San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2015
This park was a dissappintment. Mgmt should make it clear that it is a noisy FAMILY WITH KIDS park & offers nothing for seniors. There were so many kids in the pool we couldn't use it. The LOUD music on Friday night from the big tent was annoying. At check-in the staff incorrectly instructed us on how to get into our space. The nice lady at the gate helped us. The park is way over-priced.
Aug 09, 2015
The only problem we had with KOA is the showers were too small and not enough of them considering the size of the KOA. We were happy to see so many tenting sites as that has been a problem for us. The staff were great and the tour of San Francisco was outstanding and the self guided wine tours were great.
Aug 09, 2015
This is a great KOA for families. So much for the kids to do. We LOVED the San Franscisco tour!! The only problem was the last night of our stay was a Friday and it seemed to be party central. Loud music and laughter until after midnight. When I mentioned something to a camp employee she shrugged it off saying an employee was making a circuit of the grounds and would probably do something. Other t
Aug 09, 2015
Great for families. A little noisy for an older couple (us.) I probably wouldn't come back with just my husband but I'd definitely return with the grandkids.
Aug 09, 2015
Good for a quick trip, lots for kids to do
Aug 08, 2015
Among the best I've stayed at.
Aug 08, 2015
Great facilities great fun and a very helpful staff!
Aug 08, 2015
From the moment we arrived the staff was exceptional. The campground was clean, family friendly. Anything you need from directions , grocery items they had it. Also my kid stayed busy the whole time. We stayed in a lodge and for 3 of us it was perfect. The only little complaint I had was the wifi. Did not work, but other than that it was an awesome stay.
Aug 08, 2015
Wifi was poor. Bathrooms were not clean. Definitely a place for families. Appreciate the dog run.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Lots to keep young kids busy. Bathrooms were kept clean.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
we had the best time our family stays a couple times a year and we have made some great memories Thank You KOA you ROCK!
Aug 08, 2015
The cleanest, most fun, friendly, awesome KOA in America!
Aug 08, 2015
We had a shady spot on the endo of a row. The kamp was crowded and lots of kids, but it was very quiet at night.
Aug 08, 2015
Normally we would rate this KOA a 5. The staff in the office is great. This trip it seems many people were not aware of camp etiquette as people were constantly walking through the occupied sites. restrooms very hot, poor ventilation.
Aug 08, 2015
Despite electrical problems in the B row, We had a great time.
Aug 08, 2015
"It was awesome! I really want to do a KOA again! Awesome cabins!" Ace Brodhun, 6 We had a fantastic time at the Petaluma/SF KOA! We will be back! Thank you for all you offer & an incredible, kind, hard working, upbeat staff!
Aug 08, 2015
If you have small children this park is ideal. Our stay was not that enjoyable because of the noise the motorcyclists made and the campers next to us who were also noisy well after 10 pm. Forget about using the pool if you are an adult because it is filled with so many small children. Also, we had to move from our site after we had set up because of insufficient power and could not use our ac.
Aug 08, 2015
We were fortunate enough to grab a last minute spot here. Once we arrived and checked in we were so impressed that we looked into staying the next night. Our entire family loved it. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful and the grounds and amenities were above and beyond our expectations. Looking forward to planning another trip next year just to stay here.
Aug 07, 2015
We had a pleasant time. We like many aspects of your campground. This year, with the new rule of "no off-loading if another car is on site" was burdensome. I understand the law, but I would have liked a little understanding or time to off-load.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
We loved this campground. It may have had something to do with the two big redwoods on our site! Even though the campground was busy ( first weekend in August) we felt it was very well managed and maintained.
Aug 07, 2015
We had a great time, kids were crying when it was time to leave.
Aug 07, 2015
This is the perfect place for children, a lot to do here.
Aug 07, 2015
Great campground! We took our grandchildren for 3 nights and they had the time of their lives - so much for them to do. Safe and friendly! They both told me this was the best vacation they had ever been on.
Aug 07, 2015
The campground was pretty crowded. Thought it was very poor planning to be cleaning the bathrooms at 10:30 AM. Would make much more sense to clean them later, after people were done with their morning showers. Otherwise was a great place and will definately return.
Aug 07, 2015
We stayed in a tent for four days with the understanding we would be in a forrested area. Instead it was next to the highway and a cow pasture. If the smell of the cows and the flies in our food wasn't bad enough, the wind in the afternoon's made it almost impossible to make a fire. The other rv areas were not so bad or next to cows! It did have clean bathrooms, good showers and a nice pool.
Aug 07, 2015
Loved the gem mining. Great for kids. Give yourself time at the site!
Aug 07, 2015
Well kept, great staff, good store, great facilities, they don't enforce the "quiet Time!" only night number is for emergencies, night manager needed.
Aug 07, 2015
Loved it! The spaces are wide, the setting is gorgeous. Management obviously cares a lot about this property and it shows! Very friendly and professional!
Aug 07, 2015
For the price we paid, we expected a cleaner campground. Both sites had trash on the ground, cigarette butts and papers/ trash in the fire pit. You all need to clean up the grounds before the next customer. Very disappointed to say the least.
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly staff, great site! I'm a return customer and will camp again en route home to San Diego - thanks for all that you do!!!
Aug 07, 2015
This is a campground for young families. Older people do not like uneven, dirt sites. The dump station is in the most inconvenient spot we have ever seen! As seasoned travelers, cost and value do not match. This KOA is very over-priced with a difficult layout. No, we would not stay here again.
Aug 06, 2015
While we expected our lodge would have A/C, it was manageable overnight and we spent much of the day in the pool. We always love our short vacations here, pleasant and friendly, expect to keep coming back.
Aug 06, 2015
Great place for kids
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Wow, great facility, friendly staff, WONDERFUL tour of San Francisco by the best tour guide ever, John!!!! We will be sharing and talking about this part of our trip until we can no longer speak!
Aug 06, 2015
Such a fabulous place to stay! Whether you choose to go camping or "glamping" there is something for everyone at the Petaluma KOA!
Aug 06, 2015
My family and I had a great time at the Petaluma/San Francisco KOA, all the staff were extremely helpful and nice.
Aug 06, 2015
Based on our one night, we were placed next to the entertainment center and movie house. With all of the kids there it was very noisy but that is not your fault. It would have been nice to have been asked about our usage and lack of kids and placed in a quieter spot, but I really doubt one existed. Pretty expensive for one night also. I am thinking of coming out of retirement and opening a KOA
Aug 05, 2015
Very expensive. Internet is bad.
Aug 05, 2015
Very busy place but we had a lot of fun at the pool and petting zoo!
Aug 05, 2015
Site was beautiful, shower drains were plugged with lights not working. Staff at front desk had little knowledge about local area.
Aug 05, 2015
Nice campground but had issues with people walking across our site all night (employees were in area on carts). Manager said we were supposed to complain at time (really, at 2 in morning we should be walking around looking for employees?). Employees on carts observed behavior and did nothing.
Aug 05, 2015
This campground had a very crowded, concrete feel. Sites were much too close together and it was very loud way past quiet time. The toilets had to be flushed 3 times to empty properly, but I was the only guest to have figured that out, so the toilets were always nasty.The pool was probably great for little kids, but ridiculous for teens. Based on this location, we would never stay at a KOA again.
Aug 05, 2015
This was my first time at a KOA Kampground and I was very satisfied, and impressed with the lodging and amenities provided. I will definitely use KOA in the future!
Aug 05, 2015
Love this KOA, every time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.