San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2014
Had a party go past the quiet times by a couple hours. Location was easy to bet to and facility was clean. Friendly staff.
Jul 16, 2014
Rates are high, ice cream social disappointing, bathrooms could use more hooks and a place to sit down. The benefits are huge. Fun for the whole family, bathrooms are unbelievably clean. You could eat off the floor. Pool, movies, petting zoo, and exceptional staff make it one of the best campgrounds and get our highest recommendation.
Jul 16, 2014
Staff was professional, courteous, very helpful. Great cell service, wifi was just okay. The only issue I had was there was only one bathroom for about 200 sites. More restrooms would've been nice.
Jul 16, 2014
Everything was great except your wifi. The wifi was very very bad. For a high price campground your should be able t0 get good wifi.
Jul 15, 2014
We had a great time. Everything was wonderful, except for the abundance of flies!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
First of all, the BEST of the BEST about this KOA: Our San Francisco tour with JOHN the Tour Guy was GREAT! We are not 'tour' people, but he made this tour unforgettable with his personal and in depth insight. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND the tour and him as the guide! As to the Campground, it was a bit too crowded for us (but it was the week after July 4), but the facilities were very good.
Jul 15, 2014
Why do you put people with no kids such as us 50+ folks in the row across from the rec hall and activities tent? Kids constantly walking through the sites, crying, etc. have an adults only area.
Jul 15, 2014
Loved the fenced K9 area We were in a graveled pull-thru site. For the price, I would like to see more sites paved and would have preferred a paved site.
Jul 15, 2014
Our space was dry grass. No access to SF Giants ball games on TV. Very close spaces. Lots for kids to do. Will pick out a greener space if we come again. Nice people on grounds and office.
Jul 15, 2014
front desk personal was very helpful and kind.Area for the children and activity was put together with great thought.
Jul 15, 2014
Was very friendly atmosphere and the staff was very helpful in all things.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
My friend wanted to spent her 50 birthday in Petaluma KOA cooking a BBQ .so we went for the weekend and had a lovely time .we are booked to go back next year .the pool got closed on sunday at 4pm and it didn't bother me but If I had small kids with me I'm sure they would have been upset..
Jul 14, 2014
All your employees that I dealt with Have fantastic people skills we will be seeing you soon thanks again give our best to woody...🌞🌞🌞
Jul 14, 2014
Nice place. Better than I expected. Very friendly staff. Well taken care of. Would stay again
Jul 14, 2014
been visiting/staying at KOA for years and overall really enjoy it. Biggest reason why I'm leaning more towards not recommending people to go there is that it keeps getting more and more expensive(the prices in the store r rediculous). *Overall a good place for families to have a nice time. It's just getting way too expensive.
Jul 14, 2014
You must have an Army working there! This place is always so very clean and well run. My 9 year old LOVED all the activities from the rock wall to the jumper, the new baby goat named Sven, and of course the pool and hot tub!! See you again next year.
Jul 14, 2014
We love Petaluma KOA. The staff is friendly and the amenities are plentiful. The magic show and karaoke were fantastic. I wish the bathrooms close to the top were in running order. There was no blow dryer in 1 of the bathrooms and the last night & morning we were there there 1 of 2 bathrms out of order.No after hr number to call to report loud (1am) campers.
Jul 14, 2014
This is the second year we stayed at the Petaluma KOA. Although we live locally, it is a great place for families. Our grandsons love it and enjoyed so many of the activities offered. They love the pool, the banana bikes, the climbing wall, the jumping pillow and so much more! They liked tie-dye last year, and they would like the climbing wall to be open more times each day. We'll be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Great!!!!!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Good clean fun.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Site was nice but bathrooms were very crowded during the mornings. The other issue was that other campers arrived very late (1 am) and set up their camp sites during the middle of the night making it impossible to sleep.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We never had the time to get bored. The Grandkids played and had so many activities to do we couldn't do them all. We enjoyed the staff immensely. They were ALL kind and helpful. We will be back!
Jul 14, 2014
The rating for this KOA was higher then we believe it should be. Areas were not well kept. Pool was very cloudy. We were disappointed that we had chosen this KOA.
Jul 14, 2014
Got a little guff from the security guard warning us that we were in a family establishment. Seemed a little unwarranted and presumptive.
Jul 14, 2014
While it was a very busy Saturday in July it was a great deal of fun for my son....We got a last minute reservation so our spot wasn't the greatest, but he didn't care. It was close to the playground and rec room so that's all he cared about. Overall it was quiet at night and we slept well. Great location and a nice downtown too.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Stayed at 4 KOA's in the last 3 weeks. The best experience! Great location, clean, great activities.
Jul 13, 2014
The kids had a great time. The office staff was awesome as well as the maintenance staff.
Jul 13, 2014
For the price of the lodge (L181) we stayed in I really was hoping for a luxury experience. s'mores in the room and a bundle of firewood in the pit would have been a classy touch. Other things I was expecting to be included Coffee for the coffee pot, 1/2 hour of banana bikes. Large blue recycle can Additional shelf or a drawer for dry goods. Camping Kettle for hot chocolate & tea.
Jul 13, 2014
I loved all the activities they had for the kids. My only complaint would be that our room wasn't ready. I noticed when we got there, the porch wasn't swept, 2 garbage bags were sitting on the porch, the picnic table and area had trash all around it and it made me wonder if the outside wasn't cleaned, was the inside cleaned. I would just hope on our next trip, the cabin area is completely cleaned.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
not much was done to remind cabin campers to keep their kids noise level down especially after 10pm what was otherwise a lovely campground stay was not so lovely having to listen all day and till midnight kids and parents screaming outside their cabin #251. at night they were the only ones that we could hear while out walking our dog. noise control happens in other campgrounds quite regularly.
Jul 13, 2014
Very nice time
Jul 13, 2014
We had a wonderful time and absolutely will and already have recommended the park to everyone we know. Our tour to San Francisco was the best we have ever had. John is a great guide and showed us the city and its the most interesting places ever. You have a star working for you in John! The one negative thing was one of the male staff members was yelling at the other staff when we arrived.
Jul 13, 2014
Couldn't ask for a better place to stay! Lots of activities for kids all day long! Clean, friendly, quiet, and loads of fun!! If we are ever back in the are defiantly staying here again! Highly recommended
Jul 12, 2014
Love the activities, kids areas, pool as well as location
Jul 12, 2014
I recommend this to friends because of all the things for the kids to do . This stay the grounds were not as clean and groomed as usual . Seems like you cut back on staff that drives around in carts to keep kids safe and from doing stupid things as that hill coming from the cabins was used as a raceway and the noise levels after 10 pm
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We stayed for a week and upon check in received exceptional customer service. Friendly staff, clean cabins, lots of space for a family of 5 in the lofts. Only issue was Wifi was unstable throughout the property (inc. cabin). Had to rely on our 4g to look up area information and plan some day trips.
Jul 12, 2014
Great time everyone was very friendly also John the driver of the tour bus was great. Very very very knowledgeabl about the area and really wanted to make sure he gave everybody a good time
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
First time camping with a 1 year old and 6 year old! So much to do very family friendly KOA! Wish the beds in the Cabins were a little more comfortable! can't wait to bring the kids back aagain!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.