San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
Best KOA ever!
Aug 19, 2013
I was disappointed in regard to the noise level allowed. There were loud parties going on both nights until midnight and after.
Aug 19, 2013
Your campground is severely lacking for tent campers with young children, their first time. Really - next to the cow pasture. I call it a health hazard. Have the health officials been to visit you lately? Maybe... Don't treat tent campers like 3rd class citizens, with the movie screen shining into our tent past 10:00 PM on Sat. night & country music before 7:30 Sun. morning? How uncivil!
Aug 19, 2013
The campground was clean and well maintained, however, it was very crowdy during the weekend. Maybe in weekdays it is more pleasant to stay there.
Aug 19, 2013
Super friendly staff, very very clean facilities lots and lots of fun stuff to do for children. All time bonus - Lagunitas beer sold at store (:
Aug 19, 2013
It was our first time taking the kiddos to a KOA campground and we didn't know what to expect. We had such a great time there this past weekend that we decided to book another camping trip for next month with our friends!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Had a great time, our first camp out of the heat in August. Grandkids love the activity especially the hay ride and rock wall
Aug 19, 2013
Awesome, awesome, awesome!!!!!
Aug 19, 2013
Great campground and we enjoyed the KOA San Fran tour. Well worth it. Can't believe this good a campground doesn't have good WiFi. Unable to use it which accounts for the lower rating
Aug 19, 2013
Very nice place, the woman at the front desk seemed to be confused why three 30 something adults would be traveling together through California, but all in all nice ammentities, the bathrooms were alittle smelly and there were alot of loud foreigners who were crowding the "Kitchen" area.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
The numbering of the slot should be clearly posted to relive confusion
Aug 19, 2013
Our first time here was a delightful surprise. Came with our grand daughters, our adult kids and neighbors. We especially Enjoyed the pool with the kids. Participated in many activities, like Kareoke, wagon ride, ice cream social. But we LOVED the Polynesean show and plan to go back for it next year!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This KOA is wonderful because it has late hours for their store and front desk making it easier to check in if you are arriving later. However, this KOA has one very nice large new looking restroom and shower area near the activity room and they have a small 2 bathroom/shower facility at the end that is in terrible shape if I had known that there were nicer showers I would have walked.
Aug 19, 2013
While this is a good place for a family looking for a very casual "camping" experience we were hoping for something different. The petting zoo was a neat feature during the day, however the rooster kept us up all night
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Huge campground,very few restrooms,so expect long wait in the mornings/evenings.Tent space had sprinklers(buried in the ground)coming off in the middle of the night,so you find everything wet in the morning.Very competent staff.
Aug 18, 2013
Kabins were great and very clean as were all the facilities. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Great location.
Aug 18, 2013
Efficient, clean and welcoming. This was our best stay in 2 weeks and 4,000 km of camping in the western US. The pool was great, the washrooms and showers always clean, staff friendly and campground quiet. Thanks!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Friendly helpful staff. Really appreciate the connections to rental car and tours. Enterprise picked us up at the office. Excellent laundry room and rest rooms.
Aug 18, 2013
site 171 is a bit too small to enjoy
Aug 18, 2013
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Petaluma KOA. It is a great place for a home base in the bay area/wine country. Our kids are grown but it looks like a great place for families. We love the pull-through spots.
Aug 18, 2013
Not a great place to tent camp. Too close to driveways, too much lighting at night. Stayed at several campgrounds in CA,OR, hardly got any sleep in this one. This campground is probably great, if you are in a camper and have kids, lots of activities. On the plus side, it is huge, they have lots of employees and they seem to keep everything clean and in working order.
Aug 18, 2013
The resort is beautiful, lots of trees and things to do, I think you guys could go even further and plan family activities to make the experience more rewarding and enjoyable. Any games that you could imagine, give away prizes for arcade or 15% discount on next stay, things like that. By the way I never had any issues at Koa Petaluma, but this last Friday some people were late talking very loud
Aug 17, 2013
My whole family loved the nightly movie and pool. It was one of our favorite KOAs.
Aug 17, 2013
Had so much trouble with wifi signal that I gave up and we left one day earlier. At $70/d I was expecting a better. Next time in SF, will be staying in a different campground. When we asked for better signal, we changed site (30A not 50A) w/o credit. Not better. They even suggested that we go to Denny's Restaurant if we had an emergency and we had to Skype our family back in Qu├ębec. :(
Aug 17, 2013
Washers machine and Wifi Internet doesn't work efficiency
Aug 17, 2013
Excellent stop on our vacation from Canada. John the San Fran tour guide was amazingly exceptional !!!! Best part of the trip !
Aug 17, 2013
We were greeted by KOA's competent and friendly staff when we arrived and also throughout our stay. We were especially pleased with the concern and assistance we received when our 6 yr old grandson had a bike crash and needed help from the staff. Thanks KOA Petaluma...we plan to return soon.
Aug 17, 2013
Great location for touring Marin, Sonoma, and Pt Reyes. We had fun with all the activities the campground offers.
Aug 17, 2013
Check in employees attitude was 'cool to cold'. Asked to sign legal release. No explanation other than its a registration form. Never seen anything like this at a KOA nor other RV park Not a positive start. Difficult to make a 90%+ turn into lane assigned space located. Too many small units in spaces for big rigs 45'+. Extended checkout by 1 hr then scolded in person 4 not leaving @ check out time
Aug 17, 2013
Many things for kids to do, pleasant staff, clean bathrooms (heated at night), lots of shade at the pool, kamp kitchen very nice for washing dishes, we will definitely return!
Aug 17, 2013
we had a great time!
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
I was going to bring a broken shower head to the attention of the front desk. However, the shower head was replaced immediately. Great way to stay ahead of the game. For me, that was VERY MUCH noticed! Thank you, Bob
Aug 17, 2013
WE REALLY ENJOYED THIS CAMPGROUND CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.
Aug 16, 2013
Very nice. The price of the cabins continue to rise however, which limits are ability to go more. Unfortunately, the price may have priced out in coming back.
Aug 16, 2013
No friends or family with children. I hated the noise and inconsiderate actions from the families who allowed the kids to walk through my camp (and themselves),scream and act-up till midnight. There's more but I realize KOA is just for families with wild kids and not for older people who want a quiet, private campsite. The check-in people were wonderful and helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
I really liked the bounce pillow and cold pool, the petting zoo was in need of some cleaning. I didn't get to the volleyball court because it was buried within the campground. I thought the premier RV spots were ok. The spots were small compared to the end spots and the section on the left of the pool. The grass was dead and dusty but the bathrooms were clean. Manchester beacH remains my favorite
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
We really enjoyed our first stay at KOA. The campground was well kept and our cabin was clean and comfortable. The kids enjoyed all the amenities, especially the pool and bounce pillow. Would definitely do it again!
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
this is a nice campside. well shaded with trees and the Stuff is friendly
Aug 15, 2013
It was disappointing when a young girl working at the bike area drove by our cabin with the concierge to threaten my teenage daughter & friends that if she saw them riding their own bikes/scooters without helmets she would talk to their parents. My girls weren't even riding & very few kids, if any, wear helmets at KOA (not sure why we were singled out).This is our 10th year & this never happened.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.