
Have them cover the pipe sticking out from the cement between the pool and restroom. I hit my knee hard on it (much pain). The worker said it has happened before and I know it will happen again. Next person might want to sue. It crossed my mind as a was almost crying and limping away. But roomy and shaded tent sites. Lots of free activities for the kids with a huge gameroom and playground.
Jul 29, 2015
Very nice and clean. Enjoyed our short stay. Our dogs loved the treats provided by a very friendly maintenance person!
Jul 28, 2015
Everything was fine, except that our cabin bathroom smelled like dog urine. Even the shower stall.
Jul 28, 2015
have stayed at this particular KOA going on 10 times over the last two decades. always clean, friendly and thing for the kids.
Jul 28, 2015
Everything was good except 1)there was never dog poop bags at the dog park every time we went. Several dog owners did not clean up after their dogs 2) was no PD newspapers in box
Jul 28, 2015
it was bad service and most of staffs were so unkindely than other koa campgrounds. we don't want to go back this place....
Jul 28, 2015
Everyone at the KOA was very friendly and helpful. Camp was very clean and well taken care of. We will be back. Thank you very much!
Jul 28, 2015
Our grandchildren had a great time in the pool, on the bouncy pillow, at the ice cream social, at the prom, at the movies, at the petting farm. They love going to KOA's!
Jul 27, 2015
This was my 1st stay at a KOA. It was great for kids! Pool was closed 1 day for unscheduled maintenance, and the staff then allowed free bike rentals to make up for it. Staff was very friendly. Great location for San Fran visits. Only complaint is the tent sites are a little small and exposed.
Jul 27, 2015
Decent experience. Our family is not used to being in crowded locations, but it was still OK for us. Great, helpful staff here at Petaluma.
Jul 27, 2015
We had eight family members stay at one lodge and two cabins. They all had a wonderful stay! Lots of fun for the children.
Jul 27, 2015
This was our best KOA experience in the Northern California area! We've been to a few others here but this, by far, was the most awesome. The camp was really welcoming and organized! They had a lot of activities for the families, mainly the kids and that's what matters most. Already have recommended them to family and friends.They really go beyond the standards of a KOA!
Jul 27, 2015
Best one we've been to so far!!!! THANK YOU FOR THE GREATEST WEEKEND EVER!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Perfect for family camping! Lots of activities for everybody. Friendly staff. Clean restroom and awesome hot shower!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
This is our second time. First time was great, but this time we were all squeezed in like cattle...overcrowded. Quiet hours were not enforced. Group tents were blasting a movie till 1am and although there was a "ranger" driving around, he did not enforce anything. It's also overpriced, esp since your site only comes with two campers anyone over that you have to pay extra.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
We had a great time with friends and family here!
Jul 27, 2015
Pool was closed first day. Was offered banana bike but was taken away ten minutes after getting them because of time.... Laundry room was dirty and unkept. Our firewood was stolen...showers were freezing cold. Highly disappointed.
Jul 27, 2015
Some of the sites in the campground can be very tight for maneuvering big rigs. Our first assigned site was too tight for our 5th wheel. However, the staff was very accommodating in reassigning us to another site. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2015
On our 3rd day there the water was shut off without any notice. My husband was in the shower at this time and had to rinse the soap out of his hair with cold bottled water. I went out and found a camp ground employee that said it would be off for about 15-20 minutes, but it was off for almost 2 hours. This was very inconvenient during the middle of our stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Had a great time, best for big groups of friends/family.
Jul 27, 2015
Super fun activity filled weekend. Wish checkout was a tad later!
Jul 27, 2015
It was great
Jul 27, 2015
This KOA has a lot going on. There is a lot to do for families; the pool and hot tub, banana bikes, karaoke petting farm, and giant bouncing pillow. But this place is just too big with too many campers. The spaces are relatively small so you have the feeling of being in a city surrounded by people, not the feeling of peaceful camping.
Jul 27, 2015
The only issue this time was a rude seasonal worker at the front gate who have my wife an unnecessary amount of attitude becouse she couldn't remember the gate code and I forgot to give her the white pass. East mistake, but next time hold the attitude.
Jul 27, 2015
We really had a great time with our grandchildren, there are many activities. We were in C35, didn't much care for that spot, as there wasn't enough gravel, it was narrow, unlevel, not much grass & too much dirt, we will request a larger end spot next time
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Great place to bring our grandkids (6&8). They love every minute.
Jul 27, 2015
Great staff! Angela was amazing both at the camp site and the San Francisco trip. Site was great, grounds were clean, restrooms and laundry in top shape. All in all, a great stay.
Jul 27, 2015
Had a wonderful time...the pool party was great. Doing the whirlpool was so much fun. The DJ even took my son's request. Loved the arcade. Great job.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Very busy but very pleasant
Jul 26, 2015
We had a great stay. This is a wonderful park.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Good pool and kid activities. Too crowded and busy for me.
Jul 26, 2015
Clean and nice but jam-packed. If I had kids, I would probably have enjoyed my stay there more because there are so many other families with kids there. It felt a little like camping at ChuckeCheese.
Jul 26, 2015
Love it very nice cabins but you need to have more activities
Jul 26, 2015
Fantastic staff! They were so kind and helpful. Great campground!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.