San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 08, 2014
sites were small and rough. access roads narrow. Staff very pleasant and the tour of San Francisco was very good. Prices very high.
Jun 07, 2014
Super friendly staff and lots of trees at this park. Great place if you have kids - lots things to do. The park is huge and the sites are close together. The roads are narrow making it difficult to maneuver around trees in some sites. We have a 40' motorhome with a tow vehicle and should not have believed that we didn't have to disconnect!
Jun 07, 2014
The best KOA we've stayed at so far...after you get used to the farm smell.
Jun 07, 2014
It was a very nice park. Friendly staff and clean. The only off putting thing was the smell of cows was very strong. We went around town and seemed the smell was worst at the camp grounds. We would still go back it was fun.
Jun 06, 2014
Very clean,helpful and pleasant. Many activities and close to SF. Very good tour and tour guide(John)
Jun 06, 2014
Our stay was to say the least a nightmare first of all this place is very tight for a big rig. I reserved and paid for a premier site witch I never received. After two sites finally gave me one That fit not a premier. Promised help to get branches off roof that never happened and when the wind changed direction the whole place smelled like manure
Jun 06, 2014
This was the nicest campground I have ever been to. We went into San Fran for the day, but the campsite was so nice and had so much to do we hated to leave for the day.
Jun 05, 2014
It is a great campground and we enjoyed our evenings around the campfire. Two things.. the dog park was always too wet and muddy to use, and our spot was 2 spots up from the playground. We were an adult group with no young children and would have prefered a spot farther away. Not being familiar with your campground we didn't realize what a problem it would be and didn't ask for a dif. site
Jun 05, 2014
We loved all the different activities for the family and kids. The Dj at the pooln was awesome, full of fun and good enrgy. Already planned our next camping trip.
Jun 05, 2014
This is my 2nd KOA that I have stayed at, and I was so disappointed with the service. I always felt when I went into the office, I was a bother. Then while I sat at the pool area, during the day, was told they needed to clean the umbrellas out by the pool area, I went back to tent site, and the umbrellas still sat there. Will never stay there ever again!!
Jun 05, 2014
Great place to stay for families - the activities are endless
Jun 05, 2014
A great KOA with clean restrooms. Could use more showers in the RV parking area. We are traving with small pop-up trailers, so no showers, the showers were full a lot of the time.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
the tour guy was very very good! Best tour ever, thanks John.
Jun 04, 2014
Very friendly staff. Park clean and lots of activities.
Jun 03, 2014
Stayed four nights while visiting San Francisco and the wine country. Great location for the area. The KOA was extremely well run. Big, clean, lots of space and friendly staff. Was VERY busy on the weekend with LOTS of children. But still everything was clean and well run.
Jun 03, 2014
Would like to have been further away from the kids area. Next time I'll know to ask. Great place, well kept and great facilities.
Jun 03, 2014
This campground was party central on friday and saturday night. I have never seen a campground put up with a group coming in and taking over the campground for there own party. It was a lot of drinking and parents not watching the kids. There was a kickball game in the middle of the road and my camper got nailed. I called to complain, but it did not make a difference.
Jun 03, 2014
Nice place with forest, no noise, excellent wifi. restroom additionnal will be appreciate.
Jun 03, 2014
We put this campground at the top of our list. Vvery friendly and helpful staff made us feel welcome on arrival. Facilities are top notch with lots of activities and amenities. We will return.
Jun 03, 2014
The RV area under the trees was fine and had that been all we had to deal with would be a 5 star. But being next to the cabins, terrible.you don't enforce your own rules. There where per 4 cabins with excess of 40 people at each, at the same time. We come here for quiet not booze parties.
Jun 03, 2014
Le personnel est toujours souriant et prêt a aider! Le meilleur à date Propreté: impecable !
Jun 02, 2014
Every thing about my stay was great.The place was the cleanest I have ever stayed camping. The staff were all quick to respond and all seemed to enjoy their jobs. The price was a little bit higher than I am used to but by the condition of all the facilities I can understand why.
Jun 02, 2014
We came up with a group of 48 families (144 folks total) and everyone had an awesome time. Thanks for providing so many activities for the kids. It was super fun!!
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
We enjoyed our cabin. We were disappointed that there wasn't more nature close by (i.e. hiking). We didn't enjoy the view of the highway.
Jun 02, 2014
Campsite is good with option of grass with a slight unevenness and most have some shade. 99% paved and packed gravel for the rest. Bathrooms were great A+ on them badboys and Kampers Korner is great for a place to cook your food. Nice place overall.
Jun 02, 2014
This was the first stay at a KOA for my family, and we loved it. We had so much fun doing the activities: petting zoo, swimming, playground, banana bicycles, jumping pillow. We camped in a tent and were pleased with the clean bathrooms. Our only complaint is about the noise. There is a private house on the other side of the KOA, and a group of teenagers had a loud party there until 3:00 a.m.
Jun 02, 2014
nice open spaces. no hiway noise. good family resort type of park. have rebooked for retrurn trip home. called RV friends from park told them to hook up and come. loved the setting.
Jun 02, 2014
Everyone was very nice and accommodating. Melissa was especially helpful and friendly. She would greet us and our dog Henry whenever she was out and about as I also saw her do to all campers. Her knowledge regarding the area was extremely helpful. I think all of the staff were great would and will stay there again:)
Jun 02, 2014
We stayed in one of the cabins for a big birthday weekend. There were about 9 families who all rented cabins in the same vicinity and we had such a blast! The kids (between the ages of 2 and 10) rode their bikes, played at the play ground and ran around like crazy. Our cabin was so nice and the beds were really comfortable too. The pool was warm and sunny....overall, it was a great weekend!
Jun 02, 2014
Very expensive. Sites not very level. Worst of all, charging $12.00 per person for 2 guests that joined us for dinner one night for 3 hours. Atrocious!!!!!
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
It was an extremely windy weekend and the area where I had my tent had nothing in the way of a wind break. The wind blew so hard other tents in the area were blown over. I finally left early as it was just too much. It would be more customer service oriented to keep that whole area closed to tent camping during windy times like that.
Jun 02, 2014
There are so many great activities for children to do! My 4 year old LOVED it! He especially liked getting to spend some up-close and personal time with the animals in the petting zoo!
Jun 02, 2014
Loved the campground. Clean and well kept. Friendly and welcoming staff. I took some points off of the rating due to loud music at night and early morning, and only two toilets for quite a few campers around us. This site would probably be better in the off season.
Jun 02, 2014
This is the BEST KOA we've ever stayed at. The entire place was very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My son loved the climbing wall and jumping pillow and we both loved the giant pool and jacuzzi.
Jun 02, 2014
Wonderful family campground in the trees. A delightful surprise close to SF.
Jun 01, 2014
Great facilities and activities. The downside was that the brand new toilets, that hadn't quite been finished but will be really cool when done, had bright security lights on the side that were shining (on and off) directly into our campground and tent all night.
Jun 01, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Love making lifetime memories with my family at our favorite Koa in PETALUMA!!!
Jun 01, 2014
Awesome staff and the area is beautiful!! Campground was quiet and secure. We will be back
Jun 01, 2014
My wife & I are brand-new to truck camping, and we were greatly impressed with our back-in site. (Cable TV & WiFi hook-ups?!) It doesn't quite qualify as 'roughing it' as in my backpacking/tent-camping days, but we are still smiling!
May 31, 2014
The best KOA...... Gret place for kids. Lots to do
May 31, 2014
By far the best koa we have ever stayed so far. Staff very helpfull and dedicated. Facilities are perfects and the site is beautiful.
May 31, 2014
Wonderful in all but one respect. The --I assume new--showers in the bathroom across from section B just down from the pool are the most terrible design I have ever encountered. No privacy,the spray from the one on the left cannot be directed, hits the wood floor, doesn't drain. Hooks are on the OUTSIDE of the door which can't be opened if another person showering across from it is getting dressed
May 31, 2014
Took the trip they provided to San Francisco. John was our driver and we had an excellent tour. Good place to stay. Staff very friendly and helpful.
May 30, 2014
It was great with the exception of parking.I was not allowed to park 2vehicles in the designated tent spot even thought i informed the staff that both drivers had a handicap placard/disability,and there were several tent sites with 2vehicles parked overnoc and the entire time of camping. One site being exactly next to my site.I was told to alternate with my vehicles.
May 30, 2014
May 30, 2014
Lots of children's activities, friendly staff and great location.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.