San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Petaluma KOA is fantastic. The staff and activities are well organized. The entire site and bathrooms are clean. It is a very well run campground. We will definitely be back and have already recommended to friends.
Aug 15, 2014
This koa is so easily accessible to all you want to see and do. It is a great home base. We travelled to pt Reyes San Francisco Santa Rosa for a ew wineries plus dis a great walking tour of Petaluma. The San Francisco tour provided by koa for a fee was by far the best tour out there. Be sure to find out when john Horton is driving. He is a native San Franciscan. Awesome!!!!
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Just very nice and cosy!
Aug 15, 2014
We stayed here two years ago.with our RV. We were doing a car trip this year and decided to stay here again and use a deluxe cabin. It was great and so close to San Francisco and the wine country. We toured San Fran with the KOA host and driver, John who was so informative as he showed us all around the city and pointed out all the highlights and more.
Aug 15, 2014
It was a lot of fun great for both adults & kids. Best place I have camped at but 1st time camping at a KOA camp ground.
Aug 14, 2014
The SF tour was awesome, John did a great job. The park was packed and is confusing to navigate, tight turns with overhanging trees. Someone should have escorted us to our site. Other campers were using to roadway, and in an effort to get around them I hit a low hanging tree branch with the rear of the MH while making a turn. Cable TV was bad and no one came to investigate after we called to o
Aug 14, 2014
Very pleasant and staff was respectful and helpful.
Aug 14, 2014
Totally loved it but a bit close to the freeway. But just don't look!
Aug 14, 2014
We really enjoyed our time at the park. It is well-kept and relatively peaceful given the fact that it's very much a park designed for kids and family. We appreciated all of the fantastic activities, and if given the opportunity we would stay there again.
Aug 14, 2014
Great campground with lots of stuff for kids to do. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Loving staying there, just hard to get in unless you book way ahead!
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
The Petaluma KOA is most efficiently operated, courteous & knowledgeable staff, as well as possibly the greatest location in the U.S.!! Even the dog run is one of the best & cleanest we've experience! Our hats off to you!
Aug 14, 2014
I was disappointed that for an expensive koa , the site was not level and we had glass under our Rv. Also don't know why this koa has a check out time of 11 am where everywhere else is 12 noon? maybe for those of us who are older and traveling and do not want to use all your facilities we could have a discounted rate. We have stayed at many koa's over the years and I was disappointed in this one.
Aug 13, 2014
Good facilities and pool. Public transport options to San Francisco are very limited (we were advised only on Wednesday). So you either have to book a guided tour or rent a car when traveling with an RV.
Aug 13, 2014
At our site we got to see 2 red tail hawks up in the redwood trees. It was beautiful.
Aug 13, 2014
The only thing I would change is when we where there they had a ice cream social. It was $3 a bowl. There are 5 people in my family I could not afford $15 for ice cream. Not everyone there has extra money to spend. I had to hear my kids complain about not having ice cream. Maybe they can sell the ice cream at a $1 a scoop up to 3 scoops, other then that had a great time we be back next summer.
Aug 13, 2014
Super clean shower and bathroom stalls except for the one in front of the pool.great staff.only a few stove works.should get them fix.
Aug 13, 2014
The only grumble I have is that there is a severe drought going on in CA and there were not any notifications posted around the camp. This was concerning, as there was water wastage by campers visible throughout the camp.
Aug 13, 2014
location, the ease getting in & out was good.
Aug 13, 2014
first class best one I ever stay at the KOA we drove all over north America in the last 10 years 130,000. mi
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The place is great for kids since all the amenities are nearby; I appreciate the cleanliness and great desk staff. A couple things bothered us: each campsite was tiny; everyone walked thru our site to get to bathroom & pool; everyone was allowed to have dog at pool area except for us; KOA staff did nothing to help us out- not even when RV renters put their tent on our site!
Aug 12, 2014
Very nice campground. The bathrooms were a bit old but were kept clean.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Awful wifi when campground is full. Sites need more routine clean up. Busy at check in, need to upgrade method. Staff could escort camper to site to avoid problems
Aug 12, 2014
Have stayed here many times before, but unsure if we will again. Staff allowed a drunken, noisy group of 15-20 people to use a site rules say only 6 and one car may occupy. Also, 5-6 cars overflowed the site. We were told rules were bent because it was a family reunion. I suggested they be moved to the group area, but this was ignored. My email to camp mgr has also been ignored.
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent stay. Note: Car rentals are not available on weekends.
Aug 12, 2014
Site was not uneven and dirty. Sewer connection was higher then trailer outlet. Loud talking and laughter until 12:30AM. Overall unpleasant experience.
Aug 12, 2014
The bathrooms by the pool were got real messy. But we still had lots of fun!
Aug 12, 2014
Check in was a breeze, even though they were very busy. Upon driving to our camp site we came across "tent city". The sites are so tiny our neighbors had placed their tent within 3 feet of our fire pit. Melissa at the front desk was very helpful about my concerns, and found me a much better site in the RV section. Melissa saved our camping trip, and gave us wonderful memories. You go girl!!
Aug 12, 2014
Great activities for kids. Close enough to San Francisco for day trip, and near my favorite brewery, Lagunitas!
Aug 12, 2014
Great place to camp if you have kids tons of stuff for them to do
Aug 11, 2014
Always a great time
Aug 11, 2014
This site is too crowded and the bathrooms are too small for the size. I have been to other KOA's which were better layed out and had better facilities. In addition, there was late night partyers next to us. KOA staff didn't come by until 11p ( quiet time is 10p ), and I don't think they stopped until midnight. It was nice to see the dancing presentation though.
Aug 11, 2014
Weekend stay. Family friendly. A lot quieter than I expected. Thanks KOA Petaluma.
Aug 11, 2014
Facility O.K. Internet connection throughout camp was poor. Tengonet as ISP is never very good anywhere we have stayed.
Aug 11, 2014
There are many activities for kids. The pool is nice and big. Our one complaint is there was no one patrolling for "quiet time" at night, and the site next to us had adults being very LOUD until past midnight, using foul language right next to our kids. Other big kids playing loud late at night, and people walking through our site at all hours. Not enough bathrooms for the size.
Aug 11, 2014
Highway near by , Lot of noise whole night . on Sunday morning big alarm sound from the pipeline triggered, the technician was able to switch off, everyone woke up couple of hours earlier than expected to rise. Very crowded
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Overall great for the kids! Sites too small for camping I think! But did a good job keeping the place fairly clean!
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed here with our 2 & 3 yr olds in a TT. The place was packed, but we never felt like there were too many people. Would be nice for a little kid area as the playground was sized for ~4yr olds and up.
Aug 11, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.