San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 01, 2015
Perfect Campsite and nice neighbours !!!
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Campsite was great. Very, very busy. Unfortunately lots of parents not watching there kids. I went there to relax and enjoy. Unfortunately older kids over ruled the pool with no supervision so my little ones had to get out. They had been splashed in the face enough. Same older kids ended up at the playground later :( .
Jun 01, 2015
loved this area, nice and quiet during the week. showers are too small w/hooks on outside or i'd give 5 stars. clean and friendly.
Jun 01, 2015
Place was great. Could use more bathrooms, especially near the cabins without toilets. There was a line every morning. Good cleaning is needed too. Also, maybe have one person handle purchases only and the other counter people handle check ins, it was backed up several times. Other then that, really nice place.
Jun 01, 2015
It very clean and well organized. I wish the activities had bigger time windows....I felt like we didn't have an opportunity to do everything. Also, I felt unsafe having my tent exposed to cars on site 100. Cars were driving up and down that strip and there weren't any buffers.
Jun 01, 2015
Very friendly. Close to San Francisco, Muir Woods and Sonoma Valley for Wine Tours.
Jun 01, 2015
Some drivers driving way to fast, i have 3 kids and had to constantly worry about fast drivers.
Jun 01, 2015
RV sites not well thought out. Sewer hookup was way uphill from RV. Had to "massage" my dump hose to properly empty. Noticed several sites were like this.
Jun 01, 2015
Great experience, friendly safe, fun. I love that you make it possible to bring my dog!
Jun 01, 2015
Lots of children and families! No one went to bed early or even shut off their music.
Jun 01, 2015
This KOA was the absolute best we have ever stayed. Lots to do for the kids. Very handicap accessible for my 2 boys in wheelchairs. Plenty of space, a very big accessible shower. The arcade was awesome. Super nice staff!
May 31, 2015
I first came to this KOA when I was 8 years old, there were no trees on the site. I started bringing my two kids to KOA about 8 years ago. We book a row of cabins with multiple families. This year, our cabin smelled like cat urine/spray. We told the front desk multiple times, housekeeping cleaned it once but it continued to smell. Nothing was done to "take care of us" very disappointing.
May 31, 2015
While otherwise an awesome KOA, my experience was quite poor because guest rules were not enforced well. The tent section had a VERY LOUD group staying there, playing VERY LOUD amplified music till 11pm. I was so mad I would have packed up and left if I could have.
May 30, 2015
GREAT!
May 30, 2015
We always enjoy our stay when we visit!
May 30, 2015
Very enjoyable, relaxing, campground offers a lot to do. We'll be back.
May 30, 2015
We took the tour into San Francisco offered by this KOA. The tour was fantastic. The campground itself is nice but the showers by the office were very dirty when we arrived and weren't cleaned until sometime late in the evening. Overall, not as clean as others we have stayed in.
May 30, 2015
x
May 30, 2015
Very pleasant. Staff are down to earth.
May 29, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. More so after the holiday weekend was over. Everything was clean and well kept.
May 29, 2015
Nous avons aimé pouvoir faire un tour guidé de San Francisco à partir du camping KOA. Le guide est très intéressant. Le camping est propre et les gens acceuillants.
May 29, 2015
Everyone was friendly and the site was nice. The issue we had was that our sofa mattress had a hole so could not be inflated. It meant we ended up having 2 adults and 1 child in the same room, and none of us got any sleep. We called to get help, but it was after-hours and it took an hour for anyone to respond. At that point, it was too late. We didn't enjoy our trip as much since we were exhausted
May 29, 2015
The facility is extremely clean. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be going back.
May 28, 2015
Awesome campground we will be back very clean and super fun
May 28, 2015
We would not stay anywhere else when we are in town. The staff and security are so helpful.
May 27, 2015
loved it
May 27, 2015
May 27, 2015
Very nice -- best place we have found for a visit to the Bay Area. Crowded on weekends, but they handle it well. Only problem was some pilfered stuff from an unlocked bin -- first time we have had this.
May 27, 2015
We want to give a special shout out to Melissa at the front desk who has gone above and beyond to accommodate us. Keeps us coming back!
May 27, 2015
I wish there are more activities for kids, and more restrooms or showers through the campground.
May 27, 2015
Nice place kids love this place
May 27, 2015
Great location, clean, friendly staff, nice camping options. Too expensive.
May 26, 2015
We have been coming to your KOA for 15+ years there have been great improvements. We really love Lyle's pool parties, Kaeroke & dance party. Would like to recommend u have less long term tenants during memorial weekend & summer months as they take up some of the prime RV spots and that doesn't allow families to get spots together. Keep tenants in back area near storage only
May 26, 2015
Highly recommended. Lots of scheduled activities for the kids. Lyle's pool party and karaoke is amazing not only the kids are having a great time but the adults are equally having fun! Very clean koa. Staff is friendly. Nice dog park. Best place to stay!
May 26, 2015
Great stay, we love coming back every year. I recommend cutting the lower 10 feet of branches off the trees by the playground - older kids climbing can get hurt. Also, have a real scavenger hunt for younger kids at night...find a cheerio, a q-tip, etc...
May 26, 2015
Woody and his team are exceptional. One of a kind KOA!
May 26, 2015
We had a great time! Thanks!
May 26, 2015
Kerokee way too noisy and late. Awful.
May 26, 2015
great KOA I have told everyone we love it there we made reservations for next year
May 26, 2015
very well maintained and well spaced out. Great service and friendly staff. It is a large campground though with lots of activity when full.
May 26, 2015
Always a good time very clean KOA and friendly people
May 26, 2015
This is a wonderful park to stay at. We stayed long term and really felt at home here. The only downside was during the busy weekends. We really like calling a place home and felt like the weekends that got really busy we felt a little overwhelmed. But the staff is friendly, the petting zoo was a real draw for my son and the park was quiet at night.
May 26, 2015
Memorial day weekend...4 nights=$400 to stay. I think that's outrageous since Friday nights festivities were completely cancelled for the kids, park is so packed you can barely walk around, and staff are policing you every time you turn around. Not a good time. Best part was the DJ and his pool party, karaoke, and parties for the kids. Permanent campers are mixed with all the others should NOT be.
May 26, 2015
Our 4th trip here and once again it beat our expectations. By far our favorite things are the pool party, karaoke, petting farm, mining, beautiful park, and the face painting! We unfortunately only had one issue that was our neighbors were quite loud. We did ask them to be quiet around midnight the first night and they moved their camp party across the street so they did fix the problem.
May 26, 2015
We were there in a tent, negative: too many people, pool cold, campsite slanted and tiny, too bright- light of cabin next door and streetlamp, many things cost extra + sites:arts, activities, campstore jumphouse, playground, hot tub, clean restrooms, good staffing, movie night.
May 26, 2015
Petaluma is one of our favorite KOAs and we have stayed at various ones throughout the country. The kids love the activities and we love the close proximity to Napa and Sonoma. We are moving from California and sad to say goodbye (for now) to Petaluma and our fun times at the KOA.
May 26, 2015
I was lied to. I was told only 4 people were allowed on each site, so I paid for 3 sites for 10 people. We didn't use 1 site, so I wasted almost $200! (The people next to us had at least 10 people on one site!) As a KOA member, I was trying to follow the rules. Instead, I was penalized. Also, the bathroom was not kept clean. When we requested toilet paper from an employee (Ross), he was rude!
May 26, 2015
Very pleased with counter staff. Needed adjustment to Value card pts and they handled it! Disappointed with the age and # of kids in the hot tub. I thought the CA state law states must be 14 yrs & a max. #. Nothing posted. Also, unable to get SF Giants game on Direct TV. Campground overrun with kids on holiday weekend! Great place for families though. Lots of activities going on all the time.
May 26, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.