San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2013
This was the third time visiting your camp in recent years. This time weather was not supportive, but we made most of it. Another small thing was that the site that we occupied was not leveled at all and we found ourselves every morning on the bottom of the tent. First night was funny, but next time I will make sure I do not get this site. Very clean facilites and great swimming pool
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
We enjoyed everything. Wish we would've had the chance to cruise around on the banana bikes. The ice cream social was yummy and the poolside movie was a nice event to get us away from the fireside for a little while. Our tent site 91 was right up against the fence of the cow and donkey pasture which we really enjoyed although it smelled a little bit :)
Aug 20, 2013
site was unpleasant because it was dirt, not gravel, grass sparse with plenty of weeds and debris on ground from previous campers; less than we have enjoyed in the past
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Great spot at the end of row C. Loved the swing and wooden chair for 2 with fire pit. Great pine trees and what a fun place for families with children. So many activities for them. A wonderful place. We will stay there again.
Aug 20, 2013
Lots to do for the family. Bathrooms were clean, the shower heads were terrible though. The pool was reaaly great, and movie night by the pool was fun :-). I wished there was a bit more privacy between sites, but overall we really enjoyed our stay and it was only 40 minutes to 6 Flags and 5 to the Lagunitas brewery :-)
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Nice campground. Very crowded in weekends. Stayed at a site near pool. Woke up 3 times because of a loud bell ringing(?!)
Aug 20, 2013
Not Big Rig friendly. Could not open awnings, trees in the way. No room to park tow. Pine sap all over rig. No escort to site.
Aug 20, 2013
Poor security. Road bike stolen from campground
Aug 20, 2013
The front desk clerk was very helpful and made our checkin very easy. We have stayed here several times and this was the easiest checkin. There was a very noisy party in the tent, but it ended on time.
Aug 20, 2013
what a wonderful CLEAN facility everyone who works there that we had an interaction with was friendly and seemed very knowledgeable
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great place for kids. Very rigid rules and the man (I believe the Manager) was very rude when I checked in. I came at 1pm when check in was at 3pm and he wouldn't let us use the pool while we wait unless we paid an extra $12/person. Very disappointing. The cabin wasn't ready until 4pm!! Not very accommodating.
Aug 19, 2013
We are part of a group of families that visit KOA Petaluma every year in August. Both adults and kids have a fabulous time and we look forward to our trip every year. The kids never want to leave!
Aug 19, 2013
What a wonderful campground. Such a nice change from the "sardine" camping the other Koa's seem to have. Very clean. Helpful staff. Huge pool, alot of lounge chairs . We took the tour of San Francisco, wonderful tour Guide (John), very knowledgeable, a must see and do. On our way back to Canada we have been telling everyone to go to this campground. It's also dog friendly. Very easy to get to.
Aug 19, 2013
The reason I'm not sure if I'll be back is and that itt ould be okay if the crafts an extra things for free. But when your child wants to do everything and everything costs, it doesn't make for a pleasant stay. At other koa's the fun things are free. And that justifies the higher cost of camping to be there.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Good parts - lots of activities to do for the kids, nice pool, friendly staff, garbage by site. Bad things - lack of patrol at night to check for noisy campers ( we complained due to our neighbors partying until 2am ). Lack of shower rooms for the size of the campground. Toilet doors didn't lock and you have to literally squeeze in the bathrooms as there is no room to open the door!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great Kamp Ground with alot of things to keep the kid busy.
Aug 19, 2013
Best KOA ever!
Aug 19, 2013
I was disappointed in regard to the noise level allowed. There were loud parties going on both nights until midnight and after.
Aug 19, 2013
Your campground is severely lacking for tent campers with young children, their first time. Really - next to the cow pasture. I call it a health hazard. Have the health officials been to visit you lately? Maybe... Don't treat tent campers like 3rd class citizens, with the movie screen shining into our tent past 10:00 PM on Sat. night & country music before 7:30 Sun. morning? How uncivil!
Aug 19, 2013
The campground was clean and well maintained, however, it was very crowdy during the weekend. Maybe in weekdays it is more pleasant to stay there.
Aug 19, 2013
Super friendly staff, very very clean facilities lots and lots of fun stuff to do for children. All time bonus - Lagunitas beer sold at store (:
Aug 19, 2013
It was our first time taking the kiddos to a KOA campground and we didn't know what to expect. We had such a great time there this past weekend that we decided to book another camping trip for next month with our friends!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Had a great time, our first camp out of the heat in August. Grandkids love the activity especially the hay ride and rock wall
Aug 19, 2013
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!!!
Aug 19, 2013
Great campground and we enjoyed the KOA San Fran tour. Well worth it. Can't believe this good a campground doesn't have good WiFi. Unable to use it which accounts for the lower rating
Aug 19, 2013
Very nice place, the woman at the front desk seemed to be confused why three 30 something adults would be traveling together through California, but all in all nice ammentities, the bathrooms were alittle smelly and there were alot of loud foreigners who were crowding the "Kitchen" area.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
The numbering of the slot should be clearly posted to relive confusion
Aug 19, 2013
Our first time here was a delightful surprise. Came with our grand daughters, our adult kids and neighbors. We especially Enjoyed the pool with the kids. Participated in many activities, like Kareoke, wagon ride, ice cream social. But we LOVED the Polynesean show and plan to go back for it next year!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This KOA is wonderful because it has late hours for their store and front desk making it easier to check in if you are arriving later. However, this KOA has one very nice large new looking restroom and shower area near the activity room and they have a small 2 bathroom/shower facility at the end that is in terrible shape if I had known that there were nicer showers I would have walked.
Aug 19, 2013
While this is a good place for a family looking for a very casual "camping" experience we were hoping for something different. The petting zoo was a neat feature during the day, however the rooster kept us up all night
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Huge campground,very few restrooms,so expect long wait in the mornings/evenings.Tent space had sprinklers(buried in the ground)coming off in the middle of the night,so you find everything wet in the morning.Very competent staff.
Aug 18, 2013
Kabins were great and very clean as were all the facilities. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Great location.
Aug 18, 2013
Efficient, clean and welcoming. This was our best stay in 2 weeks and 4,000 km of camping in the western US. The pool was great, the washrooms and showers always clean, staff friendly and campground quiet. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Friendly helpful staff. Really appreciate the connections to rental car and tours. Enterprise picked us up at the office. Excellent laundry room and rest rooms.
Aug 18, 2013
site 171 is a bit too small to enjoy
Aug 18, 2013
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Petaluma KOA. It is a great place for a home base in the bay area/wine country. Our kids are grown but it looks like a great place for families. We love the pull-through spots.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.