San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2014
Employee was very helpful , camprground very clean and well positionned to visit San Francisco and the valley of Sonoma and Napa . Thank you !!!! To all KOA staff !!!
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Such fun,great service,awesome people,clean,will always come back :)
Aug 07, 2014
Deluxe cabins w/ bathroom are fantastic. Just like a hotel with the camping experience. So don't forget to tip the person who cleans up after you. Kids loved the loft sleeping area, bunk beds. Queen bed was very nice. Wish they had a swing at all cabin; Some do not and that's a real bummer. Family fun campground!
Aug 07, 2014
Was unable to use all amenities , hence the 4 stars, however was impressed with the large variety of activities for all ages. Clean but well used restrooms, common areas not crowded for the number of sites, but would like to see some sand put on the area entering the dog park since the grass is gone. But I could see where the tried to re-sod, but just too much activity . And that is a good thing.
Aug 06, 2014
I have to say the staff was very very good. I thought the showers were very small.
Aug 06, 2014
The staff was wonderful and the kids had fun. The facility was clean and welcoming. The beds were not very comfortable... but that's excusable because we had beds. One of the people in my party lost a phone and never had it returned. That was the low point of the trip. Otherwise, great trip!
Aug 06, 2014
We had a great time!
Aug 06, 2014
my grandson and I on abiys outing it was great
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
I stayed here because San Fran area hotels were pretty much fully booked. Good place to sleep but $50 seems steep for a small camp spot.Overall not bad though and perhaps worth the value if you were to stay for the amenities.
Aug 05, 2014
What a great place to spend time with friends and family.
Aug 05, 2014
Had a good stay, altho' the new water faucets were disappointing!
Aug 05, 2014
We had such a great time and will definitely visit again!
Aug 05, 2014
Enjoyed 1 nite stay in the cabin...very nice campground...one of the best KOA's I've been to
Aug 05, 2014
Was traveling from out of town and was disappointed that family visitors had to pay $12.00 a person to come see us. So they chose not to visit.
Aug 05, 2014
We are former Novoto ites, so it is a great place to hook up with old friends and family.
Aug 05, 2014
Our family (especially our 2 sons ages 11 & 9 ) just LOVE the Petaluma KOA!!! We know they're safe riding around the camp ground on their bikes without us worrying. They have the BEST pool! :D
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
We really enjoyed our visit. You need to fix the brakes of the banana bikes. Mine didn't work and my son rented one the next day and his brakes did't work, You should do a safety checks on each bike each day.Tag bikes so they don't get used until fixed.
Aug 05, 2014
We had a great time once again at KOA Petaluma. Our third time this summer! We brought two families to try for their first time and they loved it as well. We are coming back September 20th for tent camping. We wanted to try something different, but kabins and lodges have a two night minimum. Maybe next year. Thank you.
Aug 05, 2014
Awesome campground! Could use some more private campsites; maybe off to the side or away from othersites.
Aug 05, 2014
have children and want activities, then this place is for you. I on the other hand felt like a combo of county fair & rv dealership. Clean place, all workers extremely nice. When everyone lights a campfire it's kinda overwhelming...just didn't feel like a 'campground' more like a "Kids ground' have to really keep your eyes wide open kids on scooters everywhere...more quiet for these 50+...
Aug 05, 2014
Great campground with so much to entertain the kids. We liked it so much, we started storing our RV here and they tow it to our campsite on check in day and tow it back to storage upon check out. Love it!
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
In our opinion----Horrible service. Incompetent employees and RUDE night helpers, VERY little respect for disabled people. NEVER will I stay here again. NEVER. It was that bad.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

8/6 called cj. arrived after hours and didn't have access to amenities.
Aug 04, 2014
This was our second stay. This time we brought our 3 year old granddaughter and she had a great time. Melissa Herald, one of your employees, deserves special recognition. She was a great help to us while we were there and is a terrific ambassador for KOA and the Petaluma campground in particular.
Aug 04, 2014
Had our RV in the storage at the campground. Then stayed at a corner site. Everything worked well. Site was great. though WiFi transmit rate could be better.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
There is so much to do at this koa you sometimes forget you are camping. The kids get to do what they want and I am confident they are safe as they explore their surroundings. We will definitely stay here again!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Kitchen and bath rooms are too far. Very crowded camp grounds.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Cabin wAs clean and well kept. Rate was a bit pricy. Basics like Kleenex paper towels coffee filters were missing. Needed fly strips as well
Aug 04, 2014
We stay often and will continue to visit. But never again on a summer weekend. People were packed in every where. Kabin sites meant for 4-6 people had tents set up to hold double the number. Lines for showers were long morning to night. Pasture land with no hookups was jammed with tents & RVs. # of people had to be well over capacity.
Aug 04, 2014
I cant tell you how diappoited I am in the location I was given for my three nights stay. very small tent area on the hill, so small that I had to leave my vehicle at the over flow parking area. for the price I paid I could have stayed at a local hotel comfortably. I visited the park three weeks in advance and when I arrived with family in tow, I was shown to a site not on any map w/cows too close
Aug 04, 2014
You need to put in your rules that people should not walk through other campsites! Even while we were eating dinner people tromped through our site! People need to be reminded of common camping courtesy.
Aug 04, 2014
sites were far from being even close to level. Pictures of the campground showed nice green grass but all the sites were just dirt. We paid for 3 nights and stayed only one so needless to say we will not b returning. If you have kids it would be great since they have lots for them to do.
Aug 04, 2014
This is a great place to stay. Staff are friendly, the grounds are very clean. And if you have kids they will love it!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Very clean and well maintained park however, I have 1 complaint. The one courtesy that was a problem was people cutting thru our site (59) instead of walking around. I was 2 spots from the end and people cut thru every day I was there. I will stay there again. Freindly and helpful staff.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
We came to your campground as a less expensive option on our visit to San Francisco. We loved our stay & found ourselves wanting to hurry back after our visit to SF! We preffered it over the crowded city...
Aug 04, 2014
Stayed at this KOA previously, and would stay again. Priced is line with other campsites (government and private campgrounds) in the area.
Aug 04, 2014
Price for tent sites should not be the same as for hook up. Misadvertisement--we had a Eurovan and was basically charged the same for parking in the open field without hook ups. Also too many people for the bathroom services available.
Aug 04, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.