San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
fully enjoyed our stay and the tour into San Francisco was number one with john our guide knowing his way around since he grew up there. The staff in the store that recommend the trip and looked after us was great. I didn,t get her name, a middle age lady looked after us. I would highly recommend this place to any body and to take the tour. Don,t drive yourself as traffic is crazy.
Jun 23, 2015
We love KOA though would recommend folks stay any day except Saturday when the crowd at the pool makes enjoyment difficult.
Jun 23, 2015
We've been to a lot of KOA's... but there just isn't a better run facility with so much around it than this one. This is a resort, not a campground. Woody and the team are awesome... and don't miss the Karaoke!
Jun 23, 2015
Lots of fun activities for kids. Staff is over the top friendly and ready to help make your trip more fun.
Jun 23, 2015
Had to switch sites for tent. First site sloped without flat area for tent. Second site had shared outlet water with large group site, was not made aware of this beforehand. Needed electricity or would've switched to much nicer tent only area further away. Disappointed in the lack of a flat area to pitch small, two person tent. Bath/restrooms clean, wifi worked.
Jun 23, 2015
We had such a BLAST. This was our first visit to your site and everyone on the staff was accommodating and friendly. We look forward to many more visits to your facility. Thank You - Nick De La Torre
Jun 23, 2015
Terrific as always!
Jun 23, 2015
The place was a madhouse. So many people. I will never go again.
Jun 23, 2015
no cmment
Jun 22, 2015
Thank you again for another fantastic Fathers Day weekend. What a lovely, friendly, safe place to gather and celebrate, relax, and spend time with our family and friends. Staff is always so kind in every interaction at KOA. Thank you again for all of the great times and memories made.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful place but way too many barking dogs around us. Complained and disappointed nothing was done. Compared to other cabins we stayed in you need more than one outlet.
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
This is our 5th visit to this KOA and we stayed in a cabin w/loft. This site has made significant improvements/upgrade in the area of pool and lounge covering etc. Entertainment for kids, safety and pet friendly. Staff is very professional and courteous.The WiFi is a spotty at best needs to improve given how ubiquitous is this platform. Overall great fun.
Jun 22, 2015
Always have a wonderful time!
Jun 22, 2015
We always enjoy coming to the KOA! There are always a ton of activities for the kids to enjoy and the facility is always clean.
Jun 22, 2015
If I was still living in California I would certainly recommend the KOA experience; since I am now retired in Michigan it is unlikely that I would be able to recommend the KOA to anyone who might take advantage of the site. It was a great re-experience for my wife (of 50 years) and attending grandchildren.
Jun 22, 2015
Best KOA I have stayed at. Clean, and lots of amenities. A little pricey, but considering location and what you get, worth it!
Jun 22, 2015
This was an awesome experience, there were so many activities to do and grounds where very clean...
Jun 22, 2015
Tent camping area bathrooms were very far for people with children to use in the night time. Ten area was very cold in the night time.
Jun 22, 2015
The facilities were nice but expensive for tiny tent spaces and so close to neighbors. The guests here were very noisy after quiet hours and very messy. Employees seemed great!
Jun 22, 2015
The pool is dirty and it is not really well heated good. We're total of 4 ., me, my husband and 2 nine years old kid. i cant believe they charge extra 5 dollars each for the 2 kids.per day. I thought they are included in their daily charge. I think that is too much!
Jun 22, 2015
All the staff is devoted to the campers. Such a wonderful experience, and the families who visit are raising polite children! Wow! Gives one hope for the world. Magical.
Jun 22, 2015
Best staff ever!! Great stay, as always, however, I am concerned with the new additions to the dog yard. I appreciate the fact that enrichment has been added, but I witnessed several dogs plow thru a jump and knock feet or chest on the metal bar which can cause serious injury/fractures. I would love to see that piece of equipment removed. Thanks!!
Jun 22, 2015
Would have liked to see the pool. Cleaner. It had lots of trash, wrappers, hair, cotton candy!!!
Jun 22, 2015
It was excellent camping experience for my family. However, 'pine forest' described in the reservation was not true. I could only see one pine tree at my camping site. Anyway, I was satisfied.
Jun 22, 2015
Very nice area. Clean, well staffed, and lots of fun!!!
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
RV Dump station in a very inconvenient location right at the exit gate and water outlet hose connection not to be seen.
Jun 22, 2015
Fun, clean and a great location to venture out from.
Jun 22, 2015
Very nice camp site. We unfortunately had noisy neighbors but that is not the camp site's fault. I would return again.
Jun 22, 2015
I would have given this KOA 5 stars if it were not for the office staff. The grounds and facilities are perfectly kept, and staff on the grounds, recreation areas, etc, were all amazing!! The office staff were unorganized, ill informed, messed up our reservations. Perla was particularly rude, but actually more rude to her co-workers than to campers. Customer service training, perhaps?
Jun 21, 2015
Had a great time. Enjoyed the swimming pool most of the time with the grand kids, went on the hay ride , nice touch. Very nice people working at the front desk.Kids liked the bouncy thing and the petting animals
Jun 21, 2015
Very clean campground. Mainly RV's but has area for tents. I had a tent trailer and there was just 1 other one there at the time of our stay. I appreciate the KOA employee (or fellow camper?) telling the yahoos in the pool spa that "its 10pm and time to get out and watch the language." Thank you.
Jun 21, 2015
Nice stay. Nice campground. Sanitary was good.
Jun 21, 2015
Personnel amazing, friendly, services and tours wonderful, wish we had time to stay longer. Thank you!
Jun 20, 2015
great spot 48 every one very friendly
Jun 20, 2015
nice place great san francisco tour worth the money from koa
Jun 20, 2015
Amazing! The kids loved it!! Better than Disneyland!
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 20, 2015
The staff was very welcoming, grounds and facilities that I used were clean, and they took care to give me a spot that closely met my requests.
Jun 20, 2015
Loved staying here with our family! We will be back again!
Jun 20, 2015
Nice place especially for children. Campground is unfortunately 1 hour outside of San Francisco, but I doubt that there are alternatives being nearby than this one. Very polite and helpful KOA- team - if you go there, join the tour to San Francisco (although you will wish to have more time to spend at the hot spots like fishermens wharf).
Jun 20, 2015
I loved it! I had a friend come see my new coach, and the setting was perfect. Had a wonderful walk through town, and ate a delicious meal too. Thanks so much!
Jun 20, 2015
it was a fabulous, clean, well maintained campground. The only thing that prevents me from giving it an even higher rating is the price; it was the most $ we paid during our two weeks on the road at various campgrounds. The personnel were really nice!
Jun 20, 2015
Nice park with good shade, nice big pool, friendly staff.
Jun 20, 2015
KOA staff is friendly and very helpful. It is that the place is just too crowded. It's I think 10 PM and you can still hear lots of people talking outside.
Jun 20, 2015
My husband and I prefer to camp in state and national parks because we enjoy the more minimalist camping experience. We chose to stay at the Petaluma KOA because we didn't see any other camping options close to downtown. That said, out of other KOAs we have driven by, this KOA is one of the most beautiful! We slept well and awoke to a group of peacocks strolling through our campsite..very neat!
Jun 20, 2015
I booked my site at approx. 12:30 PM on the *same* day of my stay by phone. I spent 5 to 10 minutes reviewing sites with the agent and chose one that had the privacy I wanted. When I arrived, the site was taken because I didn't pay extra to hold the site. Agent didn't tell me, and why should I need to if I am booking the day of my stay? Lame policy.
Jun 20, 2015
I wish there was a way to prohibit barking dogs. The 3 across from our site 188 barked every time someone walked by, day and nught.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.