San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2013
Efficient, clean and welcoming. This was our best stay in 2 weeks and 4,000 km of camping in the western US. The pool was great, the washrooms and showers always clean, staff friendly and campground quiet. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Friendly helpful staff. Really appreciate the connections to rental car and tours. Enterprise picked us up at the office. Excellent laundry room and rest rooms.
Aug 18, 2013
site 171 is a bit too small to enjoy
Aug 18, 2013
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Petaluma KOA. It is a great place for a home base in the bay area/wine country. Our kids are grown but it looks like a great place for families. We love the pull-through spots.
Aug 18, 2013
Not a great place to tent camp. Too close to driveways, too much lighting at night. Stayed at several campgrounds in CA,OR, hardly got any sleep in this one. This campground is probably great, if you are in a camper and have kids, lots of activities. On the plus side, it is huge, they have lots of employees and they seem to keep everything clean and in working order.
Aug 18, 2013
The resort is beautiful, lots of trees and things to do, I think you guys could go even further and plan family activities to make the experience more rewarding and enjoyable. Any games that you could imagine, give away prizes for arcade or 15% discount on next stay, things like that. By the way I never had any issues at Koa Petaluma, but this last Friday some people were late talking very loud
Aug 17, 2013
My whole family loved the nightly movie and pool. It was one of our favorite KOAs.
Aug 17, 2013
Had so much trouble with wifi signal that I gave up and we left one day earlier. At $70/d I was expecting a better. Next time in SF, will be staying in a different campground. When we asked for better signal, we changed site (30A not 50A) w/o credit. Not better. They even suggested that we go to Denny's Restaurant if we had an emergency and we had to Skype our family back in Qu├ębec. :(
Aug 17, 2013
Washers machine and Wifi Internet doesn't work efficiency
Aug 17, 2013
Excellent stop on our vacation from Canada. John the San Fran tour guide was amazingly exceptional !!!! Best part of the trip !
Aug 17, 2013
We were greeted by KOA's competent and friendly staff when we arrived and also throughout our stay. We were especially pleased with the concern and assistance we received when our 6 yr old grandson had a bike crash and needed help from the staff. Thanks KOA Petaluma...we plan to return soon.
Aug 17, 2013
Great location for touring Marin, Sonoma, and Pt Reyes. We had fun with all the activities the campground offers.
Aug 17, 2013
Check in employees attitude was 'cool to cold'. Asked to sign legal release. No explanation other than its a registration form. Never seen anything like this at a KOA nor other RV park Not a positive start. Difficult to make a 90%+ turn into lane assigned space located. Too many small units in spaces for big rigs 45'+. Extended checkout by 1 hr then scolded in person 4 not leaving @ check out time
Aug 17, 2013
Many things for kids to do, pleasant staff, clean bathrooms (heated at night), lots of shade at the pool, kamp kitchen very nice for washing dishes, we will definitely return!
Aug 17, 2013
we had a great time!
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
I was going to bring a broken shower head to the attention of the front desk. However, the shower head was replaced immediately. Great way to stay ahead of the game. For me, that was VERY MUCH noticed! Thank you, Bob
Aug 17, 2013
WE REALLY ENJOYED THIS CAMPGROUND CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.
Aug 16, 2013
Very nice. The price of the cabins continue to rise however, which limits are ability to go more. Unfortunately, the price may have priced out in coming back.
Aug 16, 2013
No friends or family with children. I hated the noise and inconsiderate actions from the families who allowed the kids to walk through my camp (and themselves),scream and act-up till midnight. There's more but I realize KOA is just for families with wild kids and not for older people who want a quiet, private campsite. The check-in people were wonderful and helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
I really liked the bounce pillow and cold pool, the petting zoo was in need of some cleaning. I didn't get to the volleyball court because it was buried within the campground. I thought the premier RV spots were ok. The spots were small compared to the end spots and the section on the left of the pool. The grass was dead and dusty but the bathrooms were clean. Manchester beacH remains my favorite
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
We really enjoyed our first stay at KOA. The campground was well kept and our cabin was clean and comfortable. The kids enjoyed all the amenities, especially the pool and bounce pillow. Would definitely do it again!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
this is a nice campside. well shaded with trees and the Stuff is friendly
Aug 15, 2013
It was disappointing when a young girl working at the bike area drove by our cabin with the concierge to threaten my teenage daughter & friends that if she saw them riding their own bikes/scooters without helmets she would talk to their parents. My girls weren't even riding & very few kids, if any, wear helmets at KOA (not sure why we were singled out).This is our 10th year & this never happened.
Aug 15, 2013
The park was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool and our site was great with the swing and wood chairs nice touch for a campsite. It was nice of the office to contact my email before my arrival to offer shuttles for Alcatraz and to tour San Francisco. Bathrooms and showers were clean and hot!! Defiantly be stopping back in on our next trip thru!!
Aug 15, 2013
we were camping several koa's during week long trip. We found that this was the best family friendly place.Also we took the San Francisco tour John(Tour Guide) was great and made this the best part of our Vacation.
Aug 15, 2013
The Camp was beautiful and so much for the kids to do . We had a 8 and 4 yr. old with us and they had a blast. Thank you very much!!!!!
Aug 15, 2013
This is one of the nicest parks we have stayed at anywhere. Very woodsy sites. Although we are older, this is a great park for kids with playgrounds, beautiful swimming pool, petting zoo and other attractions. This was our first time there, but we will definitely be back.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
The location was convenient for day trips. However considering the cost I was disappointed the wifi was unreliable and the showers and bathrooms were shabby and there was always a line. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Aug 15, 2013
A little too busy for me but great for my purpose this time. The young girls who serverd me each morning were wonderful. Very helpful and pleasant and friendly. It is always so great to see young caring people dealing with the public. Thank you very much, ruby
Aug 14, 2013
Staff and Park all very NICE!! We will be back
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
great atmosphere. very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms all the time. Reasonable price at the store in case you forgot something. The kids have fun with all the activities and we relax.
Aug 14, 2013
Friendly staff, clean, perfect infrastructure (pool, playground, animals).
Aug 14, 2013
Great place for kids but not retired adults. We were stuck next to the Karaoke tent. Give me a break.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Very nice facility with great swimming pool and many activities for the kids. Two problems keep me from giving this KOA a higher rating: 1. The restroom facilities are not sufficient for the number of sites, resulting in frequent waits for a toilet. 2. The wifi capabilities are not sufficient, making it very difficult to get online. If these areas were addressed, it would be a fantastic faci
Aug 14, 2013
I didn't feel there were an adequate number of bathrooms for the amount of people staying in the campground. There were only two bathrooms for about 5 rows of campers. Quite a few people in a close space. The best part of the campground was the location. Very close to restaurants and the town of Petaluma.
Aug 14, 2013
It is more like a summer camp. Loved it.
Aug 14, 2013
We absolutely LOVED our time here, in fact it was too short! We will definitely stay again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
we love the campsite, the only issue i can state is that I wish the bathrooms were kept up more often. I can't tell you how many times i went in throughout our stay and toilets were a mess, floors a mess. That's my only complaint

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.