San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 23, 2013
Really enjoyed the campground and staff. Will come back!
Sep 23, 2013
Perfect place for a weekend getaway
Sep 23, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
This was our third time stay and it was again great as always. We love the facilities and the staff. Just one incident when we walked too close to a campsite when the campers barked at us like guard dogs. I thought it was just us but when we heard they were yelling at practically everyone else that walked too close we just ignored and stayed away from them. We can't wait to go again.
Sep 22, 2013
Went on San Fran. Tour,best guide ever "John" thanks so much for a beautiful day.Barry and Judy
Sep 21, 2013
Best KOA that we have ever stayed at..... Perfect!!
Sep 21, 2013
Could not have asked for a better visit. We visit here every year and always feel welcome. GREAT FRIENDLY STAFF!! We look forward to our return! Thank you!!!
Sep 21, 2013
We have stayed here before and that is why we choose I Petaluma KOA. It's easy in and out from the freeway and the staff is ALWAYS willing to be there for you. It is also a great way to San Fran and not have to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city.
Sep 20, 2013
GREAT LOCATION!! The park has wonderful amenities, huge shade trees and clean accommodations! We always stay here when visiting the area. Lots of local activities and restuarants. The on-site store is well stocked with staples as well as fun snacks. GREAT for kids, but also quiet enough if you don't!!!
Sep 20, 2013
Sep 20, 2013
Very friendly staff & nice grounds. We upgraded our tent site to a cabin since we got there late & were too tired to set up camp in the dark. The showers & cabin were nice. Plain, clean, basic squeaky beds, uncovered mattresses, & surprisingly a TV. Had a bit of a manure smell from the dozen or so cows next door. I would TENT camp here next time, but pay $10 more for a hotel room over a cabin.
Sep 20, 2013
2nd stay here. Took tour out of park after being referred to it in Crescent City by another Kamper. Great swimming and site. Was disappointed in showers by pool. 1st night the nozzle fell right off and only sprayed a thin, hard stream. 2nd night the shower nozzle stayed on but the stream was poor. That doesn't indicate very good maintenance.
Sep 20, 2013
We stay here a lot. Our site was great. Most amenities we don't use as we are not there for that reason. Only complaint would be the tents up above the dog walk. They were there, and empty, which is OK, but left all their food and drink sitting out unattended and the occupants were gone. It not only looked bad but could invite scavengers and the wind could blow their stuff around.
Sep 20, 2013
Good site for kids! Very nice setting. Everything worked well
Sep 19, 2013
The Campground is very clean, and a lot of things to do. I especially commend you on the cleanliness of the bathrooms. We have stayed at a lot of campgrounds, but by far yours is the best. Thank you so much.
Sep 19, 2013
Thank you KOA for a very good experience. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and the management came to our campground with a bottle of wine and card of congratulations! It made our KOA stay so much more special. Thank you again. Christina and Dan Victoria, B.C.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
We tent camp yearly at this KOA it is clean and well kept. The staff are excellent going out of their way to be helpful. This year we had a great spot under a big old tree, however, it was dropping caterpillars and stuff from the tree into your food and supplies everyday. There may be nothing that can be done. Next year we will bring a cover for the eating area. Maybe it will be resolved next
Sep 17, 2013
The only thing that kept this from being great was the wi fi. I would rate it as very poor.
Sep 16, 2013
Would and often do recomend this park to anyone who will listen Most excelent. Stellar AOK...KOA..... that was good.
Sep 16, 2013
We were very disappointed that the owner did not participate in the KOA appreciation weekend. But the KOA $75 tour with John more than made up for it! John and the tour were wonderful!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Building good,wholesome family memories - that's what KOA is all about! Had a blast with the fam! Thank you!
Sep 16, 2013
Cabin with no heat. Really, in Petaluma? Soooo expensive for a tent made of wood. In September? Men's bath a mess, kids running, biking, skateboarding, screaming, wild etc. This heater thing needs an explanation. You are lucky to get two stars.
Sep 16, 2013
we all had a great stay at your nice KOA in Petaluma. Our Kamping Lodge # 199 was simply the best. Your personnel was extremely friendly and helpful. We already recommended your KOA to friends who will be travelling to San Francisco next year!
Sep 16, 2013
wonderful KOA and experionce. though when we arrived we sat in car 20 minutes before we realized we didnt need to be waiting our vehicle in line . sign even said park and wait . we didnt realize the RV were just temp parked there, we thought we watied for each one to get to the front. ( two others in our party did the same thing.
Sep 16, 2013
The facilities were all very clean; we stayed in some of the small Kabins, which were cute and very comfortable.
Sep 16, 2013
Très beau site, le tours à San francisco avec John était génial: Merci
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
We had a great, relaxing time. The campground is kept extremely well. The kabins are very clean and comfortable. We loved it!!
Sep 16, 2013
Fun place for kids. Events were not super organized and arcade was closed/gone. There is an extra charge for kids but you still have to pay for a lot of activities. Loved the pool and hayride. Great store.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The people are awesome, they had rock walls, jumpy balls, giagantic pool, dog area, horse and etc.....we chose a tent site and put up a bug net in the back of my truck and 5 sleeping bags to sleep under the stars..awesome.
Sep 16, 2013
A great place for kids with all the animals, playgrounds, the large pool, the horse shoe throwing. Our kids liked it a lot, since there are some many other kids around and the can drive around with their bicycles. The only thing that I didn't like, was the location of our tent sitge between two streets, where one street served as a through street. But overall it was a great stay.
Sep 16, 2013
Great relaxing weekend ,only issue was security coming by way before 10 pm to say keep it down , we were playing quiet game of cards
Sep 16, 2013
We had a "family friendly" tent spot. It was so small that we had to place our 6x6ft tent almost inside the fire pit - no camp fire for us. The space bordered a busy road on one side and a steep hill on the other. There was so much noise, even after 10pm. We enjoyed the heated pool and huge playground though.
Sep 16, 2013
Not as 'back to nature' as we would have liked. Amazing for kids, but way too close to the freeway.
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Very nice family park. Very well kept. The tent sites are small and not well defined, but go to "group camp" with friends you haven't met yet, and have a blast!!
Sep 16, 2013
We love your KOA..love that your dog park is lawn!! Lol The only issue we had was our neighbor in site #170..they decided at 11:15 pm to load a car on to a trailer in the dark with only a lantern..they were noisey & rude..they remained outside talking & laughing until close to 1 am...the sites are tight so they were right under our bedroom window..security patrolling or # we could have called???
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Great Place
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
nice clean campground,nice people.
Sep 15, 2013
Beautiful, well maintained campground. Best of all was the staff. Took the SFO tour & our guide, John, was a wealth of knowledge, going WAY above & beyond what we expected. Highly recommend the KOA tour!!
Sep 15, 2013
We were given spot 318 and when we got there you had put someone else in it. It was 10 pm and we couldn't get anyone on the phone # listed on your web site. Things got very messy when I insisted that she move and she called the police. Someone from your site finally showed up and put us in another site. It was now 12pm. This should never have happened.
Sep 14, 2013
The low rating is primarily due to a few factors. Dead grass, and because our spot had no shade and was oriented with sun in the afternoon, no place to sit outside. Stuck inside with poor cable reception on local channels.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.