San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Poorly maintained... noisy.
Jul 12, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. This KOA is always busy!! Weekends are especially busy!!!! Not a lot of R&R
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
The quiet times are not enforced, playground is supposed to close at dusk and there were kids playing on it till late at night and early in the morning.
Jul 12, 2015
it is always a pleasure to camp here
Jul 12, 2015
Loved it. Lots to do with the kids.I was very bothered by the condition of the sheep. They were exreamly dirty and soaked with feces and urin.They had no where else to lay but in their own waste.I also didn't see any toys or objects to stimulate them.The house that was provided was too small for the big sheep. The goats had the bigger igloo.we (3 kids) left feeling really bad for the animals.
Jul 12, 2015
Very helpful and friendly employees. Safe place for family and kids. This is only place that my family want to go.
Jul 12, 2015
Large campground that is organized and has many things for kids. Clean and in a nice setting.
Jul 12, 2015
Clean, quiet and kid friendly
Jul 12, 2015
First time RVing for my 5 years old grandson. His 11 year old sister is a seasoned veteran. Despite the unexpected rain we all had a great time.
Jul 12, 2015
Enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
We reserved well in advance a spot. When we arrived, we were put right next to the pool and we paid extra for a spot sway from everyone. The people who work here are way too busy and didn't care that we made our reservation way in advance. We shoukd not lose our spot to people who decide at the last minute. That is why there are reservations.
Jul 11, 2015
Our stay was good. The only problem was the wifi. It was at spotty to not working at all our whole stay there. I would've paid for a premium internet or wifi service. If they had one. My laptop and ipad was useless there.
Jul 11, 2015
This is a HUGE place! I wish we had been able to stay longer. The only complaint I have is that I wish they had a seperate place for check-in and registration because there were so many people waiting in line ALL the time for one thing or another (ice, groceries, snacks)
Jul 11, 2015
A great time had by all!!!
Jul 11, 2015
when our camp ground refused us, they took us in and were able to cover all nights we needed!! Loved it!!
Jul 11, 2015
Nice place.
Jul 11, 2015
Site was nice. Desk staff were rude and unpleasant .While standing to pay for an Item a guest came in to ask to extend his camp site. The desk help spoke loudly come over here I cannot understand you. Did you check if a site was available? I guess you want me to do that for you. There were numerous sites empty it was raining so nobody was going to willing go camping. This gentleman remained polite
Jul 11, 2015
we loved the amount of activities available for kids, and the fact the store was open later then some other KOA stores, and the nice big pool!
Jul 11, 2015
Clean campground, clean and really nice cabin, with enough activities to keep everyone happy. Will definitely come back again.
Jul 11, 2015
The units are a little too close together and the bathrooms were not clean. There was an empty beer can in the restroom, which at a campground for kids, is tasteless. We did like all the activities, and the wifi.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Give it a high rating but would not recommend it for one reason. It was the final night on a 10,000 mile trip. We have stayed in many KOAs along the way over 2 1/2 months of,travel. The price for staying there was by far the highest we'd paid by $20.00. Believe me it was not any better than many other campgrounds or KOAs. Ridiculous!
Jul 10, 2015
One of the best safe camps for children, lots of activities. Most likely we will come back, the campers are wonderful. We have great concern on how the cabins/lodges are listed on brochure on online site and assigned to campers! We expected a different style of Deluxe Lodge, ours was not as nice as pictured. There seemed to be lots of minor repairs needed. The fireplace was smashed, etc. #183.
Jul 10, 2015
beautiful camp ground loved tour bus to San Francisco driver was best
Jul 10, 2015
Enjoyed the campgrounds , however we were next to the water tanks. Wished we could have been in a different camp location but would stay there again if we are in the area.
Jul 10, 2015
We had a wonderful stay! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Note: The women's bathroom attached to the arcade has a broken sink and the third shower stall would not turn off. The shower stalls also smelled. Maybe the floor mats or shower curtains need a good scrub. The rest of the KOA grounds were clean! And you could see everyone was working very hard. We can't wait to return. :-)
Jul 10, 2015
Nice average RV park with many amenities that we would never use, although the number of people made it less than desirable for us. Pricey, but we realize it's in close proximity to SF.
Jul 10, 2015
The campsite was clean, pool was clean and an employee was frequently checking levels, the employees were all very friendly and welcoming! This is the BEST campgrounds in Northern California!
Jul 10, 2015
We were not impressed with the amenities as we are older parents with adult children who prefer the more private tent sites to the large open spaces. We were extremely disappointed in the large commercial bus that dropped more than 20 younger adults behind our tents at 9:50 pm. They were loud past the posted hours. I do want to thank the security couple who assisted at 12:15am.
Jul 10, 2015
The stay was nice. We missed the climbing wall, the line was too long. Maybe the climbing wall should be open for a longer period of time. I wish parents would supervise their kids more. There was a couple of kids throwing sand at other kids and into the air at the bouncing pad. We had to tell them to stop.
Jul 09, 2015
My kids love this KOA! It's their favorite. We will be back.
Jul 09, 2015
An awesome jewel tucked away in the hillside of Petaluma. I took my grankids for the first annual Camp Gigi. Everyone loved it we will be back. We had a cabin that slept 6 and it was perfect. Thank you Koa staff!
Jul 09, 2015
excellent atmosphere our stay was short but pleasant. need more accessible garbage cans.
Jul 09, 2015
Last time I visited was in 2009. It has improved so much and so much more activities. The only complain is that we had loud people right by our tent. They were warned and got quite, however I still moved to another site. Wish I didn't have to move at all.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. In fact, we were upset to leave and wanted to extend our stay. The staff was extra nice and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. We loved our spot, it was shaded with trees, spacious, and near all the fun. We will be back...can't wait for the next adventure!
Jul 09, 2015
Wonderful staff. DOUG went way out of his way to help me with an issue I was having with my trailer. What customer service!! Fun place. Kids everywhere were having a blast...so much for them to do. Clean, well maintained park.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Had a great time during our 2 day stay! Cabins were great, clean and equipped with everything we needed! The DJ was EXCELLENT and really made sure all of us from ages 2 - my 82 grandmother enjoyed ourselves in the pool area. The music & games were fun and catered to all. Looking forward to our family trip next year!
Jul 08, 2015
VERY BUSY PLACE. THE STAFF DID NOT PUT US IN A SITE THAT WAS CORRECT FOR THE SIZE OF OUR MOTORHOME. THE SITES ARE UNLEVEL. AFTER WE FINALY GOT SETTLED IN THE CORRECT SITE OUR STAY WENT WELL. I FELT THEY WERE OVERWHELMED.
Jul 08, 2015
THE FACILITY IS GOOD BUT THE PRICE IS HIGH.
Jul 08, 2015
Bathrooms and showers were not kept clean, human hair clogging sinks and shower drainage. Banana bikes are extremely dangerous, it should be illegal to have campers sign a release for liability when they don't know what to expect from the experience of riding a banana bike. My 23 year old daughter had a really bad accident riding this bike, she scraped her arm, hand and leg really bad.
Jul 08, 2015
Staff was very helpful and informative. Will difently be back.
Jul 08, 2015
Great facilities with lots of things for the kids to do. We had a nice cabin that had everything we needed.
Jul 08, 2015
Our stay at KOA was great. The Kabin's were fully equipped with everything we needed and wanted and were clean. Unfortunately, there was false advertising on the coffee cart which closed 1/2 hour before it was said to. Also, some of the front desk staff were a bit rude and condescending when speaking. Other than that, I would definitely come back.
Jul 08, 2015
My kids loved it. I was able to relax while my kids were entertained...thats priceless!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.