San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
For travelling with children, this campground is great. The personnel is doing an excellent job. The only thing that bothered us is the location: too close to the highway. If I were the owner I would plant a lot of bushes and trees between campground and highway. It will help avoiding the noise and improve the looks.
Aug 24, 2015
Great staff and staffing level. Extremely clean. Loved the kid's activities
Aug 24, 2015
Loud and crowded tent camping area. Very clean facility. Friendly staff.
Aug 24, 2015
Very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. If we ever come that way again we will definitely stay again :)
Aug 24, 2015
Good activities for kids. Very little rule enforcement for child supervision, bike helmets, etc. Restroom facilities were not as clean as I'd expect for the price. Noise enforcement of 10pm not followed or enforced. For $80+ per night, there could be an escort to the sites, since they are not well marked from the ends of the streets.
Aug 24, 2015
Location is the best feature of the park. Sites are not as level as they should be and trash receptacles are few and far between.
Aug 24, 2015
First time at a KOA and it was amazing! The entire staff and activities were great and the grounds far exceeded my expectations. Thank you for Helping create everlasting memories
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly. The activities were perfectly directed toward the kids, as we hoped. The only negative was the sites were just a bit too close to each other, ex. the firepit for the next camp was right outside our window and we had to shut the RV up tight at that end to avoid to smoke coming in.
Aug 24, 2015
Great park! Love everything. Will definitely stay again. This is what we have come to expect from a campground with the KOA logo attached to it
Aug 24, 2015
WE were there only two days. Lots to do, great location for home base to sight see, close to rental car agency, lots for kids to stay busy.
Aug 24, 2015
Not a place for traditional camping. Loud music is annoying
Aug 24, 2015
First rate
Aug 24, 2015
Great times...lots for the kids to do
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
It depends what you're looking for. When we stayed, it was crowded, noisy and cramped.
Aug 23, 2015
Large campground with alot of amenities for any age. Great location if you want to go to San fran. Check in was fast and efficient and showers and restrooms were clean.
Aug 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay and the camp facilities. We felt very welcome and look forward to returning.
Aug 23, 2015
Its very nice place to stay. Staff was wonderful.
Aug 23, 2015
Too crowded!No space between camp sites.Noisy entertainment for kids.Told to move car to distant parking.Nobody else had to move cars.Espensive.We won't go back.
Aug 23, 2015
Always enjoy KOA's
Aug 23, 2015
Our family LOVES this campground--definitely one of our favorite!
Aug 22, 2015
The staff are very friendly and the KOA is in close proximity to San Francisco. We stayed in a cabin and it didn't look very clean. There was a swarm of flies that it took a little more than two days to get rid of, there were several items broken or missing from the cabin that we had to speak with the front desk about. I noticed in every cabin needed to be hosed down.
Aug 22, 2015
Everything was great!
Aug 22, 2015
Our stay was excellent and we are coming back in Melissa was fantastic and saw all the ceilidh stuff
Aug 22, 2015
Initially we were going to use our tent to stay and when we saw the tent sites we weren't happy, but then decided on staying in a 1 room kabin and was very happy. The activities made the stay very enjoyable! Will come again if we are ever down that way.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
It seamed a lite crowded . Sites could be a little better level wise . Great laundry facility !!
Aug 22, 2015
We asked to be moved from the spot they gave us because it was very muddy and we have dogs, the people next to us stopped to tell every person that walked by and pointed to us. In the morning our spot was flooded with water, everyone and thing around us was dry and a red hose was on our spot, will never go back there and would never recommend. When we first got there we thought we would tell our
Aug 21, 2015
deluxe cabin was very nice, lots for kids to do. Pool is always a little chilly and over-chlorinated, but still fun.
Aug 21, 2015
We had a fun stay, however, when we first arrived, KOA was watering a tree on our site and forgot to turn the water off. I had to do so and by then, close to half the area was muddy. It made a bigger mess when we had to set up and add two kids to the mix and we were not please at all. The bright spot was I flagged down a worker who added gravel to the area in a quick manner which helped.
Aug 21, 2015
Nice amenities. The tour is worth every cent John was sour guide and he was magnificent!
Aug 21, 2015
Brought the grandkids for one night and I wished we stayed longer. Playground was a real hit, the pool and petting zoo are a must next time, coffee in the early am then pancake breakfast later how can you beat that
Aug 21, 2015
The best
Aug 21, 2015
Awesome campground. Lots of amenities.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Wifi little weak but everything else super!
Aug 20, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was located across from the playground and the campers behind our site as a short cut to the bathroom and the playground there were at least 40 people coming and going. Needless to say our stay was very distracting and not much fun
Aug 20, 2015
The entire campground is littered with cigarette butts, trash, pet waste and drunk people. My puppy couldn't walk 5 feet without coming across something disgusting I had to stop him from eating. Pet friendly, eh?
Aug 19, 2015
Noise, barking dogs. The rv space to us had 25 people in it, no rv. Their chairs and garbage can in our space. I called the office, they said their 24 he security will check, never happend. Tenters behind us had yappin dog, made noise until midnight. 24 hr security is a joke
Aug 19, 2015
very busy place lots of activities great for kids
Aug 19, 2015
Love the setting. A couple things could improve the stay - a separate adult only pool since the kids fill the one up, and a security person to cruise around after 10 PM to skeep down the noise of people partying when others want to sleep.
Aug 19, 2015
I like all the activities available for the kids. I also like how pool/playground are pretty close so you don't have to go across the other side of the camp to take advantage of all the activities. The kids had lots of fun in the pool. It was a good size and not too deep so kids can have fun. Definitely going back!
Aug 19, 2015
Nice campground. Great facilities for families with kids looking to stay in the campground for part / all of the day.
Aug 19, 2015
Everything about your campground is awesome...
Aug 19, 2015
Tent site was large with trees and cows and donkeys as neighbors. Very pleasant. People came in at 1:30am and pounded tent stakes for 15 minutes. Not sure what could be done to mitigate that. Nice pool, rec center well equipped, friendly knowledgeable staff. Excellent campground.
Aug 18, 2015
Great place for families!!!! My kids never want to leave!!! We visit here at least twice a year.
Aug 18, 2015
We had an amazing trip to KOA. This is our second time at your location. The DJ is amazing!! Only complaint is the rooster crowing every morning. Our site was 134. It would be nice if the rooster could live somewhere else? He woke us up each morning starting at 5 AM.
Aug 18, 2015
I had orig. requested site in kids play area but also needed a site lg enough to accommodate a big tent. The staff selected one of their larger sites. Couldn't have been more pleased when we arrived! I've learned to trust their vast experience. Thank you for another great weekend. Came home and booked another!!! See you in Oct.
Aug 18, 2015
Incredibly welcoming and friendly staff. A great base to explore the surrounding area. Smashing facilities and well maintained site. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2015
The spaces were very small and we got lost trying to find our site in full daylight. We also found the facilities to be in need of some cleaning up. I understand that the place was full and that it was a challenge to keep up with. It is inexpensive considering how close we were to San Francisco. the kids loved it. I would not stay there again. Way too crowded for my taste.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.