San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2015
The units are a little too close together and the bathrooms were not clean. There was an empty beer can in the restroom, which at a campground for kids, is tasteless. We did like all the activities, and the wifi.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Give it a high rating but would not recommend it for one reason. It was the final night on a 10,000 mile trip. We have stayed in many KOAs along the way over 2 1/2 months of,travel. The price for staying there was by far the highest we'd paid by $20.00. Believe me it was not any better than many other campgrounds or KOAs. Ridiculous!
Jul 10, 2015
One of the best safe camps for children, lots of activities. Most likely we will come back, the campers are wonderful. We have great concern on how the cabins/lodges are listed on brochure on online site and assigned to campers! We expected a different style of Deluxe Lodge, ours was not as nice as pictured. There seemed to be lots of minor repairs needed. The fireplace was smashed, etc. #183.
Jul 10, 2015
beautiful camp ground loved tour bus to San Francisco driver was best
Jul 10, 2015
Enjoyed the campgrounds , however we were next to the water tanks. Wished we could have been in a different camp location but would stay there again if we are in the area.
Jul 10, 2015
We had a wonderful stay! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Note: The women's bathroom attached to the arcade has a broken sink and the third shower stall would not turn off. The shower stalls also smelled. Maybe the floor mats or shower curtains need a good scrub. The rest of the KOA grounds were clean! And you could see everyone was working very hard. We can't wait to return. :-)
Jul 10, 2015
Nice average RV park with many amenities that we would never use, although the number of people made it less than desirable for us. Pricey, but we realize it's in close proximity to SF.
Jul 10, 2015
The campsite was clean, pool was clean and an employee was frequently checking levels, the employees were all very friendly and welcoming! This is the BEST campgrounds in Northern California!
Jul 10, 2015
We were not impressed with the amenities as we are older parents with adult children who prefer the more private tent sites to the large open spaces. We were extremely disappointed in the large commercial bus that dropped more than 20 younger adults behind our tents at 9:50 pm. They were loud past the posted hours. I do want to thank the security couple who assisted at 12:15am.
Jul 10, 2015
The stay was nice. We missed the climbing wall, the line was too long. Maybe the climbing wall should be open for a longer period of time. I wish parents would supervise their kids more. There was a couple of kids throwing sand at other kids and into the air at the bouncing pad. We had to tell them to stop.
Jul 09, 2015
My kids love this KOA! It's their favorite. We will be back.
Jul 09, 2015
An awesome jewel tucked away in the hillside of Petaluma. I took my grankids for the first annual Camp Gigi. Everyone loved it we will be back. We had a cabin that slept 6 and it was perfect. Thank you Koa staff!
Jul 09, 2015
excellent atmosphere our stay was short but pleasant. need more accessible garbage cans.
Jul 09, 2015
Last time I visited was in 2009. It has improved so much and so much more activities. The only complain is that we had loud people right by our tent. They were warned and got quite, however I still moved to another site. Wish I didn't have to move at all.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 09, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. In fact, we were upset to leave and wanted to extend our stay. The staff was extra nice and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. We loved our spot, it was shaded with trees, spacious, and near all the fun. We will be back...can't wait for the next adventure!
Jul 09, 2015
Wonderful staff. DOUG went way out of his way to help me with an issue I was having with my trailer. What customer service!! Fun place. Kids everywhere were having a blast...so much for them to do. Clean, well maintained park.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
Had a great time during our 2 day stay! Cabins were great, clean and equipped with everything we needed! The DJ was EXCELLENT and really made sure all of us from ages 2 - my 82 grandmother enjoyed ourselves in the pool area. The music & games were fun and catered to all. Looking forward to our family trip next year!
Jul 08, 2015
VERY BUSY PLACE. THE STAFF DID NOT PUT US IN A SITE THAT WAS CORRECT FOR THE SIZE OF OUR MOTORHOME. THE SITES ARE UNLEVEL. AFTER WE FINALY GOT SETTLED IN THE CORRECT SITE OUR STAY WENT WELL. I FELT THEY WERE OVERWHELMED.
Jul 08, 2015
THE FACILITY IS GOOD BUT THE PRICE IS HIGH.
Jul 08, 2015
Bathrooms and showers were not kept clean, human hair clogging sinks and shower drainage. Banana bikes are extremely dangerous, it should be illegal to have campers sign a release for liability when they don't know what to expect from the experience of riding a banana bike. My 23 year old daughter had a really bad accident riding this bike, she scraped her arm, hand and leg really bad.
Jul 08, 2015
Staff was very helpful and informative. Will difently be back.
Jul 08, 2015
Great facilities with lots of things for the kids to do. We had a nice cabin that had everything we needed.
Jul 08, 2015
Our stay at KOA was great. The Kabin's were fully equipped with everything we needed and wanted and were clean. Unfortunately, there was false advertising on the coffee cart which closed 1/2 hour before it was said to. Also, some of the front desk staff were a bit rude and condescending when speaking. Other than that, I would definitely come back.
Jul 08, 2015
My kids loved it. I was able to relax while my kids were entertained...thats priceless!
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
This is a nice campground with lots of trees and grass.
Jul 07, 2015
We stayed at this KOA, while on a cross country trip in July 2014 in my motor home which was great. We wanted to come back to the area and specifically this KOA was requested as by my daughter. The "Kabin" option is perfect for people flying into town, and I have to say it was perfect. We all felt it was clean, comfortable, and fit all our needs. We would stay at this KOA again. A+++.five star KOA
Jul 07, 2015
Nice staff, campground and location
Jul 07, 2015
We had a very good stay. I guess my only gripe was the 83 dollar charge for a Sunday night stay. Other than that all was good.
Jul 07, 2015
We had a wonderful time! Plenty of activities for our 3 granddaughters and an awesome feeling of camping outdoors! This is a tradition for us and we always look forward to our next trip...
Jul 07, 2015
We arrived and there was dog poop and trash in our site. We were in site 4. Upon booking we put 2 adults and 3 children. We understand it was the 4th of July weekend but it was way too loud in this spot. We would have appreciated a warning before hand. Our children's nap schedule was interrupted. We have been RVing for 4 years and this place has a lot of activities but is way too loud.
Jul 07, 2015
Fun campground! Very clean, VERY friendy staff, great store, awesome bathrooms. Will definitely return.
Jul 07, 2015
Lots of activities for the kids. Campsites were clean and easy to get into and plenty of dumpsters for trash.
Jul 07, 2015
It was our third year staying at this KOA and it was a great stay as always! Great staff and clean facilities.
Jul 07, 2015
Very small sites and much too full. There seem to be no limit to the number of people who are allowed to be registered to be on one small site.
Jul 07, 2015
The pool and the bathroom were dirty. The pool was murky and the bathroom had dirt and stuff all over the floor. Then the movie that I was so looking forward too, was Sponge Bob since they could not get the original Parent Trap CD to work. It was disappointing for the $151 that we paid!
Jul 06, 2015
I thought it was a great location, everyone was extremely helpful especially the couple that was working in the night. I'm sorry I don't remember their names. Everything was very clean. Lots of activities for the kids. The only thing that I would do to change it was the girls bathroom doors were very noisy. Just need some wd40 to fix it. I would highly recommend this park to anyone. Thank you
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
We have been coming here 2-3 times a year for the past 8yrs and Absolutely love it!!.. it is very clean and the staff is always welcoming and caring..they have tons of stuff for the kids to do.. and a great place to bring your dog too
Jul 06, 2015
First time at KOA Petaluma, we stayed in one of the little one room cabins. There was so much to do for the kids. The cleanliness of the bathrooms was impressive. We have already made our reservation for next year.
Jul 06, 2015
Another great weekend at our favorite KOA
Jul 06, 2015
We love the grounds but check in is too late and check out is too early
Jul 06, 2015
I did not like the part after we check out, I parked my vehicale T THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL SO THAT WE CAN SPEND MORE TIME WITH OUR FAMILY NOT ONLY i WAS CHARGE TO PARKED MY VEHICLE THERE NBUT ALSO WAS CHARGE $12.00 PER PERSON AFTER WE STAYED ALL WEEKEND....TO ME THAT'S MONEY HUNGER
Jul 06, 2015
very good just wish there was no charge for kids activies when you have a few children it adds up and the cost of the campsite but other than that excellent
Jul 06, 2015
I guess there is no way to control what other guests do but we had people constantly tramping through our campsite - very annoying - and the 10 pm quiet time was not adhered to. There were people patrolling, but they didn't speak to anyone - just because you drive by and look at someone, doesn't mean they are going to quiet down. Are these rules really enforced or not? Otherwise we liked our stay.
Jul 06, 2015
We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The site was large and level, and we enjoyed watching the kids in the area having fun.
Jul 06, 2015
The cabin lodge was very clean. My family liked that. Thw swimming pool area was very nice. The employees were all very pleasant. Overall my family had a very good experience. We will be back Thank you Mike Rosoff

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.