San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
I have stayed at koa campgrounds for over 15 years the workers are always friendly at this one no one cared they were rude my kids got kicked out of the pool because there camp bracelet fell off my daughter cut her leg on a chair by the pool no one seemed to care or even offer a bandage There were 3 rvs with us and none of us will ever come back unless under new management We love koas this one
Jul 01, 2014
If you don't have kids, do not stay there because the place is overrun with kids with little supervision. It is also very expensive
Jul 01, 2014
Very nice accommodations - nicely appointed (loved the added bonus of WiFi and TV in the adorable Kabins), clean, comfortable, and convenient. We had a great stay. The kids had an incredible time with the petting zoo, park, pool, jumping pillow, crafts, and so much more. Definitely plan to return.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Noisy, overcrowded, very expensive, dirty restrooms
Jul 01, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Would prefer to have a RV site away from the Recreation Room especially on Karaoke night. A Senior like myself prefers to go to bed early (before 9:00 pm). I appreciate that the Karaoke ended at 9:45 but it was so loud I had trouble hearing my TV over the noise.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY,THE FACILITY IS MAINTAINED AND CARED FOR. JUST A COUPLE THINGS IS KIDS ON SATEBOARDS COME DOWN THE HILL ROADS WAY TO FAST AND NEEDS SOME ATTENTION. ALSO I WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE RESTROOM SHOWERS CLEANED TWICE A DAY AS IN A. M. THEY ARE DIRTY FROM OVER NIGHT AND DOESNT GET CLEANED UNTIL 2;00 P.M. OTHERWISE I STILL HIGHLY RATE THIS PARK AND WILL AND HAVE RECOMMENDED TO OTHE
Jul 01, 2014
Uneven area to park trailer, barking animals, confusing highway signs made it difficult to enter and exit and when I shared with the staff they seems indifferent ( we missed the turnoff twice)
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
The staff were friendly and helpful and there were a lot of activities geared toward families with young children. They offered a tour of San Francisco which was good. Unfortunately, the place was extremely crowded and the bathrooms were filthy. It seems that they are cleaned on a regular basis, but guests seem to have such bad bathroom manners that they need a full-time bathroom attendant.
Jul 01, 2014
Simply AWESOME.
Jul 01, 2014
Liked the clean bathrooms.Facility was just great.
Jul 01, 2014
Great location, friendly and helpful folks, awesome KOA
Jul 01, 2014
The facilities were clean, and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. The activities for kids was well organized and coordinated.
Jul 01, 2014
This is a really nice place to be with your family.
Jul 01, 2014
We came late and didn't have time to explore, but there was a lot going on and available. Staff was great and bathrooms were clean and handy.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
we really enjoy the place. The restroom are clean
Jun 30, 2014
We've been coming here every year for almost 10 years. If you want to rough it this is not the place.
Jun 30, 2014
We love this koa! We can have a wood fire in the fire pit which is our favorite thing to do!
Jun 30, 2014
We went with 3 teenage girls and happened to be next to 8 teenage boys. They all had a blast in the pool and hot tub and sitting around the fire. It's a very family friendly place. I don't think it would have been as much fun if my husband and I were there by ourselves because it is so kid oriented, but the cabin was perfect. We couldn't believe it had everything we needed.
Jun 30, 2014
Please either put out signs or let travlers know about north bound construction.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
This KOA is pretty amazing. This would be a 10/5-star rating except that we were assigned a site next to the bathrooms that also had the septic tank/system on it. n top of that, the only flat spot to pitch the tent was directly next to the tank. We ended up pitching on our friends' site next door, 50 feet away. That site should not exist. Not Cool.
Jun 30, 2014
Great place for families.Lots to do but maybe a little too busy for senior travelers but fun anyway. Could use a few more toilets and showers.
Jun 30, 2014
Overcrowded, tents were right next to one another. not enough bathrooms and not clean. Site was more Suited for a RV than tent.
Jun 30, 2014
Staff is excellent. So friendly and always helpful. Amenities are fantastic for kids an adults.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Thank you
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The campground was very expensive and our neighbors were gross. The couple fought with each other, the man peed outside and he let his sewer come out a leak I. The hose. When he saw me watching he started squirting the smelly black tank deposits with the hose. UGH!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
The campground was well kept and had we not been put right in front of the rec hall/tent we would have enjoyed our stay more. We requested and paid for a premium site. What we got was a thoroughfare for the rest of the campground. Scooter, skateboards and bikes just blazing through our sitting area.
Jun 30, 2014
Fun trip everything was as expected. Bathrooms got a little dirty but that's more due to people being pigs about it. Staff was all friendly. Had fun!
Jun 30, 2014
We had a great time at the KOA. The amenities are great for kids but the camping situation was horrible especially considering the price. Our site didn't even have a fire pit just a field of grass with a picnic bench.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We love KOA, but the bathrooms were shockingly filthy and there was no adults only area (pool, jacuzi, anything) unlike other places we've stayed. It was jammed everywhere with running, screaming kids. And nowhere to walk the dog but way over on the other side of the park. If you like loud, crowded and dirty, this place is for you.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Very nice campground with lots and lots of people. Some dogs unleashed and allowed to wander, but I doubt the owners were caught out. Nice cabins, but looks like 2 or 3 families gathered in side-by-sides and contributed to a rather large traffic jam at times. I'm sure all the kids loved this place as there is plenty for them to do. Management was very very good.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Great KOA. So much to see and do without leaving KOA. Within short distance of SF so great tours available. Also in the midst of wine country.
Jun 29, 2014
This was one well oiled machine of a KOA!!! I've been to many northern ca KOA's and this was definitely one of the better ones. From the streamlined check-in, to the traffic directors, to the massive employee presence that was always there to help! However- the bathrooms REALLY need help in both updating and expansion. Worst bathrooms of any KOA I've been to!
Jun 29, 2014
Please notify guests that site 295 is exposed to really bright light at nightime. It was a big incovenience to have a tent lit up like it was daytime at night
Jun 29, 2014
The campsite was practically sitting on top of the other campsites. There is hardly room for your car, tent and fire. There is not very much to do unless you are a child or have children. Extremely disappointed that I spent $40+ a night to practically camp in my backyard (on grass).The teens playing volleyball constantly walked through our site and hit my car with the ball several times.
Jun 29, 2014
Not enough bathrooms.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.