San Francisco North / Petaluma KOA

20 Rainsville Road

Petaluma, CA 94952

Reserve: 800-562-1233

Info: 707-763-1492

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 04, 2015
This was only my third time staying in a KOA. I thought it was a beautiful place. I was really happy with our spot. I have only two comments. One, there was no handsoap at any time during the two nights I was there. Although there was a dispenser and the bathroom had been checked according to the wall chart. Also I thought the price for ice was really high.
Apr 04, 2015
A nice park with lots of activities for families. It was a little noisy in the evening for this senior couple, but not terrible. The entry and exit do not need a gate. An inconvenient location for the key pad.
Apr 03, 2015
I stayed with my 2 granddaughters age 6 & 7. They had a blast! Lots of activities to keep them busy. We did day trips to Bodega Bay and John Muir Woods. The staff was very friendly and professional. Extra kudos to Mario who did face painting and ran the rock wall climbs. He was very personable with the girls & helped them learn to climb. only 1 negative- bathrooms need more cleaning in the PM.
Apr 03, 2015
There needs to be more thorough checking of the water faucets. In 226 there was a breathlessly faucet that wasted a lot of water in drought stricken CA
Apr 03, 2015
My kids and I always love coming here. It is a short distance from home but has a lot to do. Great and friendly staff.
Apr 03, 2015
This KOA has a lot to offer its guests. Melissa the manager is extremely helpful and understands how to treat guests and follow through. If it wasn't for her, we would have left the day we arrived.
Apr 03, 2015
Great campground. Didn't care for the combo locks on bathrooms and entry gate.
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
Activities were great. Location was close to multiple cities, but had lots of land to feel more country. Clientele was not good, unless you and your young kids enjoy being sworn at by 8-10 yr olds with no parents to be seen. Also, loud late into the night. In summary - we were so excited when we arrived, thinking we would be back soon, but left with little desire to return.
Apr 02, 2015
In 40' motorhome towing. Space was narrow and no area to set except on tree roots or next to neighbors sewer hook up. Space #154
Apr 02, 2015
We keep returning year after year, and this KOA just keeps getting better!
Apr 02, 2015
Very great place for families! Kid FRIENDLY!! We had a blast! My one complaint is the animals water supplies. It was a little disturbing to see. Moss and gunk in them. It takes a few minutes a day to clean and make sure that doesn't happen. Hope to see that change! The kids adored the petting zoo. We will visit again ;)
Apr 02, 2015
Nice kampground, easy access after office hours (with reservation), very nice location, the showers could be cleaner though
Apr 01, 2015
It is a beautiful location, close to the beach. Only thing we were disappointed about was that there were no indoor games in the rec room. Other KOA's we have stayed at had table tennis, pool table and a lounge area.
Apr 01, 2015
We had a nice stay and the site was large enough that you didn't feel cramps by other campers. The only complaint is that we stay in 244 and I noticed the others along there had the same problems. The sewer inlets are higher and up hill from the pad. Myself and others had to help out the draining process by keep lifting the hose and draining it. Other than that, a very nice park.
Apr 01, 2015
really nice people run this campground. the only thing that wasn't good was the music at the pool was cranked up too loud and too early in the morning. no one was even walking around down by the tent area. it woke me up.
Mar 31, 2015
Mar 31, 2015
Clean, well run campground with an emphasis on family activities. A little tight for big rigs, but no real problems.
Mar 31, 2015
Clean,staff was friendly, and the cabins are AMAZING!!!
Mar 31, 2015
Cabin was in a great location, not too close/far from restrooms. Restroom had plenty of hot water and was clean.
Mar 31, 2015
Great place. Super clean sites, no odors. plenty for kids to do. Camped here on a RV
Mar 31, 2015
The only thing is noise level after quite time, still had a great itme at the KOA.
Mar 30, 2015
Very nice park. It was a good home base for doing some local factory tours and sight seeing the downtown San Francisco area.
Mar 30, 2015
Great trip with friends and family
Mar 30, 2015
I was very upset that I made reservations for an end site #31, and when I got there I was told I was in #44 !!! I have made end sites before and never was told that I had to pay for a reserve for the site ??? I am not very happy with the person that took my reservation !!!!!!
Mar 30, 2015
The cabin was amazing and the kids loved all the different activities there. I will definitely come back again!
Mar 30, 2015
Very nice place to visit with kids!
Mar 30, 2015
Great for all ages!
Mar 30, 2015
The staff and facilities are wonderful. My family stayed here often when I was a child, and I am delighted when we come back now with my son.
Mar 30, 2015
I have camped at petaluma loa many times and for the first time was disappointed in our stay. The camping bathrooms were locked, the trade is gone and campsite stoves are falling apart. My boys rented the bikes twice and many of them were damaged so they didn't ride well--fenders bent and all tires were flat. Pool wasn't heated and the place was sold out. Not what we experienced in past.
Mar 30, 2015
Very clean campground.
Mar 30, 2015
This koa was the BEST one we have ever stayed at! Wonderful!
Mar 30, 2015
Mar 30, 2015
A little cramped in the tent sites, but that's the only complaint.
Mar 29, 2015
This place is well kept. Facilities were clean and the staff were very friendly.
Mar 29, 2015
The loft was not comfortable, I was expecting twin beds (per website)and received two mats on the floor instead. The shampoo was not enough for everyone. I called ahead and was told the unit had a mini fridge, so I took less food. Our unit had a full size fridge. The kids were disappointed that the pool was not heated. We overall had a great time. We enjoyed the playground, petting zoo, rock climb
Mar 29, 2015
Nice campground but too tight. I have a 37' Phaeton and too tight. Maybe you should put large vehicles in larger spots
Mar 29, 2015
YOU NEED TO CONSIDER THE SIZE OF THE RV TO THE SPOT THAT YOU ASSIGN. WE HAD A VERY DIFFICULT TIME GETTING INTO AND OUT OF THE SPOT WE HAD. 35 FT. 5TH WHEEL NEEDS MORE TURNING SPACE, OTHER THAN THAT EVERYTHING WAS GREAT.
Mar 29, 2015
Good location for San Francisco and Senoma Valley. All facilities clean and in excellent working condition. Unique facility - petting zoo and peacocks were unusual and enjoyable.
Mar 28, 2015
Mar 28, 2015
Great place to stay for young and old
Mar 28, 2015
Our stay there was great.
Mar 28, 2015
The staff are all pleasant and helpful. Mario stands out for being Sooo patient with all the kids. The only place my granddaughter wants to camp!
Mar 28, 2015
The Best KOA we have stayed in. Neat, clean, quiet, and a very friendly staff. Great stay!
Mar 27, 2015
Having camped at many KOA's before, we had certain expectations but the one thing one never can tell ahead of time is, what it looks like, surroundings,trees,temperatures, etc. The only negative which was beyond anyones's control, was the cooler than normal temperatures. I know this is northern California, but we left realy warm temperatures in Toronto only to be met with very cold weather! Brrr!
Mar 27, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!
Mar 27, 2015
People and pet friendly, beautiful grounds, great amenities. Quiet. Large sites and trees. Good location.
Mar 27, 2015
A nice campground, well maintained. Restroom facilities were kept clean. A good place to stay if you're sightseeing in the area.
Mar 27, 2015
We always love coming to Petaluma for the weekend. The only suggestion I have is to heat the pool earlier in the year and keep the arcade. It's spring break, the weather is wonderful and the pool is ice cold. We come year round but the best time is in the summer with the pool warm. Staff is always great.
Mar 27, 2015
Great place for kids. A lot of activities and a nice clean park.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.