San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2015
Everything about your campground is awesome...
Aug 19, 2015
Tent site was large with trees and cows and donkeys as neighbors. Very pleasant. People came in at 1:30am and pounded tent stakes for 15 minutes. Not sure what could be done to mitigate that. Nice pool, rec center well equipped, friendly knowledgeable staff. Excellent campground.
Aug 18, 2015
Great place for families!!!! My kids never want to leave!!! We visit here at least twice a year.
Aug 18, 2015
We had an amazing trip to KOA. This is our second time at your location. The DJ is amazing!! Only complaint is the rooster crowing every morning. Our site was 134. It would be nice if the rooster could live somewhere else? He woke us up each morning starting at 5 AM.
Aug 18, 2015
I had orig. requested site in kids play area but also needed a site lg enough to accommodate a big tent. The staff selected one of their larger sites. Couldn't have been more pleased when we arrived! I've learned to trust their vast experience. Thank you for another great weekend. Came home and booked another!!! See you in Oct.
Aug 18, 2015
Incredibly welcoming and friendly staff. A great base to explore the surrounding area. Smashing facilities and well maintained site. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2015
The spaces were very small and we got lost trying to find our site in full daylight. We also found the facilities to be in need of some cleaning up. I understand that the place was full and that it was a challenge to keep up with. It is inexpensive considering how close we were to San Francisco. the kids loved it. I would not stay there again. Way too crowded for my taste.
Aug 18, 2015
Everything was fine. Site was accommodating, park was clean (even though it was packed), and staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The only downside is that despite what I believe to be a good intent, the wi-fi was very poor.
Aug 18, 2015
It would have been much better if you enforced a policy that children must be in their family campsites between the hours of 10PM - 6AM. The large number of loud, unruly, and unsupervised children, most under the age of 12, truly ruins the experience for responsible parents and all others especially after 9PM.
Aug 18, 2015
The amenities are excellent, but would have like more room between the tent camping sites. I felt that we were on top of the tents next to us.
Aug 18, 2015
very expensive
Aug 18, 2015
First the bad: The modular trailers that are used for toilets and showers could use more space. The showers have no place to place any clothes or a place to sit down and change, it does have one hanger on the wall. The other shower I found was not modular and had a place for clothes and sitting but was like a hot box, it must have been 120 deg inside. The tent sites were small and crowded by oth
Aug 17, 2015
This was our first stay and it was wonderful! Our family had an unforgettable time! We loved the pool and out cabin was comfortable and clean.
Aug 17, 2015
This place is heaven for kids and not too bad for the adults either. We stayed in one of the lodges and it was really nice, will definitely be back to this campsite! again.
Aug 17, 2015
Wonderful trip! The only things I would ask for improvement on is to do something about the moldy smell in the ladies room at the rec hall and put out extra can liners so we can empty our own garbage on the porch.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
I love this campground and the staff members are great.
Aug 17, 2015
Our stay was a lot of fun! We were at KOA Petaluma on a very warm weekend and the pool was a great refreshing way to cool off. We always look forward to our annual camping trip there with friends.
Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at KOA next year we will add 1 more day. HAPPY CAMPERS.
Aug 17, 2015
Es el mejor KOA al cual hemos ido, mi hijo y mis padres se divertieron en grande, por supuesto nosotros tambien. Super excelente para los niƱos.
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent KOA. Tour of San Francisco top notch. Has something for everyone at this KOA. Impressive.
Aug 17, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing I'd change is adding more restrooms in the area of #180 sites and some pass through paths because I feel rude walking through others sites to get to the restrooms. The roads are very long to walk around. Need to enforce the noise curfew better. Otherwise, great campground.
Aug 17, 2015
We're local and haven't camped here in years. We brought our kids and had a blast! We'll definitely be back next summer!
Aug 17, 2015
I loved the activities and all amenities. 5 stars for that. The sites are just too small - if you're ok with how closely packed the campground is, then go for it.
Aug 17, 2015
I like the facility but it's kind of noisy at night.
Aug 17, 2015
Friendly staff and wonderful camp hosts. Thanks for your hospitality!
Aug 17, 2015
Great location, great amenities super clean, thank you
Aug 17, 2015
I was relegated to a spot not near anything - no bathrooms, no showers, no store, no laundry. I was, however near the highway (noise). If you're in a better site, this is a nice KOA.
Aug 17, 2015
The restrooms were filthy and witnessed a worker sign the cleaning sheet without actually cleaning the restroom. Quiet time was not enforced
Aug 17, 2015
I think it was the best place for my kids they love it
Aug 17, 2015
Fun, relaxing, best camping facilities, definitely will be visited again.
Aug 17, 2015
I had a reservation for a premium site 50 amps $76.00 dollars a night before they put us in a 30 amp site which is less money did not reimburse us the money we were in site 23 the electric circuit couldn't handle one air conditioner we kept blowing the circuit breaker outside we went for about 5'hours to come back to a hot motorhome and hot dogs inside. James Goode
Aug 17, 2015
The Pool side DJ is the best attraction. The guy rocks and knows how to get all involved in having a good time!This campground is the best we know of and we'll always be back!
Aug 17, 2015
Great place for families with children. Very, very clean and tons of fun activities to do!
Aug 17, 2015
Staff are neither friendly nor helpful. Our RV spot should have been cleaner. Trash strewn about and site not very appealing.
Aug 17, 2015
Fun considering how crowded it was. I wish I could have stayed a few days longer to relax. My biggest complaint was on checking out I was not made aware that the dump station is directly in front of the exit/security gate. Be aware that if someone is using it there could be a long backup of RV's and no staff there to monitor problems.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice place
Aug 17, 2015
Great all around staff +++++ The San Francisco tour with Angela was outstanding.
Aug 17, 2015
Had a great time
Aug 17, 2015
Had a great stay, just for one night while passing through the area. Great family entertainment and a lot of activities for the children. Would like to bring the Grandchildren sometime for a weekend. Friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 17, 2015
I only gave it 3 stars because of the lack of internet connection. When we inquired at the desk regarding this we were told it was because it was too busy and too many users. It shouldn't be advertised free wifi.
Aug 17, 2015
Very expensive $200 Cabin. Toilet hummed all night, as it didnt work properly. Used Ear swab under bench in bedroom. AC should be included feature in an expensive Cabin option.
Aug 16, 2015
Too many people in tents, running all over our pitch. Shop (bread) extremely expensive.
Aug 16, 2015
Easily the best KOA (and we have been to a lot)! Lots to do for kids, great pool party, great prices for activities. Things like ice cream social can be a little more professional, but still great. One thing bugged me and that was one hill shower where the knob gets crazy hot. Water also changes when someone flushes toilet, dangerous for kids. We'll be back again!!
Aug 16, 2015
Family had fun esp the children but the traffic to and from the camp site was worst.
Aug 16, 2015
First time at a KOA and we were amazed at the kid-friendliness of the property. Great place!
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Overall, I like it. The bathroom is clean and its close to our camp site. The only thing is the shower head is too high. I love the public kitchen.
Aug 16, 2015
The good stuff - nice stff, good location, pretty trees, good laundry. Why we won't be back - quiet hours and speed rules not enforced. Even employees in golf carts broke the speed limit. Large groups of kids on bikes and scooters - that's great, but not when they go very fast with little regard for motor vehicles. an accident waiting to happen. Our site and others were not clean. 'Nuf said.
Aug 16, 2015
Pull through's are not level,nor is there much level ground to sit at picnic table. Internet sucks...as it seems do at all KOA campgrounds.It is important when travelling to be able to quickly and easily connect to internet.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.