San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2013
It was great. The staff were awesome, went out their way. I loved being able to pay an addition fee for late checkout since 11am didn't work for me. My only complaint: bouncy pillow for children only? Boo (smile)
Sep 10, 2013
We had a water/electric tent site by the road (didn't know that part). Didn't sleep the first night due to constant truck traffic and banging metal noises all night. The staff there swiftly gave us a cabin upgrade although the noise was out of their control. I love this KOA and will continue to come here!!!!!
Sep 10, 2013
This was by far the best KOA we have stayed at. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. The grounds were clean and roomy. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Will definately be back again.
Sep 10, 2013
Terrible WIFI connection! Efficient and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable. A bit too busy for our liking
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Once our reservations were cleared up and we arrived it was GREAT!
Sep 10, 2013
Our first night there was an violent incident involving a young girl waking up screaming then a physical altercation between two amped up groups of guys from two different sites. As it involved the site directly next to ours (93) it was particularly upsetting. I laid awake for many hours monitoring the area to provide security to my family. KOA security was nowhere to be found for some time.
Sep 10, 2013
It's a great campground. Very clean and enjoyable. However, I could not get on the internet for my whole stay and the management didn't seem to care. I complained every day. Other than that, I would go back there.
Sep 10, 2013
This was the first time my 4 year old granddaughter has been away from home for more than one night. We brought her for 3 nights and she loved it and didn't want to go home after 2 nights and asked to stay for another night.
Sep 10, 2013
Best KOA ever
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
ecennent site très beau et l`accueil ecellewnte
Sep 10, 2013
had a very nice day. The only thing that was displeasing was at the close the store before 10 o'clock when it stated on the door that it closed at 10. I was not able to buy anything else when I walked up 6 minutes before the scheduled close. :(
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Wonderful as usual except for three very small dogs barking (and howling)constantly. They were on the porch of a camping cabin.
Sep 09, 2013
Level tent sites. Bathrooms ok - the ones by the full hookup sites looked really nice, the ones by the office are kind of cramped, the ones right by the Kamping Kitchen without showers are really cramped. Some of the wallboard is coming loose. Seemed like one of the outlets in the Kamping Kitchen wasn't working. Do take the tour into SF - it's worth the $$$$. John is a great tour "guy".
Sep 09, 2013
Bathrooms near the Kamper Kitchen area could have been cleaned more often but overall a pretty good visit.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Quiet hour was not enforced. A party woke us up and got worse when people in the party started fighting. Cops came. It sucked not to get sleep. We were hosting a birthday party for 12 year olds! Burners in the camp kitchen were not functioning and the bathrooms needed attention. One soap dispenser was broken.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
A fun resort for families, but doesn't really feel like camping. My kids loved the various activities, however when we asked what they liked best about camping they answer, 'the pool, the jumper, and the game room' and the actual camping was unfortunately overshadowed. The campsites are on top of each other but are well equipped with water, fire ring and table.
Sep 08, 2013
Superb facilities with an extraordinary staff. We did unfortunately have a site with a tree that shed on us (*worms and gunk). Labor Day throngs were daunting.
Sep 08, 2013
All ot the staff have the same basic belief-it sounds like this, Yes, 'we can do that for you.' And they mean it!
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Nice camp ground - enjoyed our stay.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Great site for families. with lots of activities for kids. Noisy and by the main road, so don't expect a quiet stay!
Sep 08, 2013
Nice place. Two hot tubs would be great. One for younger and one for older!
Sep 07, 2013
Excellent facility, professional management, and friendly staff. The best KOA we have stayed at.
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
I can't say that I'm really familiar with many KOA Kampgrounds but I can say that this one in Petaluma was great when we first stayed there in the early 1980's and it gets better every year. Woody and the team NEVER fail to deliver the experience you expect. There is no finer place to take your children of grandchildren so book a site noW!
Sep 06, 2013
Fantastic, clean, safe, fun
Sep 06, 2013
The tour available from KOA was very good. John the tour guide made us visit areas that we had not seen many years ago, he is excellent. The staff at the reception made us welcome and happy to provide us with whatever we needed to enjoy our staff even lend us an extra 25 ft of cable TV as our original lenght was not enough.
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
did not like the policy of paying so much for friends to visit campsite
Sep 05, 2013
what a joy to deal with Danny (front office ) and John ( of the tour ), place was great , only issue is bathrooms !!!
Sep 05, 2013
great family fun! we loved it so much that we stayed an extra day instead of touring San Francisco! had so much fun tent camping the first night ad staying in a cabin the second night. very clean and the staff is great.
Sep 05, 2013
My 5 year old daughter loved her very first camping experience!
Sep 04, 2013
We love this campground it has been an annual stay for us on Labor Day weekend now for 7 years . And have already made reservations for next year 2014.
Sep 04, 2013
I have spent $454 on my last stay which is a great amt of money for me, when I asked for late check out till 1pm instead of 11am- it was denied. I was highly disappointed considering I was in a foot cast & have 2 small children to rake care of.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
A lot to do, the tour of San Francisco with John was the best.
Sep 04, 2013
Only complaint was when we made our reservations we told them we were traveling with 5couples and would like to be close. We were in 36 which was a beautiful site but everyone else was in the 214,215,216, and174. And we made our reservations a long time prior
Sep 04, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed staying here. The kids had so much fun with all the activities. We stayed at the far end tent area and the only thing that we really dislike is the truck that comes early in the morning to vaccum out the toilets at the lodge next to us. I don't like waking up every morning smelling it. It would be nice if they can later at noon when we are awake and out of the tent.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
The Russian River is nearby & FUN FUN! I highly recommend the trip. This RV park was just that - for RV's (I had a tent.) I'm new to KOA "camping" & I definitely didn't feel like I was in this tidy, but dusty, parking lot. The staff & other guests were great, & amenities very clean - showers & toilets - wow! Overall, it was funner than a hotel, but more boring than the woods.
Sep 04, 2013
One of the best we've stayed at. Well organized, helpful staff, clean grounds. Directions pre-printed for going to town. John, as our tour guide was excellent.
Sep 03, 2013
I travel all over calif and there is no better over all park. I like the owner/operators. They do a lot of extra things for the kids. We love it. We call site # 231 our vacation home.
Sep 03, 2013
Much unfair and inconsistent treatment of guests. I witnessed staff allowing white families/ kids more privileges than non-whites. I was very surprised and shocked by this. Much of the elder staff grew up during segregation and they do not seem to understand it ended. SF Bay Area is so diverse. I would expect so much more for a family place. No recycling bins near garbage cans at sites.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.